Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 19, 2010
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
39
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
nintendoid13Nov 6, 2010
It gives me great pain to give this film a one. Not that I feel sorry for it, just that I can't leave any zeros. This was a HUGE disappointment. For one thing, Greg in the book (the real genius) is supposed to be 13!!! The actor is like 7!It gives me great pain to give this film a one. Not that I feel sorry for it, just that I can't leave any zeros. This was a HUGE disappointment. For one thing, Greg in the book (the real genius) is supposed to be 13!!! The actor is like 7! I'm sure anyone could have been a better actor for Greg. ANYONE!! Left stuff out, added CRAP in. Wow! Congratulations FOX, you just brought out a stinker! Oh, by the way, THANK YOU, MikeJ., for your words of wisdom! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
KateY.Apr 2, 2010
The whole family went to the movie and all of us were dissipointed. After the first half hour of the movie you start to like Rowley and hating greg. Left out characters and put new ones in. And my son had an nightmare about the cheese. One The whole family went to the movie and all of us were dissipointed. After the first half hour of the movie you start to like Rowley and hating greg. Left out characters and put new ones in. And my son had an nightmare about the cheese. One of the worst movies i saw,I only liked Rowley and Manny. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
ChrisBSep 1, 2010
Saw this film on a flight (sadly a captive audience), when I say "saw" I mean pulled out the headphones & started reading a book after 20 minutes or so.
The acting was poor, the story was not engaging (as a 29 year old man I'm not really the
Saw this film on a flight (sadly a captive audience), when I say "saw" I mean pulled out the headphones & started reading a book after 20 minutes or so.
The acting was poor, the story was not engaging (as a 29 year old man I'm not really the target audience though), there was nothing in the film to make me want to watch it.
Now I know it's based on a book & perhaps it's a better read (hopefully without the stupid "cheese" angle), But this film is to me far from watchable for an adult, even children on the plane showed little to no interest in the film.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
MikeJ.Mar 25, 2010
I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He was sitting there whinning "can we go home" the whole time. The movie has no humor and was a waste of I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He was sitting there whinning "can we go home" the whole time. The movie has no humor and was a waste of time. This was the first time i ever left the theater before the movie was over. Do not see this with your kids as it is bad. Your whole family will hate it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
796712Nov 15, 2010
one of the wors films ive seen i was being kind to give it a 2 i wanted to give it a one its gets worse as the film goes on it was a waste of money i have no idea what roger ebert was thinking giving it 88 he must have been drunk
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
kylerawksDec 25, 2012
This is the worst movie ever and i regret ever seeing this movie. This is worse than Despicable Me. Omigod this movie made me feel like i was the stupid wimp. Thank jesus i am not one. This movie had very many STUPID parts, including theThis is the worst movie ever and i regret ever seeing this movie. This is worse than Despicable Me. Omigod this movie made me feel like i was the stupid wimp. Thank jesus i am not one. This movie had very many STUPID parts, including the stupid cheese touch. i hate to say this but @*#^%&@*()^)!#*&^%&@!^%#)&*(@#*%)^ %&*#%^*(&%%%@#%&&^#%@)&#%^&#*(%^@#()^%&)#!%*!@(#&*%^!@&# all at once. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
QuinnIsAGamerAug 28, 2015
If metecritic did books, I'd give the book a good rating, but this is pure trash! It's gross (visually), it's not funny, it barely has to do with the book, Rowley is like Ralph Wiggum, Greg is much more like Wheatley (Portal 2), don't watchIf metecritic did books, I'd give the book a good rating, but this is pure trash! It's gross (visually), it's not funny, it barely has to do with the book, Rowley is like Ralph Wiggum, Greg is much more like Wheatley (Portal 2), don't watch this. Characters occasionally have different names, oh god.. I'm not going to go any further, this is garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrTacoBobSep 10, 2017
I know it's a kid film but kid films don't have to be bad. Just look at The City of Ember movie. It's a decent film based off a good book series. Diary of a Wimpy Kid has bad comedy and awful acting. Not to mention the awful plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews