Paramount Home Entertainment | Release Date: December 31, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
26
Negative:
48
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
I don't understand the decent reviews. Daniel Craig gives his best in "Defiance", as well as Edward Zwick. He realistically potrays the horror and advesities the jews had to suffer. Despite the tedious pace, "Defiance" is still a great movieI don't understand the decent reviews. Daniel Craig gives his best in "Defiance", as well as Edward Zwick. He realistically potrays the horror and advesities the jews had to suffer. Despite the tedious pace, "Defiance" is still a great movie you will want to watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
BillyS.Jan 30, 2009
Defiance is a good film with aspirations of being great. Craig, Schreiber and Bell are atleast believable in roles of three russian brothers who's parents are killed and seek refuge in the deep forest with hundreds of fellow Jews. The Defiance is a good film with aspirations of being great. Craig, Schreiber and Bell are atleast believable in roles of three russian brothers who's parents are killed and seek refuge in the deep forest with hundreds of fellow Jews. The acting and especially the cinematography are excellent but I don't get the Oscar nomination for score. All in all, a much better film that Valkyrie, or Top Kraut because the Americanm and English actors all try to use accents instead of having Maverick in a Nazi uniform! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
robertHJan 20, 2009
This was an outstanding movie. One of the best I've seen in a long time. Many in the theater applauded at the end. I can't wait for the DVD to come out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidHJan 20, 2009
It is often difficult to make a true story so interesting, but the bizarre history of Hitler and atrocious behavior of his Nazi troops makes a fascinating resource. The Holocaust has been covered many times but Defiance manages to give us a It is often difficult to make a true story so interesting, but the bizarre history of Hitler and atrocious behavior of his Nazi troops makes a fascinating resource. The Holocaust has been covered many times but Defiance manages to give us a brand new angle and appreciation for the horrors faced by Jews in 1941. Daniel Craig proves without a doubt his talent can take him far beyond the predictable James Bond. It is odd despite his public dislike of personal handgun rights, he continues to land roles that require him to handle weapons. In this case, a very specific true story where if there was ever a time when private citizens had a right and a need to bear arms, this was it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billbobJan 6, 2009
Bloody brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZachB.Feb 8, 2009
Defiance is a passionate, breathtaking, inspiring World War II movie. I have seen many World War II movies and this by far is right up there with Schindlers List at number 2. I am not a big Saving Private Ryan fan but Defiance has much more Defiance is a passionate, breathtaking, inspiring World War II movie. I have seen many World War II movies and this by far is right up there with Schindlers List at number 2. I am not a big Saving Private Ryan fan but Defiance has much more concept and meaning this movie shows how the hope of three brothers can bring thousands of people together and to act in Defiance. Edward Zwick really captures the full feeling of World War II. The movie's plot and story is also carried throught by absolutely exceptional acting from jamie bell daniel craig and Liev Shrieber. This movie is a must see and me being a jew and my grandfather having experienced World War II this movie to me was a mesmerizing film and one of the best of 08. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PAulB.Jan 11, 2009
Reminds me of a good solid war movie from the 50's and 60's - entertaining and character led. It doesn't do anything new, or different, or push the viewer - just an enjoyable war movie based on a little known subject thats not Reminds me of a good solid war movie from the 50's and 60's - entertaining and character led. It doesn't do anything new, or different, or push the viewer - just an enjoyable war movie based on a little known subject thats not trying to be clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeanP.Jan 10, 2009
A good looking film that needed a better script in my opinion. It's not award worthy nor razzie worthy, it's simply an enjoyable film that perhaps on one or two occasions tries to be more than it is. A solid 7.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClaytonS.Jan 25, 2009
I thought Defiance was a very good movie about World War II and the persecution of the Jews. I was not aware of this small group of Jewish people who fought against the Nazis. I recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveK.Jan 26, 2009
Given this was a true story, without going nuts, there are limits to the variance. So there was not enough action, the Germans were not so determined, well, that was just the luck of the situation and nature of this minor miracle. I thought Given this was a true story, without going nuts, there are limits to the variance. So there was not enough action, the Germans were not so determined, well, that was just the luck of the situation and nature of this minor miracle. I thought the depiction of the situation and the battles was fabulously real. Ordinary people battling trained soldiers - they got their butts kicked - even if they survived they were not unrealistically portrayed as super heros. In particular Daniel Craig's part, as the leader he breaks down a few times - but fights to live. And it does nail the interpersonal relationships and the nature of survival mentality. And yes, there is the perenial 2 Jews/3 Arguments, that we all love to own. So yes, limited by the reality, but also open to the realities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShoaibM.Jan 9, 2009
AN awesome movie a must watch great acting, great story extraordinary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EliasCJun 28, 2009
Very good thoughtful film. Good acting. A story, though simplified here, that needs to be told. Low user ratings may be because this is not an action film (viewers - do not expect James Bond), action sequences are realistic (viewers - do not Very good thoughtful film. Good acting. A story, though simplified here, that needs to be told. Low user ratings may be because this is not an action film (viewers - do not expect James Bond), action sequences are realistic (viewers - do not expect fake fiery explosions), and perhaps because the film does not explain enough of the details of this true historical event for viewers too young to know what WWII was really like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobNJun 4, 2009
Once again, a good film hated by critics. I was not expecting much, but was surprised. Blood Diamond was a fantastic film. Glory, top notch. This is a film about survival. It does not go too deep into the philosophical dillemas, but hey, how Once again, a good film hated by critics. I was not expecting much, but was surprised. Blood Diamond was a fantastic film. Glory, top notch. This is a film about survival. It does not go too deep into the philosophical dillemas, but hey, how can you when you are trying to not die? I liked this film because it has no true message. The various characters find that the various ism, communism, zionism, facism, etc. hold no water in the face of death. I respect that, for it is true. In the end, it all is a matter of staying alive, for the man next to you, and for your family. Great movie. Critics need to live a little...in the real world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Jun 5, 2009
Excellent production values, a solid story and a great cast make this movie a winner. The score is great as is the cinematography. Moving screenplay. It's a bit long though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CarlosTAug 2, 2009
This was an extremely compelling story to tell, but subpar acting is what mostly kept it from being great. It was great how many of the secondary characters did get some attention as those actors seemed to do a much better job than the main This was an extremely compelling story to tell, but subpar acting is what mostly kept it from being great. It was great how many of the secondary characters did get some attention as those actors seemed to do a much better job than the main ones. The action sequences were very well done and very enjoyable, however there is always some doubt as to how the Bielskis ever became so good at fighting even though they were only farmers. Overall, it is a good first attempt on an untold, but powerful story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickF.Jan 23, 2009
This is an amazing story of survival against incredible odds. A no-nonsense group of brothers take charge after the Nazis murder virtually every Jew in the region. Those remaining are locked in Ghettos, which are in the process of being This is an amazing story of survival against incredible odds. A no-nonsense group of brothers take charge after the Nazis murder virtually every Jew in the region. Those remaining are locked in Ghettos, which are in the process of being liquidated. The film explores several areas that, until now, had been badly misrepresented. For example, why didn't the Jews in the ghettos try to escape? The reason, we learn, is that for every escapee, the Nazis murdered 20 Jews. Why didn't the townfolk try harder to help the Jews? The reason, we learn, is that there was a 500 ruble bounty on every Jew they turned in, and the penalty for helping or hiding a Jew was death by hanging. Why didn't more Jews try to run to the forest? The reason, we learn, is that the Nazis overtook the area with such speed and surprise (assisted by local collaborators) that it was nearly impossible to escape. Why didn't more Jews try to survive in the forest? The reason is that the local farmers turned them in to the Nazis, and could not be trusted, and there was virtually zero food in the forest. Even the Bielski group had to starve, eat horses and dogs, and live on watery soup. In addition, they had to face sub-zero temperatures, rampant disease, lack of hygiene, lack of hope, loss of virtually every family member, and intra-group fighting and positioning for leadership. Not to mention that on at least 3 occasions, the Nazis used airplanes to drop incendiary bombs on women and children, brought in tanks to fire at elderly, women and children, had machine guns, grenades, and other advanced weapons versus a motley collection of handguns and pistols. This story is amazing, and there are at least 3 times where it is impossible not to feel emotion, and real tears, for this group of ragtag Jews fighting for their survival. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatG.Jan 9, 2009
Yes, the movie is flawed, but well worth two hours of your time. The story is amazing and the production values are good. Craig and Schreiber are excellent and the others good enough. I do recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LoriW.Feb 4, 2009
Excellent! I read the book and the movie follows along pretty closely. Wonderful story of survival and helping others! Incredible true story!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MmCruiseJan 14, 2009
A Beautiful War-Movie of year ! Great performance of Daniel and perfect screenplay ... Fantastic !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FooRealJan 16, 2009
Great movie all around. The movie's score was a bit of a let down, especially when it was coming from a great composer, and the script was quite predictable. All around though, it was a very good film with a great cast and great Great movie all around. The movie's score was a bit of a let down, especially when it was coming from a great composer, and the script was quite predictable. All around though, it was a very good film with a great cast and great production values Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ROBERTM.Jan 16, 2009
My wife and I found this movie to be totally riveting; the audience of mostly 55+ Arizonans applauded at the movies conclusion. Your reviewers seem to rate on the "artistic value" of the movie. Sometimes a true story, well-told is preferred My wife and I found this movie to be totally riveting; the audience of mostly 55+ Arizonans applauded at the movies conclusion. Your reviewers seem to rate on the "artistic value" of the movie. Sometimes a true story, well-told is preferred by the "lesser forms of life" out here in flyover country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaymondK.Jan 18, 2009
I would have liked to have seen the whole story, which you can't do in 2 hours. Hope TV picks up the rest. This was not fiction but reality for Jews in Europe and Russia during WWII. I'm not sure today's generation has the I would have liked to have seen the whole story, which you can't do in 2 hours. Hope TV picks up the rest. This was not fiction but reality for Jews in Europe and Russia during WWII. I'm not sure today's generation has the guts to do what they did (except in their own mind). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QadoshOct 27, 2011
I give this movie a such a high ranking, because it was an incredibly true story that I feel was acted out very well. To think about what those people went through just because they were Jews. It is so sad to see how the world still hates theI give this movie a such a high ranking, because it was an incredibly true story that I feel was acted out very well. To think about what those people went through just because they were Jews. It is so sad to see how the world still hates the Jews, including most of the negative reviewers, and for what? They are one of the most peace loving nations on earth; search out the truth about what is going on in their land now, btw you will not hear the truth from the mainstream media (shocker). Anyhow I found this movie to be very engaging and was rooting for them to survive the whole time. Did not feel the foul language was needed and it added nothing to the movie, but to make sure it was R rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
A pretty good movie about Russian Jews (hadn't really thought much about Russian Jews) during WWII. At times the accents were a bit hard to understand but the movie itself was enjoyable albeit a bit mushed together. Defiance isn't aA pretty good movie about Russian Jews (hadn't really thought much about Russian Jews) during WWII. At times the accents were a bit hard to understand but the movie itself was enjoyable albeit a bit mushed together. Defiance isn't a Braveheart or Gladiator but it is a pretty good movie for those who enjoy a good drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Somewhat manipulative but nonetheless quite engrossing film; it's based on such an incredible true story only astonishingly inept direction could have wrecked the premise, but there's plenty of that around, and this was pretty sensitivelySomewhat manipulative but nonetheless quite engrossing film; it's based on such an incredible true story only astonishingly inept direction could have wrecked the premise, but there's plenty of that around, and this was pretty sensitively handled. I still have an involuntary antipathy towards adopted accents and there was a curious disconnect between the Russian which was subtitled (even when spoken by the leads) and the Polish which was rendered in silly, heavily accented English.

Daniel Craig was somewhat low key and based on this portrayal it became a matter of surprise that he was regarded as the de facto leader of the partisans.

All such films seem to be required by law to feature a mournful violin.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RedShadowHatDec 31, 2012
One of the best movies about the Nazis and Jews Ive EVER seen! Craig did an excellent job. I will, however say that the movie was a bit too long but the battles were so realistic that it didnt matter to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonJul 7, 2013
Daniel Craig will always be associated with the James Bond film franchise having tackled the lead role in two highly successful Bond movies (with a few more on the horizon). Craig's superb as the super-spy and boy can he handle action scenes.Daniel Craig will always be associated with the James Bond film franchise having tackled the lead role in two highly successful Bond movies (with a few more on the horizon). Craig's superb as the super-spy and boy can he handle action scenes. But Craig's not just Bond. He's taken on a diverse collection of film roles over the past 15 years, delivering outstanding performances as a killer in Infamous, a member of the Israeli team assembled after the massacre of Israeli Olympic athletes in Munich, and a business man never referred to by name whose plans for retirement from the drug trade are put on hold in Layer Cake. Craig adds yet another exceptional performance to his resume with his starring role in the dramatic thriller, Defiance, set in 1941. Directed by Edward Zwick (Glory, Blood Diamond) and adapted for the screen by Zwick and Clay Frohman from the non-fiction book by Nechama Tec, Defiance tells the true story of three brothers Tuvia, Zus and Asael Bielski who beat incredible odds and ultimately kept thousands of Jews safe from being murdered by the Nazis and their supporters. Defiance is an absolutely heartbreaking and heroic tale, and one that hadn't seen the light of day on the big screen prior to this film. The real Bielski brothers never sought fame or recognition for their bravery and so this is one true story that will be new to most moviegoers. And it's definitely one that deserves to be shared with a worldwide audience as the Bielskis accomplished the near-impossible and saved untold lives. Tuvia (Craig), Zus (Liev Schreiber), and Asael Bielski (Jamie Bell) escaped into the forest surrounding their family's home in Stankevich (now Belarus) after discovering Nazi collaborators had murdered their parents. Farmers by trade, the brothers were capable, resourceful men able to live off the land. But the Bielskis didn't just want to hide out and try to survive the massacre of their fellow Jewish citizens. The brothers wanted to avenge the deaths of their family and friends and did so by saving men, women, children, and the elderly from falling into the hands of the Nazis and their supporters. At the urging (basically under the direct order of) Tuvia, the oldest brother, anyone seeking food and shelter was accepted into the Bielskis' shelter in the forest. Zus initially wasn't a supporter of Tuvia's plan to take in all refugees, believing they would weaken the group's chances at survival. But Tuvia prevailed and the gathering grew into a society of 1,000+ people, all tasked with working to help the group survive. Temporary housing was built, booby traps were set out to protect the camp, and those capable of handling a gun patrolled the settlement's perimeter. The refugees survived by dealing with farmers and other merchants sympathetic to their situation as well as stealing resources meant for the army. Tuvia, the group's leader, did whatever was necessary to keep order in this makeshift community. He had strict rules everyone in the community had to adhere to and punishment for disobeying could be brutal. But whatever Tuvia did, he did for the good of this group which became known as the Bielski otriad. Thousands who would have perished in the Holocaust lived as the direct result of his actions. Surprisingly, the fact Craig, Schreiber, and Bell in no way resemble brothers doesn't distract from the film. Craig and Schreiber play tough as nails men who butt heads but also obviously love and respect each other. Jamie Bell is slight in build and seems slightly out of place, but his presence is strong enough to carry off the part of the younger brother who finds love in this makeshift community. I haven't read Nechama Tec's book, Defiance: The Bielski Partisans, and so I can't say with any certainty how closely Zwick and Frohman stuck to the source material. As with most films based on books, artistic license was probably taken to make the story flow cinematically. In interviews, Craig and Schreiber said in actuality there was much more brutality and killing than is portrayed in the film. And I have to believe Zwick and Frohman added in more romance than Tec's book revealed. But the basic story is supposedly much the same as how it played out back in 1941. It's incredible to me that I knew nothing about this story after all these years and all these tales of heroics by Germans keeping Jewish citizens safe (such as recounted in Schindler's List). Filmed in the forest outside of Vilnius, Lithuania instead of on a soundstage to add as much realism as possible to this retelling of the Bielskis' story, Defiance is a compelling human drama of revenge, honor, hope, and survival. It's also an engaging action film, although the action never overwhelms the story. Craig, Schreiber and Bell give performances that remind us this is above all the story of men making a stand during one of the bleakest moments in history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tnaceMay 18, 2013
Defiance has awesome character and story. This tv series is better than game Defiance. Positives aspect it different class people. I give 10/10, if next series will be better. Now some is boring, but i have hope, that will be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
darocziMar 26, 2015
This film is America's way of glorifying unsung heroes of some of the world's darkest eras. I love it, and I doubt I'm alone. The acting is great, the setting is portrayed perfectly, and it brilliantly balances drama with action and not tooThis film is America's way of glorifying unsung heroes of some of the world's darkest eras. I love it, and I doubt I'm alone. The acting is great, the setting is portrayed perfectly, and it brilliantly balances drama with action and not too much cheese. At the time of my review, its on Netflix so what's there to lose?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 21, 2016
Great actors, great script so a great movie! The story is so inspirational.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-33-Defiance-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 4, 2016
Very powerful film. It would do anyone's soul good to see this. It is possible for the weak to resist evil.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-33-Defiance-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews