Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 25, 1995
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
152
Mixed:
17
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MichalW.Sep 19, 2007
El Mariachi simply was a better film in every respect than Desperado. It had better story, better dialogues, was more fun. For me Desperado is an artistic flop and a significant step backwards from El Mariachi. I am glad that this fact is El Mariachi simply was a better film in every respect than Desperado. It had better story, better dialogues, was more fun. For me Desperado is an artistic flop and a significant step backwards from El Mariachi. I am glad that this fact is reflected in the metascore. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
lukechristianscOct 7, 2014
" Crazy.......fun Sexy , Great Effects". Robert Rodriguez is gotta be number one director , writer , editor in the history of film making (same with Tarentino). Starring Antonio Banderas plays a new version of El Marachi i have to say he" Crazy.......fun Sexy , Great Effects". Robert Rodriguez is gotta be number one director , writer , editor in the history of film making (same with Tarentino). Starring Antonio Banderas plays a new version of El Marachi i have to say he is pretty good at also working with Salma Hayek. Rodriguez's films are over ratted but there one hell or a ride , his films have impressed me and he is the king of adventure , comedy , violence ( i wonder if he made GTA ?) ....... nah. all of this explosions in film with the guitar cases with the stunts its pretty epic. Its one Director Robert Rodriguez's best. Grade A+ Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nadirh.Oct 17, 2005
This movie is created such controlable ora that it is almost to unstable to conrol (way to powerful & creative).
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
DalekNov 12, 2011
This movie is amazing, the acting, the guns, the action; it's all there. Simple storyline, the main character kicks ass. This is a bit of a hollywood cliché I guess, but it's still a very enjoyable film.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
TheWalrus2000Apr 29, 2013
It doesn't come close to El Miriachi, but the sequel will definetly still be suitable for any action fans of the first.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
TomTom17Dec 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Typical cliche revenge flick, the film has its good moments but the whole film just falls flat at the end, the climax is just stupid, El mariachi simply pulls out his sleeve guns and kills the main bad guy after they have a conversation and then it just ends and he is with his girlfriend heading off somewhere into the sunset not revealing what happened in the rest of the gunfight where at least 10 bad guys are pointing a gun at him. What i enjoyed most were the scenes with Tarantino and steve buscemi who are the best actors in the film by far and there scenes were memorable and funny but they get very little screen time which is a shame. The story is weak very weak and the main character is uninteresting, the gunfight scenes are not that creative. The film goes completely insane at the end when one has a rocket launcher guitar case which is just stupid, i know im suppose to laugh at that but i just dident. The film is just not enjoyable to watch and gets a bit repetitive and boring. It starts well the first 30 minutes are pretty good but the rest is just a mess. If you like westerns and action then give it a watch its not all bad. This film just about avoids negative on the fact it has some good scenes and some good actors are in it, also i like the soundtrack but all the songs sound the same. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
RD.Apr 4, 2007
Hialrious. THe gunfight in the bar and the climactic fight are best. Other than that it si not much. But is very enjoyable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JamesMDec 7, 2005
A fun film with crazy action scenes and bucketloads of blood.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Sep 19, 2007
Great movie all around, loved it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
dajhornMay 16, 2014
Desperado, by Quentin Tarantino, is a stylized revenge flick and homage to to the so-bad-its-good El Mariachi movie. It should be easier to appreciate what Tarantino is trying to do in Desperado if you watch El Mariachi before.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Acho que com a mudança de ator contribui para a decaída do filme............................................................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwJul 29, 2016
This was a solid and highly enjoyable take on the spaghetti western by Rodriguez that rightfully put the director on the map and provided star Antonio Banderas the breakthrough he needed in the American marketplace. Though I love his work onThis was a solid and highly enjoyable take on the spaghetti western by Rodriguez that rightfully put the director on the map and provided star Antonio Banderas the breakthrough he needed in the American marketplace. Though I love his work on the Sin City films, particularly the first, his incredible earlier trilogy will always hold a special place in my cinephilic heart.

My recent project of coming to terms with classic Westerns has only further helped me enjoy these more recent contemporary releases.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Hilarious. The gunfight in the bar and the climactic fight are best. Other than that it is not much. But is still an enjoyable film to watch if you have nothing better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews