User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 142

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    Death Race kills.
    In one of Jason Statham's most consistent films. Death Race takes a simple plot and executes it with precision. The film is filled with good action sequences, a well developed story line, and is just fun to watch.
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    I really liked this movie. Good action, good actors, I liked the story (not the most original one but it works). After all, great movie. It's great watching it multiple times. Even though I know the whole movie, it's still entertaining.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Great movie along with great acting from Statham. Good action, the right amount of gore and a good dialogue throughout. Some very good deaths and the idea of the race itself was very clever.
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Death Race is no masterpiece but I enjoyed it a lot, it reminded me of playing Carmageddon and Death Rally. The characters are well developed for an action movie and it just has a great pacing. The driving scenes were great, some of the cars looked really good and the race-track looked like something that would be used for a death rally. Recommended for anyone who thinks cars are only good when they come with steel plated armour, machine guns and a lot of spikes. Will definitely be watching Death Race 2 and 3. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    In 2012 the US economy collapses, unemployment and crime rocket to their highest ever levels. Jensen Ames is a steelworker, his yard is being closed down and he gets a measly last pay of $300. When he return home to his wife and daughter all is normal until she is murdered by a burglar, leaving Jensen with the blame. 6 months later Jensen has been found guilty of a murder he didn't commit and is on his way to Terminal Island Prison. At Terminal Island people have the chance to win their freedom by competing in Death Race, Jensen becomes the new star of the competition however his rivals aren't all to keen on him taking the limelight.
    Death Race is a great dumb action film, the plot is good though you wont remember it in 2 hours. The action is bloody and satisfying, the racing is tense and the film is well edited. Wrapping it all together is a half decent story, everything you need in an action movie...oh and Jason Statham.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    This movie is actually a good action movie with a lot of explosions and guns and hot women. Which incidentally makes you think it's directed by Michael Bay, sorry couldn't resist. Anyway its a decent movie with good actors but the plot could have been better. Jason Statham, and Tyrese Gibson were decent and Joan Allen plays a really good villain but it is not as good as The Transporter.
  7. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    MOST awesome film every could get my mind of it it was in the back of my head for time and WOW its so awesome i just wanna watch it some many more time lol its like one of them film that just drive the bubbles in ur head and the speed of the car and the sexy the one with frankstan is sooooo hot.
  8. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Another Paul W.S. Anderson film that unsuccessfully attempts to pass off meaningless motion, loud noise and shots of marginally-contained breasts as entertainment. Pure hell to sit through.
  9. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Action, explosions, cars and lots of guns. This movies comes like a racing game. But that's it. There are heaps of action movies out that have the same ingrediances and are way better. It's not a total fail but u may skip this movie...
  10. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    Death Race (D) - Other than cars and names, this movie has nothing to do with the film it is based on - which is one that I love. This is silly with totally absurd dialogue - if you like fast cars and crashes ala all the other contemporary race movies, you might find some value out of it.
  11. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Eh it was a poor and unneeded remake. The cast sucked, The entire idea was poor and is pretty much exactly the same as the original, and it was just boring. Its one of those films that was more fitting for a direct to dvd release.
  12. Mar 27, 2011
    6
    Okay, I think i'm a fan of Jason Statham. I loved both of his Crank films, I enjoyed his role in The Italian Job (best thing about that film, IMO) and I truly enjoyed his Death Race film. Death Race doesn't have any character development, the acting's sub par, the dialogue is cliched and the plot is quite a mess, but damn, this film is entertaining. Fast cars, bloody deaths, big explosions and Ian McShane being awesome as ever make this film really enjoyable. You'd think this film was a video game adaptation, considering it was made by Paul W.S Anderson, who's responsible for four Resident Evil films and 2 Mortal Kombat movies. You can definately see the video game influences with the cars running over the switches to get weapons (Kill switches are especially fun) Henessey, the sadistic prison warden, is definately a brilliant antagonist, who wants to pump up the ratings as more ratings equals more money, and shes willing to do anything to do so, including planting bombs, sabotaging races and murder. Her big antagonistic truck that she was building, The Dreadnought, seems much better in theory than in execution. Its like the director just gave a kid some broken up vehicles and made the design around whatever mess was made. It did look cool though. Much more enjoyable than any of Paul W.S Anderson's Resident Evil movies. Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    The story about a man who was framed for killing his wife isn't the most original thing in the world but it does a good job of setting the pace, if bloody adrenaline fueled action doesn't keep your attention, you may want to look elsewhere for your next movie.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. 0
    Anderson has neutered the original film's outrageously transgressive macadam mayhem and completely stripped the story of its pointedly political social satire, making this Death Race one of the most boring drags of all time.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    20
    With its inexplicably watchable shotgun-riding bimbos, unconscious homoeroticism and "Shawshank Redemption" ending, The Fast and the Frivolous here is almost so bad it's good. Almost...
  3. OK, so no plot, really.