Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 377 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Chris Renaud
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-Fi, Comedy, Crime, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 98 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. 88
    The funniest kids’ cartoon of the summer.
  2. 75
    An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    While I remain disappointed that the sequel gives me a subdued Gru and an uneven pace, I keep remembering things about Despicable Me 2 that make me smile. For every meh moment, there's almost 2 well-conceived gags or lines.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    This loony 'toon is dizzy with wonderments, especially in 3-D. The spindly-limbed character design owes more to Charles Addams' family than to Walt Disney's kingdom, while the story and settings evoke James Bond on laughing gas.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    A too-good Gru is a boring Gru. No matter how much you crank up the adorability factor or offer up the occasional laugh, there is no getting around that.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nothing here to challenge anything from the Pixar golden age, but Despicable Me 2 is a sweet-natured family film.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 95
  2. Negative: 5 out of 95
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thin plot the movie is enjoyable for all ages and sure to be a BIG hit. Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Excellent! Even better than the first. Really reminded me of the old Chuck Jones cartoons. Just the right amount of hilarity and romance. And you must love Agnes. Highly recommended for all ages. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie. Cute minions, good and bad spies. The movie is a bit short though. The first one is a bit longer, but they are both really good. If you have kids, take them to the movies to see this. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    You would think that a sequel wouldn't quite live up to the expectations of the first, but surprisingly it does. I really liked this in the fact that it's still as memorable as the first one. Personally I loved the first one better than this one, but you have to give this one credit. It's still that kid-friendly, slapstick funny entertainment that we all still know and love. I love how the character Gru has to deal with having to help save the world and still raise his girls. And I love how this movie tries to add more conflict in the story. I especially loved El Macho. I thought he was a really cool villain. He may have been a little to scary for kids, but he's one cool villain. The love story between Gru and Lucy felt off at some points, but in the end, it works out. Overall, it's a great sequel. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    The story is quite predictable, but remember that you are watching Despicable Me 2 for the humor, not the story. If you go in with that mindset, you'll not be disappointed. Trust me, you'll laugh, regardless of how old you are (I'm 19). Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    Alot of heart, but two much of the 'ridiculous comedy' in it. The Minions serve as the saving grace, and ultimately I had to laugh. For families definetly. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    Although this is a film intended for children, who aren't exactly the best at judging whether or not a film is good, I still believe that they should be held against the same scale as other films. with that out of the way, I will now say, this film was, in a word, awful. the plot was boring and bland, the protagonist, Gru, is now boring and flat, and the minions are only there to provide cliched comic relief. there are better ways to spend your money than on this film. Expand

See all 95 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.