Diary of a Wimpy Kid Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Diary of a Wimpy Kid chronicles the adventures of wise-cracking middle school student Greg Heffley, who must somehow survive the scariest time of anyone's life: middle school. (20th Century Fox)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. 88
    It's nimble, bright and funny. It doesn't dumb down. It doesn't patronize. It knows something about human nature.
  2. 75
    Crass, gross and juvenile in all the best (and worst) ways, Diary is aimed squarely at a tween "don't touch the cheese" demographic. And if you don't get it, maybe you're just too old for a good booger joke.
  3. 67
    For all its ridiculousness, its enthusiastic comic excess, and its fart/booger/gross-out jokes, Diary Of A Wimpy Kid's heart is firmly in the right place.
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    60
    Fun, funny and affectionate, though it packs the emotional wallop of an undernourished high school nerd.
  5. 58
    This Diary of a Wimpy kid is too often dull, unappealing and clumsy, hobbled by unnecessary changes and inventions that add no charm, energy or, truly, point.
  6. This year-in-the-life comedy will appeal mostly to its target audience -- the boys of middle school, USA -- and frankly, that's all it needs. Who else would appreciate the idiocy of social pressure,
  7. A mean-spirited little movie, investing its limited charms in all the wrong characters.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. SamS.
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Great movie, very entertaining and fun for the whole family....Great acting, especially the kid who played Greg Heffley, he was so Great movie, very entertaining and fun for the whole family....Great acting, especially the kid who played Greg Heffley, he was so believable. The fat kid Rowley was like a "dufus. Probably like that in real life. The rest of the cast did an excellent job. Good fun for anyone of any age. Collapse
  2. HollyS
    Mar 26, 2010
    9
    This movie is just a realistic celebration of how funny childhood can be, especially from a boy's point of view. I also like that the This movie is just a realistic celebration of how funny childhood can be, especially from a boy's point of view. I also like that the Protagonist is kind of an anti-hero. It's not The Hangover, but I found myself laughing outloud through the entire movie. To me, this franchise rivals Harry Potter for telling stories about kids. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2011
    8
    It wasn't my favorite movie of the year, but good thing the comedy saved the entire movie.
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    I love reading the books but I have to admit the movie didn't live up to my expectations. It isn't the worst I've ever seen but definitely notI love reading the books but I have to admit the movie didn't live up to my expectations. It isn't the worst I've ever seen but definitely not the best either. Expand
  5. ChadS.
    Mar 20, 2010
    5
    Two boys in a crowded cafeteria, amidst a galaxy of cliques, the slightly cooler kid surveys the lunchroom, then glances back at his pal with Two boys in a crowded cafeteria, amidst a galaxy of cliques, the slightly cooler kid surveys the lunchroom, then glances back at his pal with new eyes. "Try to look like you're having fun," begs Kevin Arnold(Fred Savage) to his nerdy seatmate Paul(Paul Sorvino), because he knows that his middle school social life depends on it. Winnie Cooper was taking algebra in 1967, now she has her own math theorem. In 2010, the cafeteria is even more ofl a battlefield, and Greg Heffley(Zachary Gordon) would like a little help from his best friend Rowley(Robert Capron) in manufacturing wonder years out of their journey through intermediate school. Unfortunately, Rowley lacks the guile to conform with the herd; he believes that you should "come as you are", so the accidental iconoclast comes to school on a girl's bike with pink tassels in full-blown Guatamalan regalia. But nobody kicks his ass because "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is no dollhouse: the improbable junior high has no mean girls to ostracize this rotund misfit. Greg, always hatching new plans to rule the school, would have left Rowley in the dust had he any athletic talent or marketable attribute to impress the adolescent jetset. When the two boys "play"(Rowley-speak for "hang out"), Greg is always the quartrback. It's made clear that he assizes the protocol in their day-to-day affiliation together, where he's the leader and his protege is the follower. Through a chance occurence, however, Rowley becomes popular, on his own terms, in which it's cool to dance with your mom at a school function, and a dorky punchline for a comic strip becomes an infectious catch-phrase in the hallways. "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is harmless, innocuous fun, perfect for its demographic, but it does give tweeners the wrong impression about the societal actualities of teenaged girls and boys. If you show up to class in a "serape", having the "cheese touch" will be the least of your problems. They'll call you "Wiener Dog" for the rest of your middle school life, but you just might grow up to be Marilyn Manson. Expand
  6. May 29, 2011
    5
    The best example that for to make laugh doesnâ
  7. MikeJ.
    Mar 25, 2010
    0
    I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He was sitting there whinning "can we go home" the whole time. The movie has no humor and was a waste of time. This was the first time i ever left the theater before the movie was over. Do not see this with your kids as it is bad. Your whole family will hate it. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.