Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Investigative journalist Jeremy Scahill is pulled into a surprising journey as he chases down the hidden truth behind America's expanding covert wars.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 7, 2013
    91
    I wish Rowley didn’t so often dabble in standard movie-thriller-style stylistics, but his film is an exposé of practices that need – demand – exposing.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 14, 2013
    88
    The film is a documentary, pure and simple. But the movie, by director Rick Rowley, plays out like something of a murder mystery.
  3. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Nov 26, 2013
    80
    Even after The Hurt Locker and Zero Dark Thirty, this brings us chillingly closer to the real story of the post-Iraq shitstorm.
  4. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Jun 2, 2013
    75
    Ably leads us through its extensive investigation, faltering only when the camera lingers on Jeremy Scahill for a touch too long at the expense of his interview subjects.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    These wars being fought in our name may be dirty, but this courageous film reminds us that as long as we have a free press, they don’t have to be secret.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Jun 2, 2013
    70
    It takes pains to make the political personal, forging the viewer’s identification with Scahill by making persistent use of his voiceover narration and keeping him oncamera throughout.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 29, 2013
    60
    The movie has rather silly, Bourne-style thriller graphics, which are unnecessary: it has an important story to tell.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Modern day heroism at its finest, offering us help to see the results of our continuing ignorance, so we could realize what needs to be done and do it. To stop the endless, self-perpetuating wars (there are other kinds also going, economic etc.) and instead start using beneficial, efficient and prosperous tactics (there are a lot of options available, and more to be found). Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Essential viewing for anyone who still retains a shred of independent thought. This courageous work is unique in that it tells it like it is the sad truth which is so often obscured. Highly recommended and then go watch Oliver Stone's 'Untold History of the United States,' and you will see... Collapse
  3. Hen
    Jun 9, 2013
    10
    An eye opening and frightening movie about the covert actions of our government and the actions they are taking to cover it up. The trampling on our Constitution is an outrage. A MUST SEE MOVIE! Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    The presentation and style of the movie is a little distracting, putting Scahill front-and-center with a noir style running commentary. That said, Scahill is a great journalist and the information presented in Dirty Wars is essential to all Americans. The movie is an introduction and an eye-opener, but I recommend following up with Scahill's book of the same name. The book is far more detailed and encompassing. Expand

See all 5 User Reviews

Trailers