Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 25, 2011
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
17
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
gm101Apr 5, 2011
While the movie suffered from the same problems as its predecessor (both needed to be closer to the books), it was still a good adaptation, and a very funny one too! I recommend it for any famiy wanting to have some good laughs!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediJun 25, 2011
The eternal fight between brothers is something that may never have the solution. After all, the older one teases with the youngest or the youngest suffering in the hands of the older one? What really matters is that one day they will see theThe eternal fight between brothers is something that may never have the solution. After all, the older one teases with the youngest or the youngest suffering in the hands of the older one? What really matters is that one day they will see the importance of real brothers. The second adaptation of the books/comics of Jeff Kinney, follows the same pace as the first, only takes a different focus. Instead of seeing how the friendship of children, now we see the relationship that Greg (Zachary Gordon) has with his brother Rodrick (Devon Bostick), by the way is very turbulent. The screenplay light and relaxed, serves for anyone to watch and have fun, even as a child movie content, but hindered by Greg at school or even at home are very identifiable, I mean, everyone has gone through something similar. The film depicts this relationship and family and friendship between older brothers and younger and all its ups and downs, as in the film is perhaps a little better to see. The script is simple even though some holes, and some things that leave the air ... Perhaps expectations for the next film, leaving more unanswered questions is always a danger, even more attentive to the eyes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AkkharSep 1, 2011
Funny , Funny and still Funny....Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules is just like its first part ! they really held their merit . its was an amazing movie ! story was a little bit short but there was so many hilarious moment . Zachary isFunny , Funny and still Funny....Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules is just like its first part ! they really held their merit . its was an amazing movie ! story was a little bit short but there was so many hilarious moment . Zachary is really perfect for this role and Devon really did an amazing job and was so better then the last film ! also the whole family was awesome ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JohnKristoferDec 25, 2014
A fun and entertaining movie for all ages.The movie still has problems just like in the first film but still delivers fun gags and hilarious moments that the whole family can enjoy!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MariofanAug 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OMG This was the BEST of the Wimpy Kid movies. It was HILARIOUS!!! I laughed 99% of the time. The storyline was great. The characters were awesome. The jokes were funny. And the talent show scene was the best movie ending of all time. DOAWK Rodrick Rules was awesome and you should definitely watch it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dumbledorkMar 27, 2011
Funny and entertaining for all ages. The critics can never give a movie like Diary of a Wimpy Kid a good review, because it would expose them as average, everyday people and not intellectually superior to the rest of us. Loded Diper rocks!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Although it is definitely not as good as the solid first one for me it is because the loss of Chloe Moretz, but it is hilarious and offers some great acting from the kids. I give this movie 62%.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BUTCHYPIEMar 25, 2011
Even funnier than the first Wimpy Kid. The filmmakers have brought Jeff Kinney's amazing books to the big screen, and it works. I went with an 8-year-old, a 22-year-old, and a forty-something; everyone of us belly laughed. It's a rareEven funnier than the first Wimpy Kid. The filmmakers have brought Jeff Kinney's amazing books to the big screen, and it works. I went with an 8-year-old, a 22-year-old, and a forty-something; everyone of us belly laughed. It's a rare comedy that can be funny to everyone. Also, want to add this movie trusts kids to be kids. It's not like those horrible Disney sitcoms with their fake, miniature adults. These are kids being kidsy, and it is awesome. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jacodoMar 26, 2011
this is a great family friendly movie.lots of funny parts so youll be laughing a whole lot while watching it it kept all the important parts from the book but changed them to make them funny.i could instantly reconize parts from the book sothis is a great family friendly movie.lots of funny parts so youll be laughing a whole lot while watching it it kept all the important parts from the book but changed them to make them funny.i could instantly reconize parts from the book so they get a A+ in translation from book to movie.humor A+.Acting was real good a A+ to me.
its a good movie to take a child of yours to see lots of good humor clean jokes nothing bad and its rated pg pefect for kids.if youre planning a family night in the next couple of weeks make sure you put seeing this movie in the plans.if you liked the first youll love this one.if you dont youll still probably like this one.its just great for families with kids.if your kids read the book and liked it they have got to see this book.Family friendlyness a A+ from me.

IN conclusion if you have kids love the book series and espically loved this one theyll love this movie.its a great family movie
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
xXAnthonyXxMar 25, 2011
I saw it earlier and I must say, I've waited a long time, and it was totally worth the wait. I'm glad the movie is in the 50s ratings, and not the 40s or 30s, it would be awesome if it made it to the 60s or 70s but, I doubt that. It's a goodI saw it earlier and I must say, I've waited a long time, and it was totally worth the wait. I'm glad the movie is in the 50s ratings, and not the 40s or 30s, it would be awesome if it made it to the 60s or 70s but, I doubt that. It's a good and funny movie, and worth a check. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraApr 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So what changed between the sixth and seventh grade? Gupta(Karan Brar) must be wondering. Over the summer, the diminutive, yet outspoken and exceedingly confident Indian kid moved back to the motherland, "the jewel of Southeast Asia", supposedly for good, but now he's back stateside, attending the same middle school as Greg Heffley(Zachary Gordon), only to receive the cold shoulder from his once cherished friend. Was it something he said? At the roller rink, the last time Gupta saw the old gang before the start of the new semester, he and his nerdy friends, as usual, forming a united front of losers, found themselves on the outside looking in, watching the popular kids having fun, while they kept themselves company, trying desperately to look cool. (Memo to Greg: Don't come with your parents.) Perhaps the wimpy kid thinks that by ostracizing Gupta, his social circle will move up the ladder of high school society, determining that their association with a foreigner was holding them back from making inroads with the cheerleaders and the jocks. If popularity means so much to Greg, then the wimpy kid needs to be far more scrupulous and cutthroat than that. Hanging around Rowley(Robert Capron) seems far more disadvantageous to his goal of widespread junior high societal acceptance. In the original "Diary of a Wimpy Kid", Rowley, who is, to put it kindly, a tad on the big-boned side(Fregley, played by Grayson Russell is worse, the scraggly kid looks like he doesn't wash), rides around the neighborhood on a girl's bike, complete with pink tassels, and shows up to class dressed in traditional Guatemalan peasant clothing, featuring a serape, which when translated into English, means "girl repellent". In "Rodrick Rules", an adaptation of the fourth title in the popular children's literature series by Jeff Kinney, Rowley is guileless as ever, this time bringing his love of magic tricks into the open, the school hallway, of all places, where he asks Greg to be his assistant for the talent show. The wimpy kid flat out rejects his friend's offer, which normally would be the prudent choice, but in Kinney's filmic universe, individual expression is lauded, not ridiculed, best exemplified when Rowley gets away with bringing his mother to a formal dance in the first film. Undeservedly, Greg is part of a well-received act, reluctantly collaborating on the magic presentation with Rowley, who never finds out that the wimpy kid was in actuality, supporting his older brother, not him. Greg is no Napoleon Dynamite(Jon Heder), who in the Jared Hess indie sensation, goes the whole nine yards to help Pedro win the election by tripping the nerd fantastic, in possibly the best dance sequence since John Travolta took to the disco floor in John Badham's "Saturday Night Fever". Pedro's ethnicity is never becomes an issue with Napoleon. He's true blue. Greg, on the other hand, in a shockingly nefarious move, coordinates a school-wide prank on Gupta, in which the entire student body conspires to pretend that the olive-skinned seventh grader is invisible. In the cafeteria, Greg scores a cheap easy laugh at Gupta's expense. It's a gutsy move on the filmmaker's part to present a flawed hero, but the Indian boy's expulsion from his peer group borders on mean-spiritedness. Because of India's caste system, to Gupta, being thought of as invisible must hurt real bad, because it bears the connotation of being "an untouchable", somebody who hails from the Harijan class, a group who stands outside the system. In essence, using the public school hierarchy for the purpose of an analogy, Greg casts the Indian from the middle school untouchables: the nerds. And where does that leave him? Alone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RyanLopezDec 15, 2011
This one is way better than the original, its funnier and better acting and a better plot, Rodrick is really funny, Greg is a better actor in this movie by a longshot- CAN'T WAIT FOR DOG DAYS
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This movie doesn't effectively capture the dry wit of the books or the ups and downs of preteen life. What i does capture is a person with a bloody nose sneezing all over the audience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
quesyMay 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HILARIOUS! MY KIDS AND MYSELF DIDN'T SPOT LAUGHING. funnier than the first one, really entertainment for any audience. my kids love the books and they've been reading them a couple of times. not very true to the book but it's what happen with almost all books turned in to movies. we could watch it again, maybe is not a great master piece but i recommend it to anyone looking for an easy comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDMay 28, 2011
I'm a huge fan of the books so I decided to watch this movie. And my verdict is, the movie was alright. When I was reading some reviews, they said the movie was actually funny. Well it wasn't the funniest movie I ever watched and to beI'm a huge fan of the books so I decided to watch this movie. And my verdict is, the movie was alright. When I was reading some reviews, they said the movie was actually funny. Well it wasn't the funniest movie I ever watched and to be honest, sometimes I forced myself to laugh. But I definitely enjoyed the movie anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
filmtrashreviewJun 8, 2011
Far better then the original. The cheesy family friendly comedy in this sequel is refreshing and borderline shocking. A huge step up in family film! It's about as good as it is going to get and I don't understand why other reviewers aren'tFar better then the original. The cheesy family friendly comedy in this sequel is refreshing and borderline shocking. A huge step up in family film! It's about as good as it is going to get and I don't understand why other reviewers aren't understanding this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerAug 3, 2011
I loved the first and I love this one just as much, it's funny and a movie the whole family can enjoy, I've never read the books so I can't tell you if it's as good, but it still is highly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
robguy222Aug 29, 2011
love this movie! It was great. I love the movie so much. hope they make the third movie soon! They directors just make it really good. Everybody who works their made it great! Good job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 17, 2011
It is not as good as the first, but it still has some fun following a new story based on the second book in the series. It does have some funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123Apr 26, 2012
I got to admit it was better than the book. But however it was a lot different from the book witch ether saved this film or made it worst. I think it saved it. And worth renting if you asked me. Diary of a wimpy kid 2 RR 6.6/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
molemaster43Apr 6, 2013
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules is the second installment in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid movie franchise. However, I feel that this one fell completely flat when comparing to the book. Not only did this not really fit with the book, it wasDiary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules is the second installment in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid movie franchise. However, I feel that this one fell completely flat when comparing to the book. Not only did this not really fit with the book, it was nowhere near as funny as the book. This movie just had a lot of it that wasn't actually apart of it. Overall, okay movie with some humor, but nothing great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M0vieAddictMay 9, 2013
It's rare to get a sequel better than the original, even rarer to see a family flick best it's first movie. 'Rodrick Rules' focuses more on the Heffley family and benefits from this small change. The Jokes are bigger, the gags are better andIt's rare to get a sequel better than the original, even rarer to see a family flick best it's first movie. 'Rodrick Rules' focuses more on the Heffley family and benefits from this small change. The Jokes are bigger, the gags are better and the message is more gentle. I suggest watching this with a brother or sister even just for bonding purposes. The cast doesn't disapoint and Zachery Gordon puts on a better, more likeable performance. Greg feels more like a bit part, leaving the other characters to come into their own. Certainly a good thing and one of the best unanimated family films I've laid eyes on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jeff_reviewsJul 9, 2013
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules" manages to pull off a sequel that meets its predecessors marks, but the film (like its original) lacks true depth, which is similar to the book. The film is funny Rodrick and Greg Heffley's brotherly"Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules" manages to pull off a sequel that meets its predecessors marks, but the film (like its original) lacks true depth, which is similar to the book. The film is funny Rodrick and Greg Heffley's brotherly love is fun to watch, and other characters are enjoyable as well. It's fun to watch, but nothing as special as more deepening films out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
Just more of the same adventures of Greg with myriad sight gags and fart jokes, enough to last you a lifetime. But, like the first movie, it does have a certain reality to it about middle school life. But Greg is getting a little bit too oldJust more of the same adventures of Greg with myriad sight gags and fart jokes, enough to last you a lifetime. But, like the first movie, it does have a certain reality to it about middle school life. But Greg is getting a little bit too old for the role now.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticMay 27, 2014
As devoid of all the witty and satirical realism as the first movie, 'Rodrick Rules' will most likely be my last Wimpy Kid film. The characters are unfunny, cold, and even despicable. Greg Heffley is even more selfish and self-absorbed in theAs devoid of all the witty and satirical realism as the first movie, 'Rodrick Rules' will most likely be my last Wimpy Kid film. The characters are unfunny, cold, and even despicable. Greg Heffley is even more selfish and self-absorbed in the films, to the point of where its not funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
teddylukeApr 22, 2015
better then the 1st movie I good. the charters get a little bit better then the first film. everything is kind of better then the 1st movie but still not good as the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
I can't either tell which one is the weakest and which one's the strongest because it looks like that they all get the same score at the end. Welcome to Rodrick's movie, wimpy kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
This movie feels the same but with something else that has been noticed, brother issues,and it presents that well. I like how it shows how greg tries to get along, but Rowley needs to stop being gay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorApr 17, 2016
Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules is still being as faithful to the bestseller as the first one, and conserves the same entertainment and thought-provoking ending as well, even if at the end you'd feel more doody jokes than a sleekness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
reviewfrom19842Oct 9, 2016
Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules is better then the first movie it has more heart then the other movie and the main charter is a little more likeable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StannyCartvskiOct 29, 2016
This was the best Wimpy Kid movie because Rodrick was in it more and he was actually nice and cared about Greg for once! Plus, Manny gets into a little bit of trouble at one point! He has a "talk" with Susan and how he shouldn't put cookiesThis was the best Wimpy Kid movie because Rodrick was in it more and he was actually nice and cared about Greg for once! Plus, Manny gets into a little bit of trouble at one point! He has a "talk" with Susan and how he shouldn't put cookies in video game devices. Then, he makes a present for Greg and says: " I'm sowwy Bubby." It was really funny because Frank freaks out in one scene when his "toy" was on the thermostat. It sounded like he said: "Hey! What the Hell!" when he freaked out. I also like Holly, because she is one of those girls who lives with a rich family, but is nice to every one. In the first movie, there weren't a lot of girls. I like it when movies have more girls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
A year after the release and box office success of the first "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" film, Greg Heffley and friends are back in "Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules," the sequel that manages to improve upon its predecessor. With a little lessA year after the release and box office success of the first "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" film, Greg Heffley and friends are back in "Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules," the sequel that manages to improve upon its predecessor. With a little less of a focus on gross-out gags, "Rodrick Rules" is well-acted, funnier, wittier and more entertaining than its predecessor. While I'm not sure if it will convert newcomers to the series into fans of the series, I can say for sure that "Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules" is an improvement from the first movie and is definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterKamahaApr 14, 2017
Diary and the wimpy kid is a very nice movie. I like the acting and the story is very nice. My favourite part is the magic scene part. A lot of parts are funny so that is why I like it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
McJuggerThunderApr 15, 2017
Rodrick Rules is a major improvement in the Wimpy Kid series. It has good characters, a good plot and good humor and one more thing to know: Rodrick Rules!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 22, 2017
Let me start by saying the books better. The characters are the same funny ones from the previous movie also. This is a good improvement from the first. I would say watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Meth-dudeAug 20, 2017
I wouldn't say I was disappointed because I wasn't expecting something good, but it surprised me at how bad it actually was. Nothing was funny, the attempts at being heartwarming and relatable were cringe worthy at best and the acting wasn'tI wouldn't say I was disappointed because I wasn't expecting something good, but it surprised me at how bad it actually was. Nothing was funny, the attempts at being heartwarming and relatable were cringe worthy at best and the acting wasn't really good. I get that it's supposed to be a movie aimed at a young audience, but it's not an excuse for how bad it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrTacoBobSep 10, 2017
A sequel? Well anyways it's just the same thing. Awful comedy, awful plot, bad acting, and mediocre characters. But now it's even worse! And, it gets worse from here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews