Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 17, 2010
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 489 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
393
Mixed:
72
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 15, 2011
The movie is a surprisingly decent one from M. Night Shyamalan from his current movies.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Look, with the proposal of including five actors in a elevator, could have been better. I think it would be nice if they explored a little bit the life of each one character, their mistakes, and etc. One thing more dramatic thrilling. PerhapsLook, with the proposal of including five actors in a elevator, could have been better. I think it would be nice if they explored a little bit the life of each one character, their mistakes, and etc. One thing more dramatic thrilling. Perhaps even really a little scary. Even with the little case with horror movies, I think that when properly treated, the results are gratifying. Well, for what could have been left much to be desired, too bad that. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
Watermelon789Jun 12, 2011
Not frightening movie at all, in fact, is PG-13 so that limit's more the tension,probably the mature. The story was quite interesting, but other than this was a complete boring movie, so, do not even touch this, unless you wanna puke.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
rotkuJul 20, 2011
Not the worst but still a disappointing horror which borders on a whodunit type thriller but it's all been done before and there's nothing memorable to encourage a recommendation.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraSep 18, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are Intuitionists and there are Empiricists, two warring factions of elevator inspectors who form the Elevator Guild, an organization that is at the center of the alternative world in Colson Whitehead's first novel "The Intuitionist", an allegory about race, upward mobility and...religion. The Empiricists see the problem; they scoff at the procedural metaphysics that is practiced by the Intuitionists, men and women with hunches who divine the problem. Lila Mae Watson, the first black elevator inspector in the history of the Guild is an Intuitionist; she uses a faith-based approach on each inspection job. Intuitionists just know. But then Lila Mae's kind come under fire when an elevator car she oversaw on a routine inspection, suffers a complete malfunction, plummeting to the ground, which calls the Intuitionists' methodology into question. As it turns out, Lila Mae was a victim of sabotage, perpetuated by the Empiricists, who rigged the fall. G. Carson is the elevator inspector in "Devil", a film with a world that's topsy-turvy in its own right. The vertically-challenged opening shots of the upside-down metropolis has an estranging effect on the moviegoer, because it reallocates heaven and hell from their normal points of reference: north and south. So what does it mean when Gehenna finds itself aloft in an emblematic sky, while a reconstituted Canaan is lowered from the celestial sphere, occupying where the ground used to be? Well, if Gabriel and his gang of rowdy angels can kick ass in Scott Stewart's "Legion", why can't the devil sport an altruistic side and do God's work for a change? "Devil" inverts The Rolling Stones' song "Sympathy for the Devil" through its originative characterization of an archfiend who has sympathy for the human condition. Taking the form of an old woman, the devil works in ways more mysterious to God; she's a one-demon advocacy group: D.A.D.D.(Devil Against Drunk Driving). The devil cares. Like the Colson Whitehead novel, "Devil" has its own intuitionists and empiricists in a holding pattern of ideological discord. When a ghostly image superimposes itself upon the elevator passengers in the security camera monitor, Ramirez(Jacob Vargas), the intuitionist(read: ecclesiasticist in the Whitehead novel), has a gut reaction; that video disturbance, his gut tells him, is the devil, whereas Lustiq(Matt Craven), the empiricist(read: atheist), dismisses his partner's spiritual notions outrightly. Bowden(Chris Messina), the detective in charge of the ongoing crime scene, is also an empiricist, but with a difference; he believes that man is the devil, after a mortal demon left his wife and child at the scene of a vehicular homicide. He becomes an intuitionist after the devil reveals herself, and forces the drunk driver(Logan Marshall-Green) to repent. Afterward, in the squad car, Bowden tells Tony who he is, and forgives the man for what he'd done to his life. The devil made him do it. That's pretty subversive stuff. God is nowhere on the scene. G. Carson(COL-son) is no longer in the elevator inspection business. What if "G" stands for God? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ArkonBladeAug 26, 2011
for M night shamalamadingdong , this wasnt half bad . as a horror movie it wasnt all that great ... well it wasnt even scary period but it was a intresting story and original so i was entertained atleast. the acting was prety decent and itsfor M night shamalamadingdong , this wasnt half bad . as a horror movie it wasnt all that great ... well it wasnt even scary period but it was a intresting story and original so i was entertained atleast. the acting was prety decent and its pacing was pretty good . its worth seeing if you want to see some thing original and abit entertaining but if your looking for some thing scary ... look els where. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
iamtrent424Dec 18, 2010
i actually enjoy this movie. This movie was very interested. I like movies that have me thinking. This is one his best movies in long time. He bounce back from last air bender. This is a nice movie to watch if you like thriller horror movies.i actually enjoy this movie. This movie was very interested. I like movies that have me thinking. This is one his best movies in long time. He bounce back from last air bender. This is a nice movie to watch if you like thriller horror movies. Nice movie to get for blu ray and dvd. I suggest everybody should check this movie out. This movie isn't outstanding but its still good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Devil doesn't compare to The Sixth Sense or Signs, but it is professionally made and the scares are delivered timely. Eebie Jeebies are guaranteed.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
alexo774Jul 19, 2015
this movei reminds me of the time I watchef "Start wars" a year ago. iut truly reimaginied everything ever. i was so casred when i saw the toast and the jelly down side. it was creepy and the sequal will be empirere stars back thanks you goodbye.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
OscarPicks2010Jan 7, 2011
A group of people with each of them a criminal record got trapped in an elevator in a building. These people each have a purpose of being in the building at the time, but I guess you can say that the plot rely strictly on coincidence. WeA group of people with each of them a criminal record got trapped in an elevator in a building. These people each have a purpose of being in the building at the time, but I guess you can say that the plot rely strictly on coincidence. We never got introduced to the characters themselves besides the detective because we weren't suppose to. As you can already guess {SPOILER}, most if not all of these people die in the end, but the movie never developed the remaining people for us to care for him. Co-written by M. Night Shyamalan, this is probably one of the few better scripts he delivered in the past 5 years. Though I find the subject controversial, director John Eric Dowdle (Quarantine) balanced the film with the same of amount of cinematic tweaks as the religion dialogue. Devil is a great looking religous film, but what it lacks is the force that can drives the film much further. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CultureCriticDec 24, 2010
Not many movies can have only two set pieces, a handful of actors, and can still be this entertaining. This film is proof enough that Shyamalan still has what it takes scare and entertain audiences with an original story. For my full reviewNot many movies can have only two set pieces, a handful of actors, and can still be this entertaining. This film is proof enough that Shyamalan still has what it takes scare and entertain audiences with an original story. For my full review visit: http://thesilverscreenaddiction.blogspot.com/2010/09/what-devil.html Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Khunter4382Sep 6, 2011
Not bad. Not great, but decent. With all my prior knowledge of Shyamalan's work, I found myself obsessively trying to figure out the inevitable twist. That's where the story fails. It preoccupies the audience so much that we care very littleNot bad. Not great, but decent. With all my prior knowledge of Shyamalan's work, I found myself obsessively trying to figure out the inevitable twist. That's where the story fails. It preoccupies the audience so much that we care very little about what is actually going on inside that tiny elevator. Instead, it focuses us on "who done it?" and "where's the catch?" While I was still somewhat surprised with the ending twist, my excitement was coupled with a dramatic eye-rolling. Twists should never become synonymous with a film professional's work, and it has with Mr. Shyamalan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraNov 9, 2011
The M. Night Shyamalan-produced film, Devil, is fun and compelling, despite being a little silly. Overall, the film is an enjoyable and efficient, and all together serviceable, thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyFeb 18, 2012
It's common knowledge these days to believe that M. Night Shamalamadingdong is nothing more than a one-trick pony. Yes, his name IS amalgamated with this film but luckily for us he is only producing the movie and not actually directing it.It's common knowledge these days to believe that M. Night Shamalamadingdong is nothing more than a one-trick pony. Yes, his name IS amalgamated with this film but luckily for us he is only producing the movie and not actually directing it. Does that fact help? Maybe yes, perhaps no. Either way I have mixed feelings about "Devil". It's neither frightening nor suspenseful but it does have an element of unpredictability which is appreciated. All in all It's nothing special but it does do It's intended job for what It's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OnAnarchyJun 6, 2013
A distinct lack of seriousness, bad acting, and moments of unintentional hilarity result in an average movie with a decent story but a predictable ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Truthfully its exhausting. But Devil does suceed in giving pure terror and even fear of being in an elevator. {Don't judge me}.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 18, 2013
I might have to say but JSua I hear you this seems like its trying to preach, but I dont listen to that this actual turned out to be pleasant. Not a horror but a good thriller to watch at 3:00 in the morning when you can't sleep. Not too badI might have to say but JSua I hear you this seems like its trying to preach, but I dont listen to that this actual turned out to be pleasant. Not a horror but a good thriller to watch at 3:00 in the morning when you can't sleep. Not too bad acting, a decent story. clever things I must say for something with M. Nights name on it I am impressed. But please directors stop putting church crap in movies if you wanna do that make hour long straight to DVD things and sell them at churches or gas station not in a Hollywood Movie.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysFeb 15, 2014
Devil is typical genre fare with its horror movie clich├ęs and such, but that's not to say it isn't half bad as a film. It's not a great movie, but it'll do for a Friday night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
VOP2288Nov 6, 2013
After watching Devil I can say that I was surprised that something of this caliber came from M. Night Shyamalan.

Wait...no, no I'm not... Despite only filling the producer/writer role, Shyamalan's continued floundering seeps into every
After watching Devil I can say that I was surprised that something of this caliber came from M. Night Shyamalan.

Wait...no, no I'm not...

Despite only filling the producer/writer role, Shyamalan's continued floundering seeps into every corner of this film.

While Devil's premise is interesting its execution is incredibly flawed thanks to twists that can be seen from miles away, unbelievable and down right moronic events and circumstances setting up these twists, and a complete lack of any kind of suspenseful build up. For a movie that was supposed to be thrilling and unsettling Devil falls flat on its face.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Oct 4, 2014
"Devil" is quite silly at times, but at least it's entertaining and sometimes very thrilling. The acting isn't very good, and the characters are rather generic: overly-serious black guy, crazy old lady, a**hole businessman, and boring guy and"Devil" is quite silly at times, but at least it's entertaining and sometimes very thrilling. The acting isn't very good, and the characters are rather generic: overly-serious black guy, crazy old lady, a**hole businessman, and boring guy and girl. Many plot points are so silly that they are unintentionally funny. Apparently, you know the devil is near if a child hits his head on the table when he falls, and suicide notes are either completely insane or completely rational, never both. I think I liked this movie because it's sort of a modern version of Agatha Christie's "And Then There Were None" which is one of my all-time favorite novels. I recommend it if you can get past the sillier plot points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 21, 2015
I can't say the movie is rubbish, but it is certainly far from good. Watchable at best. The idea, people dying inside an elevator, is amazing and I'll admit that it's the idea that has inspired me to watch the movie. But, except that goodI can't say the movie is rubbish, but it is certainly far from good. Watchable at best. The idea, people dying inside an elevator, is amazing and I'll admit that it's the idea that has inspired me to watch the movie. But, except that good idea - there's absolutely nothing, except maybe the atmosphere but that's mostly irrelevant. The acting is actually quite bad, the plot itself is more comical than frightening and I actually watched the movie hoping for a scary moment until the credits started rolling. I was bitterly disappointed. All the elements of a bad horror movie have been implemented here, even mocked in some strange way, but the movie is not even close to a parody. If you enjoy a creative idea to stimulate your deductive mind, you can give the movie a try and look at the elevator as a puzzle, but beside that, it offers absolutely nothing and I do not recommend it for watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheDude-Sep 10, 2015
Despite having some interesting ideas by the half way mark the tension is gone and it becomes extremely tedious and repetitive even if the film did have some scary moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews