Disconnect

Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 10, 2013
    60
    The film's message -- about how the Internet is sabotaging our real-life relationships -- doesn't resonate with absolute clarity, but Disconnect does a much more effective job than anyone could hope to do in 140 characters or less.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 11, 2013
    60
    The fine cast pushes beyond the script’s limits, even if some, like Hope Davis as Ben’s mom, are mostly wasted.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Alas, the flick can't resist overheating. Paradoxically, when people finally do jump in their cars, curl their fists and grab their guns, we wish they'd retreat to the safety of their monitors.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Apr 9, 2013
    50
    Disconnect might play better a decade from now, when it's more clearly a compendium of contemporary fears rather than some dire expression of them.
  5. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Apr 7, 2013
    50
    Well-meaning but dated and frequently risible issue-drama.
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 9, 2013
    40
    Only Andrea Riseborough comes close to rising above it all, and even she’s undone by what may be the crassest climactic slo-mo montage ever. The lucky will have logged off by that point.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. May 7, 2013
    10
    This movie was brilliant. The concept was imaginative and thoughtful and the acting wonderful. I've rarely cared about characters so much.This movie was brilliant. The concept was imaginative and thoughtful and the acting wonderful. I've rarely cared about characters so much. It's the best movie I've seen this year. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    Anybody remember the 2010 movie 'Trust'? Well, this is another version consisting of many different and connected stories. Very nicely writtenAnybody remember the 2010 movie 'Trust'? Well, this is another version consisting of many different and connected stories. Very nicely written script about cyber crimes. This kind of movie is much needed in the present world because the nuisance growing rapidly everywhere. You would get many similar movies to this like 'Identity Thief' etc., but not serious as the reality. So this movie is one of the kind that the modern world had seen with the concept of existing online culture.

    How the common people are affected by the identity theft, cyber bully and illegal activity is what the movie revolves. A teenage loner was tormented because of misused online friendship that put his life on a stake. A hard working couple fall in a deep sorrow state after their savings were snatched by a hacker. A local tv journalist gives a career best news report, but that severely hurts her source. All these incidents are interconnected in some way, but how is the remaining.

    The story also states the father's and husband's failed responsibility in their respective families. An orphan who has to take an alternative route to survive the odds, which is against the law. Very few scenes were intense, instead call it an intense I would say the reality of lifestyle. All these tales were packed with sufficient quantity of melodramas. You would enjoy whole movie, but the ending scene will put you on your seat's edge. Purely the 21st century's movie and a must see by who familiar with the world of internet.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    With great performances and a story that not only works as a lesson about the technological world we live in, but also works as a rivetingWith great performances and a story that not only works as a lesson about the technological world we live in, but also works as a riveting piece of film making. This is one of my favorite films of the year so far. A Full Review »