Death Sentence Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nick Hume is a mild-mannered executive with a perfect life, until one gruesome night he witnesses something that changes him forever. Transformed by grief, Hume eventually comes to the disturbing conclusion that no length is too great when protecting his family. (20th Century Fox)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    Well-made, often intensely gripping genre piece.
  2. 60
    The action sequences are still pretty imaginative, if not nonsensical.
  3. Bears more than a slight connection to the landmark of the genre, 1974's "Death Wish," starring Charles Bronson. It is based on novelist Brian Garfield's sequel to his original book, though any resemblance is tenuous at best.
  4. Aside from a stunning three-minute tracking shot as the gang pursues Nick through a parking garage, and Mr. Bacon’s hauntingly pale, dark-eyed visage, Mr. Wan’s film is a tedious, pandering time-waster.
  5. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    The only things anyone’s likely to remember, besides Bacon’s crazy-eyes act, are John Goodman’s soon-to-be-legendary turn as a bilious bug-eyed gun dealer and a hellacious back-alley/parking-garage chase shot from a careening fender-level camera. Like much of the movie, it’s as hammily dynamic as it is impossible to swallow.
  6. 25
    A very belated and very silly follow-up to "Death Wish."
  7. One well-staged sequence in a parking garage is the film's only memorable moment

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. TylerJ>
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Great movie, a lot of action. Both Kevin Bacon and John Goodman , like usual, just amazing.
  2. RobertoF.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Extraordinary! Why should films be realistic? They're needed to escape away from life and its terrors.
  3. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually don't understand why this movie get so negative critic. The movie stars Kevin Bacon as Nick Hume, a business man with a family that he cares about. One day, his oldest son gets killed by a gang member who proves that he is in the gang. The killer walks free (Nick doesn't like that the killer gets a mild sentence, so he don't "recognize" him in court). Nick decides then to kill his oldest son killer. Now he is haunted by the gang. Nick must now protect his family, but to what cost? This movie proves that you can't just be an anti-hero that kills all the bad guys just to rescue/avenge one of your family members and then escape unclean. This movie is depressing and have almost no comedy. The only thing that doesn't fit in the movie is that they parody (?) Taxi Drivers last scene where De Niro shoots everybody. A great scene, but too out of context (it works in Taxi Driver). This is definitely one of the best movies I've seen (I'm a big movie lover so that says a lot). Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    What can I say? Perhaps I am biased, but I will be totally sincere. This is NOT a great movie, but I enjoyed it so much, that I myself gotWhat can I say? Perhaps I am biased, but I will be totally sincere. This is NOT a great movie, but I enjoyed it so much, that I myself got surprised! My friends did too, and they are people that nobody on Earthh could call 'dumb' but the opposite. Partly, the reasons for my excitement about this film, may be because Kevin Bacon is the leading figure and I adore Kevin Bacon, for he is one of the most accomplished, versatile, serious, and down-to-Earth actors of Hollywood-and he is as underrated as Gary Oldman or Sean Penn (yet even a better actor -and according to the media and general belief he is also a nicer person-than them), so whenever I watch a movie where he is performing, my attitude becomes more open, for just his acting gives a movie a higher value. That said, (and I am acknowledging I may be biased), this movie is not brilliand but good in its genre. Those who love action filsm we'll see here a bit of the anti-hero. You may find this movie a bit unrealistic, and you are probably right. I don't think, however, that when they made Death Sentence the producers wanted to create a classic, but instead a good action- fiction film! I think they succeeded, for Death Sentence is always intense, and engaging! I know that some of us think that a situation like this is very unlikely to happen. A person doesn't turn into "Rambo' or a "killing machine' just because they want justice for their family and the legal system does not provide them with that. Nonetheless, I wonder if something like that would happen to my boy...what would I do, or at least attempt to do? I am a girl- and a feminine one- but in my own way, perhaps pain and sorrow would force me to take a difficult, emotional, and yet ilogical decision! I don't know!. Perhaps the movie is not that unrealistic, after all. So, my advice is: forget about prejudices and go and be ready to watch a movie that although a bit strange, it never bores! A solid 7 for sure! PS: and if you already love Kevin Bacon, he will not disappoint you, for this movie wouldn't be the same if someone else played his part. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    I liked this movie,because that's what i would do if someone try to do something to my family. It's too emotional and sad but i stillI liked this movie,because that's what i would do if someone try to do something to my family. It's too emotional and sad but i still recommend it. My score 6/10 Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    4
    Suggests that acts of revenge might make a really bad situation even worse. A few gripping moments, no happy ending. ---------------------------------
  7. KelleyM.
    Oct 4, 2007
    0
    Horrible! I walked out after 40 grueling minutes. ( I have only walked out of one other film in 30+ yrs.)Don't waste your time. Kevin Horrible! I walked out after 40 grueling minutes. ( I have only walked out of one other film in 30+ yrs.)Don't waste your time. Kevin Bacon must have been hard up for money. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.