User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 281
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just need to say this first. After M. Night's horrific move on making The Last Airbender, I thought NOTHING would redeem him for it. This movie barely does it. Since he actually direct this movie, he still has a way to go to earn the respect of the average moviegoer. This movie was actually pretty intense. Director John Eric Dowdle (Quarantine and The Poughkeepsie Tapes) seems to know what he's doing when it comes to thriller/suspense movies. The movie often does the movie trick to completely shut off the picture to take us into the darkness of being trapped inside a small space like an elevator, which I found to be a good thing. I especially like the concept of the story, in which the Devil comes to Earth in human form and when that happens, everything is ends up going bad. One way they make that assumption was when the religious security guard tosses his toast with jelly in the air and it lands jelly side down....a useful test to see if the Devil is here. Another thing I liked about this movie is the cast itself. Each person trapped is very different and you may believe anyone of them is the one behind it. The thing that I did find a tad annoying was the acting of Logan Marshall-Green, one of the trapped. His acting was a bit off in my taste, but it's nothing that would distract you from the rest of the movie. I'm not going to reveal who the "Devil" is, but me personally, I had a guess and I was right. The twist on who is the devil may be obvious to some, but the overall twist kinda catches you off guard. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I found the original script, too bad the movie is not a little longer, I find that the reviews are pretty harsh??? It is a good B movie. Waiting for the next chronicles.
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    I don't watch horror movies but this is a 'horror' with a twist. You keep changing your mind as to who the devil is until right at the end and even then it's a surprise!
  4. May 28, 2013
    9
    Okay, M. Night Shylaman, before this movie came out, I remembered you for "Avatar: The Last Airbender" and that's not a good thing, I had mixed feelings about you when I was about to watch "Devil." Honestly, I expected me to hate "Devil," but after watching it, it turns out that I underestimated you. The movie is VERY VERY interesting with a sense of creepiness that is abundant in theOkay, M. Night Shylaman, before this movie came out, I remembered you for "Avatar: The Last Airbender" and that's not a good thing, I had mixed feelings about you when I was about to watch "Devil." Honestly, I expected me to hate "Devil," but after watching it, it turns out that I underestimated you. The movie is VERY VERY interesting with a sense of creepiness that is abundant in the movie, it scared the living crap out of me. It was an extremely enjoyable creep fest about murder mystery, paranoia, fear and anxiety. The movie has that feeling of anxiety, the fact that you're in a small space with a killer is not quite settling. So its a great Halloween movie, it creep-ed the hell out of me and had a great ending. Its a must see! Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Went into this movie with diminished expectations but came out liking it. So much better than m.night's last few that I hope it's a comeback trail. Give it a try if you have fond memories of his older stuff like the village
  6. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This movie was absolutely fantastic ! It kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. Great script, lots of twists, superb acting. I clapped my hands when it was over ! Congratulations, filmmakers !
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    From the master of the modern day dark thriller, M. Night Shyamalan, comes Devil. Going into a Shyamalan movie, you know you're going to see a tragedy, a hero, and an amazing twist at the end. Coming off two absolute bombs, Shyamalan needed a good film to get back on track, and Devil is it! This is one of those movies that's hard to describe without giving stuff away, so let me just say,From the master of the modern day dark thriller, M. Night Shyamalan, comes Devil. Going into a Shyamalan movie, you know you're going to see a tragedy, a hero, and an amazing twist at the end. Coming off two absolute bombs, Shyamalan needed a good film to get back on track, and Devil is it! This is one of those movies that's hard to describe without giving stuff away, so let me just say, it's Shyamalan at his best! It's a great story, a young unknown cast, and the ending will just blow your mind. Unlike most Horror/Thriller writers, Shyamalan doesn't use gore to shock you, but rather has a story that will just scare you to your core, and by the end of this one I was rattled! This is a top notch film that fell way under the radar, because of its unknown cast, but if you like scary movies or edge of your seat thrillers, you have to see this film! Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    A very efficient thriller/horror. It's a fun cool movie and its worth a rental and its worth your time. It's a short little game of clue that is just plain fun to watch. Yeah, it has flaws, but alot of movies do. Check it out.
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    A very clever, thrilling outing from a generally unfavoured film maker. Devil kept me guessing until the finale, and left me more that satisfied. Watch this film.
  10. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    This movie deserves a whole lot better rating then the critics gave it. I thought this would be another M. Night bust but i gave it a chance and boy was i impressed. Ever since the Village i fell off the M. Night Shaymalan wagon because the endings didn't live up to the movie as a whole. Its been like eating cake with no frosting, the best part wasn't there. But this one had a terrificThis movie deserves a whole lot better rating then the critics gave it. I thought this would be another M. Night bust but i gave it a chance and boy was i impressed. Ever since the Village i fell off the M. Night Shaymalan wagon because the endings didn't live up to the movie as a whole. Its been like eating cake with no frosting, the best part wasn't there. But this one had a terrific ending and the screenplay didn't seem so bland like his last few flicks. 9/10. Certainly back on the M. Night wagon, to some degree. Collapse
  11. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    'Devil' is basically the first "Good" M. Night movie I've seen in a while since 'Signs'. Though the horror wasn't really there, the rest was gold. Just wish M. Night could make something better than this, even though I like it, 'cause it appears to be his "last" good film he's making.
  12. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    If your looking for blood and gore then I suggest to look elsewhere. The movie tells a story. A really good story about good, evil and choices. This was the first movie in a long time that told a scary tale like a "Halloween tale" if you will that leaves you thinking. The other thing I liked was how this movie made me reflect on myself. Do I hold grudges? Have I forgiven others? Best moneyIf your looking for blood and gore then I suggest to look elsewhere. The movie tells a story. A really good story about good, evil and choices. This was the first movie in a long time that told a scary tale like a "Halloween tale" if you will that leaves you thinking. The other thing I liked was how this movie made me reflect on myself. Do I hold grudges? Have I forgiven others? Best money spent in a long while! Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I created this account, after 4 years of lurking, to write a review of M. Night Shamalan's return. The movie "Devil" was amazing. The best way to compliment this film would be to say, "he's back." This was one of the best Shamalan movies I have seen since, "The 6th Sense." I saw it on using a Redbox kiosk tonight, and had expected to see Shamalan's "last demise" so to speak. Holy Crap,I created this account, after 4 years of lurking, to write a review of M. Night Shamalan's return. The movie "Devil" was amazing. The best way to compliment this film would be to say, "he's back." This was one of the best Shamalan movies I have seen since, "The 6th Sense." I saw it on using a Redbox kiosk tonight, and had expected to see Shamalan's "last demise" so to speak. Holy Crap, this movie was amazing, I don't know if he planned it this way or not, but this was ingenious! Just wow.... Expand
  14. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Finally, we get a modern devil movie where the devil is what hes meant to be: a subtle deceptive force that preys on the darkness in the hearts of men.
  15. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    This movie is great! Its not like all the other damn horror movies these days where there is no story at all, and all they focus on is blood and gore. This actually has a story and it definitely worth your time and money!
  16. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    This Horror Movie Is In The Top 50 Best Horror Movies!
    This Horror Movie Is Not Like Any Other.. Its So Creative And Well Thought... Really Good Acting For Once!! :D
    My Score Is 9!
  17. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Better than expected and not as bad as critics expressed. More of a thriller than a horror flick. Kept me guessing until the very end. Not too many movies have done that for me. Not the exorcist, not the last exorcism type of movie. A thriller-suspense type of movie. probably not worth a blu-ray purchase but worth a one time rental when it comes to DVD. Not because the movie doesBetter than expected and not as bad as critics expressed. More of a thriller than a horror flick. Kept me guessing until the very end. Not too many movies have done that for me. Not the exorcist, not the last exorcism type of movie. A thriller-suspense type of movie. probably not worth a blu-ray purchase but worth a one time rental when it comes to DVD. Not because the movie does not have merit but because the nature of the plot and suspense. Expand
  18. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    An smart and well-paced horror flick that, while intense, falls short of being truly horrifying. It keeps things fresh by feeling like a classic whodunnit with a supernatural twist or a good episode of "The Twilight Zone." Since Shyamalan didn't actually pen the script (he's the mind behind the story, but the screenplay was handled by a different party) or direct the film, it lacks theAn smart and well-paced horror flick that, while intense, falls short of being truly horrifying. It keeps things fresh by feeling like a classic whodunnit with a supernatural twist or a good episode of "The Twilight Zone." Since Shyamalan didn't actually pen the script (he's the mind behind the story, but the screenplay was handled by a different party) or direct the film, it lacks the subtle tension common in most of his other productions; opting for more jump scares than edge of your seat suspense. Plot development and themes, however, are very Shyamalan-esque. When all the pieces fall into place, it's a nicely executed revelation. Expand
  19. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    Aside from the stupid sub-plot, some-what weak dialogue, and the some-what below average acting, It was actually a rather enjoyable movie that I kept you interested from start to finish. I liked it.
  20. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    Shockingly, a very good movie. M. Night Shamalyan really knoced me out of nowhere with this movie. The overall movie is more of a supernatural thriller, however the twist ending and the special effects have a mix of horror in their too. My main problem is the movie is very short, and I wanted to see more! I can't wait for the second Night Chronicle movie!
  21. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    since the last airbender a lot of people have hated m night shaymalan because of his preception of the animated series.But a lot of other people have been fans of shaymalan since the beggining.i have no experience for shamalan movies except for the last airbender and when i saw the hate on the movie i felt bad for the guy.oh and by the way if you like the last airbender go to lastsince the last airbender a lot of people have hated m night shaymalan because of his preception of the animated series.But a lot of other people have been fans of shaymalan since the beggining.i have no experience for shamalan movies except for the last airbender and when i saw the hate on the movie i felt bad for the guy.oh and by the way if you like the last airbender go to last airbenderfans.com.i think why people like this moive is because he just produced it.i guess thats okay.everyone has good and bad qualities.anyway i recomen this for anyone who is looking for a good thriller form the mind of a potentially good director with a lot to give but is misunderstood.goo see the movie Expand
  22. Sep 25, 2010
    7
    A simple and effective little thriller; its pacy, utilises its small space with ingenious camera-work, and keeps the audience guessing as to how it's all going to end. Surprisingly, it also has a great use of humour to balance the tension and chills, I eagerly await the next installment of the Night Chronicles.
  23. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    Will Devil make you fear going in elevators, or will make the audience want to put pitchforks through themselves? Devil is about five people stuck in an elevator, with one of them being the Devil. The people in the elevator are Jenny O' Hara (Extract), Bojana Novakovic (Edge Of Darkness), Geoffery Arend (500 Days of Summer), Bokeem Woodbine (Ray), and Logan Marshall-Green (Brooklyn'sWill Devil make you fear going in elevators, or will make the audience want to put pitchforks through themselves? Devil is about five people stuck in an elevator, with one of them being the Devil. The people in the elevator are Jenny O' Hara (Extract), Bojana Novakovic (Edge Of Darkness), Geoffery Arend (500 Days of Summer), Bokeem Woodbine (Ray), and Logan Marshall-Green (Brooklyn's Finest). Chris Messina (Greenberg) plays a detective trying to piece together which one of these people is the Devil. Devil starts out slow, but the effects, the plot, and the acting piece together a decent supernatural-horror flick. The thing that I like best about this movie, is the twist ending. Overall, the movie rarely scared movie. However, the one person that turns out to be the Devil, and the way that person looked at the camera nearly made me pass out. Also, they all have a little dirt on them, so you can't tell which one is the Devil. For example. Hara's character is a robber, Novakovic likes to marry the rich, and leave them with their money, Arend's character is one of the main causes for the economy, Woodbine's character is a thug, and Green's character is just plain weird, carrying a satchel with pliers, scissors, and more creepy stuff, and doesn't take them with him on the elevator. I expected this movie to actually be funny. However, it's my favorite horror film since The Crazies. However, the beginning starts out slow, but I got into it after 20 minutes. Devil ends with the quote "If there's a devil, there has to be a god." Hopefully, when I fall asleep tonight, there will be a guardian angel with a dream catcher right next to my bed, so I don't get nightmares. An hour and twenty minutes of fun, Devil gets a: B+. Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Good film! Totally didn't see coming who it was & loved the way it all came together at the end. A horror with a good story doesn't come around very often. Last couple Shyamalan films have been a let down, this one is very good.
  25. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    The title alone should draw skepticism but at 80 minutes the movie is actually good (and I usually assume that any movie under 90 minutes will be predictable and traditional). In fact, I enjoyed the big reveal/climax! I just wish that at every key moment in the movie, the screen didn't turn black (Ugh!) - who knows if due to not wanting to pay for more special effects, lack ofThe title alone should draw skepticism but at 80 minutes the movie is actually good (and I usually assume that any movie under 90 minutes will be predictable and traditional). In fact, I enjoyed the big reveal/climax! I just wish that at every key moment in the movie, the screen didn't turn black (Ugh!) - who knows if due to not wanting to pay for more special effects, lack of visualization/creativity, wanting to preserve a PG-13 rating, or director's preference. But, despite those moments, I was engaged throughout. Quite surprised by that. Expand
  26. Jan 8, 2011
    7
    In the interest of full disclosure, let me say upfront that I am not a fan of M. Night Shyamalan and his prior films. My favorite of his work was probably Unbreakable with The Sixth Sense coming in second. As for the rest, I thought that they were utter garbage. That being said, I had to convince myself that Devil was even worth a rental. In hindsight, I can say that I'm quite glad I did.In the interest of full disclosure, let me say upfront that I am not a fan of M. Night Shyamalan and his prior films. My favorite of his work was probably Unbreakable with The Sixth Sense coming in second. As for the rest, I thought that they were utter garbage. That being said, I had to convince myself that Devil was even worth a rental. In hindsight, I can say that I'm quite glad I did.

    The film takes place almost exclusively in the elevator of a Philadelphia office building. The premise is that when someone commits suicide the Devil comes to Earth and claims the souls of wrongdoers in the area, and as one character grimly points out "they all die" when this happens. I found it a little hard to believe, but considering some of Shyamalan's previous stories this was less of a stretch so I went with it.

    I wouldn't classify Devil as a horror film. It was more of a thriller, really. Surprisingly, Shyamalan's direction works very well here and though the characters don't know what is going on and the audience does, it seems to create an atmosphere in which we care for these misfits. I did not find the acting to be anything special, but it also didn't distract from the film. There is enough suspense to keep you adequately anxious, but never crossed over to where I felt scared. Atmospherically the film is handled well, the cinematography and sound lend themselves to the dire situation these unlucky elevator riders face.

    All in all, I thought this was one of Shyamalan's better films. And though that isn't saying much, it's worth the price of a rental. Christians should take note that Devil is in no way an endorsement of anything Satanic, but actually offers a moral and somewhat religious lesson in the end which is pro-Christianity. Overall the film was not bad, not great, but somewhere in the middle.
    Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    Great and suspenseful movie! Every second of the movie keeps you on the edge of your seat. One of the best twists I've seen in a movie. Definetly worth seeing!
  28. Mar 8, 2011
    7
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/devil.html

    Now this was not a bad movie. Just reading the back of the box may make it seem pretty stupid. "A whole movie about people in an elevator!?" you may ask...well essentially yes but other movies have done the same concept really. Think 127 Hours or Buried. But in all actuality it's more than just that. It does have a group of people
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/devil.html

    Now this was not a bad movie. Just reading the back of the box may make it seem pretty stupid. "A whole movie about people in an elevator!?" you may ask...well essentially yes but other movies have done the same concept really. Think 127 Hours or Buried. But in all actuality it's more than just that. It does have a group of people trapped in an elevator but also is a movie about a detective and his life's events as he tries to rescue these people. There is also the whole Latino ghost story overdrop to the whole movie.

    Overall I think the movie was decently well made. Kept people entertained through lots of suspenseful moments both in the elevator and out as well as "pop up" scares to get the easily frightened. And even a pretty big twist at the end (depending on how much of a scary movie connoisseur you are I suppose, although I was pleasantly surprised). So I'd say its a movie you could rent if you and your friends want a semi scary movie.
    Expand
  29. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    I wanted to see this film and I am glad I did. I thought it was great. It was interesting, Had a good story but the backstory was a little bit too generic though, and it ended good as well. I would highly recommend this.
  30. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    The film draws the viewer in with classic suspense and satisfying thrill. Were it not for the sub-par dialogue and predictably sequential killing of those involved, the film may have warranted a bit more of an attractive critical surrounding. Nevertheless, it stands to be a very stimulating horror flick, which is almost as creepy as some of the characters in the supporting ensemble. AThe film draws the viewer in with classic suspense and satisfying thrill. Were it not for the sub-par dialogue and predictably sequential killing of those involved, the film may have warranted a bit more of an attractive critical surrounding. Nevertheless, it stands to be a very stimulating horror flick, which is almost as creepy as some of the characters in the supporting ensemble. A definite win for a director who makes more duds than a French bomb factory. It's no Sixth Sense, but if you have any appreciation for scary movies, you'll get something out of "Devil." Expand
  31. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    Finally, am above-average screenwriting by M.Night.Shaymalan. You would love to know who's the devil among the people who are trap in the elevator, and that's what makes you watch the movie to the end. There's enough "ouch" moments that will keep you interested in watching the whole movie.
  32. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    With all the usual cliches, and some abysmal acting coupled with appalling scripting you may think that Shyman has delivered his worst effort so far. Surprisingly it ends up reasonably entertaining although you end up with the feeling you should be far more disappointed than you are. If Shyman had directed this as well as writing it you probably would have been.
  33. Jan 10, 2011
    7
    No matter how hard you guess who is The Devil? (if only you have not heard the spoiler before), I bet you wont get the right answer. When there were only five alternatives to choose from. The five were: The Mechanic (Logan Marshall-Green), Young Woman (Bojana Novakovic), Old Woman (Jenny O Hara), The Salesman (Geoffrey Arend) and Security Guard (Bokeem Woodbine), thiz guy really reminds meNo matter how hard you guess who is The Devil? (if only you have not heard the spoiler before), I bet you wont get the right answer. When there were only five alternatives to choose from. The five were: The Mechanic (Logan Marshall-Green), Young Woman (Bojana Novakovic), Old Woman (Jenny O Hara), The Salesman (Geoffrey Arend) and Security Guard (Bokeem Woodbine), thiz guy really reminds me of Samuel L. Jackson figure. Thiz situation also involves a police detective (Chris Messina). It was great what M. Night Shyamalan did to thiz movie, the script was solid, a plenty of deceiving aspects here, every time we got a clue on who was the murderer, the plot was turning around again to the other direction. It is classic! Just like Hercule Poirot case, people gathered around in a house, lights off, someone died and we have to figure out who is the murder between them. But only thiz time it is not a house, it is an elevator. I have to say The Opening Title is extremely awesome, I like how they created the tension with the upside-down skyscraper landscape and thrilling score.The movie directed by John Erick Dowdle. Dowdle is known for QUARANTINE (2008) which is a re-make from Spanish semi-reality Horror [REC] (2007). Dowdle apparently has potential ability to dig every necessary element for directing his Actors properly. Every of these mediocre Actors did their job very well indeed, do not need Robert De Niro in that elevator, however the most powerful factor in thiz film is the script itself. And the script is able to conclude nicely in the ending, the thing that did not happen to Shyamalan previous feature THE HAPPENING (2008). It is nice to see Shyamalan back to his game again, which is an effective smart thriller. His best work is still THE SIXTH SENSE (1999). Only if he does not fall back again into his pop experimental flick like The Last Air Blunder not long ago,.. upps, I mean THE LAST AIRBENDER (2010), we may be able to see a new **** reborn, cannot wait for another Night Chronicles.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  34. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    One of m night shyamalan's best films and all the usual thrills you would expect from his first three movies. When you watch this movie do not expect it to be a horror movie.
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    DEVIL is one of the only good M. Night Whatever related films, since he is horrible most of the time. Devil is an fun movie that keeps you guessing till the end.
  36. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    I loved this movie. It was interesting through out and provided quite a bit of suspense as well. I didnt watch it for quite some time because I hate supernatural movies but this one is ok in my book.
  37. Mar 27, 2012
    7
    Economical horror with a promising premise which delivers in part. A familiar almost Agatha Christie who-dun-it story is given a modern day setting with spiritual undertones.
    The claustrophobic setting, sound effects and sharp editing create a succession of low-budget scares, although the turn of events become slightly repetitive each time the lights go out. The use of elevator CCTV
    Economical horror with a promising premise which delivers in part. A familiar almost Agatha Christie who-dun-it story is given a modern day setting with spiritual undertones.
    The claustrophobic setting, sound effects and sharp editing create a succession of low-budget scares, although the turn of events become slightly repetitive each time the lights go out. The use of elevator CCTV footage provides some variety to the action and builds suspense as the audience are made to feel equally as helpless as the rescuers as they see the action play out in front of them. A potential step back towards form for producer M. Night Shyamalan.
    Expand
  38. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Long story short: This was a great movie with a great plot but non-religious people may not find substance in it and it did have a silly Shyamalan twist.

    I loved this movie, I thought it was one of the best horror thrillers I have seen in quite some time. I think one of the major problems people have with this movie is that if they are not religious, the ending loses a lot of its power.
    Long story short: This was a great movie with a great plot but non-religious people may not find substance in it and it did have a silly Shyamalan twist.

    I loved this movie, I thought it was one of the best horror thrillers I have seen in quite some time. I think one of the major problems people have with this movie is that if they are not religious, the ending loses a lot of its power. To the non-religious person, they didn't sign up to watch this kind of horror movie.
    But Personally I thought the movie had one of the best plots out of any horror movie I have seen in quite some time.
    My only qualm about it was that it had the telltale Shyamalan twist at the end, I'd rather it have ended slightly different so I knocked two points off the score for this. But the aside from the twist I really liked the idea behind the movie, as well as the the story was concluded.
    Expand
  39. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Alright. I was really excited to see this movie. "People are trapped in an elevator. Hmm. Sounds interesting. I want to see this." The movie is original, like no other. There's hardly a PG-13 movie. I've never thought the title of a movie would be Devil. The movie wasn't time-consuming. Throughout the movie, I was getting an eerie feeling from watching it! It has an interesting plot. TheAlright. I was really excited to see this movie. "People are trapped in an elevator. Hmm. Sounds interesting. I want to see this." The movie is original, like no other. There's hardly a PG-13 movie. I've never thought the title of a movie would be Devil. The movie wasn't time-consuming. Throughout the movie, I was getting an eerie feeling from watching it! It has an interesting plot. The movie is a tad bit disappointing at the end like a bee sting, but I like this movie. The moral I got from Devil is NEVER trust strangers. Expand
  40. Dec 21, 2014
    7
    N Might Shyamalan returns and tries really hard to make a Hitchcock movie but he succeeds but as a results FAILS ! this movie well yes its suspenseful of course! but don't we know it really is? of course i all ready know its the Lady. The movies tries so hard to be truthful and thats what i love about this movie! Grade C. its not an 10/10 stars the thing that is WRONG! about this movieN Might Shyamalan returns and tries really hard to make a Hitchcock movie but he succeeds but as a results FAILS ! this movie well yes its suspenseful of course! but don't we know it really is? of course i all ready know its the Lady. The movies tries so hard to be truthful and thats what i love about this movie! Grade C. its not an 10/10 stars the thing that is WRONG! about this movie is it has its wrong director John Erick Dowdle shakes the camera over-over again in a horror film the way he uses cameras it's like he is trying to make a paranormal activity movie when he does this yes his " quarantine" was a good horror movie but he should stop trying to do these horror movies. also some of this movie was pretty boring to be honest! Expand
  41. Nov 1, 2014
    9
    The acting was great and there was some really intense moments.In some other movies some details would disappear but in this movie all the details are important.The only annoying thing in the movie is the mexican/religious security guard.
  42. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    this movei reminds me of the time I watchef "Start wars" a year ago. iut truly reimaginied everything ever. i was so casred when i saw the toast and the jelly down side. it was creepy and the sequal will be empirere stars back thanks you goodbye.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    70
    The great cinematographer Tak Fujimoto has the time of his life on this low-budget horror feature, playing with dolly shots, abrupt zooms, and negative space inside the widescreen frame, and the fun is infectious.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    75
    Guaranteed to keep you on tenterhooks from beginning to end - and without much gore. Dowdle and company trade in the usual trappings of the genre for a tantalizing blend of tension, suspense, and mystery.
  3. A serviceable burst of high-end hokum, Devil classes up a flimsy, religion-themed plot (by M. Night Shyamalan) with the kind of limber cinematography only someone like Tak Fujimoto can deliver.