Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 11, 2005
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
15
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
AlanN.Oct 4, 2007
Not unwatchable by any means and if you don't wish to be mentally challenged you may well enjoy it. With his current rising stock in Hollywood, I'm really surprised Clive Owen accepted a lead role in this movie, however, as the Not unwatchable by any means and if you don't wish to be mentally challenged you may well enjoy it. With his current rising stock in Hollywood, I'm really surprised Clive Owen accepted a lead role in this movie, however, as the plot line is so completely predictable. As you can see from my score, I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jan 20, 2006
We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the en route to inevitability. "Derailed" is so miscasted, you're led to believe that this was a deliberate exercise in casting against type. Melissa George, who plays Charles' wife, is way hotter than Aniston. I guess a woman loses her erotic allure when you see her stab your daughter's arm with a shot of insulin. When Phillipe(Vincent Cassel) arrives on the scene, you just hope there's no hokey switch in allegiances to subvert what's painfully obvious to everybody sitting in the audience. "Derailed" is a failure because Aniston's character is neither sexy, or cute enough to "derail" a man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GrantN.Jan 27, 2006
Derailed is yet another reason why movis are getting worse, lack of originality. Derailed has been done 100 times before and done better most of the time. Clive Owen is quite a good actor and does what he can with his role but the villian is Derailed is yet another reason why movis are getting worse, lack of originality. Derailed has been done 100 times before and done better most of the time. Clive Owen is quite a good actor and does what he can with his role but the villian is possibly the most generic movie character ever. Derailed is easily predicatable and but never tedious and admitadly provides a few thrills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Sep 16, 2006
Feels like a forgotten script that got buried somewhere after Michael Douglas passed on it in 1988.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KateP.Feb 9, 2006
I am enjoying watching films which u cant guess the ending, the kind of film which has a twist! Like Saw this has a good twist. Worth watching but isnt something you need to see at the cinema, good movie for a night on the sofa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticJul 6, 2007
A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much chemistry here,) Derailed features rappers RZA and Xzibit (not as cameos, but as main characters) and while their performances aren't horrible, them being in the movie is definitely more of a distraction than an asset. There's a very satisfying confromtation in the movie towards the end but otherwise, the movie never really seems to do much with its premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarcK.Nov 12, 2005
Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While people like to make fun of Jennifer Aniston, I happen to think she's a very underrated actress (The Good Girl, Picture Perfect), and does a decent job in this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
patrickNov 13, 2005
Unintentionally hilarious. clive owen from sin city came out and took out the trash toward the end. most basically its a movie you theater hop into.
0 of 0 users found this helpful