User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1277 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. criticsR
    Sep 23, 2009
    4
    Interesting idea. Bad execution. Gratuitous yuck moments. Super big storyline holes. Hoping for a good sci-fi film and it wasn't even close.
  2. BeccaB
    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact that these shrimp ("prawns") communicate with humans easily - us humans know their language! Weird? Yeah. Ok the movie has a "message" but I I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact that these shrimp ("prawns") communicate with humans easily - us humans know their language! Weird? Yeah. Ok the movie has a "message" but I don't think we needed a movie to tell us that racism/unequality is bad. Expand
  3. MichaelF
    Aug 16, 2009
    6
    I've gone over this again and again in my head, because I was really upset about the disconnect between my experience at this movie and seemingly every other review I've read about it. I was really hyped up for this flick, because it felt like it was being made by really creative, really intellectual people who were going to present an allegory in a really new and fresh way. All I've gone over this again and again in my head, because I was really upset about the disconnect between my experience at this movie and seemingly every other review I've read about it. I was really hyped up for this flick, because it felt like it was being made by really creative, really intellectual people who were going to present an allegory in a really new and fresh way. All the promotional material was top-notch, and I spent hours at the website exploring and learning about the premise and the back-story, and just kind of absorbing the whole thing. I showed up at the theatre expecting to be genuinely challenged mentally and maybe even morally, and instead, it was just a popcorn flick. If my expectations hadn't been jacked up so high, I probably could've enjoyed the movie, but it just wasn't what I was hoping for. District 9 was our last chance to rescue 2009 from a summer that included Transformers 2, G.I. Joe, and literally the most boring Harry Potter movie I've ever sat through, which is saying something. Instead, the characters were one-dimensional; the plot ended with the premise, and the ending was a WTF? moment for the ages. The violence wound up being pretty good, but in my head, I was screaming at the good guys, "WHY AREN'T YOU KILLING THEM!?" and at the bad guys, "WHY AREN'T YOU RUNNING AWAY?!" The special effects and the general presentation were superbly done and visually stunning, but unfortunately, that's where the creativity stopped. Also, I think that if you lived through the 80's, you pretty much got the Apartheid metaphor directly from the trailers. You can almost go into the movie and take it as given. Instead, you sit there and get hammered over the head with it for an hour and a half. It just made me cringe after awhile. And at the same time, it's the elephant in the room. At a certain point, I was waiting for someone, anyone to stand up and say, "Hey! Remember that one time in South Africa when we used to pretend like blacks weren't real people? This is JUST LIKE THAT. 'Cept with aliens." I guess I just found the whole thing insulting, intellectually, which is the exact opposite of what I was expecting, which is why I was so disappointed. And I'm even more disappointed with moviegoers for not calling the moviemakers out on it. Instead, everybody's fawning all over it, hailing it as unique and original and smart, of all things. It just makes me sad. Expand
  4. AdamK.
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    This is one of the corniest sci fi movies I've ever seen. an advanced race of beings that live in a ghetto and eat cat food like it's crack...c'mon.
  5. ToddG
    Sep 12, 2009
    4
    We really need to discourage this insane bouncing camera crap... 5 people walked out of the movie, it was almost unwatchable... The most intense movie had to keep looking away from... Wait for this to come out on a small screen, or prepare to get vertigo. F- for cinematrography B+ for plot ripoff, and A for actual makeup and CGI.
  6. MarvB
    Sep 16, 2009
    4
    Okay for teenagers, not so much for adults that did not grow up playing violent and graphic video games--too many body fluids featured (almost continuously) for my taste.
  7. AshK
    Sep 19, 2009
    4
    Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn between a Hollywood sci-fi action flick and a politicial drama about racism and prejudice. This movie could have been so much better if they picked a Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn between a Hollywood sci-fi action flick and a politicial drama about racism and prejudice. This movie could have been so much better if they picked a direction and went with it. Another thing - Why did they need to use the F word so much? Were the writers really that lacking in skill that they had to plug large gaps in the script with all this swearing? Expand
  8. ScratchMe
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    Great Idea! Beaten to a pulp. The lead actor didn't carry his role anywhere, of course the script didn't give him anywhere to take it. I liked the South African setting and political backstory and the social commentary, but that got old pretty quickly, the special effects were stunning, but that cannot save it.
  9. SV
    Aug 14, 2009
    4
    Honestly. Do not believe the hype. A dull mish mash of a film with an irritating lead and zero suspense and emotion. Very, very disappointing. Grossly overrated. Very good special effects though.
  10. MikeC.
    Aug 15, 2009
    4
    Special affects pretty good. Everything else about the movie was pretty bad.
  11. JoelP.
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    Do people really need to be forced into thinking about how horrible humanity is to itself and others? If this movie really "opened your mind" to the world, then you seriously need to get out more. Aside from shoving this message into our faces repeatedly, there wasn't much in this movie we haven't seen in a million other alien flicks.
  12. RobertL.
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    I'm actually starting to think that all these "10" votes are spam votes from a small group of people. Honestly, this movie was not good at all. It was claustrophobic, insulting to my intelligence, and video game fodder.
  13. May 11, 2011
    5
    What a waste of a great premise! This movie starts out with a really interesting concept and procedes to digress into just another stupid action movie. It makes me very sad, this movie could have really unique and interesting but as the movie progresses it gets less and less unique and interesting and gets more and more cliche action movie explosions. Kudos for a great concept, and shakeWhat a waste of a great premise! This movie starts out with a really interesting concept and procedes to digress into just another stupid action movie. It makes me very sad, this movie could have really unique and interesting but as the movie progresses it gets less and less unique and interesting and gets more and more cliche action movie explosions. Kudos for a great concept, and shake of the head for failing to do anything with it. Expand
  14. DV
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Bad dialog, bad acting, jerky flow, and unresolved plot points. I was disappointed, though the effects were pretty good.
  15. Jack
    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and annoying. Whoever rates this 7 above should consider that a good film actually has to have structure, not a cobbled together bunch of action that has no OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and annoying. Whoever rates this 7 above should consider that a good film actually has to have structure, not a cobbled together bunch of action that has no relevance to the rest of the film. Expand
  16. Dan
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place his son-in-law, a total doofus, in charge of the relocation (and what was the purpose of the relocation anyway)? And would the father-in-law really be I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place his son-in-law, a total doofus, in charge of the relocation (and what was the purpose of the relocation anyway)? And would the father-in-law really be so evil that he doesn't stop the grotesque medical experiments on his son-in-law? How come the prawns mysteriously vanish from District 9 only to resurface abruptly at the end? And why are the humans so incredibly stupid and gullible about the corporation's true intentions? Also, why does the film adopt a mockumentary format but repeatedly shift to a more cinematic tone? How do the aliens and the humans communicate, anyway? I could go on, but it was these and other problems that prevented me from taking the film's "message" seriously (well, that and that not-quite-convincing CGI, which makes the aliens seems slightly cartoonish). Suffice it to say, it's actually something of a relief when the film becomes another stupid action movie in the final act, if only because the movie drops any pretense of being a deep and profound meditation on prejudice and economic inequality. As an audience, you really just want to see heads explode, which the movie delivers in spades. One final word of advice to the director: it's not necessary to explain via voiceover absolutely everything that we see on the screen. Thanks, I have a brain and the plot isn't really that complicated. Expand
  17. John
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    I walked into District 9, Niell Blomkamp
  18. jonathans
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    The most annoying lead actor ever!...cant you guys come up with an alien that does not look like your typical predator looking creature....come on use some imagination! also im tired of the evil african drug lord bad guy...seems like there is one in every movie these days. how could that gorgeous woman marry that annoying guy anyways...and was i supposed to feel sad or have any emotional The most annoying lead actor ever!...cant you guys come up with an alien that does not look like your typical predator looking creature....come on use some imagination! also im tired of the evil african drug lord bad guy...seems like there is one in every movie these days. how could that gorgeous woman marry that annoying guy anyways...and was i supposed to feel sad or have any emotional reaction at all at the end where the annoying guy finally turns into the alien and makes her a flower out of metal or whatever it was...point is i did not care at that point...movie is cliched...and i wanted to see the lead guy get his butt kicked in anyway. i just get baffled sometimes when i see a movie like this and consider all the money that must have been wasted including my 8 dollars! Expand
  19. NomadB
    Dec 29, 2009
    4
    Really? 81? I'd give this a 4. The character is plainly stupid in this movie. It's like watching a horror film where a girl gets trapped in a house and what does she do? she hides under the bed. Enough with this garbage. 4 for the idea of making district 9 and 0 for everything else.
  20. DougW
    Aug 20, 2009
    6
    OK people, you're really getting a bit crazy here. This movie was OK, as a comic-book plot turned into a movie, but it was not, repeat NOT, high-quality sci-fi. There were plot holes you could drive a mother-ship through in this thing, from what energy source keeps the ship hovering over Johannesburg for 20 years (and why can't THAT energy be used to launch the ship??) to OK people, you're really getting a bit crazy here. This movie was OK, as a comic-book plot turned into a movie, but it was not, repeat NOT, high-quality sci-fi. There were plot holes you could drive a mother-ship through in this thing, from what energy source keeps the ship hovering over Johannesburg for 20 years (and why can't THAT energy be used to launch the ship??) to exactly how likely is it that superpowers like the US, China and Russia would leave little old South Africa alone to handle these aliens, who, oh by the way, might be carrying viruses and/or technology that could wipe out mankind. Sounds logical to me! Anyway, you have to think of the movie as an intelligent comic book plot. It had good cinematics, decent effects, nice acting and a fairly well-executed (if overdone) morale to the story. The development of the main character from a beurocrat who treats the aliens like lower life forms (the egg-burning scene is particularly nasty) to....well, I don't want to give anything away, but let's just say his perspective changes pretty dramatically.... Anyway, its a good movie, better than the Transformers/G.I.Joe junk we've been fed lately, but it's certainly not as good as the next level up (Matrix/Star Wars/Blade Runner), and even those aren't really, really great sci-fi....Here's hoping someone out there has the brains to produce Lord of Light....now THERE's a sci-fi story. Expand
  21. CanonY
    Sep 17, 2009
    5
    Not my cup of tea at all. I was expecting a suspenseful sci-fi, but instead got what felt like a low budget film, on par with Dr Who or Torchwood. Just didn't feel it. OK for tv, but not great to sit and watch for 2 hours + in the cinema. The documentary style camera knocking around didn't appeal to me either.
  22. AJL
    Aug 20, 2009
    6
    Amazing idea gone awry when interesting plot is not well explained and just background to what is really an action film with cheesy acting.
  23. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2009
    6
    Take the F word out and the dialogue is cut by 50%. Entertaining, slightly. But why do most new film concepts need to be part 1 of X? Peter Jackson couldn't help himself I suppose. The wait for the sequel ending is such crap. Ooh, ooh what is going to happen next?
  24. JCTam
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    I can guarantee that this movie is more boring than Independence Day. At least no sci-fi movie dealing with aliens is better than Independence day. More drama, less action, mediocre suspense. Period.
  25. adam
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    D9 is a good film a bit hard to follow in bits and really strange overall o good film worth watching The acting is good the plot is ok, the effects are really good. I like the film it
  26. AdamN
    Aug 15, 2009
    5
    At times entertaining, but mostly disjointed with a poor narrative and absolutely baffling plot holes. I was left wondering so often if both parties want the same resolution why is there a conflict in the first place? If you're looking for an alien film, look elsewhere as they're more of a medium through which the author comments on human nature than anything else.
  27. JoshC
    Sep 20, 2009
    5
    FYI- Don't take your wife or girlfriend to this movie. Mine said it was the worst she had ever seen. I took a chance on this movie given all the rave reviews. However, I myself thought it was mediocre at best. How could the Washington Post give this movie a 100%!!??? The target audience seemed to be the teenagers around me laughing at all the fake special effects. Many elements of FYI- Don't take your wife or girlfriend to this movie. Mine said it was the worst she had ever seen. I took a chance on this movie given all the rave reviews. However, I myself thought it was mediocre at best. How could the Washington Post give this movie a 100%!!??? The target audience seemed to be the teenagers around me laughing at all the fake special effects. Many elements of the movie also made no sense logically. One problem was too many thinly veiled references to different ethnic groups that have been persecuted over the years (blacks, immigrants, Jews, etc.). It was as if the aliens were experiencing all these forms of persecution at the same time, regardless of any chronological or historical context. All in all, the movie was not very well made. Also, the second half of the movie conformed to conventional themes and cliches. Expand
  28. Kenny
    Nov 4, 2009
    5
    One to see this draft Blair Witch with aliens, you may think many things, you may think that the creators have done the head and even that is something imbeciles. But it can also be amazed by the way you have put a science fiction film under his belt, so well built with little budget. Sometimes bordering on genius but in the second half of the movie is when they are going completely in One to see this draft Blair Witch with aliens, you may think many things, you may think that the creators have done the head and even that is something imbeciles. But it can also be amazed by the way you have put a science fiction film under his belt, so well built with little budget. Sometimes bordering on genius but in the second half of the movie is when they are going completely in the hands and puts us in an action movie American heroics and ending by charging a very interesting project. We must also take into account the gaps in the script are endless. "D-9" is an experience in the film world, it falls well below their potential in the Hollywood factor comes into play. Expand
  29. lars
    Dec 21, 2009
    5
    Way overrated! Could have been so much better! Great special effects!!!
  30. JeffM
    Aug 20, 2009
    5
    Warning, Warning. I went to see this with my wife, a horror writer... and we had to leave half way through, as the constant use of shaky cams made her motion sick on the big screen. It was interesting up to then, but be WARNED, shaky, shaky, shaky cams.
  31. GerryB.
    Aug 26, 2009
    5
    Don't let the great reviews fool you. This is just an average gorefest. I was very disappointed. I liked the main character but that's about it.
  32. Steve
    Mar 7, 2010
    6
    Really interesting concept (and in the beginning, interesting presentation) but things gradually fall apart. The last hour is nothing but shooting and yelling. I know some people enjoy that, but it doesn't make a smart or original film. Near the end, one of the characters (not to spoil anything) literally uses the phrase "Go on with out me." I feel like that pretty well encapsulates Really interesting concept (and in the beginning, interesting presentation) but things gradually fall apart. The last hour is nothing but shooting and yelling. I know some people enjoy that, but it doesn't make a smart or original film. Near the end, one of the characters (not to spoil anything) literally uses the phrase "Go on with out me." I feel like that pretty well encapsulates the movie's descent from total originality to painful cliche. A last note: grittier, more 'real' violence (read: more disgusting and gratuitous) does not make a film any less 'Hollywood.' It's still just playing to the lowest common denominator. Expand
  33. MikeF
    Aug 14, 2009
    5
    Why is this movie getting such good reviews!!??? Are people really this dumb? This isn't a movie, it's a video game premise, and if they'd actually made a game instead of a film, they could possibly be excused for having just about enough plot to fill a dixie cup before moving on to simply blowing things up and splattering gore across the camera. First off, if you Why is this movie getting such good reviews!!??? Are people really this dumb? This isn't a movie, it's a video game premise, and if they'd actually made a game instead of a film, they could possibly be excused for having just about enough plot to fill a dixie cup before moving on to simply blowing things up and splattering gore across the camera. First off, if you didn't get the fact that this movie is a thinly-veiled allegory for South African apartheid simply from the trailers, then you're either brain-dead, in which case please don't reproduce, or you're 10 years old, in which case please ask your parents about apartheid. Or better yet, Google it, because, by the glowing response this film's had so far, NOBODY REMEMBERS WHAT APARTHEID WAS. I've never had a metaphor so ham-handedly pounded over my head for two hours. Yes, I get it. This is man's capacity for evil and hatred and exploitation through ignorance and xenophobia. Please move on, or do something interesting with it. Instead, we get treated to a parade of 1-dimensional characters ("I just love watching you prawns die!") and joyfully pubescent violence porn. However, even the violence causes massive amounts of cognitive dissonance. If the aliens had these weapons all along, why were the humans able to subjugate them? They've got guns that MAKE PEOPLE EXPLODE. You don't even have to aim particularly well. Instead, the aliens decide to trade those weapons for cans of cat food and dig through trash piles so they can nibble on vulcanized rubber. Secondly, once the aliens (trying to avoid spoilers here, don't ask me why) do decide to unleash their weaponry after 20 years of sneering degradation and oppression, they are remarkably reticent about actually using it. Inside my head, I was constantly screaming, "WHY AREN'T YOU KILLING THEM!!?" The characters were that thin; the humans are SO terrible and the aliens are SO innocent and maltreated that there is absolutely no ambivalence about the idea that the aliens should exterminate every human that has anything to do with MNU, the cartoonishly evil corporation responsible for human/alien relations. Which brings up yet another disconnect; once the alien tech is unleashed, why are the human forces so unfazed by it? I understand that, as a soldier, you need to hang in there and keep fighting even when you start taking losses, but after you see one or two of your teammates explode into a bloody mist after getting hit by an electro-bolt, maybe it's time to start waving the white flag. I dunno...I guess I'm out of steam here. Maybe my expectations were too high. There was a lot of potential here; a good twist on a first contact story, and worthy subject matter to serve as a thematic canvas for that story. Unfortunately, Mr. Blomkamp and his cohorts were apparently more interested in playing a game of HALO. Expand
  34. IrvingI
    Aug 15, 2009
    6
    This is an action movie billed as science fiction. There is nothing particularly wrong with it, but it fails to achieve what true Science Fiction aims to do; offer up a context for discussing a current issue with all the emotional baggage removed through fantastic characters and setting. While I get the aesthetic (which was well done, convincing and wonderfully cohesive), it still made me This is an action movie billed as science fiction. There is nothing particularly wrong with it, but it fails to achieve what true Science Fiction aims to do; offer up a context for discussing a current issue with all the emotional baggage removed through fantastic characters and setting. While I get the aesthetic (which was well done, convincing and wonderfully cohesive), it still made me a little sick to my stomach. Some of the final plot "twists" if you can call them that, are a little obvious and seem out of place. However, the general concept of an alien refugee camp is genius, and in many respects the CG is some of the best I've ever seen simply because the focus remains the story and never the effect. Expand
  35. SteveH
    Aug 18, 2009
    6
    Decent Sci-Fi but Peter Jackson lost a golden opportunity for a create film. Idea was great but it slowly turns Hollywood with transformer scene and the bad guy who would never die. Film never allows for understanding of aliens. Its primed for a sequel that I have no interest in.
  36. robertc
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    Great premise, very bad acting and storyline.
  37. kentR
    Aug 23, 2009
    5
    The film has a good premise. The cinematography, directing, and special effects are great. What the film lacks is quality writing. Many of the scenarios that drive the plot forward are contradicted later in the film. There are too many unanswered questions that detract from the action packed scenes and drive of the movie.
  38. EliasC
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    A fascinating gem of a SF film is given the Hollywood treatment and reduced to an action flick complete with 1/2 second Avid edits throughout. What could have been a classic of storytelling is reduced to a decent movie compared to this season's other examples of bad summer films, i.e.,Transformers 2. Too bad. Perhaps this is what audiences want; mind numbing audio and video that A fascinating gem of a SF film is given the Hollywood treatment and reduced to an action flick complete with 1/2 second Avid edits throughout. What could have been a classic of storytelling is reduced to a decent movie compared to this season's other examples of bad summer films, i.e.,Transformers 2. Too bad. Perhaps this is what audiences want; mind numbing audio and video that buries a truly interesting film beneath it. Do yourself a favor and watch the original 6 minute short 'Alive in Joburg' by director Neill Blomkamp and you will see in what direction the longer film should have gone into. The first 30 minutes of 'District 9' is astonishingly good, but then the film degenerates into a mindless entertainment that gives the viewer too much opportunity to think about the plot holes. But of course when the film flies past your eyes at light speed many viewers will forget to ask the important questions. I hope that the Director's Cut DVD will include the missing story. Expand
  39. Hilary
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    I felt no sympathy for Wikas at any time during this movie. He was a wimpy bully who only cared about himself. The idiot infected himself and then made the aliens pay for his mistake. The only people I cared about in the movie were the main alien and his son. And I agree with the person who said the woman playing the wife was a bad actress. She couldn't even make her eyes look wet I felt no sympathy for Wikas at any time during this movie. He was a wimpy bully who only cared about himself. The idiot infected himself and then made the aliens pay for his mistake. The only people I cared about in the movie were the main alien and his son. And I agree with the person who said the woman playing the wife was a bad actress. She couldn't even make her eyes look wet when she was "crying". I never felt like leaving the theater but I was disappointed. Expand
  40. JasonJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    6
    Alright, America is in trouble. We have lost our artistic compass. I was excited to see this movie. The movie throws you off balance immediately with a lead human character who can barely act. It was like trying to follow the dialogue in a Monty Python episode. I lot of stumbling. He was unlikable because the actual actor couldn't act. Then, we have the plot holes. As one reviewer Alright, America is in trouble. We have lost our artistic compass. I was excited to see this movie. The movie throws you off balance immediately with a lead human character who can barely act. It was like trying to follow the dialogue in a Monty Python episode. I lot of stumbling. He was unlikable because the actual actor couldn't act. Then, we have the plot holes. As one reviewer put it, "you could drive a mother-ship through them." The aliens somehow had way better weapons than us, yet they chose to be treated the way they did. When push came to shove, they were violent, so don't give me some explanation about them being docile. This movie was better than a lot of the 2s and 3s being released lately, but they really threw this movie together. I wonder if the producers and directors get to see the entire movie and, after which, can make changes. Perhaps there's no time for it. If I were Jackson and i was able to watch the whole movie then make changes, I would have refilmes about half of the movie. They could have made a 10/10, but speed is more valuable than quality anymore. Expand
  41. BenM
    Aug 27, 2009
    5
    I usually like original sci-fi movies but this one wasn't quite good enough to live up to all the hype. It never focused on one idea in the film and I couldn't figure out whether to label it a comedy, sci-fi thriller or political innuendo. If you're a fan of sci-fi it's worth seeing but don't expect too much.
  42. L.M
    Jan 25, 2010
    6
    I really got hyped for this movie, the concept was really solid and it looked technically great. The problem is the "intelligence" I was expecting (for it to be so praised) was in a coma for most of the movie and the expecting "basassery" was just completely over-the-top for me and uneeded. I really couldn't find interest in any of the characters (come to think of it I can't I really got hyped for this movie, the concept was really solid and it looked technically great. The problem is the "intelligence" I was expecting (for it to be so praised) was in a coma for most of the movie and the expecting "basassery" was just completely over-the-top for me and uneeded. I really couldn't find interest in any of the characters (come to think of it I can't remember any of them) but the concept of it still stayed strong. The good part, I really felt like I was in a human society that would have been with aliens for 20 years. I don't recommend skipping but don't fooled into expecting it to be one of the best sci-fi movies of all time either or you'll be disappointed. Expand
  43. Rmerc
    Aug 14, 2009
    6
    Profoundly overrated and bringing nothing new to the table District 9 is still good enough to watch but a little on the boring and cant feel for the characters side.
  44. BlakeW
    Aug 14, 2009
    5
    This movie Sucked. There was nothing original about it. The trailer advertised something that was false , making you assume a huge creature was showing up that chased these aliens , or they're were going to fight the human race. it's bs. You sepdn about 2 hours with a thumb up your ass watching a documentary that has an extremely fake accented and annoying main character as he This movie Sucked. There was nothing original about it. The trailer advertised something that was false , making you assume a huge creature was showing up that chased these aliens , or they're were going to fight the human race. it's bs. You sepdn about 2 hours with a thumb up your ass watching a documentary that has an extremely fake accented and annoying main character as he goes through hell turning into one of these fuckers. Then to get help from them and fuck them over. I left the theater. This is crap. Expand
  45. JessicaN
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    This is a low-budget movie, no special effects, poor in color, I still want to see the inside of the spaceship....the whole movie was shot on a landfill full of trash and garbage..the guy had the same "band-aids" attached on his fingernails during the whole movie, even when he was washed, showered and disinfected at the bio-lab...LOL...what a big mistake!
  46. MarlaC.
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Slow start - the documentary style was convincing but then we thought we were going to the movies - finally we started to care what happened to the characters. why is it that aliens always have better weapons that humans?
  47. Lesley
    Aug 19, 2009
    5
    It was well-made, I suppose and certainly gripping, but mostly it was disgusting, cruel, and inexplicable. Without any truly sympathetic human characters, I was left feeling hard-pressed to suspend disbelief on the aspects that were unrealistic or poorly explained.
  48. UptonK
    Aug 24, 2009
    6
    Something is really wrong with action-oriented films. Once again, I left the theatre feeling bludgeoned to death and a bit starved for a story. The action, once it started, was eardrum-splitting and constant, while the story itself seemed to be based solely on the girth of the special effects budget. The love story between the transforming government worker and his wife was never Something is really wrong with action-oriented films. Once again, I left the theatre feeling bludgeoned to death and a bit starved for a story. The action, once it started, was eardrum-splitting and constant, while the story itself seemed to be based solely on the girth of the special effects budget. The love story between the transforming government worker and his wife was never believable for a moment. It was dull and listless. Also, the end shot of the fully transformed government worker making metal posies to leave on the doorstep of his wife was positively vomit-inducing. The villainy of the father-in-law also strained the realms of credibility. (Really? Not a shred of conflict working within while you sit next to your daughter and lie like a bureaucrat?) I did buy the moment the one government official gave his approval to the mad scientist to start hacking up the transforming government worker - that rang with great clarity. I only wish the mad scientist had gotten to complete the task. That would have been interesting. Overall, the human relations in this movie were not-so-much one dimensional as they were gaseous. On the other hand, the relationship between the father and son alien scored with me. In fact, if it were not for the child alien, this film would have been unwatchable. I loved the premise. Ideologically there was so much to work with, so much to ponder and explore. Unfortunately, with all those guns going off, who had time to think? (Obviously not the screen writers.) The back-story was far more interesting than the plotted present. They should have filmed the back-story. Expand
  49. SteveT
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    Ground-breaking, superb presentation of background. Terrible story & characters. If you love Sci-Fi, as I do, this film is worth seeing, simply for the interesting realm in which it takes place. (For example, only once in the show do I see an alien acting distinctly human as it strikes an inanimate object in frustration.) Otherwise, avoid this movie. Stupid aliens with advanced tech has Ground-breaking, superb presentation of background. Terrible story & characters. If you love Sci-Fi, as I do, this film is worth seeing, simply for the interesting realm in which it takes place. (For example, only once in the show do I see an alien acting distinctly human as it strikes an inanimate object in frustration.) Otherwise, avoid this movie. Stupid aliens with advanced tech has been done many times, and much, much better in print. Flat characters with no redeeming qualities is rarely done in film or print, because it works so poorly. My initial impression of the show was: Cool. My final impression was: Rats. I'm truly astonished that this film is so intensely satisfying for so many people, when for me it ranks with Alien vs. Predator and Tomb Raider 2...it was OK. Expand
  50. avery
    Dec 14, 2009
    4
    Lame B sci-fi film supposedly gentrified by a ham-fisted (and actually not very thorough) patina of political allegory. people see it as deep because they want to believe they can see depth. some of the effects are good, but this film is elegantly done like something by ridley scott or spielberg. it's a shoot 'em gorfest. it'll seem sympathetic to people who like jar-jarLame B sci-fi film supposedly gentrified by a ham-fisted (and actually not very thorough) patina of political allegory. people see it as deep because they want to believe they can see depth. some of the effects are good, but this film is elegantly done like something by ridley scott or spielberg. it's a shoot 'em gorfest. it'll seem sympathetic to people who like jar-jar binks. there are no characters. there's nothing resembling thoughtful, provocative interaction between humans. and, overall,it makes black africans look like insanely superstitious sadistic violent trigger-happy hoodlums. the worst PR for africa possible. i'm tired of seeing films made by misanthropes. Expand
  51. Feb 12, 2015
    5
    District 9 is a frustrating film. The movie opens with a fantastic set up providing a more realistic and believable version of contact with aliens. This premise could’ve lended itself to a brilliant social commentary on issues such as race and segregation but the film throws that out the window turning into a dumb action movie with poorly developed characters and pointless shaky cam. IfDistrict 9 is a frustrating film. The movie opens with a fantastic set up providing a more realistic and believable version of contact with aliens. This premise could’ve lended itself to a brilliant social commentary on issues such as race and segregation but the film throws that out the window turning into a dumb action movie with poorly developed characters and pointless shaky cam. If this film had just made itself clear that it was going to be a dumb action film from the start I would’ve been less harsh but the fact that this film opens with such a great foundation to a point where this would’ve been a 7/10 and then quickly throws that a way in favor of running and shooting. Check the film out if you are curious but don’t expect anything deep or meaningful. Expand
  52. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    District 9 is an interesting , curious and different film for what we see very often. But, there are some stuff that don't plug and are tiresome, though, I like the theme that is presented for the crowd and messages that we can notice later on.
  53. May 14, 2012
    6
    Weird. A very hit and miss film which does more wrong than right, but will be entertaining enough for most to be worth a watch. I'm not a fan of films which are shot in a documentary style, and by far and away the best bits of the film are where it's shot like a normal film. The film treats the aliens and characters in general as far too disposable too - you really do just see them asWeird. A very hit and miss film which does more wrong than right, but will be entertaining enough for most to be worth a watch. I'm not a fan of films which are shot in a documentary style, and by far and away the best bits of the film are where it's shot like a normal film. The film treats the aliens and characters in general as far too disposable too - you really do just see them as cannon fodder and often find yourself asking 'why don't we just wipe them out?'. There's also massively implausible and unbelievable parts in the plot, which water the entire experience down too. So what makes it worth a watch? Well it can be quite emotionally intense in the odd bit, and the violence + action is done really well, with a good ending scrap. A throw-away film popcorn film which is suited to putting on in the background when you have mates round. Expand
  54. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    This is a very tricky one for me to review as when it started I hated it. I thought it would end up as being terrible, but as it went on it slowly got better to having a pretty decent conclusion. I hated that it had to take so long to get there so it affected it's final score, but the overall concept was a great idea, it was just bad delivery especially in the first hour or so. OverallThis is a very tricky one for me to review as when it started I hated it. I thought it would end up as being terrible, but as it went on it slowly got better to having a pretty decent conclusion. I hated that it had to take so long to get there so it affected it's final score, but the overall concept was a great idea, it was just bad delivery especially in the first hour or so. Overall it's a bad film that had potential to be a very good film, but it seems most that watched it still loved it. Expand
  55. Nov 16, 2013
    6
    District 9 is more of a 6.
    The movie is entertaining, but with very little substance. The plot is good and the acting is fine, but there is far too much unexplained to take it seriously. No real answers are given as to why the aliens or "prawns" came to earth or why Africa was in charge of the situation, or why the aliens didn't use their weapons to kill all of us. The movie is thought
    District 9 is more of a 6.
    The movie is entertaining, but with very little substance. The plot is good and the acting is fine, but there is far too much unexplained to take it seriously. No real answers are given as to why the aliens or "prawns" came to earth or why Africa was in charge of the situation, or why the aliens didn't use their weapons to kill all of us. The movie is thought provoking and successful on many levels, but the plot relies to heavily on a single character, and leaves to much unanswered.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    100
    Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    90
    Grabs you by the eyeballs from the very first frame.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Engber
    50
    As an allegory of racial conflict and mass immigration, District 9 never really goes anywhere: The appealing premise fades into the background before 20 minutes have elapsed.