Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The comedy Did You Hear About the Morgans? follows a highly successful Manhattan couple, Meryl and Paul Morgan, whose almost-perfect lives have only one notable failure – their dissolving marriage. But the turmoil of their romantic lives is nothing compared to what they are about toThe comedy Did You Hear About the Morgans? follows a highly successful Manhattan couple, Meryl and Paul Morgan, whose almost-perfect lives have only one notable failure – their dissolving marriage. But the turmoil of their romantic lives is nothing compared to what they are about to experience: they witness a murder and become targets of a contract killer. The Feds, protecting their witnesses, whisk away the Morgans from their beloved New York to a tiny town in Wyoming, and a relationship that was on the rocks threatens to end completely in the Rockies... unless, in their new BlackBerry-free lives, the Morgans can slow down the pace and rekindle the passion. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 19 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 18, 2011
    75
    As for Grant, who hasn't been this sharp since "Love Actually" six years ago, he is once again the prime minister of cute comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Apr 18, 2011
    60
    But the charm of the film is that it resists turning people into cliches and lets Parker and Grant work their particular magic -- before they get to Wyoming, their performances are as stressed out as their characters, and while it's a dubious conceit that going cowboy is a cure-all, they put the notion across as convincingly as possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 18, 2011
    42
    You should hear instead about Sam Elliott and Mary Steenburgen, who whip up cowboy fun as married U.S. marshals assigned to protect the pair in Wyoming.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 18, 2011
    38
    Given the creator and the cast, "Morgans" is as drearily predictable as a plague of locusts.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 18, 2011
    30
    Grant has never been less charming and Parker never less fashionable or more grating than they are as Paul and Meryl Morgan.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Apr 18, 2011
    25
    If you are expecting a pleasant evening of escapism, you will be cruelly fooled. The editor responsible for the trailer is clearly a genius.
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    0
    "Morgans" does bear the distinction of boasting the sourest cast ever assembled outside of a Lars Von Trier production.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    This film received horrible reviews when it came out; both critics and viewers ripped it apart. It's not the best movie I've ever seen. InThis film received horrible reviews when it came out; both critics and viewers ripped it apart. It's not the best movie I've ever seen. In fact, it's as average as average gets. However, I enjoy this movie a lot. I've seen it multiple times and I never wished I were watching something else. I was entertained. Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    ...if you didn't consider yourself lucky! In this film, Hugh Grant is paired with Sarah Jessica Parker in perhaps the worst pairing since...if you didn't consider yourself lucky! In this film, Hugh Grant is paired with Sarah Jessica Parker in perhaps the worst pairing since Vanilla Ice and Naomi Campbell in Cool As Ice. They play a fashionably separated, New York City power couple, who are forced into witness protection after witnessing a murder. These two city folks are put in the care of an elderly U.S. Marshall and his wife, in the middle of nowhere Montana. Let the fun times begin! Didn't Tim Allen and Kirstie Alley do this a decade earlier in Amish country? At least For Richer or Poorer could get a few cheap laughs here and there, but not the Morgans. The Morgans have no chemistry what-so-ever and their film is painfully slow and predictable. Hugh Grant is usually funny, but in this film, every attempt at humor is snuffed out by Sarah Jessica Parker, who has no idea what she's doing. Parker is just one of these people who was lucky enough to find her perfect role and she was amazing in it, but everything I've seen her in since Sex & The City has been awful! Did You Hear About The Morgans has been done, more than once, and if you watch this movie and can't tell what's going to happen, twenty minutes a head of time, then you haven't seen too many movies. This has got to be one of the biggest waste of money in recent Hollywood history and if you decide to watch it, then you're dumber than the casting director who thought pairing Grant and Parker was a good idea. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2010
    1
    Nearly unwatchable. Everything about this is contrived, generic, and unfunny. I'm a fan of both actors, but neither is given anything to workNearly unwatchable. Everything about this is contrived, generic, and unfunny. I'm a fan of both actors, but neither is given anything to work with here. I rarely stop watching a movie before it ends, and this certainly tested my limits. An all-around disaster. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    Poorly written, poorly acted, poorly directed piece of contrived, predictable and cliched **** How to these films get funding? I also neverPoorly written, poorly acted, poorly directed piece of contrived, predictable and cliched **** How to these films get funding? I also never cease to wonder how so many Hollywood films have such poor plot and script development. It is the scourge of the film making industry. Take my advice, stop putting all your money into special effects and spend a little on plot and script development. Whilst this film doesn't have any special effects it's clearly a victim of the habit. This dog of a movie is not helped when the leads are out acted by the support cast (Sam Elliot, Mary Steenburgen, Elisabeth Moss) who made reasonable fists of their crappy lines. Don't even waste time renting it, wait until it comes on TV, and then don't bother. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14