Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Chris Renaud
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-Fi, Comedy, Crime, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 98 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 1, 2013
    88
    The funniest kids’ cartoon of the summer.
  2. 75
    An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    While I remain disappointed that the sequel gives me a subdued Gru and an uneven pace, I keep remembering things about Despicable Me 2 that make me smile. For every meh moment, there's almost 2 well-conceived gags or lines.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    This loony 'toon is dizzy with wonderments, especially in 3-D. The spindly-limbed character design owes more to Charles Addams' family than to Walt Disney's kingdom, while the story and settings evoke James Bond on laughing gas.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    A too-good Gru is a boring Gru. No matter how much you crank up the adorability factor or offer up the occasional laugh, there is no getting around that.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nothing here to challenge anything from the Pixar golden age, but Despicable Me 2 is a sweet-natured family film.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thin plot the movie is enjoyable for all ages and sure to be a BIG hit. Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I really liked the first movie, but this one was just hilarious! It's an animation movie so I really don't care about the story, which are maybe the weakness point. But the character...in my opition, Grue is not the main character. The funniest part of this movie is his yellow army. All of them make me laught so hard every time I saw them and the end...the two last song make me laught so hard!
    If you want to spend some funny time alone, with friends or with you children, don't hesitate!
    Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    EVEN VILLAINS NEED A LITTLE ROMANCE. Generally speaking, it can be a gamble to follow up on a well-received movie with a sequel doubly so if that movie is animated. Luckily for Despicable Me 2, that gamble mostly pays off with an enjoyable, if slightly less heartfelt sequel to the 2010 original. Of course, this film's biggest obstacle was finding a basic premise. The whole first movie hinged on the idea that a supervillain named Gru (voiced by Steve Carell) could be redeemed. But now that he's redeemed, what do you do? It's kinda like making a sequel to How the Grinch Stole Christmas; the main character is fundamentally different from the one you started with. In the case of Despicable Me 2, Gru no longer seeks riches or power, only the love and safety of his three adopted daughters, Agnes (Elsie Kate Fisher), Edith (Dana Gaier) and Margo (Miranda Cosgrove). So where do you go from there? Directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud could have taken the easy route and made Gru bad again. Instead, the filmmakers introduce a love interest, Lucy played by Wiig an Anti-Villain League agent tasked with recruiting Gru as a spy. Using Gru's past knowledge as a supervillain, the unlikely duo set out to track down an evil mastermind who's stolen a chemical compound that mutates lifeforms into deadly, invincible monsters. Not surprisingly, Wiig and Carell play well off each other even in animated form and Wiig's energetic, offbeat character is a welcome addition to the series. Her performance really complements Carell's, and Lucy is a fun, peppy counterbalance to the cantankerous Gru. Gru's daughters, meanwhile, add another layer to the main storyline, as Gru continues to fine-tune his parenting skills particularly with Margo, who's recently taken an interest in dating boys. But as you might expect, the real stars of this movie are the Minions. Where in the first film Gru's yellow henchmen were mostly played for laughs, here they become integral to the plot and are just about as involved in the story as Gru. Perhaps not surprisingly, it works to the sequel's advantage, both narratively and comedically. In fact, after watching Despicable Me 2, the idea of the Minions getting their own spinoff actually doesn't sound half bad. As for the story, Despicable Me 2 isn't anything groundbreaking, but then again, neither was Despicable Me. That doesn't mean there isn't plenty to enjoy. Given Gru's emotional changes in the last film, the sequel isn't so much a supervillain send-up as it is a spy parody, which gives the franchise a fresh new feel, albeit a not quite as edgy one. Likewise, the journey for Gru here is less about him learning how to be a parent and more about him learning how to interact with women. By its nature, this story isn't going to tug at the heartstrings as much, but it certainly does amp up the comedy. Is Despicable Me 2 a laugh riot? A few scenes are, but more often than not it'll put a smile on your face and garner a steady stream of chuckles. While this movie is undoubtedly made for kids, there are definitely several bits for the older set as well. Story aside, Despicable Me 2 is also beautiful to watch. As with most 'toons these days, the animation is positively gorgeous, and the 3D is top notch. If nothing else, this flick has spectacle appeal, for both audiences young and old. If you enjoyed the first Despicable Me, this sequel offers more fun, shenanigans and a solid followup story to the 2010 original. While Despicable Me 2 isn't the most laugh-out-loud or innovative family film, its stunning animation and amusing hijinks make it worth a watch in between other summer flicks. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    I think this movie was so funny, just like its prodecessor, Despicable Me 1. It had an appropriate mixture of comedy, action and heartfelt family moments. However, some of the characters should've gotten more screen time and there could've been more romance to make the movie more exciting. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This movie is good enough. The minions are hilarious, but I have to say I think writers abused of them as fun resource. I also agree with most of the reviews here, the story is a bit flat. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    If there is one thing Despicable Me 2 did well at was where a lot of sequels fail; the story is self-explanatory. Almost no prior knowledge is required to understand the plot and setting of this film as is proof by several of my friends who had not seen the original and yet found Despicable Me 2 both accessible and wildly entertaining.

    The characters were also far more diverse in this feature than in the original. Rather than just the main characters (Gru, Dr Nefario, the girls, random super-villain, and of course minions) like in the original, Despicable Me 2 featured a wide breadth of supporting roles that made for a more dynamic environment than the original. The film didn't seem quite as constricted or stale.

    Despicable Me 2 also abounded with loads of wonderful slapstick humor. Some might call it toilet humor but Hey! Jokes don't have to be complex. And to be fair, there was a noticeable chunk of more subtle, long-running, and intelligent humor. The antics of the minions classifies as its own category of humor; they are definitely one of the main reasons to see to film.

    While there was lots of humor to go round, a good deal of supporting characters, and modular plot, I did feel that Despicable Me 2 lacked the heartfelt nature that the original so wonderfully possessed.There was the "I must not cry! Dammit I'm crying" kind of the feel to the end of the original while Despicable Me 2's ending felt cliched. The plot as a whole was sort of emotionless in that sense because you could see it coming from miles away. And when I that, I mean that only in the long term sense of the story. The scenes in actuality jumped from place to place all the time which was frustrating more than it was suspenseful like it was meant to be. It was like they were trying to tell too many different stories with just one movie. And the buildup to the revelation of the supervillain; totally botched. Felt no suspense or surprise whatsoever. One of the worst I've seen yet.

    Well besides some need for improvement in the emotions and the plot, Despicable Me 2 did one thing well for certain; it made me laugh till I was out of breath and my cheeks ached. A wonderful comedy if nothing else.
    Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    Although this is a film intended for children, who aren't exactly the best at judging whether or not a film is good, I still believe that they should be held against the same scale as other films. with that out of the way, I will now say, this film was, in a word, awful. the plot was boring and bland, the protagonist, Gru, is now boring and flat, and the minions are only there to provide cliched comic relief. there are better ways to spend your money than on this film. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.