User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 167
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    3
    Just pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced action movie. There's too much of what we don't want in a Bond movie. Entertaining but I really do and have always never had anything great to say exceptJust pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced action movie. There's too much of what we don't want in a Bond movie. Entertaining but I really do and have always never had anything great to say except for Brosnan gives another grand performance and the regulars. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    4
    Bond has lost his charm.
    Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
    I may have watched this movie for the first time 10 years after its release however, great movies will stand the test of time. This does not. The awful
    Bond has lost his charm.
    Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
    I may have watched this movie for the first time 10 years after its release however, great movies will stand the test of time. This does not. The awful CGI make this, at times, unbareable to watch.... Oh and Madonnas in it. For Pierce Brosnan's Bond fans only.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    2
    This has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces and invisible cars? UGH! It's a real... REAL shame the Piece Brosnan left the Bond series on this abomination of a movie! If it weren't for Daniel CraigThis has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces and invisible cars? UGH! It's a real... REAL shame the Piece Brosnan left the Bond series on this abomination of a movie! If it weren't for Daniel Craig saving the franchise from total oblivion four years later, I've would have left the series permanently! Since I'm a sad owner of the Blu-ray from the Bond 50 set, I'll try my best to ignore it. Message to all Bond fans: avoid this at ALL COSTS! Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    2
    The worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that are too low brow for an Austin Powers movie and instead of the famous Bond stunts we get CGI that looked to have been done by the local High School AVThe worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that are too low brow for an Austin Powers movie and instead of the famous Bond stunts we get CGI that looked to have been done by the local High School AV club. Just check out Halle Berry's s CGI dive of a cliff, the most unintentionally funny thing Ive seen in a long time. A very, very poor movie. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    3
    It's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she's very disappointed!") Other than that, it's a ridiculous movie with an absurd plot and more bad CGI than has a right to exist. But watch it on ChristmasIt's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she's very disappointed!") Other than that, it's a ridiculous movie with an absurd plot and more bad CGI than has a right to exist. But watch it on Christmas Eve, right before "It's a Wonderful Life"- it's a great tradition! Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    1
    Starts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is the worst minutes of James Bond ever, just so bad, and I love James Bond, and have for many many years but most of this film is unforgivable, from havingStarts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is the worst minutes of James Bond ever, just so bad, and I love James Bond, and have for many many years but most of this film is unforgivable, from having Madonna in it for her self promotion to all the dodgy special effects, to the worst Bond villan - just an unplesant experience! Expand
  7. Shootsy
    Jan 3, 2003
    0
    Getting worse and worse.
  8. JoeAverage
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    Ow! My eyes! I'm blind! This movie was so bad it blinded me!
  9. FernandoA.
    Dec 1, 2002
    4
    First half of the movie: decent. Second half of the movie "JUNK." Really disappointed with this film.
  10. KurtP.
    Dec 2, 2002
    4
    This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it does not sound like it, but I am a big fan of the series as a whole and wish that they would rely more on Brosnan's acting ability and a clever This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it does not sound like it, but I am a big fan of the series as a whole and wish that they would rely more on Brosnan's acting ability and a clever script. Halle Berry was very good in the new role but John Cleese's talents were wasted in this episode. Collapse
  11. EricC.
    Jun 6, 2003
    2
    I know that this movie isn't meant to win awards because Bond is just pure fun and action. And for a Bond film, this has to be the worst one of all. Terrible acting and a plotline that copies old bonds films so many times, I lost count. I started laugh at some of the stupid lines being given(mostly by Halle Berry), and when I saw the cheesy robot costume. The actions sequences were I know that this movie isn't meant to win awards because Bond is just pure fun and action. And for a Bond film, this has to be the worst one of all. Terrible acting and a plotline that copies old bonds films so many times, I lost count. I started laugh at some of the stupid lines being given(mostly by Halle Berry), and when I saw the cheesy robot costume. The actions sequences were simply mediocre and nothing new compared to other action films. Even if you're a James Bond fan, it's very unlikely that you will find this Bond flick even slightly enjoyable at all. Expand
  12. TommyF.
    Sep 27, 2003
    2
    Bond without any relation to real life. This is the most crappy Bond movie I have ever seen. In the old Bond movies with Connery and Moore they took 1.5 hour to get the bad guy. In this movie, after 1.5 hour it seems like the special effects guy came running and said "I've still got these cool effects.. could'nt it be fun to try them out" and the instructor said "hey this is Bond without any relation to real life. This is the most crappy Bond movie I have ever seen. In the old Bond movies with Connery and Moore they took 1.5 hour to get the bad guy. In this movie, after 1.5 hour it seems like the special effects guy came running and said "I've still got these cool effects.. could'nt it be fun to try them out" and the instructor said "hey this is cool" so they drag this movie for another 1.5 hour with special effects that is sitting aside every common sence and fysical laws. Its like watching a sequel to Impossible Mission II where the crew was on dope. The Antanov in the end took 12 hours to get down after it took fire (in every normal movie it would have blown up) and survived to fly as long as Bond tool to kill the crock. The chopper that Bond used to escape tha Antanov did not fell like a rock like tha cars did. No it just hovered like a normal chopper would do..... When the engine was running. This is one of the most rediculous action movies I have ever seen. To the Bond crew: fysical laws exist... Even in Bond's world. Expand
  13. AllenT.
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    This was possibly the worst film I've ever seen!
  14. JamesCool
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    What were they thinking?
  15. KrisK.
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    This movie sucked balls! Bad acting, bad direction, bad special effects. The Batman & Robin of our time.
  16. MartinP.
    Mar 14, 2008
    0
    There is no excuse for a movie to be this bad!
  17. RonS.
    Nov 29, 2002
    4
    Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know nothing about the characters at all to care. First half of the movie was at least interesting, the second half was pure garbage that even Vin Diesle must Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know nothing about the characters at all to care. First half of the movie was at least interesting, the second half was pure garbage that even Vin Diesle must have been laughing. This movie has been succesful for the Playstation mindset since it is obvious that the director intended to see this movie to the Playstation generation. In other words, a movie to appeal to 12 year olds. I don't think many 12 year olds were what the original Bond producers aimed for. Expand
  18. MattM.
    Apr 13, 2003
    4
    Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the "Bond girls," Berry has got the looks, but something is just missing; newcomer Pike is equally unimpressive as the unassuming beauty with an Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the "Bond girls," Berry has got the looks, but something is just missing; newcomer Pike is equally unimpressive as the unassuming beauty with an all-too-predictable secret. As for Madonna, her brief cameo appearance is something I wished would have been explored more. Now, there's someone who would make a truly classic Bond girl! Her title song is the typical Madonna/Mirwais collaboration with some a sensational string arrangement by Michel Colombier. Overall, watch "The World Is Not Enough" if you want to see Brosan's best work as Bond. "Die Another Day" just doesn't deliver. Expand
  19. JimS.
    Dec 19, 2002
    2
    Most probably the worst Bond film ever (taking the title from Never Say Never Again and License To Kill). That Berry's acting stood out as bad in a Bond film speaks volumes, a fact compounded by her larger-than-appropriate role. The pacing is ham-handed - the opening sequence is the film's best, but is followed by its worst courtesty of Madonna's out-of-place title song. Most probably the worst Bond film ever (taking the title from Never Say Never Again and License To Kill). That Berry's acting stood out as bad in a Bond film speaks volumes, a fact compounded by her larger-than-appropriate role. The pacing is ham-handed - the opening sequence is the film's best, but is followed by its worst courtesty of Madonna's out-of-place title song. Regrettably, this is a depth from which the film never emerges. Expand
  20. Brad
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    This is one of the worst movies ever. I mean what were they thinking? It is tied with Timeline for worst movie I have ever seen. And ya know what's really stupid, that thing that hes goin to blow stuff up with. It looks like shoulder pads. OMG!!! Just shoot me already!!!!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Tamahori pumps a tremendous amount of energy into his Bond movie, and it's an electrifying ride.
  2. 80
    The result is the niftiest Bond movie in years -- fresh, funny, and jammed to the rafters with demented stunts, Boys'-Own gadgetry and brazen promiscuity.
  3. Surely it will not be giving things away to tell you there's absolutely nothing new about the latest episode.