Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Distributing Corporation (MGM) | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
256
Mixed:
53
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
SamblixAug 14, 2012
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I may have watched this movie for the first time 10 years after its release however, great movies will stand the test of time. This does not. The awful CGI make this, at times, unbareable to watch.... Oh and Madonnas in it. For Pierce Brosnan's Bond fans only.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TysonO.Jun 25, 2003
This movie just didnt feel like a bond movie. in die another day, bond drops his smooth spy style for a run and gun commando, which isnt nessesarily a bad thing, but somehow along the way it loses its cleverness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FernandoA.Dec 1, 2002
First half of the movie: decent. Second half of the movie "JUNK." Really disappointed with this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KurtP.Dec 2, 2002
This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it does not sound like it, but I am a big fan of the series as a whole and wish that they would rely more on Brosnan's acting ability and a clever script. Halle Berry was very good in the new role but John Cleese's talents were wasted in this episode. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimA.Dec 9, 2002
Acting good, story good, action bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jan 7, 2003
In a good action film like "True Lies", you're not whittling your thumbs as you wait for the explosions and stuff. I'd rather watch Tom Arnold instead of Halle Berry if she's going to recite lame dialogue like, "What took you In a good action film like "True Lies", you're not whittling your thumbs as you wait for the explosions and stuff. I'd rather watch Tom Arnold instead of Halle Berry if she's going to recite lame dialogue like, "What took you so long?" Of interest, however, if you want to enter the film from a different angle, is how the Koreans are used as villains, in the wake of American-like efforts such as "Shiri" and "JSA". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RonS.Nov 29, 2002
Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know nothing about the characters at all to care. First half of the movie was at least interesting, the second half was pure garbage that even Vin Diesle must have been laughing. This movie has been succesful for the Playstation mindset since it is obvious that the director intended to see this movie to the Playstation generation. In other words, a movie to appeal to 12 year olds. I don't think many 12 year olds were what the original Bond producers aimed for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackD.Dec 1, 2002
Good James Bond, but the cheesy camera tricks and awful computer FX bring it down a notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattM.Apr 13, 2003
Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the "Bond girls," Berry has got the looks, but something is just missing; newcomer Pike is equally unimpressive as the unassuming beauty with an all-too-predictable secret. As for Madonna, her brief cameo appearance is something I wished would have been explored more. Now, there's someone who would make a truly classic Bond girl! Her title song is the typical Madonna/Mirwais collaboration with some a sensational string arrangement by Michel Colombier. Overall, watch "The World Is Not Enough" if you want to see Brosan's best work as Bond. "Die Another Day" just doesn't deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Jan 13, 2004
Brosnan is a good Bond with some actual human qualities. The scenes in Cuba had the feel of lonely desperation and smidgeon of luck of the early films and the books themselves. Iceland was overgadgetized. But it's just Bond again, time Brosnan is a good Bond with some actual human qualities. The scenes in Cuba had the feel of lonely desperation and smidgeon of luck of the early films and the books themselves. Iceland was overgadgetized. But it's just Bond again, time & time again like before - we know exactly where it all's going, just not how it's going to get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NewmanNov 22, 2002
The strange but alluring cult popularity of the 007 series itself, somehow manages, to live to "Die Another Day".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Nov 27, 2002
*yawn* i went into the movie open minded and remained open minded throughout the duration of the film however i just felt it was lacking. I realize that it's Bond style to have unbelievable outcomes to unfavorable situations but this *yawn* i went into the movie open minded and remained open minded throughout the duration of the film however i just felt it was lacking. I realize that it's Bond style to have unbelievable outcomes to unfavorable situations but this was just ludicrous. The film had its parts but ultimately i felt the pros definietly outweighed the cons. It had some cool parts, but it also had some just...lame parts. I had a disconnected feel toward the film throughout it despite my efforts in getting involved with it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
manofthemoonMar 7, 2015
Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews),Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews), Madonna proves that she can't act (or provide a decent theme tune), and it all goes against the good work of "Goldeneye" and the so-so follow-ups. Brosnan wasn't to blame, but he was let go, much to his disappointment. On the plus side, the action sequences are good. On the downside, there's an invisible car. It all seems so dated. Next up would be the reboot with Daniel Craig in the excellent "Casino Royale". "Die Another Day" did well at the box office, but Bond fans were shaking their heads in disbelief. A major let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
Pierce Brosnan is a decent Bond, and his take on the character is very studied, and thought out. Die Another Day will keep Bond fans' eye glued to the screen, and everyone else will think of how the special effects and CGI are crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Duke_NukemOct 12, 2015
The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie.The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie. Even my kid laughed and said: "This is so fake!"

Halle Berry and Rosamund Pike act totally childish in the movie with stupid one liners and even more stupid jealousy, but admittedly they both look very hot.

Too bad this was the last Bond movie with Pierce Brosnan because then we got those boring depressive Bond movies with Daniel Craig.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews