Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. 88
    The funniest kids’ cartoon of the summer.
  2. 75
    An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    While I remain disappointed that the sequel gives me a subdued Gru and an uneven pace, I keep remembering things about Despicable Me 2 that make me smile. For every meh moment, there's almost 2 well-conceived gags or lines.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    This loony 'toon is dizzy with wonderments, especially in 3-D. The spindly-limbed character design owes more to Charles Addams' family than to Walt Disney's kingdom, while the story and settings evoke James Bond on laughing gas.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    A too-good Gru is a boring Gru. No matter how much you crank up the adorability factor or offer up the occasional laugh, there is no getting around that.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nothing here to challenge anything from the Pixar golden age, but Despicable Me 2 is a sweet-natured family film.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 103
  2. Negative: 5 out of 103
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thinThe movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thin plot the movie is enjoyable for all ages and sure to be a BIG hit. Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Excellent! Even better than the first. Really reminded me of the old Chuck Jones cartoons. Just the right amount of hilarity and romance. AndExcellent! Even better than the first. Really reminded me of the old Chuck Jones cartoons. Just the right amount of hilarity and romance. And you must love Agnes. Highly recommended for all ages. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    This movie is great.The story is good and also it is very funny.Okay so I haven't watched the first one so I can't compare if this movie hasThis movie is great.The story is good and also it is very funny.Okay so I haven't watched the first one so I can't compare if this movie has improved or not.And at first I didn't really want to watch this movie because of the title but my friends force me to watch this so I came along with them.And after finishing the movie and leaving the theaters I really enjoyed the movie and then after I came home,I went in my room to score this movie and that is all.So I really enjoyed this movie and I hope you will enjoy this movie.And I am telling you that this movie is great. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Some critics and viewers tend to give sequels bad reviews because of the lack of originality. However, historically with animation, whereSome critics and viewers tend to give sequels bad reviews because of the lack of originality. However, historically with animation, where would we be without building on past successes? The venerated and greatest cartoon family of all, the Warner Brothers "Looney Tunes" period from the mid-1930's to approximately 1980 or so relied on many of the same ideas over and over again, but we still love Bugs Bunny and company with all our hearts.
    The Star Wars and Star Trek series continue on, and there's no reason the Despicable Me movies couldn't become serial, either. First we have great characters in place, Gru, the girls, especially Agnes, of whom it would take a very vile person to dislike, and the hilarious minions. The animators are top notch with better backgrounds and detail than just about any competitor. The story line isn't exactly "Gone With The Wind", but why should it be?
    The minions get more screen time this time around and recall the comic genius of their Looney Tunes ancestors. They are funny and a gold mine for plenty of laughs.
    "Despicable Me 2" lacks the evil edge of the original but makes up for it with plenty of eye candy that you probably won't catch the first time you see it.
    As far as animated films go, this one like the first one is as enjoyable for the adults as it is the kids. Don't let sequel fears make you miss this one.
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This movie is good enough. The minions are hilarious, but I have to say I think writers abused of them as fun resource. I also agree with mostThis movie is good enough. The minions are hilarious, but I have to say I think writers abused of them as fun resource. I also agree with most of the reviews here, the story is a bit flat. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    Alot of heart, but two much of the 'ridiculous comedy' in it. The Minions serve as the saving grace, and ultimately I had to laugh. ForAlot of heart, but two much of the 'ridiculous comedy' in it. The Minions serve as the saving grace, and ultimately I had to laugh. For families definetly. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    Although this is a film intended for children, who aren't exactly the best at judging whether or not a film is good, I still believe that theyAlthough this is a film intended for children, who aren't exactly the best at judging whether or not a film is good, I still believe that they should be held against the same scale as other films. with that out of the way, I will now say, this film was, in a word, awful. the plot was boring and bland, the protagonist, Gru, is now boring and flat, and the minions are only there to provide cliched comic relief. there are better ways to spend your money than on this film. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.