Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Distributing Corporation (MGM) | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 338 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
255
Mixed:
52
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
RodolfoAndresI.Jan 4, 2003
The best Bond in years. Is the most exciting adventure of 007 in years. Nice girls (Halle Berry, Rosamund Pike). Brosnan is the better Bond since Sean Connery and Roger Moore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheElusivePossomJul 17, 2003
Less a movie, more of a legend, theBond franchise continues to spew out clever plotlines, inspired gadgets and imaginative action, and Die Another Day is no exception. Halle Berry looks hot, and all the usual stunts are here in this gripping Less a movie, more of a legend, theBond franchise continues to spew out clever plotlines, inspired gadgets and imaginative action, and Die Another Day is no exception. Halle Berry looks hot, and all the usual stunts are here in this gripping flick that elevates above your average "action" film. Unsurprisingly, this can't really be faulted. "Matt M." is just plain wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenE.Jun 9, 2006
Wonderfull, I really enjoyed it! Entertainment weekly is so right!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VikrantP.Sep 19, 2007
Better than Casino Royale and by far the best Bond film ever made. Could have been even more enjoyable if it was extended by half or one hour.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ShootsyJan 3, 2003
Getting worse and worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NataliaP.Jan 4, 2003
Is a wonderful film!!! action, adventure, explosions, etc... the best of 007 movies!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TysonO.Jun 25, 2003
This movie just didnt feel like a bond movie. in die another day, bond drops his smooth spy style for a run and gun commando, which isnt nessesarily a bad thing, but somehow along the way it loses its cleverness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JugsterJamJun 8, 2003
All the james bond movies are good. This is just another one. While other movies which are now made in months cheaply, you know 007 always goes all out with locations, special effects, greate set design, stunts and budget to keep it going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettS.Aug 20, 2004
Exciting, suspenseful, everything 007 needs for a great movie. Brosnan IS James Bond, and this movie is his best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamB.Feb 9, 2005
Aside from some distinctly less than impressive 'special effects' and a frankly awful theme song it is more or less a perfect bond film. At the very least its better than most recent American action films...XXX...I rest my case!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeAverageFeb 5, 2008
Ow! My eyes! I'm blind! This movie was so bad it blinded me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarperNov 22, 2002
In an attempt to be impartial, I must restrain the parts of me that enjoy the beauty of all things blatantly Bond-esque. It is hard to do while recalling the many riviting action sequences of this commendable addition to the 007 franchise. In an attempt to be impartial, I must restrain the parts of me that enjoy the beauty of all things blatantly Bond-esque. It is hard to do while recalling the many riviting action sequences of this commendable addition to the 007 franchise. Everything you've ever loved about Bond is still there: his wit, his unforgiving sexual innuendo, and his humour survive throughout twenty movies... and hopefully beyond. I must say however, that falling so heavily upon non-Western countries is such a staple in the Bond ideal... and something about the depiction of all the Cubans in Havana as half-dressed, half-drunken street-dancers gave me certain uncomfortable pause. However, barring these paltry items, it is by me highly recommended, as much fun will inevitably be had by all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeNov 30, 2002
I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. I'm wondering if Michael Atkinson from the Village Voice watched the same movie I did. It was action-packed and funny. Obviously every Bond film is going to have its signature characteristics, and this one was extremely entertaining. Despite the long length, I never looked at my watch once. My only criticism was the poorly done CGI work when Bond surfed the wave. I noticed that Atkinson reviewed this film along with one about political theorist Noam Chomsky and a docu-hisotroy on the GDR. Therein lies the problem. Apparently, he is more interested in films that reflect his political inclinations. As absurd as Bond films are meant to be, he nevertheless goes as far as to characterize Bond as "Bush II." Get off your soapbox and review the film on its merits! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonG.Dec 1, 2002
"Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of "Dissing a Bond movie is like calling a dog stupid"... And still some critics can't help it, in lack of better things to look intelligent I guess. In fact taking a Bond movie so seriously and not for what they are says very little of the critic. This particular installment is one of the best in a long time. An extremely satisfying and entertaining movie, and since I didn?t check my watch last night I had to check IMDb to verify that the movie was over two hours long...no pain in the but. Pierce Brosnan confirms is a worthy heir of Sean Connery and the Bond tradition, Halle Berry shows she is also talented for comedy and so very good, the rest of the cast did a great job as well. A 53 points rating is just a remainder of how much we like to bully the usual suspects. D.A.D is at least 90 points of pure classic and classy entertainment. I don?t know how stupid Michael Atkinson?s dog is. Mine is very loving, intelligent and entertaining. What else is a dog supposed to be? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FernandoA.Dec 1, 2002
First half of the movie: decent. Second half of the movie "JUNK." Really disappointed with this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KellyR.Dec 10, 2002
Overall, this was a pretty good movie. The action is one of the best i've ever seen in a Bond movie, and the plot was interesting. (although quite ridiculous) The most disappointing aspect of the film was Halle Berry. She seems to have Overall, this was a pretty good movie. The action is one of the best i've ever seen in a Bond movie, and the plot was interesting. (although quite ridiculous) The most disappointing aspect of the film was Halle Berry. She seems to have a taken a major step back (in her acting career) with this movie. Her lines were terrible!! On the whole though, I liked the action and the acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KurtP.Dec 2, 2002
This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it This was the worst Bond movie since the Roger Moore films. I was very disappointed in the computer generated graphics and with the apparent need for the pirotechnics to soar on an exponential rate with every subsequent Bond movie. I know it does not sound like it, but I am a big fan of the series as a whole and wish that they would rely more on Brosnan's acting ability and a clever script. Halle Berry was very good in the new role but John Cleese's talents were wasted in this episode. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryT.Dec 8, 2002
One doesn't go to a Bond movie for Shakespeare. It is excellently made and a great deal of fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimA.Dec 9, 2002
Acting good, story good, action bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RonT.Jan 7, 2003
A daring blend of old 'dr No' style and the modern 007 Brosnan interpretation. I think quite a bit of tongue in cheek, don't want to take this too seriously!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jan 7, 2003
In a good action film like "True Lies", you're not whittling your thumbs as you wait for the explosions and stuff. I'd rather watch Tom Arnold instead of Halle Berry if she's going to recite lame dialogue like, "What took you In a good action film like "True Lies", you're not whittling your thumbs as you wait for the explosions and stuff. I'd rather watch Tom Arnold instead of Halle Berry if she's going to recite lame dialogue like, "What took you so long?" Of interest, however, if you want to enter the film from a different angle, is how the Koreans are used as villains, in the wake of American-like efforts such as "Shiri" and "JSA". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelFeb 25, 2003
I just LUV this movie, a saw it 3 times already, 2 days after each other and I am so full of it, i really like it very much, so Rody, you better get yur but over @ my place very fast so we can watch it together sweety, it is the best I just LUV this movie, a saw it 3 times already, 2 days after each other and I am so full of it, i really like it very much, so Rody, you better get yur but over @ my place very fast so we can watch it together sweety, it is the best Bond-movie evah!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EricC.Jun 6, 2003
I know that this movie isn't meant to win awards because Bond is just pure fun and action. And for a Bond film, this has to be the worst one of all. Terrible acting and a plotline that copies old bonds films so many times, I lost count. I know that this movie isn't meant to win awards because Bond is just pure fun and action. And for a Bond film, this has to be the worst one of all. Terrible acting and a plotline that copies old bonds films so many times, I lost count. I started laugh at some of the stupid lines being given(mostly by Halle Berry), and when I saw the cheesy robot costume. The actions sequences were simply mediocre and nothing new compared to other action films. Even if you're a James Bond fan, it's very unlikely that you will find this Bond flick even slightly enjoyable at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TommyF.Sep 27, 2003
Bond without any relation to real life. This is the most crappy Bond movie I have ever seen. In the old Bond movies with Connery and Moore they took 1.5 hour to get the bad guy. In this movie, after 1.5 hour it seems like the special effects Bond without any relation to real life. This is the most crappy Bond movie I have ever seen. In the old Bond movies with Connery and Moore they took 1.5 hour to get the bad guy. In this movie, after 1.5 hour it seems like the special effects guy came running and said "I've still got these cool effects.. could'nt it be fun to try them out" and the instructor said "hey this is cool" so they drag this movie for another 1.5 hour with special effects that is sitting aside every common sence and fysical laws. Its like watching a sequel to Impossible Mission II where the crew was on dope. The Antanov in the end took 12 hours to get down after it took fire (in every normal movie it would have blown up) and survived to fly as long as Bond tool to kill the crock. The chopper that Bond used to escape tha Antanov did not fell like a rock like tha cars did. No it just hovered like a normal chopper would do..... When the engine was running. This is one of the most rediculous action movies I have ever seen. To the Bond crew: fysical laws exist... Even in Bond's world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
This was possibly the worst film I've ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
What were they thinking?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This movie sucked balls! Bad acting, bad direction, bad special effects. The Batman & Robin of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinP.Mar 14, 2008
There is no excuse for a movie to be this bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomLJun 27, 2008
A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors in the writing and designing of it. Firstly Halle Berry's acting in the film was bad, not terrible, but bad, secondly, they managed to make the first 30 mins of the film, almost the best I've seen in any bond film so compared to this, the rest of the movie jsut seems slightly toned down, through to the car chase scene at the end, some of the CG was also pretty cheesy but on the whole worked well. Overall though a thoroughly enjoyable film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThorO.Nov 22, 2002
Outstanding! Nobody does it better (sorry Sean) the Pierce. I hope the rumors are not true that he has done his last Bond movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BubbaFreshNov 23, 2002
After Tomorrow Never Dies, I thought the Bond movies were destined to be disappointments compared to the originals, but Die Another Day has proven me wrong. It dishes out the breath-taking action, hot women, cool cars and takes subtle After Tomorrow Never Dies, I thought the Bond movies were destined to be disappointments compared to the originals, but Die Another Day has proven me wrong. It dishes out the breath-taking action, hot women, cool cars and takes subtle humourous dialogue to the extreme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamE.Nov 23, 2002
Better than The World is Not Enough but not as good as Tomorrow Never Dies, the story is ridiculous, the jokes are too frequent but the graphics and the idea are excellent! Brosnan is getting "colder" but Halle Berry is getting "hotter"! Better than The World is Not Enough but not as good as Tomorrow Never Dies, the story is ridiculous, the jokes are too frequent but the graphics and the idea are excellent! Brosnan is getting "colder" but Halle Berry is getting "hotter"! Bond is as "cool" as ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RandyL.Nov 24, 2002
Another Bond masterpiece in the true tradition of the series. We all know what to expect when we come to the theater. Danger lurking everywhere but not to worry as 007 is Houdini in escaping every situation. It is all in good fun with the Another Bond masterpiece in the true tradition of the series. We all know what to expect when we come to the theater. Danger lurking everywhere but not to worry as 007 is Houdini in escaping every situation. It is all in good fun with the usual pretty babes, exotic destinations, car chases, gadgetry, action and suspense. Can you imagine, 007 survived to die another day? Damn it, I gave away the ending as Pierce will surely be back to make sequel number 20. Long live 007! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffH.Nov 24, 2002
Ignore this 52. It's the first outright BOGUS score I've seen. Try 75-88. GO SEE IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimpsonS.Nov 25, 2002
Classic Bond - it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankF.Nov 26, 2002
Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a waste of money. I liked Halle Berry's character, although I didn't appreciate that fact that some of her dialogue seem to "dumb her down"....I was to busy enjoying the car...ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, what a car it is. Thank God the Astin Martin is back! I think that John Cleese was good as "Q", however I miss Douglass Llewellyn, and he will be sorely missed. (If you don't know, he died in a car accident after the opening weekend of the last movie.) Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RonS.Nov 29, 2002
Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know Bond series has sold out and now instead of a spy/secret agent film we get a superhero mega adventure film like that Schwartznegger or Bruce Willis could have starred in. A mish mash of explosions and cheesy CGI special effects. We know nothing about the characters at all to care. First half of the movie was at least interesting, the second half was pure garbage that even Vin Diesle must have been laughing. This movie has been succesful for the Playstation mindset since it is obvious that the director intended to see this movie to the Playstation generation. In other words, a movie to appeal to 12 year olds. I don't think many 12 year olds were what the original Bond producers aimed for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackD.Dec 1, 2002
Good James Bond, but the cheesy camera tricks and awful computer FX bring it down a notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlY.Dec 14, 2002
This was the best Bond Movie I've seen and I own them all . This movie was action from the beginning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The special effects were great. Did some of the critics see the same film as me or did they have This was the best Bond Movie I've seen and I own them all . This movie was action from the beginning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The special effects were great. Did some of the critics see the same film as me or did they have there minds made up before they saw it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanTVJan 17, 2003
I Loved This One.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattM.Apr 13, 2003
Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the Uninspired, overlong Bond adventure offers nothing more than a handful of cliches and numerous loud, laborious stunt sequences. Brosnan is still nicely suited in the role, but all the supporting roles are dreadfully underwritten. As for the "Bond girls," Berry has got the looks, but something is just missing; newcomer Pike is equally unimpressive as the unassuming beauty with an all-too-predictable secret. As for Madonna, her brief cameo appearance is something I wished would have been explored more. Now, there's someone who would make a truly classic Bond girl! Her title song is the typical Madonna/Mirwais collaboration with some a sensational string arrangement by Michel Colombier. Overall, watch "The World Is Not Enough" if you want to see Brosan's best work as Bond. "Die Another Day" just doesn't deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmovieCriticJun 22, 2003
An awesome movie that finally demonstrates something new. Bond is now a problem, and actually is a prisoner by his own crew. After a "heart attack," he manages to escape, and begin solving the mystery alone. An interesting concept, although An awesome movie that finally demonstrates something new. Bond is now a problem, and actually is a prisoner by his own crew. After a "heart attack," he manages to escape, and begin solving the mystery alone. An interesting concept, although the completely obvious "surprise" was kind of a turn off. Die Another Day is much better than The World is Not Enough. Actually, it's probably the best Bond movie in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Jan 13, 2004
Brosnan is a good Bond with some actual human qualities. The scenes in Cuba had the feel of lonely desperation and smidgeon of luck of the early films and the books themselves. Iceland was overgadgetized. But it's just Bond again, time Brosnan is a good Bond with some actual human qualities. The scenes in Cuba had the feel of lonely desperation and smidgeon of luck of the early films and the books themselves. Iceland was overgadgetized. But it's just Bond again, time & time again like before - we know exactly where it all's going, just not how it's going to get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GilbertNov 22, 2002
God, Pierce Brosnan IS Bond, isn't he? He's leapfrogged over Moore, and he's damn close to beaten Connery too. Oh, the movie? It's a good 'un.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FantasyL.Nov 22, 2002
I gave this latest edition to the Bond series...what else a 007? The movie is end to end non-stop action with all the gadgets and pretty women that Bond films are known for. Pierce has really grown into the role of 007. DAD is a treat for I gave this latest edition to the Bond series...what else a 007? The movie is end to end non-stop action with all the gadgets and pretty women that Bond films are known for. Pierce has really grown into the role of 007. DAD is a treat for all who have grown up with a martini that is shaken not stirred. Good fun for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NewmanNov 22, 2002
The strange but alluring cult popularity of the 007 series itself, somehow manages, to live to "Die Another Day".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricS.Nov 23, 2002
Is it the best James Bond film since "Thunderball." Unapologetically, yes. Enjoyably intense, hypnotically suspenseful, and heartwarmingly dedicated to the nineteen Bond films gone before it. A treasure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RolandC.Nov 23, 2002
A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was A Bond movie is like a great rollercoaster ride, you continue to return to them cause you just love the fun. This installment was no exception. Every hairpin turn and stomach lifting drop you come to expect is there. One action sequence was a tad bit corny, but the rest were excellent. Two big keys were villains that you could not wait to see dispatched and women who were gorgeous, tough, smart and terrific actresses (large improvements over the last two installments). Its only tired if you dont like rollercoasters, and personally I could ride the Cyclone for many more years to come and not get bored. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeyG.Nov 23, 2002
Overall, this was a pretty good Bond movie. Sure, there were some flaws, but I don't think there has ever been a Bond movie without flaws. Maybe one of the first three. No nudity, as usual, but Halle shows off the bod and the fencer Overall, this was a pretty good Bond movie. Sure, there were some flaws, but I don't think there has ever been a Bond movie without flaws. Maybe one of the first three. No nudity, as usual, but Halle shows off the bod and the fencer chick is also kinda hot. The action is good and there are some good lines thrown in. I'd say this is probably the best of the Brosnan films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TravisC.Nov 25, 2002
Forget that ugly, misleading 52 at the top, this is an outright fun, action packed and suspenseful film. The Village Voice in particular are usually among the least reliable reviewers going, so their "1" rating is no suprise. If you've Forget that ugly, misleading 52 at the top, this is an outright fun, action packed and suspenseful film. The Village Voice in particular are usually among the least reliable reviewers going, so their "1" rating is no suprise. If you've seen any other Bond films, there's little in the way of suprises here. A lot of nice, subtle references to Bond Films of the past, including a nod to the origin of the name "James Bond." Halle Berry was the weakest part of the picture. She plays the role too tongue-in-cheek, even for a Bond film and serves no purpose, and too ofter gets in the way of the plot. She has this annoying "Oh, boy I'm playing the Bond girl in a real Bond movie" look to her throughout the entire film, which means she's thrown any notion of actually acting out the window. Luckily, she doesn't have enough screen time to weigh down the film. The true jewel in this film is Rosamund Pike, who looks and acts far better than Berry. Overall though, this is highly recommended and a strong entry in the 007 franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisP.Nov 25, 2002
This is what a spy film is really all about. Forget the clones, Bond is the only one who can entertain us. Definitely the best film in the 40 year old franchise. Die Another Day brings Bond to the new millennium and we love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Nov 27, 2002
*yawn* i went into the movie open minded and remained open minded throughout the duration of the film however i just felt it was lacking. I realize that it's Bond style to have unbelievable outcomes to unfavorable situations but this *yawn* i went into the movie open minded and remained open minded throughout the duration of the film however i just felt it was lacking. I realize that it's Bond style to have unbelievable outcomes to unfavorable situations but this was just ludicrous. The film had its parts but ultimately i felt the pros definietly outweighed the cons. It had some cool parts, but it also had some just...lame parts. I had a disconnected feel toward the film throughout it despite my efforts in getting involved with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredH.Nov 28, 2002
The pro's are way off on this one. This was as good as any Bond film ever made. Trust me if you like exotic locations, beautiful babes, and end to end action then Die Another Day is the ticket. Lots of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinS.Nov 29, 2002
There's been a lot of bad scores on this site, but this is the worst. This is a great movie. DO NOT MISS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanS.Nov 29, 2002
Predictable. Ridiculous. Extravagant. Cheesy. Everything we've come to know and love about James Bond. Despite all the parodies and rip-offs, perhaps because of them, the series is as strong as ever--who wants Vin Diesel, who makes a Predictable. Ridiculous. Extravagant. Cheesy. Everything we've come to know and love about James Bond. Despite all the parodies and rip-offs, perhaps because of them, the series is as strong as ever--who wants Vin Diesel, who makes a bloody mess (excuse the pun) of everything, when they can have Pierce Brosnan, who's sophisticated, demure Bond can out-race, out-fight, and out-wit his nemesis without breaking a sweat? And for those who say Halle Berry wronged the role of the "Bond Girl" by playing it tongue-in-cheek, I enjoyed the change--she was having fun as opposed to running away on her high heels whimpering for James to save her. If you enjoyed any Bond movie ever, you'll enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimS.Dec 19, 2002
Most probably the worst Bond film ever (taking the title from Never Say Never Again and License To Kill). That Berry's acting stood out as bad in a Bond film speaks volumes, a fact compounded by her larger-than-appropriate role. The Most probably the worst Bond film ever (taking the title from Never Say Never Again and License To Kill). That Berry's acting stood out as bad in a Bond film speaks volumes, a fact compounded by her larger-than-appropriate role. The pacing is ham-handed - the opening sequence is the film's best, but is followed by its worst courtesty of Madonna's out-of-place title song. Regrettably, this is a depth from which the film never emerges. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BradNov 12, 2004
This is one of the worst movies ever. I mean what were they thinking? It is tied with Timeline for worst movie I have ever seen. And ya know what's really stupid, that thing that hes goin to blow stuff up with. It looks like shoulder This is one of the worst movies ever. I mean what were they thinking? It is tied with Timeline for worst movie I have ever seen. And ya know what's really stupid, that thing that hes goin to blow stuff up with. It looks like shoulder pads. OMG!!! Just shoot me already!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jwt7000Nov 20, 2012
Loved the theme song, loved the gadgets, loved the setting, loved the stunts but did not love the cheesy plot. The main villain isn't always that villain at the beginning of the movie which makes the plot confusing. I wish this Bond movie isLoved the theme song, loved the gadgets, loved the setting, loved the stunts but did not love the cheesy plot. The main villain isn't always that villain at the beginning of the movie which makes the plot confusing. I wish this Bond movie is the first Bond movie to be turned to 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FlorianOct 17, 2010
I liked the movie very much - the actors are very interesting and their acting is flawless. The soundtrack greatly contributes to increase the tension. The action is very entertaining and though sometimes very exaggerated, still believable -I liked the movie very much - the actors are very interesting and their acting is flawless. The soundtrack greatly contributes to increase the tension. The action is very entertaining and though sometimes very exaggerated, still believable - well, a bit, but it's very much fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
chardr69May 25, 2011
The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict
The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict diamonds", put together by Colonel Moon (Will Yun Lee) and his right hand man Zao (Rick Moon). But he is double-crossed by someone within MI6, and tortured by the North Koreans, but not before killing Moon. Fourteen months later 007 is released by his captures in exchange for Zao, who was recently captured by the west. "M" (Dame Judi Dench) and NSA agent Damian Falco (Michael Madsen) believe Bond must have talked during his captivity, and is sent to rot in a British prison facility in Hong Kong. 007 escapes by stopping his heart for a brief period of time, and busting out. He then tracks Zao to Cuba where he is receiving DNA replacement therapy, and meets the incredibly sexy Jinx (Halle Berry), a NSA agent working for Falco. After Zao escapes, Bond returns to London and his attention turns to environmental billionaire Gustov Graves (Tobey Stephens), who has created a satellite that deploys a heat ray that can turn the world's ice lands into lush green gardens. 007 then travels to Iceland and Graves' ice fortress "The Ice Palace", where he is invited to watch a demonstration of his satellite, which Bond believes is fueled by the "conflict diamonds". While there, 007 meets up again with Jinx, and learns that Graves is actually Colonel Moon, having had has his appearance altered by the DNA replacement therapy. Bond and Jinx must now stop Graves and MI6 traitor Miranda Frost (Rosamund Pike) before he uses the satellite to attack South Korea.

This is the most absurd plot of any of the 007 films, and one of the reasons that the series went on hiatus for four years, and then the decision was made to reboot the franchise, and start all over again. Pierce Brosnan is great as usual, but starting to look a little old (he was 49 at the time), and Halle Berry is perfect as the strong-headed sexy Jinx. The theme song by Madonna is probably the worst of all the Bond themes, and the DNA Gene replacement therapy is completely ridiculous, as is 007's invisible Aston Martin.

This film is entertaining, but way too far over the top.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Commander_JimDec 14, 2011
The worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that areThe worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that are too low brow for an Austin Powers movie and instead of the famous Bond stunts we get CGI that looked to have been done by the local High School AV club. Just check out Halle Berry's s CGI dive of a cliff, the most unintentionally funny thing Ive seen in a long time. A very, very poor movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
marwood87May 23, 2012
Starts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is theStarts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is the worst minutes of James Bond ever, just so bad, and I love James Bond, and have for many many years but most of this film is unforgivable, from having Madonna in it for her self promotion to all the dodgy special effects, to the worst Bond villan - just an unplesant experience! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
It's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she'sIt's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she's very disappointed!") Other than that, it's a ridiculous movie with an absurd plot and more bad CGI than has a right to exist. But watch it on Christmas Eve, right before "It's a Wonderful Life"- it's a great tradition! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
SamblixAug 14, 2012
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I may have watched this movie for the first time 10 years after its release however, great movies will stand the test of time. This does not. The awful CGI make this, at times, unbareable to watch.... Oh and Madonnas in it. For Pierce Brosnan's Bond fans only.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Dangerman1973Nov 24, 2012
This has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces andThis has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces and invisible cars? UGH! It's a real... REAL shame the Piece Brosnan left the Bond series on this abomination of a movie! If it weren't for Daniel Craig saving the franchise from total oblivion four years later, I've would have left the series permanently! Since I'm a sad owner of the Blu-ray from the Bond 50 set, I'll try my best to ignore it. Message to all Bond fans: avoid this at ALL COSTS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
WalkingDead5640Jul 10, 2013
Just pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced actionJust pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced action movie. There's too much of what we don't want in a Bond movie. Entertaining but I really do and have always never had anything great to say except for Brosnan gives another grand performance and the regulars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
It is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with theIt is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with the theme song- I really like Madonna's song, but not her cameo appearance). This film is an over the top Bond, which is fine. It is a pretty decent movie, and a good Bond film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
manofthemoonMar 7, 2015
Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews),Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews), Madonna proves that she can't act (or provide a decent theme tune), and it all goes against the good work of "Goldeneye" and the so-so follow-ups. Brosnan wasn't to blame, but he was let go, much to his disappointment. On the plus side, the action sequences are good. On the downside, there's an invisible car. It all seems so dated. Next up would be the reboot with Daniel Craig in the excellent "Casino Royale". "Die Another Day" did well at the box office, but Bond fans were shaking their heads in disbelief. A major let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
Pierce Brosnan is a decent Bond, and his take on the character is very studied, and thought out. Die Another Day will keep Bond fans' eye glued to the screen, and everyone else will think of how the special effects and CGI are crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Duke_NukemOct 12, 2015
The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie.The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie. Even my kid laughed and said: "This is so fake!"

Halle Berry and Rosamund Pike act totally childish in the movie with stupid one liners and even more stupid jealousy, but admittedly they both look very hot.

Too bad this was the last Bond movie with Pierce Brosnan because then we got those boring depressive Bond movies with Daniel Craig.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews