Deep Impact

Deep Impact Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Deep Impact confines much of its horror to television news reports and has a more brooding, thoughtful tone than this genre usually calls for.
  2. 63
    Unfortunately, an A-list group of actors doesn't mean a lot when there isn't much of a script.
  3. 63
    You can enjoy the way they create little flashes of wit in the dialogue, which enlivens what is, after all, a formula disaster movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    The season's first comet-targets-Earth special effects extravaganza is spectacular enough in its cataclysmic scenes of the planet being devastated by an unstoppable fireball, but proves far from thrilling in the down time spent with a largely dull assortment of troubled human beings.
  5. 40
    If director Mimi Leder is really guilty of anything, it's of wasting three first-rate actors (Morgan Freeman, Vanessa Redgrave, and Robert Duvall) in underdeveloped roles while allowing Leoni's shell-shocked, unconvincing turn to become an embarrassment.
  6. A three-hankie weeper in disaster-movie drag, and its tear-jerking bull's-eyes are separated by long stretches of tedium.
  7. For a suspense drama, Impact is a slack, oddly enervated and mawkish soup of largely lethargic performances.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. HQY.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    Great movie. excellent.
  2. GreggH.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite disaster flicks. I just think this movie is so good. I love how it focuses on the characters and not the action. This is one of my favorite disaster flicks. I just think this movie is so good. I love how it focuses on the characters and not the action. But the action is awesome. This is one of the only movies to make me cry. Not weep, cry. It has such a sad ending! Collapse
  3. Sep 29, 2015
    10
    One of my favourite science fiction disaster films of all time. Morgan freeman does an excellent job playing fictional U. S. President TomOne of my favourite science fiction disaster films of all time. Morgan freeman does an excellent job playing fictional U. S. President Tom Bec. The Plot is mysterious, dramatic, intense and powerfully moving as well as spectacular visuals. A really deep movie that does a good job of showing the world in this situation. I really like how it doesn't focus on just one person as the "hero," but rather select individuals. Although, Morgan Freeman does tend to steal the show, as usual. It's just as awesome as the day after tomorrow Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    A really deep movie that does a good job of showing the world in this situation. I really like how it doesn't focus on just one person as theA really deep movie that does a good job of showing the world in this situation. I really like how it doesn't focus on just one person as the "hero," but rather select individuals. Although, Morgan Freeman does tend to steal the show, as usual. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    6
    I really don't think it was all that bad. Better than Armageddon and I really liked it. I Don't know why people say it's so bad.
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    I think this movie is BETTER THAN ARMAGEDDON! It has nearly no stereotype "heroes" and a humanitarian side. It's too long for the story, butI think this movie is BETTER THAN ARMAGEDDON! It has nearly no stereotype "heroes" and a humanitarian side. It's too long for the story, but it has a good ending. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2014
    4
    An average adventure similar to the same-year release of Armageddon. It packs a few punches but not enough to make Deep Impact worthAn average adventure similar to the same-year release of Armageddon. It packs a few punches but not enough to make Deep Impact worth re-watching. A shame, too. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.