Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 11, 2013
    100
    One of the rare films that directly responds to and expresses modern anxieties, this debut feature from director Henry Alex Rubin interweaves the stories of three sets of people, whose lives are upended through various bad things that happen over the Internet -- including bullying and identity theft. A fascinating and riveting thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Disconnect is by turns frustrating and fascinating.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Disconnect is naturally gripping. Using unforgiving closeups, Rubin pokes into unexpected corners— not least the different ways in which men and women respond to calamity — and never forces his story's social-media scares to improbable heights.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 11, 2013
    63
    Disconnect is far from a bad movie. It’s just better at melodrama than drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 18, 2013
    63
    If this strikes you as vaguely familiar, you’re right: Disconnect is a computer “Crash.”
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Alas, the flick can't resist overheating. Paradoxically, when people finally do jump in their cars, curl their fists and grab their guns, we wish they'd retreat to the safety of their monitors.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Apr 7, 2013
    25
    Fails not so much because of its occasional self-seriousness or didacticism than it does from a scattered plot that makes the story's overriding theme or message difficult to grasp.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 7, 2013
    10
    This movie was brilliant. The concept was imaginative and thoughtful and the acting wonderful. I've rarely cared about characters so much. It's the best movie I've seen this year. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    This movie is brilliant. Directed in a style similar to Crash, Disconnect tells the stories of numerous people trying to cope with the consequences of life on the web. A compelling plot that represents a generation. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    I looooved this. Great cast. I liked the overlap of the different story lines. A friend told me about it. I knew nothing about it and was pleasantly surprised. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    good movies the story is very intense kinda remind me of babel
    good acting from the casts and nice musics
    i wish there are more movies like
    this....... Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    I really liked this movie! it was really interesting I liked the stories and how they were putted together the acting was great especially bateman I recommend it to all. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    Surprise Surprise! Never thought a film about human connections emerging as a result of mistakes committed online could be of such high standards. its heart warming, provocative, unbiased and emotional. It works so well specially because it doesn't get side tracked, even though the premise allows for such deviations. The writing is taut and it is aptly supported by some brilliant background score and camerawork Collapse
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    6
    Great cast, great premise, great plot. Unfortunately, this movie was like a hooker that gives you a great blow job but can't make you cum. In the end you have to go in the bathroom and finish yourself off. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers