Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 11, 2005
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
15
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Largely underrated and a typically top-nothc psychological thriller. Derailed is filled with countless twists and emotional performances from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 5, 2012
Quite interesting...much better than what I thought! Not great, but it is not a mediocre film either. My favourite actor there: Vincent Cassel! He is just magnificent! Honestly, I don't understand why the bad reviews. It is a bitQuite interesting...much better than what I thought! Not great, but it is not a mediocre film either. My favourite actor there: Vincent Cassel! He is just magnificent! Honestly, I don't understand why the bad reviews. It is a bit disappointing for this is not a bad film at all. It is definitely a different film, but it never bores. Intense, and engaging. Give it ago, I do recommend it, and so far, when I have done and people did it, they came and told me they were greatly surprised. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DiegoF.Jan 14, 2007
One of the best movies I have seen in the past 2 years! 2005 and 2006 have only put trash on the big screen. This is a very good movie with lots of suspense, at least 2 changing points in its development and not at all predictable untill the One of the best movies I have seen in the past 2 years! 2005 and 2006 have only put trash on the big screen. This is a very good movie with lots of suspense, at least 2 changing points in its development and not at all predictable untill the last 20'. Highly recommendable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlanN.Oct 4, 2007
Not unwatchable by any means and if you don't wish to be mentally challenged you may well enjoy it. With his current rising stock in Hollywood, I'm really surprised Clive Owen accepted a lead role in this movie, however, as the Not unwatchable by any means and if you don't wish to be mentally challenged you may well enjoy it. With his current rising stock in Hollywood, I'm really surprised Clive Owen accepted a lead role in this movie, however, as the plot line is so completely predictable. As you can see from my score, I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NathanNov 22, 2005
An above average thriller, it had some parts that I wasn't really expecting. The first half is slow and boring, but the second half makes up for it nicely. Though I do believe that two actors besides Aniston and Owen could have done a An above average thriller, it had some parts that I wasn't really expecting. The first half is slow and boring, but the second half makes up for it nicely. Though I do believe that two actors besides Aniston and Owen could have done a better job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jan 20, 2006
We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the We know more or less where "Derailed" is going when Charles(Clive Owen) and Lucinda(Jennifer Aniston) meet; the last time a movie of this sort truly fooled me was David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner", but that's okay if fun is the en route to inevitability. "Derailed" is so miscasted, you're led to believe that this was a deliberate exercise in casting against type. Melissa George, who plays Charles' wife, is way hotter than Aniston. I guess a woman loses her erotic allure when you see her stab your daughter's arm with a shot of insulin. When Phillipe(Vincent Cassel) arrives on the scene, you just hope there's no hokey switch in allegiances to subvert what's painfully obvious to everybody sitting in the audience. "Derailed" is a failure because Aniston's character is neither sexy, or cute enough to "derail" a man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GrantN.Jan 27, 2006
Derailed is yet another reason why movis are getting worse, lack of originality. Derailed has been done 100 times before and done better most of the time. Clive Owen is quite a good actor and does what he can with his role but the villian is Derailed is yet another reason why movis are getting worse, lack of originality. Derailed has been done 100 times before and done better most of the time. Clive Owen is quite a good actor and does what he can with his role but the villian is possibly the most generic movie character ever. Derailed is easily predicatable and but never tedious and admitadly provides a few thrills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricD.Mar 26, 2006
I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor reviews. I'll think twice before following his recommendations again. I did not enjoy it at all. It I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor reviews. I'll think twice before following his recommendations again. I did not enjoy it at all. It was preposterously unbelievable and so depressing. I like Aniston and Owen, but agree that they were all wrong for these characters. Save your money for a movie with some redeeming qualities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoM.May 16, 2006
I can't believe the bad reviews on this one! The first 20 minutes or so it takes to establish the characters is a bit slow, but after that the movie is exciting and suspenseful. Maybe I'm a complete dork, but I didn't see the I can't believe the bad reviews on this one! The first 20 minutes or so it takes to establish the characters is a bit slow, but after that the movie is exciting and suspenseful. Maybe I'm a complete dork, but I didn't see the twists coming at all. I thought Clive Owen was great, and played the kind of role where as a viewer, you watch the movie trying to figure out what you might do in his situation. So, I agree, no academy-award-winner, BUT, very entertaining and I would highly recommend this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Sep 16, 2006
Feels like a forgotten script that got buried somewhere after Michael Douglas passed on it in 1988.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillB.Feb 2, 2007
It is not a classic, but it is suspenceful and fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PepperNov 15, 2005
Clive Owen makes this film worth seeing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
shschNov 21, 2005
Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is that they can't accept Owen and Aniston in their roles. I did accept them and found the action Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is that they can't accept Owen and Aniston in their roles. I did accept them and found the action story compelling. This movie is more exciting than History of Violence which the critics loved. And that was a movie which to me reached its climax with an outrageous sequence of over-the-top events with charcters so stylized as to be ridiculously unreal, speaking of implausible. Also in this film, the minor characters came off as real people with interesting personalities which added to the story as well. If you're looking for action with tension and a hero worth watching, this is the movie to see, all the way to the end. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Trinidad&TobagoCaribbeanJan 15, 2006
This was a good movie... According to one of the comments made by a viewer it won't win any awards, but it a movie worth seeing... A viewer also expressed his dissatisfaction with the critics review, i was surprise that this movie did This was a good movie... According to one of the comments made by a viewer it won't win any awards, but it a movie worth seeing... A viewer also expressed his dissatisfaction with the critics review, i was surprise that this movie did not get a higher rating than 40... .. i strongly suggest that if you depress don't look at it... if you are hyper ... look at it and leave the cinema like a normal man.. lol... In all a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KateP.Feb 9, 2006
I am enjoying watching films which u cant guess the ending, the kind of film which has a twist! Like Saw this has a good twist. Worth watching but isnt something you need to see at the cinema, good movie for a night on the sofa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaMar 24, 2006
The best movie i'v seen sence King Arthur Clive gave me shivers and Jen made me question alot just when you think you know whats its all about you find out how wrong you are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FrankO.Mar 24, 2006
curious to see this flim because the novel was quite good; it did not disappoint me although lots of others did not like it; Aniston was very good but Clive Owen does not play naive or dumb characters very well, it doesn't fit his curious to see this flim because the novel was quite good; it did not disappoint me although lots of others did not like it; Aniston was very good but Clive Owen does not play naive or dumb characters very well, it doesn't fit his personality or physical presence. Vincent Cassel stole the film with his nastiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardV.Mar 30, 2006
Clever, riveting, crime suspense thriller! Not a dull moment. Best I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbaraD.Jul 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this movie. It has so many twists and turns, held our interest completely. And we were totally surprised as it approached the ending. Highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonA.Sep 18, 2006
WHAT IS WITH THE BAD REVIEWS!!!! I absolutely loved this movie!!! I guess I don't know about the "proper" way a line should be read or whatever. I watch movies to be entertained and that is what this movie did. So many twist! I loved WHAT IS WITH THE BAD REVIEWS!!!! I absolutely loved this movie!!! I guess I don't know about the "proper" way a line should be read or whatever. I watch movies to be entertained and that is what this movie did. So many twist! I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a WHILE! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of....*STEREOTYPE ALERT* I am a black man, and some parts I was going "GRRR!!! SO STUPID!!!! SAY SOMETHING ALREADY!!!" hahahaa. But in the end, everything made since. Also to think about it, I can totally understand why all the characters did what they did. Go rent this now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticJul 6, 2007
A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much A pretty interesting movie to watch but unfortunately, the script felt unpolished, the scenario not too believable, and the casting seemed a little off. Aside from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston (good actors who just don't have much chemistry here,) Derailed features rappers RZA and Xzibit (not as cameos, but as main characters) and while their performances aren't horrible, them being in the movie is definitely more of a distraction than an asset. There's a very satisfying confromtation in the movie towards the end but otherwise, the movie never really seems to do much with its premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngusS.Nov 11, 2005
Interesting dialogue. Nice payoff at end from opening scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarcK.Nov 12, 2005
Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While Entertaining, but an extremely implausible script with tons of holes in it. Clive Owen's role is extremely inconsistent, whereby he makes choices totally out of character, no matter how you choose to evaluate him in this movie. While people like to make fun of Jennifer Aniston, I happen to think she's a very underrated actress (The Good Girl, Picture Perfect), and does a decent job in this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColbyNov 13, 2005
I thought this movie was awesome. I cant believe all the bad reviews it is getting. I didnt see any of the twists that came with the movie. If you are a movie dork that picks movies apart then dont see it but if you are a normal person who I thought this movie was awesome. I cant believe all the bad reviews it is getting. I didnt see any of the twists that came with the movie. If you are a movie dork that picks movies apart then dont see it but if you are a normal person who wants to see a good movie see it and you will enjoy it. For someone who takes life too seriously and cant sit back and relax maybe you should sit home. None of you can enjoy any movie not just this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lucyNov 13, 2005
Awesome movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VinceP.Nov 18, 2005
The story line had a lot of surprises and the action had me jump in my seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Nov 21, 2005
America's Favorite Friend meets The Man who Shoulda Been Bond; both play significantly against type, and the result looks very good on both of them. Suburban everyman Clive Owen is enticed into an affair with an appealing but equally America's Favorite Friend meets The Man who Shoulda Been Bond; both play significantly against type, and the result looks very good on both of them. Suburban everyman Clive Owen is enticed into an affair with an appealing but equally committed train passenger (Jennifer Aniston), whom he meets while running late for work; the resulting unforeseen complications (to use an understatement), to say nothing of Owen's complete inexperience, fear and sheer wimpiness in dealing with them, cause him to dig himself deeper and deeper into a hole that not only offers no way out but threatens to suck his family and everything else he holds dear in as well. Obviously, this very effective, smartly and atmospherically directed thriller conjures up memories of Fatal Attraction--and just as obviously it's not going to cause even a small ripple of the tidal wave caused by that 18-year-old pop culture sensation, but I liked the central contrast between the "hero's" motivation in both films: Michael Douglas' wife, family and world are so perfect before he impulsively threatens to destroy it all on a selfish whim that audience members are completely justified in asking (to themselves or out loud) if he's got a screw loose or what. On the other hand, Owen, quite realistically, is battling so many marital, family and on-the-job pressures that it's much easier to understand if not justify his spur-of-the-moment decision to "take a break". Owen as an actor is so effective at playing seemingly coldblooded, heartless characters (Croupier, Closer) that watching him display vulnerability, weakness and even compassion seems like a real discovery; director Mikael Hafstrom is equally effective at turning the thermostat down on Aniston's typical trademark warmth. As a thriller Derailed works so well most of the way, and so persuasively convinced me that it wasn't going to let me down that I was doubly disappointed when it finally did; of its many Big Twists, there was one that I predicted early on before the movie later talked me out of it only to double back and fool me AGAIN, while another had me quickly out of my seat clawing ceiling tiles. Sadly, like Fatal Attraction, Derailed cops out in the home stretch by feeling the need to reassure rather than respect its audience; it's not only ethically right that certain characters need to face the full consequences of their actions and failures, but given how honestly Derailed worked most of the way, it's organically necessary as well. But instead of going all the way and being truly cathartic, Derailed opts to go soft on us; the result is the difference between a great suspense movie and nine-tenths of a good one--and unfortunately, that's just enough of a miscalculation to cause this sleek,fast-moving train to jump the tracks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomG.Nov 27, 2005
Entertaining and worth seeing. This film won't win any awards but given some of the bombs lately it was a pleasant surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredRDec 12, 2005
I'm starting to think that the worse the critics reviews the better the potential for a good movie. I heard a review on the radio that basically gave away an important twist. I wish these miserable critics would consider that most I'm starting to think that the worse the critics reviews the better the potential for a good movie. I heard a review on the radio that basically gave away an important twist. I wish these miserable critics would consider that most viewers aren't comparing everything to Million Dollar Baby, which they protected from spoilers. Go see this movie if you want to have a great time at the movies. There are enough twists to keep you guessing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AbbyLJul 21, 2007
I was fortunate enough to read the book Derailed before I saw the movie. The twist was very very enthralling, but I will give an ample warning to all READ THE BOOK, it is oh so better and very very in detail.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillR.Nov 11, 2005
This is a great movie and Jen, Clive and Vince did very well. Go see it and don't read any of the reviews before going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
patrickNov 13, 2005
Unintentionally hilarious. clive owen from sin city came out and took out the trash toward the end. most basically its a movie you theater hop into.
0 of 0 users found this helpful