Derailed

Derailed Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Charles Schine (Owen) and Lucinda Harris (Aniston) have noticed each other on the commuter train before. One morning their conversation leads to a flirtation which turns into an evening drink and then, before either one can stop it, a passionate one-night stand. But suddenly a strangerCharles Schine (Owen) and Lucinda Harris (Aniston) have noticed each other on the commuter train before. One morning their conversation leads to a flirtation which turns into an evening drink and then, before either one can stop it, a passionate one-night stand. But suddenly a stranger explodes into their world, threatening to expose their secret and lures them into a terrifying game with more surprises then they saw coming and more danger then they may survive. (The Weinstein Company) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. It's fast, slick, stupid, violent fun and, despite the cynically high body count, without serious intention in this world.
  2. Watching this thriller is like drinking milk that's about to turn: it looks OK but smells a little dodgy.
  3. 50
    The strapping Owen as a guy who can't handle himself and cutie-pie Aniston as a witchy woman? I don't think so. Talk about derailed.
  4. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    40
    Jennifer Aniston brings a needed liveliness to Derailed, though not enough to go around.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    38
    Clumsy, miscast thriller.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. DiegoF.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in the past 2 years! 2005 and 2006 have only put trash on the big screen. This is a very good movie with One of the best movies I have seen in the past 2 years! 2005 and 2006 have only put trash on the big screen. This is a very good movie with lots of suspense, at least 2 changing points in its development and not at all predictable untill the last 20'. Highly recommendable Expand
  2. lucy
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Awesome movie.
  3. shsch
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is Highly entertaining, somewhat implausible; but then that's a characteristic of most thrillers. It seems the major beef with critics is that they can't accept Owen and Aniston in their roles. I did accept them and found the action story compelling. This movie is more exciting than History of Violence which the critics loved. And that was a movie which to me reached its climax with an outrageous sequence of over-the-top events with charcters so stylized as to be ridiculously unreal, speaking of implausible. Also in this film, the minor characters came off as real people with interesting personalities which added to the story as well. If you're looking for action with tension and a hero worth watching, this is the movie to see, all the way to the end. Expand
  4. TomG.
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    Entertaining and worth seeing. This film won't win any awards but given some of the bombs lately it was a pleasant surprise.
  5. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    Largely underrated and a typically top-nothc psychological thriller. Derailed is filled with countless twists and emotional performances fromLargely underrated and a typically top-nothc psychological thriller. Derailed is filled with countless twists and emotional performances from Clive Owen and Jennifer Aniston. Expand
  6. KateP.
    Feb 9, 2006
    6
    I am enjoying watching films which u cant guess the ending, the kind of film which has a twist! Like Saw this has a good twist. Worth I am enjoying watching films which u cant guess the ending, the kind of film which has a twist! Like Saw this has a good twist. Worth watching but isnt something you need to see at the cinema, good movie for a night on the sofa. Expand
  7. EricD.
    Mar 26, 2006
    3
    I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor I had a friend tell me that this movie was good and that I should rent it. He said that he didn't understand why it got such poor reviews. I'll think twice before following his recommendations again. I did not enjoy it at all. It was preposterously unbelievable and so depressing. I like Aniston and Owen, but agree that they were all wrong for these characters. Save your money for a movie with some redeeming qualities. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.