Death to Smoochy

Death to Smoochy Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. If you're in the mood for razor-sharp satire, this is the most refreshingly outrageous movie of the season.
  2. 67
    It's good -- no, great -- to see Williams as a mean rat bastard.
  3. Resnick has crafted an ambitious, if extremely uneven, character study.
  4. 40
    This black-comic assault on family entertainment is going to set a lot of teeth on edge -- If only his (De Vito's) material were better this time.
  5. 38
    Death to Smoochy? Yes, please.
  6. It's so over the top, the top isn't even visible in the rear-view mirror.
  7. 10
    It's hard to pinpoint where things go wrong.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This movie is priceless to me, Its a cult classic. Solid cast, Hilariously funny, original plot. Why people hate it, I have no idea. I thinkThis movie is priceless to me, Its a cult classic. Solid cast, Hilariously funny, original plot. Why people hate it, I have no idea. I think it was great. Expand
  2. ByronL
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best comedies ever. Dark and crazy. A definite must see.
  3. JacobR.
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is hilarious and clever. I could watch it over and over again.
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    this movie is hilarious and very entertaining. you guys should like this.
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    My Favourite movie in the whole world is Death to Smoochy. My second favourite is A Clocwork Orange. My third favourite is Apocolapse now. MyMy Favourite movie in the whole world is Death to Smoochy. My second favourite is A Clocwork Orange. My third favourite is Apocolapse now. My fourth favourite is Life is Beautiful. Then it;s Hedwig and the Angry inch ... Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    Death to Smoochy is easily one of my favorite movies of all time. Hilarious from start to finish and one heck of a good black comedy. I wouldDeath to Smoochy is easily one of my favorite movies of all time. Hilarious from start to finish and one heck of a good black comedy. I would highly recommend it. Collapse
  7. MikeM
    Apr 27, 2007
    1
    If anything was good about this movie, it was the drunken boxer, and the sex scene that we don't see right before the boxer dies.

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.