User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 175
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    I wasn't going to write a review on this one, but seeing all the mixed-to-negative reviews, decided to post something. While Deja Vu has its problems, like the sketchy time-travel explanations given and some inconsistencies between the timelines, it's a good movie nevertheless. Tony Scott's (rest in peace) directing is outstanding, Denzel Washington is charismatic as ever, the plot isI wasn't going to write a review on this one, but seeing all the mixed-to-negative reviews, decided to post something. While Deja Vu has its problems, like the sketchy time-travel explanations given and some inconsistencies between the timelines, it's a good movie nevertheless. Tony Scott's (rest in peace) directing is outstanding, Denzel Washington is charismatic as ever, the plot is quite gripping and the action, while scarce, is thrilling. In other words, it's a good sci-fi thriller, and I recommend watching it. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Rather pretentious movie, but it has some real flaws like stupidities in the story and very shallow characters with uneven motivation. The plot has potential though it's not realized properly. The only good things are filming and production.
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    I rather enjoyed Deja Vu. I thought that the plot was solid and did not leave any major plot holes to pick at. The casting was good as were the performances. 'The Girl' in the film was however a bit pointless and it was probably added to kind of add a bit of emotion but the overall film was okay. The only issue was believability but with films like this you don't have to believe in them doI rather enjoyed Deja Vu. I thought that the plot was solid and did not leave any major plot holes to pick at. The casting was good as were the performances. 'The Girl' in the film was however a bit pointless and it was probably added to kind of add a bit of emotion but the overall film was okay. The only issue was believability but with films like this you don't have to believe in them do you? If you had to believe everything could happen before making a film then say goodbye to SciFi completely.
    Denzel puts in yet another solid performance (Not oscar worthy due to the film not being that great) but I found Jim to be a little bit weak. The ending is a little bit normal but its what alot of the mid-range hollywood films do. There is nothing here that surprises and nothing that really disappoints.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    Deja Vu rubbed me the wrong way. At first we got an overly sociable Denzel Washington (As Agent Doug Carlin) who seemed awkwardly out of place, then we're presented a seemingly overweight and bored Val Kilmer and last but not least, a rather disturbing scene where Doug is viewing the body of a recently deceased young woman by the name of Claire Kuchever (Played by Paula Patton) andDeja Vu rubbed me the wrong way. At first we got an overly sociable Denzel Washington (As Agent Doug Carlin) who seemed awkwardly out of place, then we're presented a seemingly overweight and bored Val Kilmer and last but not least, a rather disturbing scene where Doug is viewing the body of a recently deceased young woman by the name of Claire Kuchever (Played by Paula Patton) and suddenly proclaims that "she sure is beautiful" after which the coroner and Doug both stare at the corpse until the Coroner gives an approving "yeah". This scene felt to me like finding out the pretty girl next door likes to really take the time to clean out her nose and eat the boogers. If the above hasn't convinced you to steer clear of this movie, the plotholes will. Expand
  5. Zal
    Dec 24, 2012
    4
    It has a great concept, but Deja Vu tries to do too much at once. It attempts to combine several genres at once and does not succeed at executing any of them well. It's pretty forgettable.
  6. Apr 21, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a "okay" film, the end was strange... it doesn't fit with the rest of the plot, the man should have died with the accident... Well, at least it's entertaining... and the car chase scene was the best part of the movie. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    6
    The movie starts out cool and brazen, but in the end it barely manages to hold itself from the tireless cliches it created. A movie I would recommend to rent & watch.
  8. R.Lopez
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    another clique Sci-Fi thriller. Well your wrong Deja Vu is anything but clique it's an amazingly unique action thriller that you can watch over and over again and love every minute. Deja Vu stars Denzel Washington as Doug Carlin an ATF agent who is investigating a terrorist bombing of a ferry in New Orleans, as he digs deeper into the crime he realizes that he's done this another clique Sci-Fi thriller. Well your wrong Deja Vu is anything but clique it's an amazingly unique action thriller that you can watch over and over again and love every minute. Deja Vu stars Denzel Washington as Doug Carlin an ATF agent who is investigating a terrorist bombing of a ferry in New Orleans, as he digs deeper into the crime he realizes that he's done this before, and that to prevent the ferry bombing from happening he has to travel back to the past to prevent this event from happening. Denzel Washington delivers one of the best performances of his career as a man who has to repeat an event. Deja Vu is an intense, mind blowing and intriguing Sci-Fi film that will blow your mind. I very,Very highly recommended this amazing film. Expand
  9. thebossme
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    Interesting story line. Sci fi thriller that you should just enjoy instead of challenging the plausibility of time travel. Fun trying to determine exactly how many times he did in fact go back in time. Great performance by Denzel.
  10. LeeP.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    Really enjoyed this film, got dragged along to see it by a friend, having no prior knowledge as to what it was all about but it really hit the spot. It puts a different twist on the well worn thriller genre and because you already know what will happen should Denzel fail it cranks up the tension throughout! Well worth a watch!!
  11. BallisticYours
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    Agent Doug only went back in time once, as shown in him popping up in the hospital..the ambulance in the blown-up shack was there just to add drama that things seem to be coming to predictable end, since Doug hadn't gone back in time then. Same thing with the bloody clothes and Doug's fingerprints all over Claire's apartment. Tony Scott and crew should hv studied their time Agent Doug only went back in time once, as shown in him popping up in the hospital..the ambulance in the blown-up shack was there just to add drama that things seem to be coming to predictable end, since Doug hadn't gone back in time then. Same thing with the bloody clothes and Doug's fingerprints all over Claire's apartment. Tony Scott and crew should hv studied their time travel theories better. Heck,maybe they should have read their script, since one of the scientists used the Mississippi River analogy that once u change an event, it will spew into a different travel line. It's really all inconsistent. But have to admit, that car chase scene,no matter ridiculous, looked cool. The Back to the Future films are the best time-travel films since the people behind them were really intellectuals, and thought the storylines out before producing them. Deja vu is bordering on fantasy..Lord of the Rings had more reality than this film!! Expand
  12. TC
    Jan 15, 2008
    0
    One of the worst film I've ever seen. Totally far-fetched with lots of stupid lines. Denzel Washington is just able to smile to make believe he is the good one but his smiles are just fake. Val Kilmer on the other hand is totally unexpressive and just on the movie to get the money. Maybe he knew that the movie was going to be pure shit.
  13. TeeYouBee
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I seriously lóved the movie! At the ending of the movie I got the clue that he did traveled many times back in time. Cauz at the beginning they say that Doug's fingerprints were all over everything in Claire's house. I first thought that this movie was a reality action movie. So when I first found out that it wasn't all that reality'ish, i thought the movie I seriously lóved the movie! At the ending of the movie I got the clue that he did traveled many times back in time. Cauz at the beginning they say that Doug's fingerprints were all over everything in Claire's house. I first thought that this movie was a reality action movie. So when I first found out that it wasn't all that reality'ish, i thought the movie would suck, but it didn't. I really loved the movie. It is a movie where you have to watch good & listen good.The only thing I didn't get was 1 thing. If the Doug (who traveled back in time) died in a exploding car, then the life where he came from 4 days later, doesn't exist anymore right? Anyway, love this movie, cant believe some people rate this low.. Expand
  14. FelixJ.
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    The beginning is pretty slow but after the laser pointer thing it gets really sweet. I love hollywood stuff! And Denzel.
  15. howardp.
    Nov 24, 2007
    6
    Good grade B sci-fi action fare. Denzel sleepwalks through the role. The chase scene on the highway was the film's high point. Very creative.
  16. KurisuD.
    Oct 30, 2007
    4
    Went into the movie with suspicions. (oh great another time-traveling movie). The movie started off innocently enough, but soon turned to hogwash as a seemingly too many convenient series of preposterous events unfolded. Some average ATF agent getting super Top Secret clearance to the nations most advanced technology. Not to mention such technology and the explanation of it were a Went into the movie with suspicions. (oh great another time-traveling movie). The movie started off innocently enough, but soon turned to hogwash as a seemingly too many convenient series of preposterous events unfolded. Some average ATF agent getting super Top Secret clearance to the nations most advanced technology. Not to mention such technology and the explanation of it were a complete joke especially compared to movies like Minority Report that managed to pull off such difficult plots. This ATF agent suddenly became the leader with authority to do whatever he wanted ordering people around and taking whatever technology he wanted. Where are all the guards? He just walks right in for God's sake toward the end. Despite all this the last 20 minutes or so kept me entertained/intrigued enough to bump the score up to a 4. Expand
  17. ElegyL.
    Oct 8, 2007
    2
    Gave me neat-o images to look at...and time travel can be a very interesting theme...however, the movie was simply a piece of sh-t.
  18. JohnH
    Aug 18, 2007
    7
    Entertaining and enjoyable movie. Final ending is weak.
  19. Andy
    Jul 21, 2007
    1
    The film tries to portray realism while excluding logic and a basic understanding for science. Not to mention the movie sucks.
  20. ChristopherJ.
    Jun 3, 2007
    4
    This film was ok, except that the end was a little unclear, and also the scientists are too easily influenced by the ATF agent. So if you really like "Hollywood reality", then this film will not disappoint you. If you like to watch sophisticated human dramas, this isn't for you.
  21. NickA.
    Jun 2, 2007
    3
    I really wanted to like this film but unfortunately even allowing for the always dependable Mr Washington it was absolute nonsense. Of course in many films you have to suspend disbelief but here even I was laughing at the preposterous plot and the so called explanation for this version of time travel. The big problem here is for all the action the film lacked any real suspense and by the I really wanted to like this film but unfortunately even allowing for the always dependable Mr Washington it was absolute nonsense. Of course in many films you have to suspend disbelief but here even I was laughing at the preposterous plot and the so called explanation for this version of time travel. The big problem here is for all the action the film lacked any real suspense and by the end I couldn't care less what happened, if the director doesnt make you care enough about the characters then that will surely disconnect the viewer. I actually fast forwarded the last 30 minutes as I was so bored, but thought ok I really should watch it through in the hope that it would rise above the mediocre! sadly it didn't! utter nonsense, poor direction, a waste of a good cast, I could go on... Denzel Washingtons star is fading fast and any more films like this will surely put the lights out on his career. Expand
  22. MorganG.
    May 24, 2007
    0
    This film sort of starts out slow. Then it takes it easy in the middle. And winds down towards the end.
  23. MarcT.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie ive ever seen . Ive been interested in the phenominon but this movie takes it to the max. a Scientific breakthrough that lets us all escape reality for 4 and a half days . Completely wonderful, il watch it everyday
  24. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    9
    Really cool futuristic action with Denzel Washington, something you have never seen before. Denzel plays a special ops FBI agent who must change the past to save the future using special technology before it's too late. He has only one chance. It's a Back to The Future + Time Machine + Die Hard. The whole idea of real-time visualization and interaction with the past, thinking of Really cool futuristic action with Denzel Washington, something you have never seen before. Denzel plays a special ops FBI agent who must change the past to save the future using special technology before it's too late. He has only one chance. It's a Back to The Future + Time Machine + Die Hard. The whole idea of real-time visualization and interaction with the past, thinking of it as of a trailing sequence of events in present that are actually taking place right now in a different timeframe, is completely new and boosts your imagination. Expand
  25. KhoaN.
    May 9, 2007
    8
    This has nothing to do with biology but all about time travel. Some people have missed the point and think it's a crime thriller with a little splash of technology. Rather, it's a time travel movie, and if watched closely there are many times Denzel travelled back in time. If you haven't got that, and you have got nothing.
  26. NeuroticRampage
    Apr 30, 2007
    7
    This movie does have it's gaps in its story structure, as do most unexplainable or fantasy based scientific works. The idea standing behind this movie though is great, and if you give it a chance, you'll want to see how it unfolds. All in all, definatley worth at least a rent.
  27. DaveL.
    Apr 24, 2007
    3
    The movie was fairly entertaining. Jim R. stated, "A very solid movie that keeps you thinking (assuming you bring your brain with you...)." I would say the exact opposite. It would be a great movie if you left your brain at home. The story is too far fetched and I'm amazed that I hear some of my friends say, "Do you think that's possible? If not, how long before it becomes a The movie was fairly entertaining. Jim R. stated, "A very solid movie that keeps you thinking (assuming you bring your brain with you...)." I would say the exact opposite. It would be a great movie if you left your brain at home. The story is too far fetched and I'm amazed that I hear some of my friends say, "Do you think that's possible? If not, how long before it becomes a possibility?" So, there is an audience that will enjoy this but if you find yourself educated in any sense (especially College educated with a Biology degree) then you will hate this and find this laughable. Expand
  28. DarrylCritic
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    When someone writes "A perfect movie with good actors and a more than perfect scenario" when most experienced and respected critics found it imperfect, you tend to take that "perfect" review with a grain, no, make that a bushel of salt. (Jim A., you're not doing yourself any favours.)
  29. CartinM.
    Mar 16, 2007
    7
    I'm sure that I've reviewed this film before. Anyway I recently saw this movie with my dear friend Allen (who by the way is the gravy king). We sat down together and prepared ourselves for the treat that is Denzel. I must say I wasn't dissappointed, intense action and 90 minutes of pure Denzel is enough for this man.
  30. JimR.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    A very solid movie that keeps you thinking (assuming you bring your brain with you to the movie instead of using it as a doorstop like most of these reviewers). Every time you see or hear something that makes no sense, the director makes sure it all comes together at the end. In fact, I think when the dvd comes out, you'll see a lot of extra stuff that had to be left out. It says a A very solid movie that keeps you thinking (assuming you bring your brain with you to the movie instead of using it as a doorstop like most of these reviewers). Every time you see or hear something that makes no sense, the director makes sure it all comes together at the end. In fact, I think when the dvd comes out, you'll see a lot of extra stuff that had to be left out. It says a lot that this film is doing fantasticly internationally but not so great here. For you 0's, 1's , and 2's.. great news! I hear there's gonna be a sequel to Borat! Expand
  31. JimA.
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    A perfect movie with good actors and a more than perfect scenario.
  32. HariS.
    Feb 21, 2007
    6
    Taking out the absurdly and illogical end, this film is amazing, with a very interesting idea and one of most original car-chasing sequences in the movie history.
  33. MichelS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    Not the best movie in the world, but if you are willing to ignore the sci-fi nonsense and let yourself be grabbed by the action, it's worth it. Suspense, romance and pseudo-science work together for a fun movie.
  34. SandyS.
    Dec 19, 2006
    2
    Really insipid - totally unbelievable even for sci-fi, with a clairvoyant detective (Washington of course) who is totally infallible and all-knowing. Never could get over the credibility problem and suffered greatly throughout this predictable melodrama.
  35. Sidiot
    Dec 17, 2006
    0
    Absolutley a moronic movie without any character development and a plot that takes a walk off the pier. A couple more losers like this and Denzel loses his star power. The worst movie of his career.
  36. PatrickL.
    Dec 12, 2006
    0
    A film with no worth. It is the kind of movies they did in the 80s; science nonsense, tv screens, time-count downs, cheesy music, explosions. And who is that guy looking like a caricature of Val Kilmer? It was amazingly stupid and boring and cliched.
  37. DerrickH.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    This movie is great!! You must go to the restroom and get your food before watching this becasue you can not miss any parts of it. This movie is unpredictiable and keeps you alert. A must SEE.
  38. MichaelP.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    My thanks goes to Devin (below). The other reviews were so bad I almost didn't go see this movie. But I did go, based on Devin's comments, and he nailed it. As he said, if you like movies that make you think a little bit while you're watching, and you're a fan of techno-thrillers with lots of action, you'll like this movie. Admittedly, it's not for My thanks goes to Devin (below). The other reviews were so bad I almost didn't go see this movie. But I did go, based on Devin's comments, and he nailed it. As he said, if you like movies that make you think a little bit while you're watching, and you're a fan of techno-thrillers with lots of action, you'll like this movie. Admittedly, it's not for everyone--if you go to films so you can mentally flat-line and have everything spelled out to you in a way that even a moron could understand, then you probably won't like Deja Vu. Stay home and gaze blankly at reality TV or drool in front of your Nintendo game instead. Thanks again, Devin! Expand
  39. A.Martinez
    Dec 8, 2006
    2
    Whoa! Val Kilmer and Denzel Washington, great actors, but bad movie. It happens, I guess. The movie tries to make us think that they can bend time, but it tries too hard. The ending is ridiculous. I am not even sure that this is a rental!!!
  40. BillyB.
    Dec 6, 2006
    5
    This film just reminded me of so many time warping movies from the past and there is no new ideas in this movie prior to what they make you believe.
  41. Devin
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed Deja Vu. For those who labeled it as "hard to follow" or "not making any sense", that may be true for some people, but most of the educated public will enjoy a movie that actually makes you THINK and figure out the movie. The acting was great, special effects were good, but it had an original storyline and it was overall an intense action drama. A must-see.
  42. Hassan
    Dec 6, 2006
    0
    This movie was lacking in every conceivable manner. The acting was third rate, the directing poor and the script beyond lame. The premise was excellent but the movie quickly falls apart within the first 20 minutes. There is no character development just some lengthy technobabble that puts the viewer to sleep. And when the character Denzel plays takes an interest in a girl who we know This movie was lacking in every conceivable manner. The acting was third rate, the directing poor and the script beyond lame. The premise was excellent but the movie quickly falls apart within the first 20 minutes. There is no character development just some lengthy technobabble that puts the viewer to sleep. And when the character Denzel plays takes an interest in a girl who we know nothing about the movie is over right then and there. As for suspense there isn't any. And it is impossible to feel anything for any of the characters because we never get to know them. This is one very poor effort and I am surprised that an actor of Denzel Washington's stature would permit this to even be released. It is a total embarrassment to all. Expand
  43. Rasputin
    Dec 5, 2006
    0
    Anything blowing up when you least expect it is scary. However, we didn't know any of the characters on board. They played it to the hilt with little children and teachers having fun. Of course they never explain why any of this is happening only that Denzel has the hots with his DeJa Hocus Pocus for some dead chick who he knows absolutely nothing about. It is Denzel playing Anything blowing up when you least expect it is scary. However, we didn't know any of the characters on board. They played it to the hilt with little children and teachers having fun. Of course they never explain why any of this is happening only that Denzel has the hots with his DeJa Hocus Pocus for some dead chick who he knows absolutely nothing about. It is Denzel playing detective risking his life supposedly, as we know he is never going to die, well sort of, ha-ha, for a woman whose character is never developed. And what was up with that ending? Did all the scientists fade into blackness. This movie is one big great mess in that we care nothing for anyone. About 30 minutes into this crapola you will be looking at your watch. After an hour you know you have been had by the studio that produced this turkey. Avoid at all costs. You have been warned. Expand
  44. FedUp
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    Unadulterated garbage without any real suspense. Very poorly acted and directed.
  45. CarlieA.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It kept my attention and the ferry blowing up was very scary.
  46. VictorR.
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    Deja phooey! Just a poor effort by all concerned. Nothing made any sense and the suspense was gone in about five minutes. Just kept looking at my watch waiting for it to be mercifully over. And when it does end it is forgotten the minute you walk out of your seat.
  47. CriticD.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. However, the ending should have been re-written. The way the female character reacts when she sees the agent (Denzel) appear again didn't play right. A few other time-travel issues are present, but that's what you get with time-travel movies. There are two time-travel movies in theatre right now - this one and another called "The Fountain." I wish I I really enjoyed this movie. However, the ending should have been re-written. The way the female character reacts when she sees the agent (Denzel) appear again didn't play right. A few other time-travel issues are present, but that's what you get with time-travel movies. There are two time-travel movies in theatre right now - this one and another called "The Fountain." I wish I could time-travel back to the day I saw "The Fountain" and stop myself from going. I would rather have a another case of "Deja Vu" than sit through that mess. Expand
  48. JustinG.
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    Just got back from it. I gotta say, I think Deja Vu was completely misunderstood. People seem really in shock when the end is a good ending although untill the very end we are lead to believe by the "physics" of this film that the end will be a "certain" way (don't wanna give spoilers). It makes me wonder why when the logic is so obvious that the writers went the opposite way. I Just got back from it. I gotta say, I think Deja Vu was completely misunderstood. People seem really in shock when the end is a good ending although untill the very end we are lead to believe by the "physics" of this film that the end will be a "certain" way (don't wanna give spoilers). It makes me wonder why when the logic is so obvious that the writers went the opposite way. I think they explained why it went a different way and an illogical way in several places 1) where he's asking why can't they put the note down and 2) at the end where he asks who norstad really is. I think everybody missed it because it wasn't that obvious, I give this an 8 instead of 9 or 10 because I thought the father's acting was horrible and assuming I'm right about the screenplay I think the message as to why the timeline was alterable wasn't played out as obvious as the general audience needed it to be. Other than that, I loved it. Expand
  49. SueS.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Action-packed thriller!
  50. ElliotP.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Very well done sci-fi action detective thriller. I do not know what movie other reviewers watched because this is the best movie I have seen all season.
  51. KyleM.
    Dec 2, 2006
    6
    Nobody said it best as the guy sitting next to us in a crowded theatre that Denzel packed. "Whattttt?" he said after the last scene of this move, which is completely unbelievable. They tried to put out something half-believable and thought provoking...for that they get 4 points and 1 for Jerry Bruckheimer-esque things blowing up. Acting wasn't terrible, but if you want me to believe Nobody said it best as the guy sitting next to us in a crowded theatre that Denzel packed. "Whattttt?" he said after the last scene of this move, which is completely unbelievable. They tried to put out something half-believable and thought provoking...for that they get 4 points and 1 for Jerry Bruckheimer-esque things blowing up. Acting wasn't terrible, but if you want me to believe that you can have high-quality video of the past and Denzel can travel through time, get some nerd-looking scientists who know what they Expand
  52. VirginaA.
    Dec 2, 2006
    0
    Terribly disappointing effort even by such a great actor as Denzel Washington. No chemistry, no nothing, as it was very difficult to have any feeling for all of these discombobulated characters. Who approved this lame script?
  53. SamF.
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    Not a bad film ...Ive seen much worse. Concept was okay but mixed time travel at the end with looking back in time for most of the film which dulled it alot. Questions abound this movie, but if your mind is open to anything is possible with time travel then it works.
  54. LANCE
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    Just saw the movie this evening. "Minority Report" type script set in todays times. Typical blow em up action movie with some clever writing and directing to tie up the loose ends in the plot(s). I rate it a B-
  55. RodneyH.
    Nov 29, 2006
    0
    This is an amateur production that despite the subject "terrorism" lacks any suspense or caring about the characters. Once Denzel focused in on the female beauty without any insight into her character the movie was dead in the water. As for the supporting cast I can swear I was watching Ted Mack's amateur hour as that is how awful their collective performances were. Val we hardly This is an amateur production that despite the subject "terrorism" lacks any suspense or caring about the characters. Once Denzel focused in on the female beauty without any insight into her character the movie was dead in the water. As for the supporting cast I can swear I was watching Ted Mack's amateur hour as that is how awful their collective performances were. Val we hardly knew ye. Was that the Goodyear Blimp you were wearing? Avoid. Expand
  56. RichardG.
    Nov 28, 2006
    2
    Begins well enough, then spoils quickly with the "hero" turning into an irrational and selfish bully. The anti-science bias of the film doesn't help either.
  57. Tammmie
    Nov 28, 2006
    0
    One of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Everything was disjointed and the ending was awful. Much ado about nothing.
  58. MikeC.
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    Fabulous movie. Bring your imagination - but it's not as preposterous as some might think. (Who knows what the possibilities are over the next 10 years?) Well-acted. Caviezel makes a great evil adversary. Enjoyed every minute.
  59. DonnyB.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    What?? I am nothing less than shocked to read what the others have written. Great editing, storyline, and audio on top of that everything comes together like clockwork. What more could you ask for?? Bottom line..........Entertaining as hell!!
  60. ArtB.
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    After being trashed by Roper and Scott, I went to see this movie. I didn't think this movie could be one of the worse movies of the year based on their review on "At The Movies". This was a good movie; not the best but worth seeing. Roper and Scott said they were confused but I must have seen a differnent version as the explanations of time travel made sense. I don't go to a After being trashed by Roper and Scott, I went to see this movie. I didn't think this movie could be one of the worse movies of the year based on their review on "At The Movies". This was a good movie; not the best but worth seeing. Roper and Scott said they were confused but I must have seen a differnent version as the explanations of time travel made sense. I don't go to a SCI-FI movie expecting explanations of quantum theories. I just accept the premise and enjoy the action. This was a fun, exciting, and well constructed film. I think most who enjoy SCI-FI will be entertained. Expand
  61. Agnes
    Nov 26, 2006
    0
    Was it me or was there any suspense in this bad bad flick. What could have been good was done in by a lame script, poor acting and awful directing. Denzel Washington played the same character he always does, tough, straight as an arrow, and without any emotion. His supporting cast walked through this film as though they were wooden Indians. Val Kilmer, well it looks like he ballooned up Was it me or was there any suspense in this bad bad flick. What could have been good was done in by a lame script, poor acting and awful directing. Denzel Washington played the same character he always does, tough, straight as an arrow, and without any emotion. His supporting cast walked through this film as though they were wooden Indians. Val Kilmer, well it looks like he ballooned up to about 250 pounds from his leading star Batman days. He is almost unrecognizable. Adam Goldberg is the best of the rest but we don't even get to know the character behind the person. Denzel falls in love with Paula Patton and becomes obsessed with changing history even though he may be risking his life to do so? Of course, as I said, there is NO suspense as the audience is already looking at their watch about fifteen minutes into the movie. Folks this is one bad movie that gets the viewer more frustrated by the second. At the end of the movie the scientists dissapear into nothingness. It doesn't get uglier than this. Expand
  62. CongoG.
    Nov 26, 2006
    0
    Just cam back from seeing this junk last night with my main squeeze. I forced her to go because she had heard from friends that it was awful. I told her Denzel never makes anything bad. Boy was I wrong. The script is totally disconnected from the characters. After 30 minutes I knew it was a bomb and my girlfriend started nodding off after giving me one of her icy stares. I woke her up Just cam back from seeing this junk last night with my main squeeze. I forced her to go because she had heard from friends that it was awful. I told her Denzel never makes anything bad. Boy was I wrong. The script is totally disconnected from the characters. After 30 minutes I knew it was a bomb and my girlfriend started nodding off after giving me one of her icy stares. I woke her up after it was over and told her that it really got good after she fell asleep. I lied to save my bacon because the truth is it may be one of the worst movies of all time. I am lucky man that she apologized to me for falling asleep. Expand
  63. HoraceLokite
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    Who wrote this lame script and who approved it? Anyone who sat through this BS should get battle pay as that is how awful this is. Avoid like the plague.
  64. LaughingS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    What the hell was Denzel thinking? The English Dictionary doesn't have an adequate word to describe how discombulated this truly was. Word of mouth will have this drek out of the theater within two weeks.
  65. LassiterR.
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    How terrible was this? Let me count the ways. First Denzel Washington trying to keep a straight face when playing the same character he always does was the most interesting. They pick him up off the street and he takes over in a matter of minutes as he becomes the boss. The premise is just on the left side of insane. The techie mumbo jumbo talk goes on putting you to sleep. There is no How terrible was this? Let me count the ways. First Denzel Washington trying to keep a straight face when playing the same character he always does was the most interesting. They pick him up off the street and he takes over in a matter of minutes as he becomes the boss. The premise is just on the left side of insane. The techie mumbo jumbo talk goes on putting you to sleep. There is no chemistry between any of the characters and at the end of the film I guess they all fade into the woodwork. If this were a free movie you would be insulted if you were forced to sit through it. How this was ever released is beyond all intelligence. Run don't walk away from this garbage. Expand
  66. Ladyfinger
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    Are they serious? The trailer was better than this convoluted trash masquerading as a sorry excuse for a commercial movie. I love Denzel and can't believe that he permitted this to be released. It is a total embarassment. It is so bad in fact that you couldn't care less what happens to the characters because you feel nothing but anger toward being roped into this abomination. Are they serious? The trailer was better than this convoluted trash masquerading as a sorry excuse for a commercial movie. I love Denzel and can't believe that he permitted this to be released. It is a total embarassment. It is so bad in fact that you couldn't care less what happens to the characters because you feel nothing but anger toward being roped into this abomination. Zero chemistry between the characters. Without question the worst movie Denzel ever made. Expand
  67. LarryN.
    Nov 24, 2006
    8
    If you like SciFi, if you like action & suspense, and if you like Denzel, you are going to enjoy this film. Just came back from the theater with my wife, we went in cold not knowing anything about it except Denzel was in it (my wife is a big fan of Mr. Washington), I really had no expectations (did not think "Man on Fire" was all that great), but we both liked this film alot. LJN
  68. StevenC.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie, It kept me thinking the entire time! My friend and I tried to figure it out the movie the whole time, and had a great time doing so. Great thinker movie, and if you dont like that watch it just for the fact of seeing Paula Patton( the leading girl opposit Denzel Washington)
  69. CarolA.
    Nov 23, 2006
    0
    One of the worst movies ever. No chemistry between the characters, tons of high tech gadgetry with more holes than swiss cheese. About an hour into the movie you stop caring and can't wait for it to be over. How this was ever made is biggest question of all. Denzel Washington now has the biggest bomb of his career. Don't spend your hard earned dollars on this turkey.
  70. Robertxxx
    Nov 22, 2006
    5
    We've all looked at our watch during dull movies to see how much longer it's going to last--but after six minutes? this film stumbles from the start and never recovers; a silly time-capsule story that builds absolutely no suspense.
  71. Fantasy
    Nov 22, 2006
    0
    I find it difficult to believe that Denzel Washington an Academy Award winner would sign off on this lame production. If this were a free made for TV movie you would change the channel. It is too bad to be believed. No chemistry, no plot and no dialogue. Idiotic.
  72. JudyT.
    Nov 22, 2006
    6
    Deja phooey, this movie would have been more interesting if Denzel hadn't gotten interested in Claire. The surviellance and time stream were interesting. Everything was going well until Denzel's character started focusing on the girl. Just like Timecop the ending is for people who need happy ending and not something really interesting to ponder.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    80
    Cinema's natural felicities for time and action have seldom felt as beautifully dovetailed.
  2. Unlike the last Scott-Washington matchup, "Man on Fire," Deja Vu boasts a muscular, fast-forward story that won't be overwhelmed by Scott's need for speed in the form of rapid cuts and all that visual fusion that have become his stylistic trademark. Here, the approach is perfectly suited to the picture's time-shifting, multitasking structure.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    It's preposterous, but never dull: Scott whips the action into a taut, tasty lather.