User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 165

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    This movie is great! Its not like all the other damn horror movies these days where there is no story at all, and all they focus on is blood and gore. This actually has a story and it definitely worth your time and money!
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I created this account, after 4 years of lurking, to write a review of M. Night Shamalan's return. The movie "Devil" was amazing. The best way to compliment this film would be to say, "he's back." This was one of the best Shamalan movies I have seen since, "The 6th Sense." I saw it on using a Redbox kiosk tonight, and had expected to see Shamalan's "last demise" so to speak. Holy Crap, this movie was amazing, I don't know if he planned it this way or not, but this was ingenious! Just wow.... Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    since the last airbender a lot of people have hated m night shaymalan because of his preception of the animated series.But a lot of other people have been fans of shaymalan since the beggining.i have no experience for shamalan movies except for the last airbender and when i saw the hate on the movie i felt bad for the guy.oh and by the way if you like the last airbender go to last airbenderfans.com.i think why people like this moive is because he just produced it.i guess thats okay.everyone has good and bad qualities.anyway i recomen this for anyone who is looking for a good thriller form the mind of a potentially good director with a lot to give but is misunderstood.goo see the movie Collapse
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just need to say this first. After M. Night's horrific move on making The Last Airbender, I thought NOTHING would redeem him for it. This movie barely does it. Since he actually direct this movie, he still has a way to go to earn the respect of the average moviegoer. This movie was actually pretty intense. Director John Eric Dowdle (Quarantine and The Poughkeepsie Tapes) seems to know what he's doing when it comes to thriller/suspense movies. The movie often does the movie trick to completely shut off the picture to take us into the darkness of being trapped inside a small space like an elevator, which I found to be a good thing. I especially like the concept of the story, in which the Devil comes to Earth in human form and when that happens, everything is ends up going bad. One way they make that assumption was when the religious security guard tosses his toast with jelly in the air and it lands jelly side down....a useful test to see if the Devil is here. Another thing I liked about this movie is the cast itself. Each person trapped is very different and you may believe anyone of them is the one behind it. The thing that I did find a tad annoying was the acting of Logan Marshall-Green, one of the trapped. His acting was a bit off in my taste, but it's nothing that would distract you from the rest of the movie. I'm not going to reveal who the "Devil" is, but me personally, I had a guess and I was right. The twist on who is the devil may be obvious to some, but the overall twist kinda catches you off guard. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I found the original script, too bad the movie is not a little longer, I find that the reviews are pretty harsh??? It is a good B movie. Waiting for the next chronicles.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    This Horror Movie Is In The Top 50 Best Horror Movies!
    This Horror Movie Is Not Like Any Other.. Its So Creative And Well Thought... Really Good Acting For Once!! :D
    My Score Is 9!
  7. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Finally, we get a modern devil movie where the devil is what hes meant to be: a subtle deceptive force that preys on the darkness in the hearts of men.
  8. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    An smart and well-paced horror flick that, while intense, falls short of being truly horrifying. It keeps things fresh by feeling like a classic whodunnit with a supernatural twist or a good episode of "The Twilight Zone." Since Shyamalan didn't actually pen the script (he's the mind behind the story, but the screenplay was handled by a different party) or direct the film, it lacks the subtle tension common in most of his other productions; opting for more jump scares than edge of your seat suspense. Plot development and themes, however, are very Shyamalan-esque. When all the pieces fall into place, it's a nicely executed revelation. Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    If your looking for blood and gore then I suggest to look elsewhere. The movie tells a story. A really good story about good, evil and choices. This was the first movie in a long time that told a scary tale like a "Halloween tale" if you will that leaves you thinking. The other thing I liked was how this movie made me reflect on myself. Do I hold grudges? Have I forgiven others? Best money spent in a long while! Expand
  10. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    I don't watch horror movies but this is a 'horror' with a twist. You keep changing your mind as to who the devil is until right at the end and even then it's a surprise!
  11. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Went into this movie with diminished expectations but came out liking it. So much better than m.night's last few that I hope it's a comeback trail. Give it a try if you have fond memories of his older stuff like the village
  12. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This movie was absolutely fantastic ! It kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. Great script, lots of twists, superb acting. I clapped my hands when it was over ! Congratulations, filmmakers !
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    From the master of the modern day dark thriller, M. Night Shyamalan, comes Devil. Going into a Shyamalan movie, you know you're going to see a tragedy, a hero, and an amazing twist at the end. Coming off two absolute bombs, Shyamalan needed a good film to get back on track, and Devil is it! This is one of those movies that's hard to describe without giving stuff away, so let me just say, it's Shyamalan at his best! It's a great story, a young unknown cast, and the ending will just blow your mind. Unlike most Horror/Thriller writers, Shyamalan doesn't use gore to shock you, but rather has a story that will just scare you to your core, and by the end of this one I was rattled! This is a top notch film that fell way under the radar, because of its unknown cast, but if you like scary movies or edge of your seat thrillers, you have to see this film! Expand
  14. May 28, 2013
    9
    Okay, M. Night Shylaman, before this movie came out, I remembered you for "Avatar: The Last Airbender" and that's not a good thing, I had mixed feelings about you when I was about to watch "Devil." Honestly, I expected me to hate "Devil," but after watching it, it turns out that I underestimated you. The movie is VERY VERY interesting with a sense of creepiness that is abundant in the movie, it scared the living crap out of me. It was an extremely enjoyable creep fest about murder mystery, paranoia, fear and anxiety. The movie has that feeling of anxiety, the fact that you're in a small space with a killer is not quite settling. So its a great Halloween movie, it creep-ed the hell out of me and had a great ending. Its a must see! Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Better than expected and not as bad as critics expressed. More of a thriller than a horror flick. Kept me guessing until the very end. Not too many movies have done that for me. Not the exorcist, not the last exorcism type of movie. A thriller-suspense type of movie. probably not worth a blu-ray purchase but worth a one time rental when it comes to DVD. Not because the movie does not have merit but because the nature of the plot and suspense. Expand
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    A very clever, thrilling outing from a generally unfavoured film maker. Devil kept me guessing until the finale, and left me more that satisfied. Watch this film.
  17. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    This movie deserves a whole lot better rating then the critics gave it. I thought this would be another M. Night bust but i gave it a chance and boy was i impressed. Ever since the Village i fell off the M. Night Shaymalan wagon because the endings didn't live up to the movie as a whole. Its been like eating cake with no frosting, the best part wasn't there. But this one had a terrific ending and the screenplay didn't seem so bland like his last few flicks. 9/10. Certainly back on the M. Night wagon, to some degree. Expand
  18. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Alright. I was really excited to see this movie. "People are trapped in an elevator. Hmm. Sounds interesting. I want to see this." The movie is original, like no other. There's hardly a PG-13 movie. I've never thought the title of a movie would be Devil. The movie wasn't time-consuming. Throughout the movie, I was getting an eerie feeling from watching it! It has an interesting plot. The movie is a tad bit disappointing at the end like a bee sting, but I like this movie. The moral I got from Devil is NEVER trust strangers. Expand
  19. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Devil is one of the best thrillers from 2010.
    """"""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
  20. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    One of my favourite thrillers that has a spooky theme and jolting jump scenes.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    70
    The great cinematographer Tak Fujimoto has the time of his life on this low-budget horror feature, playing with dolly shots, abrupt zooms, and negative space inside the widescreen frame, and the fun is infectious.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    75
    Guaranteed to keep you on tenterhooks from beginning to end - and without much gore. Dowdle and company trade in the usual trappings of the genre for a tantalizing blend of tension, suspense, and mystery.
  3. A serviceable burst of high-end hokum, Devil classes up a flimsy, religion-themed plot (by M. Night Shyamalan) with the kind of limber cinematography only someone like Tak Fujimoto can deliver.