User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 83
  2. Negative: 27 out of 83
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Quite interesting...much better than what I thought! Not great, but it is not a mediocre film either. My favourite actor there: Vincent Cassel! He is just magnificent! Honestly, I don't understand why the bad reviews. It is a bit disappointing for this is not a bad film at all. It is definitely a different film, but it never bores. Intense, and engaging. Give it ago, I do recommend it,Quite interesting...much better than what I thought! Not great, but it is not a mediocre film either. My favourite actor there: Vincent Cassel! He is just magnificent! Honestly, I don't understand why the bad reviews. It is a bit disappointing for this is not a bad film at all. It is definitely a different film, but it never bores. Intense, and engaging. Give it ago, I do recommend it, and so far, when I have done and people did it, they came and told me they were greatly surprised. Collapse
  2. DiegoF.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in the past 2 years! 2005 and 2006 have only put trash on the big screen. This is a very good movie with lots of suspense, at least 2 changing points in its development and not at all predictable untill the last 20'. Highly recommendable
  3. AlanN.
    Oct 4, 2007
    5
    Not unwatchable by any means and if you don't wish to be mentally challenged you may well enjoy it. With his current rising stock in Hollywood, I'm really surprised Clive Owen accepted a lead role in this movie, however, as the plot line is so completely predictable. As you can see from my score, I wouldn't recommend it.
  4. Nathan
    Nov 22, 2005
    7
    An above average thriller, it had some parts that I wasn't really expecting. The first half is slow and boring, but the second half makes up for it nicely. Though I do believe that two actors besides Aniston and Owen could have done a better job.
  5. ChadS.
    Jan 20, 2006
    4
    We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the en route to inevitability. "Derailed" is so miscasted, you're led to believe that this was a deliberate exercise in casting against type. Melissa We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the en route to inevitability. "Derailed" is so miscasted, you're led to believe that this was a deliberate exercise in casting against type. Melissa George, who plays Charles' wife, is way hotter than Aniston. I guess a woman loses her erotic allure when you see her stab your daughter's arm with a shot of insulin. When Phillipe(Vincent Cassel) arrives on the scene, you just hope there's no hokey switch in allegiances to subvert what's painfully obvious to everybody sitting in the audience. "Derailed" is a failure because Aniston's character is neither sexy, or cute enough to "derail" a man. Expand
  6. GrantN.
    Jan 27, 2006
    5
    Derailed is yet another reason why movis are getting worse, lack of originality. Derailed has been done 100 times before and done better most of the time. Clive Owen is quite a good actor and does what he can with his role but the villian is possibly the most generic movie character ever. Derailed is easily predicatable and but never tedious and admitadly provides a few thrills.
  7. EricD.
    Mar 26, 2006
    3
    I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor reviews. I'll think twice before following his recommendations again. I did not enjoy it at all. It was preposterously unbelievable and so depressing. I like Aniston and Owen, but agree that they were all wrong for these characters. Save your money I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor reviews. I'll think twice before following his recommendations again. I did not enjoy it at all. It was preposterously unbelievable and so depressing. I like Aniston and Owen, but agree that they were all wrong for these characters. Save your money for a movie with some redeeming qualities. Expand
  8. JoM.
    May 16, 2006
    8
    I can't believe the bad reviews on this one! The first 20 minutes or so it takes to establish the characters is a bit slow, but after that the movie is exciting and suspenseful. Maybe I'm a complete dork, but I didn't see the twists coming at all. I thought Clive Owen was great, and played the kind of role where as a viewer, you watch the movie trying to figure out what you I can't believe the bad reviews on this one! The first 20 minutes or so it takes to establish the characters is a bit slow, but after that the movie is exciting and suspenseful. Maybe I'm a complete dork, but I didn't see the twists coming at all. I thought Clive Owen was great, and played the kind of role where as a viewer, you watch the movie trying to figure out what you might do in his situation. So, I agree, no academy-award-winner, BUT, very entertaining and I would highly recommend this one. Expand
  9. JeffM.
    Sep 16, 2006
    5
    Feels like a forgotten script that got buried somewhere after Michael Douglas passed on it in 1988.
  10. BillB.
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    It is not a classic, but it is suspenceful and fun.
  11. Pepper
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Clive Owen makes this film worth seeing!
  12. shsch
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is that they can't accept Owen and Aniston in their roles. I did accept them and found the action story compelling. This movie is more exciting than History of Violence which the critics loved. And that was a movie which to me reached its climax Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is that they can't accept Owen and Aniston in their roles. I did accept them and found the action story compelling. This movie is more exciting than History of Violence which the critics loved. And that was a movie which to me reached its climax with an outrageous sequence of over-the-top events with charcters so stylized as to be ridiculously unreal, speaking of implausible. Also in this film, the minor characters came off as real people with interesting personalities which added to the story as well. If you're looking for action with tension and a hero worth watching, this is the movie to see, all the way to the end. Expand
  13. Trinidad&TobagoCaribbean
    Jan 15, 2006
    8
    This was a good movie... According to one of the comments made by a viewer it won't win any awards, but it a movie worth seeing... A viewer also expressed his dissatisfaction with the critics review, i was surprise that this movie did not get a higher rating than 40... .. i strongly suggest that if you depress don't look at it... if you are hyper ... look at it and leave the This was a good movie... According to one of the comments made by a viewer it won't win any awards, but it a movie worth seeing... A viewer also expressed his dissatisfaction with the critics review, i was surprise that this movie did not get a higher rating than 40... .. i strongly suggest that if you depress don't look at it... if you are hyper ... look at it and leave the cinema like a normal man.. lol... In all a good movie. Expand
  14. KateP.
    Feb 9, 2006
    6
    I am enjoying watching films which u cant guess the ending, the kind of film which has a twist! Like Saw this has a good twist. Worth watching but isnt something you need to see at the cinema, good movie for a night on the sofa.
  15. Samantha
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    The best movie i'v seen sence King Arthur Clive gave me shivers and Jen made me question alot just when you think you know whats its all about you find out how wrong you are.
  16. FrankO.
    Mar 24, 2006
    7
    curious to see this flim because the novel was quite good; it did not disappoint me although lots of others did not like it; Aniston was very good but Clive Owen does not play naive or dumb characters very well, it doesn't fit his personality or physical presence. Vincent Cassel stole the film with his nastiness.
  17. EdwardV.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Clever, riveting, crime suspense thriller! Not a dull moment. Best I've seen in years.
  18. BarbaraD.
    Jul 26, 2006
    8
    We really enjoyed this movie. It has so many twists and turns, held our interest completely. And we were totally surprised as it approached the ending. Highly recommend it.
  19. BrandonA.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    WHAT IS WITH THE BAD REVIEWS!!!! I absolutely loved this movie!!! I guess I don't know about the "proper" way a line should be read or whatever. I watch movies to be entertained and that is what this movie did. So many twist! I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a WHILE! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of....*STEREOTYPE ALERT* I am a black man, and some parts WHAT IS WITH THE BAD REVIEWS!!!! I absolutely loved this movie!!! I guess I don't know about the "proper" way a line should be read or whatever. I watch movies to be entertained and that is what this movie did. So many twist! I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a WHILE! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of....*STEREOTYPE ALERT* I am a black man, and some parts I was going "GRRR!!! SO STUPID!!!! SAY SOMETHING ALREADY!!!" hahahaa. But in the end, everything made since. Also to think about it, I can totally understand why all the characters did what they did. Go rent this now! Expand
  20. AMovieCritic
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much chemistry here,) Derailed features rappers RZA and Xzibit (not as cameos, but as main characters) and while their performances aren't horrible, A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much chemistry here,) Derailed features rappers RZA and Xzibit (not as cameos, but as main characters) and while their performances aren't horrible, them being in the movie is definitely more of a distraction than an asset. There's a very satisfying confromtation in the movie towards the end but otherwise, the movie never really seems to do much with its premise. Expand
  21. AngusS.
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    Interesting dialogue. Nice payoff at end from opening scene.
  22. MarcK.
    Nov 12, 2005
    5
    Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While people like to make fun of Jennifer Aniston, I happen to think she's a very underrated actress (The Good Girl, Picture Perfect), and does a decent Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While people like to make fun of Jennifer Aniston, I happen to think she's a very underrated actress (The Good Girl, Picture Perfect), and does a decent job in this role. Expand
  23. Colby
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    I thought this movie was awesome. I cant believe all the bad reviews it is getting. I didnt see any of the twists that came with the movie. If you are a movie dork that picks movies apart then dont see it but if you are a normal person who wants to see a good movie see it and you will enjoy it. For someone who takes life too seriously and cant sit back and relax maybe you should sit home. I thought this movie was awesome. I cant believe all the bad reviews it is getting. I didnt see any of the twists that came with the movie. If you are a movie dork that picks movies apart then dont see it but if you are a normal person who wants to see a good movie see it and you will enjoy it. For someone who takes life too seriously and cant sit back and relax maybe you should sit home. None of you can enjoy any movie not just this one. Expand
  24. lucy
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Awesome movie.
  25. VinceP.
    Nov 18, 2005
    8
    The story line had a lot of surprises and the action had me jump in my seat.
  26. MarkB.
    Nov 21, 2005
    7
    America's Favorite Friend meets The Man who Shoulda Been Bond; both play significantly against type, and the result looks very good on both of them. Suburban everyman Clive Owen is enticed into an affair with an appealing but equally committed train passenger (Jennifer Aniston), whom he meets while running late for work; the resulting unforeseen complications (to use an America's Favorite Friend meets The Man who Shoulda Been Bond; both play significantly against type, and the result looks very good on both of them. Suburban everyman Clive Owen is enticed into an affair with an appealing but equally committed train passenger (Jennifer Aniston), whom he meets while running late for work; the resulting unforeseen complications (to use an understatement), to say nothing of Owen's complete inexperience, fear and sheer wimpiness in dealing with them, cause him to dig himself deeper and deeper into a hole that not only offers no way out but threatens to suck his family and everything else he holds dear in as well. Obviously, this very effective, smartly and atmospherically directed thriller conjures up memories of Fatal Attraction--and just as obviously it's not going to cause even a small ripple of the tidal wave caused by that 18-year-old pop culture sensation, but I liked the central contrast between the "hero's" motivation in both films: Michael Douglas' wife, family and world are so perfect before he impulsively threatens to destroy it all on a selfish whim that audience members are completely justified in asking (to themselves or out loud) if he's got a screw loose or what. On the other hand, Owen, quite realistically, is battling so many marital, family and on-the-job pressures that it's much easier to understand if not justify his spur-of-the-moment decision to "take a break". Owen as an actor is so effective at playing seemingly coldblooded, heartless characters (Croupier, Closer) that watching him display vulnerability, weakness and even compassion seems like a real discovery; director Mikael Hafstrom is equally effective at turning the thermostat down on Aniston's typical trademark warmth. As a thriller Derailed works so well most of the way, and so persuasively convinced me that it wasn't going to let me down that I was doubly disappointed when it finally did; of its many Big Twists, there was one that I predicted early on before the movie later talked me out of it only to double back and fool me AGAIN, while another had me quickly out of my seat clawing ceiling tiles. Sadly, like Fatal Attraction, Derailed cops out in the home stretch by feeling the need to reassure rather than respect its audience; it's not only ethically right that certain characters need to face the full consequences of their actions and failures, but given how honestly Derailed worked most of the way, it's organically necessary as well. But instead of going all the way and being truly cathartic, Derailed opts to go soft on us; the result is the difference between a great suspense movie and nine-tenths of a good one--and unfortunately, that's just enough of a miscalculation to cause this sleek,fast-moving train to jump the tracks. Expand
  27. TomG.
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    Entertaining and worth seeing. This film won't win any awards but given some of the bombs lately it was a pleasant surprise.
  28. FredR
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    I'm starting to think that the worse the critics reviews the better the potential for a good movie. I heard a review on the radio that basically gave away an important twist. I wish these miserable critics would consider that most viewers aren't comparing everything to Million Dollar Baby, which they protected from spoilers. Go see this movie if you want to have a great time at I'm starting to think that the worse the critics reviews the better the potential for a good movie. I heard a review on the radio that basically gave away an important twist. I wish these miserable critics would consider that most viewers aren't comparing everything to Million Dollar Baby, which they protected from spoilers. Go see this movie if you want to have a great time at the movies. There are enough twists to keep you guessing. Expand
  29. AbbyL
    Jul 21, 2007
    7
    I was fortunate enough to read the book Derailed before I saw the movie. The twist was very very enthralling, but I will give an ample warning to all READ THE BOOK, it is oh so better and very very in detail.
  30. BillR.
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    This is a great movie and Jen, Clive and Vince did very well. Go see it and don't read any of the reviews before going.
  31. patrick
    Nov 13, 2005
    5
    Unintentionally hilarious. clive owen from sin city came out and took out the trash toward the end. most basically its a movie you theater hop into.
  32. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    Largely underrated and a typically top-nothc psychological thriller. Derailed is filled with countless twists and emotional performances from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. 50
    The strapping Owen as a guy who can't handle himself and cutie-pie Aniston as a witchy woman? I don't think so. Talk about derailed.
  2. This flaccid psychological thriller keeps spoiling its own surprise by constantly signaling the big plot twist.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    This murky psychological suspenser manages the tricky feat of being as predictable as it is finally preposterous.