User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 167
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RodolfoAndresI.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    The best Bond in years. Is the most exciting adventure of 007 in years. Nice girls (Halle Berry, Rosamund Pike). Brosnan is the better Bond since Sean Connery and Roger Moore.
  2. TheElusivePossom
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    Less a movie, more of a legend, theBond franchise continues to spew out clever plotlines, inspired gadgets and imaginative action, and Die Another Day is no exception. Halle Berry looks hot, and all the usual stunts are here in this gripping flick that elevates above your average "action" film. Unsurprisingly, this can't really be faulted. "Matt M." is just plain wrong.
  3. BenE.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Wonderfull, I really enjoyed it! Entertainment weekly is so right!
  4. VikrantP.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Better than Casino Royale and by far the best Bond film ever made. Could have been even more enjoyable if it was extended by half or one hour.
  5. NataliaP.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    Is a wonderful film!!! action, adventure, explosions, etc... the best of 007 movies!!!
  6. JugsterJam
    Jun 8, 2003
    9
    All the james bond movies are good. This is just another one. While other movies which are now made in months cheaply, you know 007 always goes all out with locations, special effects, greate set design, stunts and budget to keep it going.
  7. BrettS.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Exciting, suspenseful, everything 007 needs for a great movie. Brosnan IS James Bond, and this movie is his best.
  8. GrahamB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Aside from some distinctly less than impressive 'special effects' and a frankly awful theme song it is more or less a perfect bond film. At the very least its better than most recent American action films...XXX...I rest my case!
  9. Mike
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. Despite the long length, I never looked at my watch once. My only criticism was the poorly done CGI work when Bond surfed the wave. I noticed that I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. Despite the long length, I never looked at my watch once. My only criticism was the poorly done CGI work when Bond surfed the wave. I noticed that Atkinson reviewed this film along with one about political theorist Noam Chomsky and a docu-hisotroy on the GDR. Therein lies the problem. Apparently, he is more interested in films that reflect his political inclinations. As absurd as Bond films are meant to be, he nevertheless goes as far as to characterize Bond as "Bush II." Get off your soapbox and review the film on its merits! Expand
  10. SimonG.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    "Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of the critic. This particular installment is one of the best in a long time. An extremely satisfying and entertaining movie, and since I didn?t check my "Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of the critic. This particular installment is one of the best in a long time. An extremely satisfying and entertaining movie, and since I didn?t check my watch last night I had to check IMDb to verify that the movie was over two hours long...no pain in the but. Pierce Brosnan confirms is a worthy heir of Sean Connery and the Bond tradition, Halle Berry shows she is also talented for comedy and so very good, the rest of the cast did a great job as well. A 53 points rating is just a remainder of how much we like to bully the usual suspects. D.A.D is at least 90 points of pure classic and classy entertainment. I don?t know how stupid Michael Atkinson?s dog is. Mine is very loving, intelligent and entertaining. What else is a dog supposed to be? Expand
  11. LarryT.
    Dec 8, 2002
    9
    One doesn't go to a Bond movie for Shakespeare. It is excellently made and a great deal of fun!
  12. Angel
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    I just LUV this movie, a saw it 3 times already, 2 days after each other and I am so full of it, i really like it very much, so Rody, you better get yur but over @ my place very fast so we can watch it together sweety, it is the best Bond-movie evah!!!!
  13. ThorO.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Outstanding! Nobody does it better (sorry Sean) the Pierce. I hope the rumors are not true that he has done his last Bond movie.
  14. BubbaFresh
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    After Tomorrow Never Dies, I thought the Bond movies were destined to be disappointments compared to the originals, but Die Another Day has proven me wrong. It dishes out the breath-taking action, hot women, cool cars and takes subtle humourous dialogue to the extreme.
  15. CarlY.
    Dec 14, 2002
    9
    This was the best Bond Movie I've seen and I own them all . This movie was action from the beginning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The special effects were great. Did some of the critics see the same film as me or did they have there minds made up before they saw it?
  16. SeanTV
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    I Loved This One.
  17. EricS.
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    Is it the best James Bond film since "Thunderball." Unapologetically, yes. Enjoyably intense, hypnotically suspenseful, and heartwarmingly dedicated to the nineteen Bond films gone before it. A treasure.
  18. RolandC.
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was a tad bit corny, but the rest were excellent. Two big keys were villains that you could not wait to see dispatched and women who were gorgeous, tough, A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was a tad bit corny, but the rest were excellent. Two big keys were villains that you could not wait to see dispatched and women who were gorgeous, tough, smart and terrific actresses (large improvements over the last two installments). Its only tired if you dont like rollercoasters, and personally I could ride the Cyclone for many more years to come and not get bored. Expand
  19. LouisP.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    This is what a spy film is really all about. Forget the clones, Bond is the only one who can entertain us. Definitely the best film in the 40 year old franchise. Die Another Day brings Bond to the new millennium and we love it!
  20. KevinS.
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    There's been a lot of bad scores on this site, but this is the worst. This is a great movie. DO NOT MISS!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Tamahori pumps a tremendous amount of energy into his Bond movie, and it's an electrifying ride.
  2. 80
    The result is the niftiest Bond movie in years -- fresh, funny, and jammed to the rafters with demented stunts, Boys'-Own gadgetry and brazen promiscuity.
  3. Surely it will not be giving things away to tell you there's absolutely nothing new about the latest episode.