User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 329 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 329

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    It is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with the theme song- I really like Madonna's song, but not her cameo appearance). This film is an over the top Bond, which is fine. It is a pretty decent movie,It is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with the theme song- I really like Madonna's song, but not her cameo appearance). This film is an over the top Bond, which is fine. It is a pretty decent movie, and a good Bond film. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Loved the theme song, loved the gadgets, loved the setting, loved the stunts but did not love the cheesy plot. The main villain isn't always that villain at the beginning of the movie which makes the plot confusing. I wish this Bond movie is the first Bond movie to be turned to 3D.
  3. May 25, 2011
    7
    The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

    James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict diamonds", put together by Colonel Moon (Will Yun Lee) and his right hand man Zao (Rick Moon). But he is double-crossed by someone within MI6, and
    The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

    James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict diamonds", put together by Colonel Moon (Will Yun Lee) and his right hand man Zao (Rick Moon). But he is double-crossed by someone within MI6, and tortured by the North Koreans, but not before killing Moon. Fourteen months later 007 is released by his captures in exchange for Zao, who was recently captured by the west. "M" (Dame Judi Dench) and NSA agent Damian Falco (Michael Madsen) believe Bond must have talked during his captivity, and is sent to rot in a British prison facility in Hong Kong. 007 escapes by stopping his heart for a brief period of time, and busting out. He then tracks Zao to Cuba where he is receiving DNA replacement therapy, and meets the incredibly sexy Jinx (Halle Berry), a NSA agent working for Falco. After Zao escapes, Bond returns to London and his attention turns to environmental billionaire Gustov Graves (Tobey Stephens), who has created a satellite that deploys a heat ray that can turn the world's ice lands into lush green gardens. 007 then travels to Iceland and Graves' ice fortress "The Ice Palace", where he is invited to watch a demonstration of his satellite, which Bond believes is fueled by the "conflict diamonds". While there, 007 meets up again with Jinx, and learns that Graves is actually Colonel Moon, having had has his appearance altered by the DNA replacement therapy. Bond and Jinx must now stop Graves and MI6 traitor Miranda Frost (Rosamund Pike) before he uses the satellite to attack South Korea.

    This is the most absurd plot of any of the 007 films, and one of the reasons that the series went on hiatus for four years, and then the decision was made to reboot the franchise, and start all over again. Pierce Brosnan is great as usual, but starting to look a little old (he was 49 at the time), and Halle Berry is perfect as the strong-headed sexy Jinx. The theme song by Madonna is probably the worst of all the Bond themes, and the DNA Gene replacement therapy is completely ridiculous, as is 007's invisible Aston Martin.

    This film is entertaining, but way too far over the top.
    Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    I liked the movie very much - the actors are very interesting and their acting is flawless. The soundtrack greatly contributes to increase the tension. The action is very entertaining and though sometimes very exaggerated, still believable - well, a bit, but it's very much fun!
  5. TomL
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors in the writing and designing of it. Firstly Halle Berry's acting in the film was bad, not terrible, but bad, secondly, they managed to make the A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors in the writing and designing of it. Firstly Halle Berry's acting in the film was bad, not terrible, but bad, secondly, they managed to make the first 30 mins of the film, almost the best I've seen in any bond film so compared to this, the rest of the movie jsut seems slightly toned down, through to the car chase scene at the end, some of the CG was also pretty cheesy but on the whole worked well. Overall though a thoroughly enjoyable film Expand
  6. VikrantP.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Better than Casino Royale and by far the best Bond film ever made. Could have been even more enjoyable if it was extended by half or one hour.
  7. BenE.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Wonderfull, I really enjoyed it! Entertainment weekly is so right!
  8. GrahamB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Aside from some distinctly less than impressive 'special effects' and a frankly awful theme song it is more or less a perfect bond film. At the very least its better than most recent American action films...XXX...I rest my case!
  9. BrettS.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Exciting, suspenseful, everything 007 needs for a great movie. Brosnan IS James Bond, and this movie is his best.
  10. TheElusivePossom
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    Less a movie, more of a legend, theBond franchise continues to spew out clever plotlines, inspired gadgets and imaginative action, and Die Another Day is no exception. Halle Berry looks hot, and all the usual stunts are here in this gripping flick that elevates above your average "action" film. Unsurprisingly, this can't really be faulted. "Matt M." is just plain wrong.
  11. AmovieCritic
    Jun 22, 2003
    8
    An awesome movie that finally demonstrates something new. Bond is now a problem, and actually is a prisoner by his own crew. After a "heart attack," he manages to escape, and begin solving the mystery alone. An interesting concept, although the completely obvious "surprise" was kind of a turn off. Die Another Day is much better than The World is Not Enough. Actually, it's probably An awesome movie that finally demonstrates something new. Bond is now a problem, and actually is a prisoner by his own crew. After a "heart attack," he manages to escape, and begin solving the mystery alone. An interesting concept, although the completely obvious "surprise" was kind of a turn off. Die Another Day is much better than The World is Not Enough. Actually, it's probably the best Bond movie in years. Expand
  12. JugsterJam
    Jun 8, 2003
    9
    All the james bond movies are good. This is just another one. While other movies which are now made in months cheaply, you know 007 always goes all out with locations, special effects, greate set design, stunts and budget to keep it going.
  13. Angel
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    I just LUV this movie, a saw it 3 times already, 2 days after each other and I am so full of it, i really like it very much, so Rody, you better get yur but over @ my place very fast so we can watch it together sweety, it is the best Bond-movie evah!!!!
  14. SeanTV
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    I Loved This One.
  15. RonT.
    Jan 7, 2003
    8
    A daring blend of old 'dr No' style and the modern 007 Brosnan interpretation. I think quite a bit of tongue in cheek, don't want to take this too seriously!
  16. NataliaP.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    Is a wonderful film!!! action, adventure, explosions, etc... the best of 007 movies!!!
  17. RodolfoAndresI.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    The best Bond in years. Is the most exciting adventure of 007 in years. Nice girls (Halle Berry, Rosamund Pike). Brosnan is the better Bond since Sean Connery and Roger Moore.
  18. CarlY.
    Dec 14, 2002
    9
    This was the best Bond Movie I've seen and I own them all . This movie was action from the beginning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The special effects were great. Did some of the critics see the same film as me or did they have there minds made up before they saw it?
  19. KellyR.
    Dec 10, 2002
    7
    Overall, this was a pretty good movie. The action is one of the best i've ever seen in a Bond movie, and the plot was interesting. (although quite ridiculous) The most disappointing aspect of the film was Halle Berry. She seems to have a taken a major step back (in her acting career) with this movie. Her lines were terrible!! On the whole though, I liked the action and the acting.
  20. LarryT.
    Dec 8, 2002
    9
    One doesn't go to a Bond movie for Shakespeare. It is excellently made and a great deal of fun!
  21. SimonG.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    "Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of the critic. This particular installment is one of the best in a long time. An extremely satisfying and entertaining movie, and since I didn?t check my "Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of the critic. This particular installment is one of the best in a long time. An extremely satisfying and entertaining movie, and since I didn?t check my watch last night I had to check IMDb to verify that the movie was over two hours long...no pain in the but. Pierce Brosnan confirms is a worthy heir of Sean Connery and the Bond tradition, Halle Berry shows she is also talented for comedy and so very good, the rest of the cast did a great job as well. A 53 points rating is just a remainder of how much we like to bully the usual suspects. D.A.D is at least 90 points of pure classic and classy entertainment. I don?t know how stupid Michael Atkinson?s dog is. Mine is very loving, intelligent and entertaining. What else is a dog supposed to be? Expand
  22. Mike
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. Despite the long length, I never looked at my watch once. My only criticism was the poorly done CGI work when Bond surfed the wave. I noticed that I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. Despite the long length, I never looked at my watch once. My only criticism was the poorly done CGI work when Bond surfed the wave. I noticed that Atkinson reviewed this film along with one about political theorist Noam Chomsky and a docu-hisotroy on the GDR. Therein lies the problem. Apparently, he is more interested in films that reflect his political inclinations. As absurd as Bond films are meant to be, he nevertheless goes as far as to characterize Bond as "Bush II." Get off your soapbox and review the film on its merits! Expand
  23. SusanS.
    Nov 29, 2002
    8
    Predictable. Ridiculous. Extravagant. Cheesy. Everything we've come to know and love about James Bond. Despite all the parodies and rip-offs, perhaps because of them, the series is as strong as ever--who wants Vin Diesel, who makes a bloody mess (excuse the pun) of everything, when they can have Pierce Brosnan, who's sophisticated, demure Bond can out-race, out-fight, and Predictable. Ridiculous. Extravagant. Cheesy. Everything we've come to know and love about James Bond. Despite all the parodies and rip-offs, perhaps because of them, the series is as strong as ever--who wants Vin Diesel, who makes a bloody mess (excuse the pun) of everything, when they can have Pierce Brosnan, who's sophisticated, demure Bond can out-race, out-fight, and out-wit his nemesis without breaking a sweat? And for those who say Halle Berry wronged the role of the "Bond Girl" by playing it tongue-in-cheek, I enjoyed the change--she was having fun as opposed to running away on her high heels whimpering for James to save her. If you enjoyed any Bond movie ever, you'll enjoy this one. Expand
  24. KevinS.
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    There's been a lot of bad scores on this site, but this is the worst. This is a great movie. DO NOT MISS!
  25. JaredH.
    Nov 28, 2002
    8
    The pro's are way off on this one. This was as good as any Bond film ever made. Trust me if you like exotic locations, beautiful babes, and end to end action then Die Another Day is the ticket. Lots of fun.
  26. FrankF.
    Nov 26, 2002
    8
    Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a waste of money. I liked Halle Berry's character, although I didn't appreciate that fact that some of her dialogue seem to "dumb her down"....I Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a waste of money. I liked Halle Berry's character, although I didn't appreciate that fact that some of her dialogue seem to "dumb her down"....I was to busy enjoying the car...ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, what a car it is. Thank God the Astin Martin is back! I think that John Cleese was good as "Q", however I miss Douglass Llewellyn, and he will be sorely missed. (If you don't know, he died in a car accident after the opening weekend of the last movie.) Expand
  27. LouisP.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    This is what a spy film is really all about. Forget the clones, Bond is the only one who can entertain us. Definitely the best film in the 40 year old franchise. Die Another Day brings Bond to the new millennium and we love it!
  28. TravisC.
    Nov 25, 2002
    8
    Forget that ugly, misleading 52 at the top, this is an outright fun, action packed and suspenseful film. The Village Voice in particular are usually among the least reliable reviewers going, so their "1" rating is no suprise. If you've seen any other Bond films, there's little in the way of suprises here. A lot of nice, subtle references to Bond Films of the past, including a Forget that ugly, misleading 52 at the top, this is an outright fun, action packed and suspenseful film. The Village Voice in particular are usually among the least reliable reviewers going, so their "1" rating is no suprise. If you've seen any other Bond films, there's little in the way of suprises here. A lot of nice, subtle references to Bond Films of the past, including a nod to the origin of the name "James Bond." Halle Berry was the weakest part of the picture. She plays the role too tongue-in-cheek, even for a Bond film and serves no purpose, and too ofter gets in the way of the plot. She has this annoying "Oh, boy I'm playing the Bond girl in a real Bond movie" look to her throughout the entire film, which means she's thrown any notion of actually acting out the window. Luckily, she doesn't have enough screen time to weigh down the film. The true jewel in this film is Rosamund Pike, who looks and acts far better than Berry. Overall though, this is highly recommended and a strong entry in the 007 franchise. Expand
  29. SimpsonS.
    Nov 25, 2002
    8
    Classic Bond - it was great.
  30. JeffH.
    Nov 24, 2002
    8
    Ignore this 52. It's the first outright BOGUS score I've seen. Try 75-88. GO SEE IT.
  31. RandyL.
    Nov 24, 2002
    8
    Another Bond masterpiece in the true tradition of the series. We all know what to expect when we come to the theater. Danger lurking everywhere but not to worry as 007 is Houdini in escaping every situation. It is all in good fun with the usual pretty babes, exotic destinations, car chases, gadgetry, action and suspense. Can you imagine, 007 survived to die another day? Damn it, I gave Another Bond masterpiece in the true tradition of the series. We all know what to expect when we come to the theater. Danger lurking everywhere but not to worry as 007 is Houdini in escaping every situation. It is all in good fun with the usual pretty babes, exotic destinations, car chases, gadgetry, action and suspense. Can you imagine, 007 survived to die another day? Damn it, I gave away the ending as Pierce will surely be back to make sequel number 20. Long live 007! Expand
  32. MikeyG.
    Nov 23, 2002
    7
    Overall, this was a pretty good Bond movie. Sure, there were some flaws, but I don't think there has ever been a Bond movie without flaws. Maybe one of the first three. No nudity, as usual, but Halle shows off the bod and the fencer chick is also kinda hot. The action is good and there are some good lines thrown in. I'd say this is probably the best of the Brosnan films.
  33. RolandC.
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was a tad bit corny, but the rest were excellent. Two big keys were villains that you could not wait to see dispatched and women who were gorgeous, tough, A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was a tad bit corny, but the rest were excellent. Two big keys were villains that you could not wait to see dispatched and women who were gorgeous, tough, smart and terrific actresses (large improvements over the last two installments). Its only tired if you dont like rollercoasters, and personally I could ride the Cyclone for many more years to come and not get bored. Expand
  34. BubbaFresh
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    After Tomorrow Never Dies, I thought the Bond movies were destined to be disappointments compared to the originals, but Die Another Day has proven me wrong. It dishes out the breath-taking action, hot women, cool cars and takes subtle humourous dialogue to the extreme.
  35. EricS.
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    Is it the best James Bond film since "Thunderball." Unapologetically, yes. Enjoyably intense, hypnotically suspenseful, and heartwarmingly dedicated to the nineteen Bond films gone before it. A treasure.
  36. AdamE.
    Nov 23, 2002
    7
    Better than The World is Not Enough but not as good as Tomorrow Never Dies, the story is ridiculous, the jokes are too frequent but the graphics and the idea are excellent! Brosnan is getting "colder" but Halle Berry is getting "hotter"! Bond is as "cool" as ever!
  37. Harper
    Nov 22, 2002
    7
    In an attempt to be impartial, I must restrain the parts of me that enjoy the beauty of all things blatantly Bond-esque. It is hard to do while recalling the many riviting action sequences of this commendable addition to the 007 franchise. Everything you've ever loved about Bond is still there: his wit, his unforgiving sexual innuendo, and his humour survive throughout twenty In an attempt to be impartial, I must restrain the parts of me that enjoy the beauty of all things blatantly Bond-esque. It is hard to do while recalling the many riviting action sequences of this commendable addition to the 007 franchise. Everything you've ever loved about Bond is still there: his wit, his unforgiving sexual innuendo, and his humour survive throughout twenty movies... and hopefully beyond. I must say however, that falling so heavily upon non-Western countries is such a staple in the Bond ideal... and something about the depiction of all the Cubans in Havana as half-dressed, half-drunken street-dancers gave me certain uncomfortable pause. However, barring these paltry items, it is by me highly recommended, as much fun will inevitably be had by all. Expand
  38. FantasyL.
    Nov 22, 2002
    7
    I gave this latest edition to the Bond series...what else a 007? The movie is end to end non-stop action with all the gadgets and pretty women that Bond films are known for. Pierce has really grown into the role of 007. DAD is a treat for all who have grown up with a martini that is shaken not stirred. Good fun for all.
  39. Gilbert
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    God, Pierce Brosnan IS Bond, isn't he? He's leapfrogged over Moore, and he's damn close to beaten Connery too. Oh, the movie? It's a good 'un.
  40. ThorO.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Outstanding! Nobody does it better (sorry Sean) the Pierce. I hope the rumors are not true that he has done his last Bond movie.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 6, 2015
    40
    Tamahori, director of Along Came a Spider, does a competent, if over-fussy job, but the pace flags in the showdown in Iceland.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Nov 6, 2015
    38
    The collection of clever quips on parade here are both tiresome and predictable.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 6, 2015
    63
    Die Another Day is the most thrilling, lavishly designed and imaginative Bond picture in years. It is also the most preposterous.