TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1387 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,139
Mixed:
112
Negative:
136
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
criticsRSep 23, 2009
Interesting idea. Bad execution. Gratuitous yuck moments. Super big storyline holes. Hoping for a good sci-fi film and it wasn't even close.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
DanielB.Sep 7, 2009
Not only is this film an engaging science fiction film it is one of the only sci fi films where I have left the cinema viewing the humans as the real monsters. This is a must see summer blockbuster and probably one of the most important Not only is this film an engaging science fiction film it is one of the only sci fi films where I have left the cinema viewing the humans as the real monsters. This is a must see summer blockbuster and probably one of the most important films of this year and maybye the decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TjaartS.Jan 12, 2010
This movie takes us from a tongue in cheek parallel of the apartheid era to the xenophobic actions following of people as a result of the vilification of people in public which gives one the "right" to just do what you want to them....it is This movie takes us from a tongue in cheek parallel of the apartheid era to the xenophobic actions following of people as a result of the vilification of people in public which gives one the "right" to just do what you want to them....it is gritty, very smart with acting, style and the expression of and accent from the home ground of the afrikaans speaking people, so remniscent of many myopic attitudes under the surface of most cultures. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
msAug 15, 2009
I thought this movie was intelligently put together. Its not as deep as a heavy drama, but there's decent character development and an OK script. The technology/CGI for the movie was pretty well done and the storyline concept was unique I thought this movie was intelligently put together. Its not as deep as a heavy drama, but there's decent character development and an OK script. The technology/CGI for the movie was pretty well done and the storyline concept was unique and well thought out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobSOct 6, 2009
This isn't a cosy film. You can't just sit there and expect robots hitting each other whilst the good looking guy gets the good looking girl. The fact that it deals with aliens is largely irrelevant. Its NOT about apartheid, but it This isn't a cosy film. You can't just sit there and expect robots hitting each other whilst the good looking guy gets the good looking girl. The fact that it deals with aliens is largely irrelevant. Its NOT about apartheid, but it IS about displacement and reflects the sad treatment of powerless refugees across the world. This is a difficult story with no easy answers provided by the SFX guys. There IS a kind of resolution but its hard fought for and therefore more worthwhile when it arrives. An INTELLIGENT Sci-fi film for once. Well done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BeatrixAug 19, 2009
It begrudges me to read the negative reviews of this movie. A lot of viewers have focused on the messages (of which are their personal opinions) that this film is portraying rather than judging it purely on entertainment. This movie was a It begrudges me to read the negative reviews of this movie. A lot of viewers have focused on the messages (of which are their personal opinions) that this film is portraying rather than judging it purely on entertainment. This movie was a breath of fresh air and is one that I can add to a short list of films I would watch multiple times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RuanF.Sep 6, 2009
As a South African I went to watch the movie expecting it to be worse than what the reviews said. I'm tired of all the racism stories and well I wasn't expecting anything good. Wow I was wrong. I loved it and will probably go watch As a South African I went to watch the movie expecting it to be worse than what the reviews said. I'm tired of all the racism stories and well I wasn't expecting anything good. Wow I was wrong. I loved it and will probably go watch it again. The only flaw for me is that it turns into too much of an action movie, though still a good one. All the so called plot holes can be reasoned away and I'm glad that we are not spoonfed everything. Awesome movie and well worth the watch! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Mr.NoSep 7, 2009
Stunning, amazing, I would definetly recommend.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanHOct 27, 2009
Whats with all these 0's and people saying this film is bad...?!!?!?! Rigged boards? Dont talk rubbish.. Anyway..this film is geniuenly epic...and it really dos make you feel empathy for the aliens and sorry for Wikus...the main Whats with all these 0's and people saying this film is bad...?!!?!?! Rigged boards? Dont talk rubbish.. Anyway..this film is geniuenly epic...and it really dos make you feel empathy for the aliens and sorry for Wikus...the main character. I loved it from start to finish....the special effects are top notch, it isnt my favorite film..but its definelty one of them! Seriously do yourself a favor and see it...its really really good!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DomoRAug 14, 2009
I'm certain a sequel is being hashed out as I type this little review and the resulting "District 10" had better explain some things to me...like is there a biological basis for bigotry? My left lower claw is tapping out messages in I'm certain a sequel is being hashed out as I type this little review and the resulting "District 10" had better explain some things to me...like is there a biological basis for bigotry? My left lower claw is tapping out messages in wounded impatience but that's just me and my wild DNA...it gets a little funky with all that cat food in the system. All in all, I have to say this film was amazingly well done and embraced many themes about our humanity that were compelling and engaging. But I didn't feel it was "deep" enough. Don't get me wrong. It's a great little film. But the themes have just been scratched and I hope will be further explored. And yeah, I liked all that vomiting, public urination and relatively tidy body explosions! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidHAug 14, 2009
This movie proves it's not about money, it's all about the artist behind the camera. Well done Mr. Blomkamp and Mr. Jackson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeDBAug 14, 2009
District 9 is subtle, subversive and its a Sci-Fi shot in Johannesburg?? What a treat watching a movie that does not bombard you with colour, special effects and the soulless Hollywood 'SHAZAM' factor. Instead we are given a real District 9 is subtle, subversive and its a Sci-Fi shot in Johannesburg?? What a treat watching a movie that does not bombard you with colour, special effects and the soulless Hollywood 'SHAZAM' factor. Instead we are given a real portrayal of squatter camp life, with beings suffering and oppressed to the point of revolt. We feel for them; we want them to be rescued and oh yes they are aliens!!! This Movies strength is its core is overflowing with subversive power and the fact that its a alien/chase/special effects fiasco just makes it a great ,great movie!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisCAug 15, 2009
Dark, twisted, and wonderfully executed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DavidS.Aug 19, 2009
I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very disappointed. I heard several people leaving the theater voicing the same. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BeccaBAug 23, 2009
I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact that these shrimp ("prawns") communicate with humans easily - us humans know their language! Weird? Yeah. Ok the movie has a "message" but I don't think we needed a movie to tell us that racism/unequality is bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EricTAug 24, 2009
Yet another pathetic allegory for the New World Order salivating to put humans in giant concentration camps after they pull the big false flag trigger to the next world war. Eat me, Hollywood propaganda turd movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshC.Sep 3, 2009
How in craps name did this get any good ratings...it is the worst movie i've ever seen. I'd rather get kicked in the nuts three times before seeing this thriller again...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
retropumpSep 9, 2009
I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but it got such good reviews maybe we should stick with it and see if it gets better". Boy was I in the dog box. The so-called "allegorical social commentary" was so blatant and poorly done that a 3 year old could have got it. The acting appeared to be off-the-cuff, with f**k thrown in whenever the script faltered, the attempt at amateur doco film making was so bad that it was worse than most amateur docos (and left us both feeling nauseous with the jumping swaying camera angles). The humor was there, sure, but it wasn't worth more than a slight smile to think, for instance, of aliens being addicted to cat food (including the can). The humor was neither subtle nor very funny. The action scenes were typical of all action movies, and the special effects were not anything new in this age of digital special effects offerings. The plot was incohesive and pretty much pointless with zero character development. The movie brings nothing new to cinema, just a mismashed rehash of the same old same old with plenty of gore thrown in. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EmmyGJan 9, 2010
Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband (sci-fi, war movie superhero freak) said, and I quote " I would have rather watched Barbie Princess than that shit!" Luckily we didn't waste an entire 2 hours of our lives on this movie... we fast forwarded and then after turning it off read the entire plot online and realized we REALLY weren't missing anything! How did this movie ever gain any popularity? I want to vomit now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ToddO.Dec 22, 2009
If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How did the lead learn how to understand crawfish language? The crawfish leaves by himself? .. Utterly stupid and I will never have those 2 hours back in my life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LJHOct 22, 2009
This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other so perfectly when neither one can speak the others language? How does the main human character know how to use alien technology that he hasn't seen before? Why is the alien fuel only found on Earth and if the aliens are so desperate to get home why is only one of them looking for it? All in all this is a fairly terrible film, I expected big things from Peter Jackson after Lord Of The Rings but after looking at some of his other work it seems like he can't make a decent film without guidelines from a book. Very disappointing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BarbaraWDec 28, 2009
This movie was actually painful to watch. It is a sci-fi slow moving, slow paced boring piece. Do not waste your time. Nothing to see or experience here, we almost shut it off several times, but thought, there must be something here. There is not.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ThePassingLaneAug 16, 2009
The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the lead, and even he was border-line unsympathetic because he was such an obvious moron. The main mercenary was somehow unkillable, and therefore highly distracting as the film went to such pains to paint a "real" picture. And I agree that the film is not very original. Throughout D9 I could not stop thinking about how much better Cronenberg's The Fly and Spielberg's E.T. are, as narratives and cinema. Ultimately, this is another film, in an unfortunately growing number of films, that is not cinema, but rather feature length CGI exercise. The coolest thing about the movie was the spaceship looming over the city. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MichaelFAug 16, 2009
I've gone over this again and again in my head, because I was really upset about the disconnect between my experience at this movie and seemingly every other review I've read about it. I was really hyped up for this flick, because I've gone over this again and again in my head, because I was really upset about the disconnect between my experience at this movie and seemingly every other review I've read about it. I was really hyped up for this flick, because it felt like it was being made by really creative, really intellectual people who were going to present an allegory in a really new and fresh way. All the promotional material was top-notch, and I spent hours at the website exploring and learning about the premise and the back-story, and just kind of absorbing the whole thing. I showed up at the theatre expecting to be genuinely challenged mentally and maybe even morally, and instead, it was just a popcorn flick. If my expectations hadn't been jacked up so high, I probably could've enjoyed the movie, but it just wasn't what I was hoping for. District 9 was our last chance to rescue 2009 from a summer that included Transformers 2, G.I. Joe, and literally the most boring Harry Potter movie I've ever sat through, which is saying something. Instead, the characters were one-dimensional; the plot ended with the premise, and the ending was a WTF? moment for the ages. The violence wound up being pretty good, but in my head, I was screaming at the good guys, "WHY AREN'T YOU KILLING THEM!?" and at the bad guys, "WHY AREN'T YOU RUNNING AWAY?!" The special effects and the general presentation were superbly done and visually stunning, but unfortunately, that's where the creativity stopped. Also, I think that if you lived through the 80's, you pretty much got the Apartheid metaphor directly from the trailers. You can almost go into the movie and take it as given. Instead, you sit there and get hammered over the head with it for an hour and a half. It just made me cringe after awhile. And at the same time, it's the elephant in the room. At a certain point, I was waiting for someone, anyone to stand up and say, "Hey! Remember that one time in South Africa when we used to pretend like blacks weren't real people? This is JUST LIKE THAT. 'Cept with aliens." I guess I just found the whole thing insulting, intellectually, which is the exact opposite of what I was expecting, which is why I was so disappointed. And I'm even more disappointed with moviegoers for not calling the moviemakers out on it. Instead, everybody's fawning all over it, hailing it as unique and original and smart, of all things. It just makes me sad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregTAug 17, 2009
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at what alien contact might look like, well, you're better off just watching the short film (Alive in Joburg) and stopping there.

As part of the second crowd, I was sorely disappointed to find that this film is essentially the premise of the short, which was well made, if not necessary enlightening, filled in with Hollywood nonsense to the point of incomprehension. The believable and intriguing sets of the original are discarded for the mind-numbing adrenaline fest of another cliche action movie.

But judging by these reviews and the film's $35 million weekend start, I'm in the minority.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KCJ.Aug 17, 2009
First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AdamK.Aug 17, 2009
This is one of the corniest sci fi movies I've ever seen. an advanced race of beings that live in a ghetto and eat cat food like it's crack...c'mon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexAug 19, 2009
Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the same one we've seen a thousand times: "Humans are more monstrous than the monsters." Are you surprised? Can you wrap your head around that? How about if I repeat myself again... and again? Didn't Peter Jackson already make a movie about this? (King Kong) *Spoiler Alert* Lastly, nothing made sense. Why come to Earth? Why be addicted to cat food? Why be abused by humans if you have crazy-powerful alien weapons and super strength? Why do the humans and aliens understand each others' language? Why not converse in the same language? It takes an alien 20 years to radio the mothership directly overhead to beam him up? Once in the mothership, why fly away? To get help? You could have done that 20 years ago - ya know, instead of landing here and stranding your fellow aliens in a hell-hole. If someone is shooting you - with bullets - from a gun - and you're dying... why not shoot back!? I've saved the best for last: Why does a splash of alien fuel mutate a person into an alien? .Ask yourself that question one more time... then splash yourself with gasoline. These are not "plot holes" these are "plot chasms." They are stupid. The movie is stupid. Before you start with the "no, you're stupid!", let me assure you. I saw the movie. I understood it. It was stupid. No, really, I get it. I got it. Yes, apartheid, yeah, segregation, yeah humanity is evil and the aliens are the good guys. Sure, social commentary, satire, etc. I said "I get it!" That doesn't make it clever or original, and it most certainly does not make it entertaining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ShaunM.Aug 21, 2009
There is nothing here. Some of my favorite movies of all time include Children of Men, the Matrix, Terminator 2, Demolition Man, and any other sci-fi movies with originality. In fact, they don't even have to be original.. BUT this movie There is nothing here. Some of my favorite movies of all time include Children of Men, the Matrix, Terminator 2, Demolition Man, and any other sci-fi movies with originality. In fact, they don't even have to be original.. BUT this movie does not have a descent plot and it's originality is spoiled in the execution. Maybe my hopes were too high... I don't know. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryMAug 21, 2009
After the first 5 minutes, all I kept wondering is when it would end. I would have made better use of my money to pay them to stop the movie. An absolute boring, mess. The theater was full at the beginning, but people left and didn't After the first 5 minutes, all I kept wondering is when it would end. I would have made better use of my money to pay them to stop the movie. An absolute boring, mess. The theater was full at the beginning, but people left and didn't return. I should have followed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DomenickPAug 24, 2009
This movie stomps so much ass that they had to import colons from other countries to keep up with the demand!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonDeatherageAug 24, 2009
Great movie. One of the best of the year. Original and excting. Makes you want more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenAug 26, 2009
So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. 1. Aliens come to earth. 2 People scared. 3. Aliens have feelings too. 4. Bang, Bang, Pow, Shoot, Shoot 5. Must understand/kill them. 6. Hero lives 7. End storyline with possibility for sequel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GregBSep 11, 2009
Comicbook? Or Headshooter movie. This film is absolute political crap. Notice all the "good" reviews nothing about story, filming, acting, just "it is great", "awesome", "best movie this year" my question is WHY?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TheSwanSep 11, 2009
Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try it out. Also, the plot was a good idea but executed poorly. It could have been a real thought provoking film about the treatment of different looking creatures (mirroring real life events) and possibly even a cult classic...but thanks to bad execution, shocking main character dialogue, pretty bad action scenes towards the end and the fact that the african smuggler guys in the slum were portrayed as hysterical and crazy. come on, it was stereotyping african tribes as being almost bloodthirsty and superstitious! so...why a rating of 2? well, my mates and i pissed ourselves everytime somebody or something got shot and exploded. they even fired a cow at someone. also, the leader of the slum gang got an hilariously O.T.T death that made me almost cry at the stupidity of it. i actually thought it was a black comedy until i discovered otherwise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AllenHSep 11, 2009
The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's "language" only one of them, and the film suffered from the trendy "shaky camera syndrome" (please, learn to create real tension instead of using this tired trick). Don't waste your time with this movie unless you like grade B science fiction schlock, because that's all it is. When there is not even one big name actor in a movie, there is usually a reason. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LeighS.Sep 1, 2009
Totally revolting ! used all the typical tricks, racial issues got annoying. Gory and unoriginal. Uncomfortable throughout, leaves you feeling ill.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NicolaDSep 1, 2009
I have never had the urge to leave a cinema quicker! Totally unbelievable cat food eating prawns who have forgotten how to operate their own guns and ship and all so we can have an annoying commentary on racism! For crying out loud why must I have never had the urge to leave a cinema quicker! Totally unbelievable cat food eating prawns who have forgotten how to operate their own guns and ship and all so we can have an annoying commentary on racism! For crying out loud why must we be bombarded with such low energy nonsense! There should be an apology made for the harmful impact this film makes on the consciousness of all humanity! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ToddGSep 12, 2009
We really need to discourage this insane bouncing camera crap... 5 people walked out of the movie, it was almost unwatchable... The most intense movie had to keep looking away from... Wait for this to come out on a small screen, or prepare We really need to discourage this insane bouncing camera crap... 5 people walked out of the movie, it was almost unwatchable... The most intense movie had to keep looking away from... Wait for this to come out on a small screen, or prepare to get vertigo. F- for cinematrography B+ for plot ripoff, and A for actual makeup and CGI. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarvBSep 16, 2009
Okay for teenagers, not so much for adults that did not grow up playing violent and graphic video games--too many body fluids featured (almost continuously) for my taste.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
cbSep 16, 2009
Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene of things being blown to pieces, which is kind of just CGI, too. 3) Oh, and, it's a film about discrimination, yeah, like, set in South Africa, which is ironic, isn't it, because it's, like, a really discriminatory place, and stuff, and they're doing the same here only with aliens, which makes it a satire, apparently. nothing else. really. and that third point about its being a satire/allegory was sarcastic (the film goes about as far as to say "look, the aliens are being discriminated against, like black people", before then throwing in a bunch of wildly stereotypical, cocaine-addled black characters.) and..the second point was kind of the same as the first.. so essentially there was only one thing to 'get' in this film - that someone's really good with CGI, and should probably be using their talents to make better movies. This is the crux of my review, so you can stop reading here and go see the movie if you like, or alternatively save your money and your time and put them to better use. If you have nothing else to do, here are some more specific criticisms I wanted it to move in to something more farcical or darkly comic, as it gave hints that it might do, and it quickly became clear that it might be the only move that Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GregHSep 18, 2009
Wow, what were the critics watching when they gave this movie such high marks. I just walked out of this movie and received a refund, first time I have ever done that. This movie is a mess from beginning to end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
dunkSep 19, 2009
District 9 is an insult to the African empire. And should be banned from showing in any African country. We Africans need to stop the exploitation of our African heritage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AshKSep 19, 2009
Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn between a Hollywood sci-fi action flick and a politicial drama about racism and prejudice. This movie could have been so much better if they picked a direction and went with it. Another thing - Why did they need to use the F word so much? Were the writers really that lacking in skill that they had to plug large gaps in the script with all this swearing? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BatSandsSep 20, 2009
This movie was so bad there's not even anything worth saying about it. I think all these 10s in these ratings shows that movie makers are padding these review sites. I've never entered a review before but had to do it for this This movie was so bad there's not even anything worth saying about it. I think all these 10s in these ratings shows that movie makers are padding these review sites. I've never entered a review before but had to do it for this movie. This was a putrid movie. I went with four people with pretty varied tastes and every one of us thought it was totally a waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ScratchMeSep 7, 2009
Great Idea! Beaten to a pulp. The lead actor didn't carry his role anywhere, of course the script didn't give him anywhere to take it. I liked the South African setting and political backstory and the social commentary, but that Great Idea! Beaten to a pulp. The lead actor didn't carry his role anywhere, of course the script didn't give him anywhere to take it. I liked the South African setting and political backstory and the social commentary, but that got old pretty quickly, the special effects were stunning, but that cannot save it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredericN.Jan 12, 2010
Simply amazing! There's no ham n cheese Hollywood here for the light hearted, so if that's you, stop reading. Just a brutally honest mauling of the human condition (the aliens aren't all love and flowers either). with some Simply amazing! There's no ham n cheese Hollywood here for the light hearted, so if that's you, stop reading. Just a brutally honest mauling of the human condition (the aliens aren't all love and flowers either). with some wonderful wonderful acting, i must admit, i hated the wikus character when i first watched this film, but when i watched it again i understood why. He's a selfish little man, who knows full well what he is being asked to do is move over a million 'prawns' to a concentration camp. He only does anything (until the very end) if its in his own self interest. This makes him like 99% of humans alive today, perhaps this was a little too close to home for some us used to Hollywood heroes? anyway, absolutely watch this film, it had me totally glued to the screen for the last 2/3rds of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregSOct 11, 2009
Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", which I guarantee will be a complete POS. Same story with Cloverfield - great marketing, TERRIBLE film. PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$ on a DVD rental. This movie is a joke, an insult. It is LITERALLY one of the worst flicks ever made. I made the mistake of going to the theatre to see this and - I swear to God - HALF the audience left. It is undiluted PIGSWILL from start to finish. Shame on the marketeers for their low cunning. It's tantamount to theft. But hey, we're all accustomed to being ripped off these days, huh? Sheesh. I despair. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GarethDOct 23, 2009
Similar to Jackson`s pre-fame films - Bad Taste and Braindead. However, these were pretty much pure comedy and much more enjoyable because of this. This was neither funny or thought provoking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SVAug 14, 2009
Honestly. Do not believe the hype. A dull mish mash of a film with an irritating lead and zero suspense and emotion. Very, very disappointing. Grossly overrated. Very good special effects though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeC.Aug 15, 2009
Special affects pretty good. Everything else about the movie was pretty bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoelP.Aug 17, 2009
Do people really need to be forced into thinking about how horrible humanity is to itself and others? If this movie really "opened your mind" to the world, then you seriously need to get out more. Aside from shoving this message into our Do people really need to be forced into thinking about how horrible humanity is to itself and others? If this movie really "opened your mind" to the world, then you seriously need to get out more. Aside from shoving this message into our faces repeatedly, there wasn't much in this movie we haven't seen in a million other alien flicks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KCJ.Aug 17, 2009
First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RobertL.Aug 18, 2009
I'm actually starting to think that all these "10" votes are spam votes from a small group of people. Honestly, this movie was not good at all. It was claustrophobic, insulting to my intelligence, and video game fodder.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
EricMAug 21, 2009
Awful, cram down your throat moralization. Characters and plot are shallow and cynical. Explosives mere ploy to distract from the gratuitous preaching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
fredUAug 23, 2009
Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was pitiful, accented by the sotry line that the main charachter was to be discredited in the media by having interacial sex with Prawns....Oh man, I feel like writing the director/producer and asking for a refund for my ticket and the waste of 2 hours of my life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielAug 24, 2009
I walked into this movie expecting it to be great but it turned out to be near perfect. An awesome, pumping movie that will make you want to see it again and again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bram29Sep 17, 2011
district 9 is the best movie i have seen up to this moment. i loved every bit of it. the action is brutal, the characters are believable, and there is a clear message. that's right: district 9 is about stuff! seriously, do not miss out on this movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
An allegorical satire of Apartheid, represented by a sci-fi action film. Also comes into the film is its gritty violence, profane dialogue, and dystopian view of Johannesburg. The photography and CGI are stunning and astonishing. SharltoAn allegorical satire of Apartheid, represented by a sci-fi action film. Also comes into the film is its gritty violence, profane dialogue, and dystopian view of Johannesburg. The photography and CGI are stunning and astonishing. Sharlto Copley is under-exaggerated from his spellbinding performance. 'District 9' is a well crafted and wriiten political message of the horrid effects of segregation. Neill Blomkamp is a new breed of sci-fi filmmaker. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
District 9 is more of a 6.
The movie is entertaining, but with very little substance. The plot is good and the acting is fine, but there is far too much unexplained to take it seriously. No real answers are given as to why the aliens or
District 9 is more of a 6.
The movie is entertaining, but with very little substance. The plot is good and the acting is fine, but there is far too much unexplained to take it seriously. No real answers are given as to why the aliens or "prawns" came to earth or why Africa was in charge of the situation, or why the aliens didn't use their weapons to kill all of us. The movie is thought provoking and successful on many levels, but the plot relies to heavily on a single character, and leaves to much unanswered.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticMar 18, 2012
This isn't just some action movie. This strange sci-fi movie is completely scary, dark, raw, and suspenseful. Sharlto Copley should have at least been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor. He completely nailed his part, and helps usThis isn't just some action movie. This strange sci-fi movie is completely scary, dark, raw, and suspenseful. Sharlto Copley should have at least been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor. He completely nailed his part, and helps us to feel the emotion and horror. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
9
HomeCriticNov 6, 2010
It is a great movie, and every science fiction fan should watch it. The story is quite unique from one perspective, because in this movie the aliens are not the threat to us - we are the threat to the aliens. The story is also great and notIt is a great movie, and every science fiction fan should watch it. The story is quite unique from one perspective, because in this movie the aliens are not the threat to us - we are the threat to the aliens. The story is also great and not hard to follow, the characters have very sharp personalities.
Overall it's a very good movie, I had a lot of fun, so check it out!
I give it 9/10
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
RyanCSep 10, 2009
Gritty. Funny. Gory. Intense. Original. All-action. Empathy-wielding. Epic.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JeanR.Oct 10, 2009
One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please could we at least have a change of alien physique in future offerings, because the insect format is so hackneyed). I didn't care about any of the characters, which is the only thing that could have made me stay to the end, and there wasn't a single shred of genuine humour or lightness throughout. I think of the detail and subtlety of "MInority Report" and "Blade Runner", and wonder why Hollywood has to keep on churning out such lame-brained trash that obviously caters to the lowest end of the market. Peter Jackson, stick to hobbits! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
JoeSAug 16, 2009
This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a side comment to the movie as it transitions to a run of the mill fugitive story with every crappy alien movie cliche out there, despite the lack of aliens. I was extremely disappointed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MikeMAug 18, 2009
My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully unaware of anything, and the filming with hand held cameras with graphic gore really does not go well with popcorn. Just didn't see what was so wonderful about this film. Will give it to the director that this was an ambitious idea, but it just did not work for me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
billbAug 30, 2009
I beg you not to see this movie! I'm 60 years old,love sci fi, I'm smart,he he,worst movie Iv ever seen. I wanted to get up in the theater and say, isn't this movie a joke?" Jerking camera made me seasick.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
fabrinnehAug 30, 2009
I really didn't kike this movie. Usually I like Sci-Fi, but this one not at all. I was also chock by the racial content of this movie. I am sure I am not the only one.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KaiKAug 15, 2009
All the critics who gave it a 50 either misunderstood the film or simple lack any sort of intelligence. Some critics have bad taste in films. Please note this is not a comedy nor a comic book film, it is a realistic science fiction film. All the critics who gave it a 50 either misunderstood the film or simple lack any sort of intelligence. Some critics have bad taste in films. Please note this is not a comedy nor a comic book film, it is a realistic science fiction film. This movie is a Si-Fi classic. It has a lot of rich ideas and great action. District 9 has all the components you would expect from a excellent film. It has a great plot that makes you think about humanity and what would happen if we were really to encounter Aliens. All the snobby critics can go eat canned cat food, and should be held captive in district 9. The snobby critics misunderstood the movie the way M.N.U. misunderstood the aliens of district 9. Hopefully we will see district 10 some time in the near future. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
TroyBAug 14, 2009
I can honestly say that I have never seen anything like this before. A true and complete original. You will ride an emotional rollercoaster while watching this film. You'll laugh, scream, wince, jump and quite possibly cry. I cannot I can honestly say that I have never seen anything like this before. A true and complete original. You will ride an emotional rollercoaster while watching this film. You'll laugh, scream, wince, jump and quite possibly cry. I cannot recommend seeing this film enough. Amazing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BradyAug 16, 2009
it was amazingly original and very unpredictable. a must for me personally.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Loved the documentary style at the beginning of the film. Although it wained slightly after that, the twist was a great move and the storyline very complex for a movie where Aliens and Humans get blown to smithereens.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
This bizarre SF movie, appropriately structured using documentary styled filming, is simply one of the year's best movies that effectively acknowledges the audience of racial discrimination.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
DeGreZetSep 13, 2011
Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites
Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites movies and i advice District 9 every Sci-Fi fans.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
What a waste of a great premise! This movie starts out with a really interesting concept and procedes to digress into just another stupid action movie. It makes me very sad, this movie could have really unique and interesting but as the movieWhat a waste of a great premise! This movie starts out with a really interesting concept and procedes to digress into just another stupid action movie. It makes me very sad, this movie could have really unique and interesting but as the movie progresses it gets less and less unique and interesting and gets more and more cliche action movie explosions. Kudos for a great concept, and shake of the head for failing to do anything with it. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
BobHJan 2, 2010
Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying main character from which the beggining you hope dies, he doesnt. The only decent thing the movie had was the alien weapons and there is probly less than 10 kills with them. Do not buy this movie, if you must see it just rent it, even then you are going to wish you had a couple dollars and a few hours of your life back! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
LPAug 20, 2009
I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the aliens, In this way the movie disregards the aliens and their culture just like the callous humans of the story. Creatures are the focal point --not the story. I felt cheated out of my money and my time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
DVAug 17, 2009
Bad dialog, bad acting, jerky flow, and unresolved plot points. I was disappointed, though the effects were pretty good.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
LarrySep 2, 2009
Funny, but I actually agree with the folks who rated this a zero and with those who rated it much higher. All things said, I am able to just ignore the clear faults this movie has and accept it as a worthy sci-fi thriller.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
carolinebJan 2, 2010
I have tears in my eyes. 'District 9' is pure genuis! Neill Blouwkamp got it so right, the words for such things, haven't been invented yet. I grew up in English speaking KZN South Africa, hearing van der Merwe jokes , but I have tears in my eyes. 'District 9' is pure genuis! Neill Blouwkamp got it so right, the words for such things, haven't been invented yet. I grew up in English speaking KZN South Africa, hearing van der Merwe jokes , but deep down inside, I always knew, that thrown into the frontline, van der Merwe would be heroic and clearly Neill knew it too. I cannot wait for Neill's next film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTFeb 20, 2010
A genuinely thrilling and smart film. If you like your sci-fi movies deeper and more realistic than usual, than you're on the right track with this one.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LaurenceW.Jun 7, 2010
Blissfully original,subtly political, teeming with excitement & brilliance.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexGAug 15, 2009
All I can really say, It was phenomenal. I didn't know what to think as the story continued. It was simply amazing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Aug 15, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Neil Blomkamp and Peter Jackson, I bow to you, for bringing us the best Sci-fi experience in years. My favorite movie ever, hands down.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TrevorAug 15, 2009
Near perfect movie. It kept me enraptured for the full viewing time. One of the most original concepts for cinema I've ever seen. A movie in which the viewer actually cares for the fate of the protagonists? woah, what a novel concept! Near perfect movie. It kept me enraptured for the full viewing time. One of the most original concepts for cinema I've ever seen. A movie in which the viewer actually cares for the fate of the protagonists? woah, what a novel concept! This movie had me praying the "good guys" succeed. A must see for EVERYONE (with the exception of young children). P.S. Pray Neill Blomkamp can get his hands on the Halo movie rights, he'll take it to new bounds. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JackAug 22, 2009
OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and annoying. Whoever rates this 7 above should consider that a good film actually has to have structure, not a cobbled together bunch of action that has no relevance to the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
leeTAug 30, 2009
Both me and my wife just went because nothing else out that we didn't see. We loved it, I'm a sci fi fan she isn't . She said an interesting thing ,after you get to know the aliens they don't look so bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobertCAug 30, 2009
If you really do not like this movie then you probably cannot catch on to the high level concept. Heaven forbid the director make everything make sense so that all of you idiots with your third grade IQ levels understand. It kills me to see If you really do not like this movie then you probably cannot catch on to the high level concept. Heaven forbid the director make everything make sense so that all of you idiots with your third grade IQ levels understand. It kills me to see that people like GI joe and Transformers 2, then people call District 9 a bad movie. I have seen District 9, 5 times in the last 2 weeks, and every time I watch it, I learn something new about the movie. This movie is smart enough to be shown in classes as a good example of allusions, metaphors, and allegories; but children won't be watching District 9 in English class just yet because.....you cannot say the F word in school, but maybe that will change. District 9 is perfection, go see it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JacobHarastyAug 30, 2009
is movie is proof that there are people out in the world who know what a si-fi moive is. when other movie showed that si-fi now means big guns and bad action with a lame story that has aliens, this movie brings back what si-fi used to meanis movie is proof that there are people out in the world who know what a si-fi moive is. when other movie showed that si-fi now means big guns and bad action with a lame story that has aliens, this movie brings back what si-fi used to mean big guns and good action with a tear jreakin, heart warming realist tell that has alines Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GwilymD.Sep 10, 2009
Last night I died and went to cinema heaven
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GavGSep 14, 2009
The main theme of this movie is ignorance imo. Ignorance in it's various forms: blind desire, neglect , indifference, incompetence, lack of understanding and selfishness. It's about the terrible cost of these attributes for the The main theme of this movie is ignorance imo. Ignorance in it's various forms: blind desire, neglect , indifference, incompetence, lack of understanding and selfishness. It's about the terrible cost of these attributes for the individual and society as a whole. It's about how fragile civilisation is and how interdependent we are: could you fix your phone or you car if you needed help getting back home? And it's pretty fookin funny. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DamieanP.Sep 10, 2009
It's 2009 and amazing that movies are completely dull, boring, non-entertaining. I feel most are just to "trick" you to spend money. My 6 year old could make a better plot. We in the U.S. are becoming numb.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MikeBSep 17, 2009
With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an entertainment movie, you know...acting, plot, production values, special effects, believability.....well, I give it a 1.5 out of 10, which I rounded down to a 1. Then to make it even worse, second grade preachy BS all through it in the same package. What a waste of my time. It starts with a great premise, and you think, wow, this movie is going to be great. You imagine where this movie could go and you anticipate something grand coming....as soon as they get over this boring introductory stuff. But, the whole movie stays in totally unbelievable boring step 1 phase, and never gets off the ground or goes anywhere. The biggest advantage of this movie is you can now look at those reviewers who gave it a 100, and know that their opinions are worthless for your future movie reviews. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RichardH.Sep 4, 2009
I am seeing it for a third time tomorrow, and may even go for a fourth. Leave the kids at home, the emotions and the language and the violence are certainly not appropriate for the kiddos, but wow what an original, engaging movie! Don't I am seeing it for a third time tomorrow, and may even go for a fourth. Leave the kids at home, the emotions and the language and the violence are certainly not appropriate for the kiddos, but wow what an original, engaging movie! Don't read spoilers, the less you know about the movie going in, the better. After seeing such mindless, stupid nonsense as Transformers 2, with its over the top budget and marketing, to finally see an intelligent sci fi movie, and from a relatively unknown director, with unknown actors... it's incredible. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JacquelynCSep 7, 2009
This film is raw, unpretty, shaky, crude and probably has a budget much less than Hollywood ones. I enjoyed this one much more than any Hollywood movie. It left me on the verge of sobbing into my hankie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DanielKSep 7, 2009
What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of the worst movies I paid to see at the theaters ever. The national critics must have some agenda to give such high praise. The funniest part of the movie was how it is set-up for "District 10". They must be F-ing kidding! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LoouisM.Sep 7, 2009
Amazingly tender, thought provoking and engrossing story. The documentary style makes it extremely authentic. This is what sci-fi is all about.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
DanSep 7, 2009
I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place his son-in-law, a total doofus, in charge of the relocation (and what was the purpose of the relocation anyway)? And would the father-in-law really be so evil that he doesn't stop the grotesque medical experiments on his son-in-law? How come the prawns mysteriously vanish from District 9 only to resurface abruptly at the end? And why are the humans so incredibly stupid and gullible about the corporation's true intentions? Also, why does the film adopt a mockumentary format but repeatedly shift to a more cinematic tone? How do the aliens and the humans communicate, anyway? I could go on, but it was these and other problems that prevented me from taking the film's "message" seriously (well, that and that not-quite-convincing CGI, which makes the aliens seems slightly cartoonish). Suffice it to say, it's actually something of a relief when the film becomes another stupid action movie in the final act, if only because the movie drops any pretense of being a deep and profound meditation on prejudice and economic inequality. As an audience, you really just want to see heads explode, which the movie delivers in spades. One final word of advice to the director: it's not necessary to explain via voiceover absolutely everything that we see on the screen. Thanks, I have a brain and the plot isn't really that complicated. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EmilC.Sep 7, 2009
Brilliant! Flawless performance of main actor, great story, realistic effects.Real refreshment in movie industry and real gem of SF. Way to go!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DannyRSep 8, 2009
Anyone who rates this lower than a 9 knows nothing about Sci-Fi or cinema for that matter and is more likely to be all excited about big budget nonsence like transformers.Go ahead and get in line for Roland Emerich's 2012, i'll Anyone who rates this lower than a 9 knows nothing about Sci-Fi or cinema for that matter and is more likely to be all excited about big budget nonsence like transformers.Go ahead and get in line for Roland Emerich's 2012, i'll wait till it appears in the bargain bucket at my local junk shop about 6 months after its release! Rate District 9 low if you really feel the need to grab the attention of grown up movie lovers but my advise would be not to bother just get back to your online gaming.....is that your mum i hear calling? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful