Deep Blue Sea

User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 108
  2. Negative: 63 out of 108

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 11, 2015
    This movie is so bad that after viewing it I felt extreme pain.The pit in my stomach is so large I cannot describe it. Please don't watch this. Please. I am currently experiencing thoughts of suicide.
  2. raVen
    Nov 2, 2003
    It was like the movie actually HATED me.
  3. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    Good for a laugh or two, a scream or three.
  4. JohnathonY.
    Aug 31, 2008
    Perfect movie for a scream.
  5. AnthonyF.
    Oct 1, 2006
    The only flick anybody can compare this too is Jaws, but come on, that movie was made 30 years ago.
  6. Jake
    Jul 21, 2005
    What's wrong with some big dumb fun?
  7. WilliamT.
    May 18, 2008
    You won't be giving it a standing ovation but you will have a jolly good hour and a half of CGI sharks and Samuel L Jackson.
  8. TS
    Nov 10, 2007
    Very entertaining B-movie. The way the sharks scarf down the cast is gruesomely funny.
  9. Jul 22, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The plot is ludicrous and the script terrible but if you are happy to be swept along for the ride Deep Blue Sea offers an hour and a half of mindless B-movie fun. Plus Samuel L Jackson gets eaten by a shark about half-way through as well. Expand
  10. Jan 28, 2013
    A pretty decent Jaws wannabe. Some OK performances from Samuel L. Jackson & LL Cool J. Overall: An entertaining popcorn horror, nothing special but OK if you don't take it too seriously and enjoy it for what it is.
  11. Aug 13, 2014
    With this interesting story i was prepared for the best shark movie(since jaws) but the CGI effects were horrible and it was not scary at all.The good point is the performances from Thomas Jane,Samuel.L Jackson and LL cool J

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Even overlooking the fundamental inanity of the movie, one is left to contend with some offensive racial stereotyping.
  2. 80
    Not everything in the film happens according to the traditional, overly familiar blueprint.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Powered by exceptional displays of physical filmmaking, Deep Blue Sea is pulled back to shore by the usual suspects -- weak plotting and weaker dialogue.