User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 63
  2. Negative: 48 out of 63
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    Devil's Due has some decent ideas, but for most of the time it lacks originality, scares. If it was digging enough into the characters, I would pass it as a strange gothic, but it is not. I will say it is probably a guilty pleasure, because the last 10 minutes of the film makes it entertaining to watch although hard with the cliched found-footage style, but what I sighted of the last 10Devil's Due has some decent ideas, but for most of the time it lacks originality, scares. If it was digging enough into the characters, I would pass it as a strange gothic, but it is not. I will say it is probably a guilty pleasure, because the last 10 minutes of the film makes it entertaining to watch although hard with the cliched found-footage style, but what I sighted of the last 10 mins was good enough to pass the movie as a 4 out of 10. Although deserving less, but I have something for these found footage movies. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    With nearly every element borrowed - scratch that - copied from other films that have almost always done it better, "Devil's Due" renders no legitimate frights, leaves the most of the audience scratching their heads and the others bored to tears.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    6
    Devils Due could have been much better and it had its problems but it was a good movie may not of been as scary that it could have been but in my opinion it was way better than Paranormal Activity The Marked Ones. Overall an OK film could have been better don't rush out to see it but it is a watch
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    Overall this movie is a tad above average. The plot is kinda interesting and some of the scenes are interesting but the movie got a tad boring over time. I would recommend if you like these types of movies, but if you don't. you wont be getting much special
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    5
    DEVIL'S DUE is definitely no masterpiece but this combo of ROSEMARY'S BABY and BLAIR WITCH is quite fun until it all falls apart. But the lead up is pretty good. Not much horror out there so this fills the void nicely.
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    Kind of a typical movie these days in the horror style-not particularly good and not particularly bad. A young couple you will like comes upon misfortune at the hands of a bunch of voodoo like weirdos in some tropical travel getaway honeymoon destination. The movie trudges on carrying you along with it to its predictably bleak empty and no hope conclusion which bugged me since I hate noKind of a typical movie these days in the horror style-not particularly good and not particularly bad. A young couple you will like comes upon misfortune at the hands of a bunch of voodoo like weirdos in some tropical travel getaway honeymoon destination. The movie trudges on carrying you along with it to its predictably bleak empty and no hope conclusion which bugged me since I hate no hope endings. Someone might actually leave this film feeling worse than they did when they went in to see it. I wish they would make better movies personally. After you have seen 1500 people scream and gush blood from every pint possible the whole things gets really old. What helps this film is the way the couple are portrayed as genuinely being in love with each other. Their bond does not survive the onslaught of evil doers-so why even make the film? Mix it all down and you get a five out of ten. And it probably cost what a small country makes in a year to film. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 22, 2014
    40
    Although a slow-burn approach to this sort of creepfest is generally a smart move, Devil’s Due peters out of outright suspense midway through and never fully recovers, despite (or possibly because of) a final reel that may shock some viewers but will leave die-hard genre fans gnashing their teeth and rending their clothes in dismay.
  2. Reviewed by: Ali Catterall
    Jan 21, 2014
    20
    The Devil may have all the best tunes, but this really is the worst sort of cinematic karaoke.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jan 20, 2014
    30
    We're more than 45 years out from Roman Polanski's director-controlled masterpiece in gestating terror, and yet no gimmick in Devil's Due — no point-of-view shock cut or shaky-cam "realism" — is as dread-inducing as tracking the grim revelations on Mia Farrow's face.