Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on author and cartoonist Jeff Kinney's fourth Wimpy Kid book - released on October 12, 2009. The book continues right after the previous book, "The Last Straw." The book opens describing Greg's worst summer ever beginning with Greg Heffley and Rowley Jefferson going to Rowley's country club after school closes for the summer, but Greg is kicked out because he complained of even the smallest predicaments. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Abby West
    Aug 1, 2012
    83
    Though often self-centered and conniving, Greg remains a likable kid, and the movie entertains by pulling off over-the-top scenarios that set up digestible life lessons for youngsters.
  2. 70
    Oroves nimbler and truer to its origins than last year's "Rodrick Rules."
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 5, 2012
    70
    It's the latest installment in what now forms a lightly likable trilogy of films based on Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid books.
  4. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Aug 1, 2012
    60
    Greg avoids the curse of the three in the third outing for the Wimpy Kid. Hardly groundbreaking but plenty of fun for its target audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 2, 2012
    60
    The best of the lot. It's not great, but the mean-spiritedness that permeated the first film and stuck around a bit for the second is mostly gone.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Aug 2, 2012
    50
    Ends the series' winning streak, or at least slows it down to a panting, dog-day crawl.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 3, 2012
    25
    I'd call Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days harmless if it weren't for some totally unnecessary gay-panic jokes that could actually encourage bullying.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    the best of the three. was so funny and greg is still very good. better than the dark knihght rises big time and its the best of 2012. good graphics and good acting. this is a graet movie Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    The best of the three! Dog Days delivers much more of a sentimental lesson but still pushing in the vast amount of fun and awesomeness the series needs. Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    The best of the Wimpy Kid movies. I was smiling and laughing throughout the entire movie. It's hilarious and brings several life lessons for kids to the table. The cast, as always, did a fantastic job. If you enjoyed the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid movies you'll enjoy this. Hilarious and one of the best movies of the year. Collapse
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    By far it is the best of the "Wimpy Kid" movie trilogy. It is at some parts hilarious, but others were very weak and boring. But that is usually what I expect from these movies. You have to give the comedic style some time. Not to spoil, but the ending is hilarious. I was also really scared to death (honestly, during a PG movie!) during one part. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    At first I didn't like the Wimpy Kid films at all and when I found out about a third film, I laughed and didn't expect anything from it. But I then watched the 2nd Film on TV and was gripped to the Holly/Greg storyline. This caused me to go and watch the 3rd Film, Dog Days, expecting a cheesy, bad film. However, this film isn't all too bad. It's a light hearted comedy, with some good jokes, some bad jokes, and some copied jokes (There's a scene completely copied off a Mr Bean episode!). But it wasn't too bad. The Holly/Greg story that I was hooked into remained and, although it wasn't completely resolved, they ended the film and the story with finesse. Although I warn you, the opening and ending bits with human Greg standing in front of a cartoon background is the cheesiest thing ever, but you can forget that. Overall It's not the worst film of the year *Cough* Abe Lincoln Vampire Hunter *Cough* but if you are looking for a comedy with great constant gags, It's not the film for you. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    The three Wimpy Kid films don't all manage to shock or put true emotions in them, but still manages a handful of laughs and has plot that is true to its book franchise. With family in mind, the film displays once again a humorous typical family facing troubles and going through another adventure in every day life. With this in find, kids will love these scenarios, which adults a little bored, but interested at times. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    1
    Honestly This Movie In My Opinion Is Trash... Boring And Uncreative..
    One Of The Worst Of 2012

See all 10 User Reviews