User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1277 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhilG
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Never in my 23 year of movie watching have I come this close to geek epiphany. This movie was a mental Orgasm, a paroxism of awe from start to finish. Deep, cunning and very much alive. If this rating system allowed an 11, I would give it. It's simple, to not like this movie implies idiocy, lack of morality and lack of perception. Since Ive seen it, I'm disgusted at myself for Never in my 23 year of movie watching have I come this close to geek epiphany. This movie was a mental Orgasm, a paroxism of awe from start to finish. Deep, cunning and very much alive. If this rating system allowed an 11, I would give it. It's simple, to not like this movie implies idiocy, lack of morality and lack of perception. Since Ive seen it, I'm disgusted at myself for being human, now please excuse me while I go kill myself. Expand
  2. BrianM
    Aug 18, 2009
    8
    I don't normally go for sci-fi movies, but District 9 was definitely bad-ass. The plot was innovative and fresh, the visual effects were stellar and the tension was excruciating. The docudrama feel lent the movie a feeling of authenticity. Sharlto Copley was brilliant. He gave one of the year's breakthrough performances and should be on his way to superstardom after this. The I don't normally go for sci-fi movies, but District 9 was definitely bad-ass. The plot was innovative and fresh, the visual effects were stellar and the tension was excruciating. The docudrama feel lent the movie a feeling of authenticity. Sharlto Copley was brilliant. He gave one of the year's breakthrough performances and should be on his way to superstardom after this. The political satire was a bit heavy handed, but that didn't take away from the overall impact of the film. This is the thrill ride of the summer. Expand
  3. DominicS
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    One of the best Sci Fi movies of all time. It's on my top 5 list allong with the Matrix, the Terminator 2, and ET.
  4. robertol
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Name one scfi-fi that has done better the last 15 years???. End of discusion. The bad news: Some smart people gave the halo project to spielberg by snatching it from this guy's (the director of d9) hand hahahaha.
  5. AprilS
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    I thought this movie was utterly brilliant, from beginning to end. I'm a serious sci-fi fan, and it's hard to surprise me, but this movie totally did; I was not expecting it to be so engaging, so moving, so funny, or so ultimately sad. Right up to the last minute, I had no idea what the lead character would really do- and btw, Sharlto Copley was a revelation. This was "Alien" I thought this movie was utterly brilliant, from beginning to end. I'm a serious sci-fi fan, and it's hard to surprise me, but this movie totally did; I was not expecting it to be so engaging, so moving, so funny, or so ultimately sad. Right up to the last minute, I had no idea what the lead character would really do- and btw, Sharlto Copley was a revelation. This was "Alien" meets "The Fly" meets "Alien Nation" meets "The Island of Dr. Moreau", all set against the striking and unabashedly ugly hisorical background of Johannesburg. I was left wanting the sequel ("The Rescue"??) and ran home to look up the cast and crew online. "Instant classic" seems like an oxymoron, but this is the exception that proves the rule. Blomkanp and Copley are the new Matt and Ben. Expand
  6. Jeff
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    I wasn't exactly sure what I was walking into: critique on race relations, sci-fi mystery of aliens, action shoot em up, etc...? Ultimately the movie is definitely sci-fi action but it always tried to add more commentary and layers (though not always succeeding). It is easily one of the more interesting movies to be released this year and worth the time and money to enjoy. Also...I wasn't exactly sure what I was walking into: critique on race relations, sci-fi mystery of aliens, action shoot em up, etc...? Ultimately the movie is definitely sci-fi action but it always tried to add more commentary and layers (though not always succeeding). It is easily one of the more interesting movies to be released this year and worth the time and money to enjoy. Also... Pllleeeaaaaseee make this into a video game, I was so envious at some parts with how great this would adapt to gaming. Expand
  7. JessicaR
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    It is surprising to me that there are viewers out there who couldn't sit back and really enjoy this movie. Despite all of the repeatedly and dramatically mentioned mistakes listed below this movie was just freaking fun to watch. Yeah, cliches were present, yeah, there was violence and people exploded, yeah there were some plot holes. Did no one else think this movie was just damn It is surprising to me that there are viewers out there who couldn't sit back and really enjoy this movie. Despite all of the repeatedly and dramatically mentioned mistakes listed below this movie was just freaking fun to watch. Yeah, cliches were present, yeah, there was violence and people exploded, yeah there were some plot holes. Did no one else think this movie was just damn entertaining?? And Sharlto Copley is actually South African, so I'm not sure why there are complaints regarding accents..... Overall, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I loved that Wikus was a mega-dweeb turned action star. I thought he was believable and I'm hoping I will see him in many more future films. The only reason this movie doesn't get a perfect, is because the ending was slightly anti-climactic. I understand why they ended it the way they did, but inside I know I was hoping for a wee bit more. Definitely worth your theater dollars people! Expand
  8. TheFly
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    I do agree that this is one of the best sci-fi movies of the past 10-20 years with an incredibly original concept. I, too, was entertained virtually the entire two hours and really agreed with one review's sentiment that District 9 is "so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread." My only criticisms are 1) The I do agree that this is one of the best sci-fi movies of the past 10-20 years with an incredibly original concept. I, too, was entertained virtually the entire two hours and really agreed with one review's sentiment that District 9 is "so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread." My only criticisms are 1) The ship's fuel did not need to be the same as that which transformed Wikus and 2) the main protagonist mercenary wasn't as well acted as I would have liked. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience that will wear well for years and years. Expand
  9. JoshB
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    It's sad how rare it is to see a an action movie with so much thought put into the story/script -- but it also makes you appreciate District 9 that much more.
  10. joshuab
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    I really loved this movie. The way the special effects blend in seamlessly with the documentary style film making in the first half is whats most ground breaking about this film. Also impressive is the way in which you are connected to the alien characters and wikuses plot arch. His transformation is very convincing due to his awesome performance. Just because his transformation draws I really loved this movie. The way the special effects blend in seamlessly with the documentary style film making in the first half is whats most ground breaking about this film. Also impressive is the way in which you are connected to the alien characters and wikuses plot arch. His transformation is very convincing due to his awesome performance. Just because his transformation draws inspiration from the fly does not mean it isn't original and powerful. People who criticize it for ripping off other movies are way to overzealous and just being nit pickey. Drawing inspiration does not mean you can't make your film unique. Anyways this is a great and yes GROUNDBREAKING MOVIE. Expand
  11. KenT
    Aug 20, 2009
    7
    This is a war film masquerading as science fiction. The excessive gore reminds me of Black Hawk Down. The film makers chose to set this film in South Africa and don't disguise the parallels with racial tensions in that country during the apartheid system of oppression. I thought the movie worked okay as an action flick, but I found the social commentary to be heavy handed and This is a war film masquerading as science fiction. The excessive gore reminds me of Black Hawk Down. The film makers chose to set this film in South Africa and don't disguise the parallels with racial tensions in that country during the apartheid system of oppression. I thought the movie worked okay as an action flick, but I found the social commentary to be heavy handed and therefore to have less impact than if it were more deftly handled. Expand
  12. steves
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Not at all a subtle allegory, but a very effective one nonetheless, and not only a warning of what lies ahead, but what is happening now in that other world that we will learn about when it is too late.
  13. MattK
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    An incredible sci-fi movie thanks to it's originality, action, and terrific story-telling. I found myself on the edge of my seat hoping for the good guy to survive, which is something I haven't done for a LONG time. I especially liked the epic progression of the hero, as well as the effects were spectacular, while not being too in-your-face. An instant classic, and hopefully and An incredible sci-fi movie thanks to it's originality, action, and terrific story-telling. I found myself on the edge of my seat hoping for the good guy to survive, which is something I haven't done for a LONG time. I especially liked the epic progression of the hero, as well as the effects were spectacular, while not being too in-your-face. An instant classic, and hopefully and instant sequal as well. Expand
  14. SeifZ
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Although this movie hasn't come out in the UK yet as of writing, I managed to find a way to see it (ssshhh) in decent enough quality. Needless to say, this film is definitely worth a cinema visit. The premise and concept are superbly realised and the main character (Wickers/Vickers?) is very likeable. The actor playing him brings a real naivity and bumbling foolery to the guy but Although this movie hasn't come out in the UK yet as of writing, I managed to find a way to see it (ssshhh) in decent enough quality. Needless to say, this film is definitely worth a cinema visit. The premise and concept are superbly realised and the main character (Wickers/Vickers?) is very likeable. The actor playing him brings a real naivity and bumbling foolery to the guy but he's so sweet and you really feel for him. The aliens are great, with the CGI really doing wonders in most cases. The story is good but a little in-cohesive on account of the 3 act set-up. I think I would have preferred the whole film to be a mockumentary like how it begins. In any case, each of the 3 acts work really well individually. The interaction between the humans and prawns seems fairly realistic and quite original to me. The action is superb and often very cool. It can be gory which I love but then you get body-horror elements which were revolting. I'd like to get more into the backstory and would welcome any spin-offs/sequels/prequels that may come. Go see this film and look out for Neil Blomkamp, the director. He's the next big thing but needs to improve the story-telling and character development issues but he can handle everything else better than most veteran filmmakers. Expand
  15. Noirling
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This is a stellar film. Not a stupid summer flick with men in tights or rock'm sock'm robots. Most films like this would get a low rating, but District 9 is different. By that, I mean there is a character who undergoes real change. He starts out as a tool, and by the end of the movie we see he has overcome his internal prejudism. The ending is beautifully subtle, even if it is This is a stellar film. Not a stupid summer flick with men in tights or rock'm sock'm robots. Most films like this would get a low rating, but District 9 is different. By that, I mean there is a character who undergoes real change. He starts out as a tool, and by the end of the movie we see he has overcome his internal prejudism. The ending is beautifully subtle, even if it is incomplete. This movie NEEDS a sequel, just like Kill Bill vol. 1 did. Yet, it does stand alone as a perfectly viable work. It's disturbing how many people really didn't get it and, in fact, have a violent reaction to it. Could it be that these people all harbor a prejudism of their own? Expand
  16. TrevorL
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This is a rarity: a science fiction film that both says something meaningful about humanity and is fun to watch. Unlike some reviewers, I found neither the message nor the violence too strong for the subject; on the contrary, the message is inherently strong--to dilute it to satisfy milquetoast sentiments would be a betrayal--and the action had to kick it up or fall behind. I consider This is a rarity: a science fiction film that both says something meaningful about humanity and is fun to watch. Unlike some reviewers, I found neither the message nor the violence too strong for the subject; on the contrary, the message is inherently strong--to dilute it to satisfy milquetoast sentiments would be a betrayal--and the action had to kick it up or fall behind. I consider this nearly the ideal treatment of the concept, which is fresh itself. Expand
  17. TimD
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Best movie that has been in theaters in a while. Well worth watching.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    when it first started i was dissapointed. it picks up and then you truly begin to care about the main character. there was a couple of plot leaks with some wtf moments...but but it kept my attention completely after the first 10 minutes. thoroughly enjoyable; it ended up being the best science fiction movie i've see in quite some time...light years better than star trek earlierwhen it first started i was dissapointed. it picks up and then you truly begin to care about the main character. there was a couple of plot leaks with some wtf moments...but but it kept my attention completely after the first 10 minutes. thoroughly enjoyable; it ended up being the best science fiction movie i've see in quite some time...light years better than star trek earlier this summer. Expand
  19. ChrisS
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Best Sci-Fi so far this year, and in a long time. Entertaining from start to finish. Intense, emotional and funny.
  20. Chris
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou for finally giving us a good sci-fi movie this year. I just wish the movie was longer. I didn't want it to end quite yet. Left me wanting more. A sequel perhaps? But overall the movie worked well as a stand alone. Will be buying it on Blu Ray on day one.
  21. JudyT
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    Very interesting movie, though the story could have been better if they had told us move about the aliens.
  22. brnadone
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    This is the best movie of the summer!!!!!!!!! this movie is awesome from beginning to end this is why these guys should of made the halo movie and for that shithead that walk out your some dry up human husk with no imagination so because its not a big Hollywood release u walk out fuck people like u!!!!!!!!
  23. WarrenR
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie. I do not see why people would not want to see it. The plot seemed fine and the aliens seems mysterious (on purpose). The characters were somewhat likable (purposely) I will not post spoilers but the plot is textbook but only at the most highest level. When you look at it the plot is very original.
  24. ceej
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Best sci-fi of the year. Best mech battle ever. I can't believe this movie is low budget. They are going to make a lot of money, and hopefully they'll make more movies like this. Quite different than movies I've seen before.
  25. GregQ
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Easily the best movie of the summer.
  26. LoganG.
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    The Movie filled with characters that are easy to empathize with, and are well developed. First 20 minutes are really slow, after that though its a roller coaster ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time.
  27. ZoranS
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    O man, the feeling I believed I've never got back again. The electrical euphoria after reading last page on Clark's or Asimov's great novels. My critics are always tough, rough and merciless but this time, resistance was futile - 10.
  28. jeoffreyl
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    A truly great film.
  29. SidV.
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    I have just returned from seeing it at the multiplex. Terrific movie that slowly grabs you and drags you along for the ride whether or not you want to go. Incredibly realistic special effects and a great cast of less than well-known actors. Only when the final credits roll can one release the tension and breathe out.
  30. PhoenixR
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    By far the most entertaining, refreshing, invigorating, gripping, touching, original, AWESOME, film I have seen in a long time. Simply great!!!
  31. JustinW.
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest sci-fi movie ever created. Go see it right now!
  32. RickA
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    This was an interesting story and well acted. I liked it quite a lot. I did feel that the filming of it was a bit choppy at times but I suppose that the nature of the news like cinematography would have something to do with that though.
  33. JimS
    Sep 12, 2009
    8
    Innovative, fresh, and interesting, District 9 is a mélange of genres that amazingly works well. Emotionally provocative, and thoughtful, with a dash of summer movie mayhem, it is this summer's must see movie.
  34. DeonM
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. South Africas best movie release ever. Yes there was a lot of swearing by the main actor that irritated me a bit, but this doesnt stop this from being utterly awesome!
  35. AdrainG
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    For all the people that didnt like it, well you must not have really paid attention. I read over a few reviews about story line and people questioning why things were the way they were, and the best way to explain why they didnt understand the movie is simple:They didnt pay any attention. I thought the movie was top notch. Main actor made since in acting how anyone would if they were For all the people that didnt like it, well you must not have really paid attention. I read over a few reviews about story line and people questioning why things were the way they were, and the best way to explain why they didnt understand the movie is simple:They didnt pay any attention. I thought the movie was top notch. Main actor made since in acting how anyone would if they were trying to survive and were in a f-ed up situation. Plot was very original. The movie "if you paid attention" kept you very much into the the plot and the cg aliens looked like something different for a change than your typical alien. Little alien kid was cool, made you feel sorry for the little dude. The only thing I wouldnt recommend is that they resist making a sequel to it. Leave it how it is, the only way to make it bad is by trying to milk more money from it. Lastly with peoples issues with race in the movie, its the 21st century. Why dont we actually take a look at how things really are and notice it. Its just another very emotional trait that can be used in films that does make sense and that we can relate to. Expand
  36. SouthAfrican
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    LOL @ The Swans comment That is exactly how the smugglers are, always hyped on on weed and other drugs and if you knew anything, and I mean anything about South Africa then you would know that the balcks here are EXTREMELY superstitious. but I digress... This is honestly one of the best films that has EVER been produced in South Africa, I had awesome CGI andwhat, I believe, was an LOL @ The Swans comment That is exactly how the smugglers are, always hyped on on weed and other drugs and if you knew anything, and I mean anything about South Africa then you would know that the balcks here are EXTREMELY superstitious. but I digress... This is honestly one of the best films that has EVER been produced in South Africa, I had awesome CGI andwhat, I believe, was an accurate representation of what apartheid South Africa was like for black South Africans, but depicting the aliens as the blacks. Also you can see my office in the one scene :P no seriously you can :) All in all, I rate it was an epic movie and well deserves the praise that it is gettin. Expand
  37. iainw
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    By far one of the best films this year, forget pathetic attempts that have had tons of money thrown at them like watchmen or special effects like final destination 3D, if you want a good mix of funny moments, serious story, interesting twists and character development, sci fi fan or not, you will love district 9.
  38. AranL
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    This is seriously amazing! You can not miss out, I dont want to wreck the story but I will say, you will be suprised and please dont read the discription that is given by MetaCritic as it reveals to much, this is one of those movies like I am Legend which is kept hidden and you have to watch it yourself to find out what it is really about, you cant just watch the trailer. Back to the This is seriously amazing! You can not miss out, I dont want to wreck the story but I will say, you will be suprised and please dont read the discription that is given by MetaCritic as it reveals to much, this is one of those movies like I am Legend which is kept hidden and you have to watch it yourself to find out what it is really about, you cant just watch the trailer. Back to the movie, it is very realistic, no over the top action, it has low budget and has followed in the footsteps of Lord of the Rings (excluding the music, well maybe because I didnt pay attention to the music, maybe I will like it if I watch the movie again). This movie is for people that like true movies, this is not for people that like chick flicks and never really think about the movie or go into details. They just want to watch it and... thats about it, they never appreciate it. But please dont listen to what I am saying, movies unlike games, can not be judges, every one will like something totally different. Games gets judged on things like how well the controls are, how many glitches there are, how fun it is to play, etc. But movies are judged on their story, every one likes a different story line and I NEVER listen to one of these stupid critics who think they are so great and every thing they say is right. If I see a movie that I think looks good, I will watch it. Thanks for reading :) Expand
  39. EricMoz
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    This is a god movie.
  40. AlanH
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    What a fantastic movie! Wonderful plot and characters. Highly recommended for any movie fan.
  41. BmanF.
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    Surprisingly emotional. You grow to feel sorry for Wikus despite all of his flaws. Spectacular action and the effects were completely convincing, you stopped thinking about them after the first 5 minutes. Maybe about 5-10 minutes too long but definitely worth seeing in a theatre. An assault on the senses in the best possible way.
  42. NikiH
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Something in this movie is so...So Great and intense! The movie is sad and and exiting. Wikus is a stupid nerd in the beginning, but then he will become a good, desperate man. Movie of the year.
  43. satanicmajesty
    Sep 28, 2009
    9
    Man. This movie was so, so great that I didn't even realised when the "documentary touch" turned into a scintillating sci-fi movie. Fantastic pace, brilliant EFX, and fantastic story. I just got hooked on it in such a way... It's a bit difficult to swallow the idea of aliens sharing the planet with mankind. But well... this is a movie, for a start, and everything is possbile in Man. This movie was so, so great that I didn't even realised when the "documentary touch" turned into a scintillating sci-fi movie. Fantastic pace, brilliant EFX, and fantastic story. I just got hooked on it in such a way... It's a bit difficult to swallow the idea of aliens sharing the planet with mankind. But well... this is a movie, for a start, and everything is possbile in movies, as long as the facts and events are coherent within the plot itself. 9 because of some cliche moments, but that's just me. Expand
  44. SteveM.
    Sep 3, 2009
    7
    The first half of this movie was good where its really broad. But then it starts revolving around the one guy who no one really likes. I was really hoping for an independence day-like movie instead the whole movie takes place within like 5 miles and doesn't really affect anyone .
  45. DavidZ
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    People who give this movie below a 7 or 8, either have a biased agenda or just didn't get it. Best movie of the summer! I empathized and connected more with Christopher(the main prawn character) more than most human actors. And he didn't speak a lick of English, and wasn't even "real". cgi was excellent. Story was interesting and well paced. For not having well known People who give this movie below a 7 or 8, either have a biased agenda or just didn't get it. Best movie of the summer! I empathized and connected more with Christopher(the main prawn character) more than most human actors. And he didn't speak a lick of English, and wasn't even "real". cgi was excellent. Story was interesting and well paced. For not having well known "accomplished" actors, they did a really good job. Makes the Hollywood big budget projects of the summer like TF2,GIjoe and Terminator look like utter b-movie failures. The only sci-fi/actioner of the summer on a similar level to this would be the StarTrek reboot. Go see it, and forget the misguided and tasteless haters. Expand
  46. RobertB.
    Sep 7, 2009
    8
    The movie snobs that love to analyze a movie to death and not actually watch it are probably not going to like it. I loved it, it's a good movie, it does not a slow start to the action, but overall it does have a good story. People who are complaining about plot holes are nuts. They don't explain every little detail, they leave it up in the air, much like real life. *SPOLIERS* The movie snobs that love to analyze a movie to death and not actually watch it are probably not going to like it. I loved it, it's a good movie, it does not a slow start to the action, but overall it does have a good story. People who are complaining about plot holes are nuts. They don't explain every little detail, they leave it up in the air, much like real life. *SPOLIERS* The humans are just guessing that the ship is out of fuel, etc. The truth is, that the humans are only theorizing on why they are on earth and why they can't go back. It was even mentioned in the first 10 minutes of the movie, but i see most of the negative reviews missed that point completely. It does have a shaky cam sometimes, but if you play video games or are under 30, it shouldn't be a problem at all. It's a good summer action flick which doesn't take much thought. Don't listen to the bad reviews. Expand
  47. MoisésA.
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I'm breathless. This movie is the best movie I saw this year. OMG, I just don't know what to say.
  48. GustavoG.
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. In beginning of movie we had an impression that things will not go good. But, as the history goes, we can clearly see how good it is. A week man is charged as a leader of extra-terrestrial control MNU, only because the wish of move aliens out of City is illegal and dangerous. But this man overcomes what was expected from him, and more, starts a strongly sentimental Absolutely fantastic. In beginning of movie we had an impression that things will not go good. But, as the history goes, we can clearly see how good it is. A week man is charged as a leader of extra-terrestrial control MNU, only because the wish of move aliens out of City is illegal and dangerous. But this man overcomes what was expected from him, and more, starts a strongly sentimental relationship with one alien, been a real leader. Another fact that really is touching is that the aliens has a feeling between parents, just like humans (for us they look like insects only). Note 10 for history. If the production spent more money it could easy be 10 in all aspects. Gustavo Gama. Expand
  49. MilesW
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    District 9 managed to sicken me and draw me in at the same time. Certainly, this film has minor flaws, but it gripped me in a way that few films ever have. Easily in my top ten overall, top five for SF.
  50. TimR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This movie was great, to those who think it made no sense... Why does this have to be believable. Of course the MNU had lots of power but how good would the movie be showing protesters and the UN. This wasnt in the US and things around the world are run by over powered governments and companies. The movie kept you wondering whats gonna happen next and you kinda had a clue to will Wikus go This movie was great, to those who think it made no sense... Why does this have to be believable. Of course the MNU had lots of power but how good would the movie be showing protesters and the UN. This wasnt in the US and things around the world are run by over powered governments and companies. The movie kept you wondering whats gonna happen next and you kinda had a clue to will Wikus go back to save Thomas but you had the sense of well maybe he really isnt. Many of times i though Wikus was dead and Thomas was too. This movie all together was very exciting and kept you interested and if it didnt stick to Jerassic Park maybe thats a bit more realistic to you. Expand
  51. AlexT
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie! it was unique and different, something that should be in most movies nowadays.
  52. BrettS.
    Apr 18, 2010
    10
    Great movie, great plot, and great ideas. All together must see for sci-fi enthusiasts.
  53. johnp
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    The thing about this movie is that it hold up a mirror to the human race, it is satire of the most blunt sort and will polarise opinions. The moment you make the effort to understand the deep message you will enjoy it. It isn't a comedy, it isn't a horror movie, there is a little romance and the action is more instrumental in making a point than to entertain. As another reviewer The thing about this movie is that it hold up a mirror to the human race, it is satire of the most blunt sort and will polarise opinions. The moment you make the effort to understand the deep message you will enjoy it. It isn't a comedy, it isn't a horror movie, there is a little romance and the action is more instrumental in making a point than to entertain. As another reviewer said. this movie doesn't offer cheap thrills, it grabs you by your eyeballs, makes you feel uneasy/ashamed and filters right down to your heart. It isn't for all audiences but it is a masterpiece of a movie, constantly evoking strong and heartfelt emotions and continually providing shocks. There's a lot to be taken from this movie, however it'snot the usual light-hearted fare. When compared to war of the worlds this movie really shines. They are similar movies but this doesn't get boring, it is taught, intense and thrilling. A bit less gore than war of the worlds but infinitely more human brutality and excellent 'movement' enhanced by the camera work and interview format of certain parts. Expand
  54. NayaM
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    For once, a science fiction movie targeted to people who can *think* for themselves. It honestly gets to you when you least expect it. I felt like bitch-slapping the main character in the beginning. Half-way through the movie that changed into me being on the verge of tears from the guilt and shame I was feeling for what could have been actual human behavior were this true. And I was just For once, a science fiction movie targeted to people who can *think* for themselves. It honestly gets to you when you least expect it. I felt like bitch-slapping the main character in the beginning. Half-way through the movie that changed into me being on the verge of tears from the guilt and shame I was feeling for what could have been actual human behavior were this true. And I was just about ready to yell and cheer (for the aliens, heh) in the end. Like another guy said, a movie that makes you root for the ugly-looking aliens that don't speak a word of English is a good movie indeed. To those of you who didn't like it, please take into consideration that this wasn't a movie meant to make you feel all nice and cozy about how "nice" and "good" humans are and how the good-looking hero will always save the day. That was actually what usually bugged me the most in most Hollywood blockbusters. The world is a pink-tinted fairy-tale where good guys never die (or if they do, they get showered with honor) and humans are the finest specimen of life. Pftt. I see that and raise you a District 9. Expand
  55. NathanielD
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    This film is excellent, it can be hard to get into but once you get into the right mindset you will be captivated. The CGI is immense, looking absolutly real, A definate rental
  56. RitaR
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I loved this move. Throughout the movie I wondered what I would have done, had the spaceship landed over the state where I live. How caring would I have been, or how fearful would I have been? It's definitely not out of the question that this is something that could happen in my lifetime.
  57. LeahT.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    That anyone could seriously such a wonderfully unique and sensory science-fiction masterpiece a "0" here is suspect and ridiculous. One of the best and most original films in years. It might be a bit much for dimwits to appreciate.
  58. slipperyW
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    I liked this movie. Sure it wasnt the best, and it had its flaws, but by no means a bad film, jut not the greatest. I would certainly recomemd that u see this film eventually. Dont let people who say that the film was bad, and that the good rattings are a conspirecy, because they arent. I think theyre a conspiracy, actually. but dont listen to people who say its an absolute master piece, I liked this movie. Sure it wasnt the best, and it had its flaws, but by no means a bad film, jut not the greatest. I would certainly recomemd that u see this film eventually. Dont let people who say that the film was bad, and that the good rattings are a conspirecy, because they arent. I think theyre a conspiracy, actually. but dont listen to people who say its an absolute master piece, because its not. This is not a pass, nor a buy. But its a definite rent. Expand
  59. JanM.
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    As a South African this movie thumped me right in the gut. Like our recent xenophobia it is shocking to see South Africans apply apartheid to the first aliens to arrive. This movie will be remembered.
  60. JoeM
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    The most entertaining film of the year! Put Cloverfield and Black Hawk Down in a blender and you get District 9.
  61. BobbyG
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Best movie of the year. Most original. One of my favorite of all time actually. anybody who disses this movie is completely blind and very uncool. So F off if u wanna voice ur worthless opinion. All u idiots that didnt appreciate it would probably like gi joe. Disgusting.
  62. koubaroskoubaros
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Exceptional movie from start to finish, politically incorrect, with a strong documentary style filming and most of all containing realistic special effects more than the eye can take. You will have to see it in 1080p.
  63. TylerL
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Gripping movie... Thought the plot was great. Didn't want it to end.
  64. TenzinR
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Great movie overall, once the plot grabs onto you, it never lets go! Don't understand all the zeros though.
  65. EvanW.
    Dec 23, 2009
    8
    Overall, a fantastic film. Although, the action comes periously close to drowning out the theme, which is of power, and humanity's quest for it.
  66. WilliamC.
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    District 9: A Walk in Someone Else
  67. RYanC
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    A nice spin on what some could say is a dead topic. The plot was compelling and open ended enough to keep viewers hopeful for a follow up.
  68. JerryC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Amazing visual effects and story. Lead actor amazing as well.
  69. EthanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    This movie was truly original and thought provoking. It was just a great movie. Simple as that. I only have one beef however. The F word, is used distastefully to much. It becomes distracting at one point. Other than that great film. DO NOT, listen to Peter T's review. His extremist opinion is that of a neo nazi against Peter Jackson, not the film itself. Thank you for your time.
  70. PeterJ
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Fantastic movie. A blend of politics, an endearing storyline, and some good action as well. I think some were expecting an Independence Day type movie, but this is far far better than cheesy summer action movies.
  71. KenS
    Oct 23, 2009
    8
    D9 is one of those typical "hate it or love it" films. You got to accept the film as it is otherwise you wont have fun. If you're a sci-fi fan like I am there is a high probability that you will like this film, if you're someone who either is spoiled by no-saying blockbusters like 300 or not really interested in cinema then there is a probability that you wont like it. Lets face D9 is one of those typical "hate it or love it" films. You got to accept the film as it is otherwise you wont have fun. If you're a sci-fi fan like I am there is a high probability that you will like this film, if you're someone who either is spoiled by no-saying blockbusters like 300 or not really interested in cinema then there is a probability that you wont like it. Lets face the facts: It is indeed an original piece having a style I can't really compare to anything I've seen before. The visuals are great and you will dislike them only if you're really spoiled. What I think may be the cause for many people to dislike this movie is that they're are being thought a moral lesson by somehow bizzar aliens. But this film just doesn't deserve 0. To give this this piece 0 , my friends is a fucking joke. Expand
  72. VincentMD
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Definitely the BEST alien movie in the world. No kidding.
  73. WrathbunR
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    I bet most of the people who game this a bad review did so because of the subtitles. There are a larg group of people who dont think they should have to read anything when they go to a movie.
  74. AlexM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    It is an almost perfect movie.It has a few minor flaws but overall it is Great.I can't figure it out why there are people who hate it.I for one think it's a masterpiece.Is the movie original?Well for me it is, for the SF genre I can't tell since I haven't seen all of it's movies.But if it's not original what's the problem?The original Star Wars movies It is an almost perfect movie.It has a few minor flaws but overall it is Great.I can't figure it out why there are people who hate it.I for one think it's a masterpiece.Is the movie original?Well for me it is, for the SF genre I can't tell since I haven't seen all of it's movies.But if it's not original what's the problem?The original Star Wars movies are so Unoriginal yet everyone loves them. Expand
  75. AndyB
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    It's not the best film I've ever seen, but it is very good. I've read people complain that the lead isn't a likeable character, but surely that's the point. Perhaps irony doesn't translate well for some audiences. Ok, it isn't that original, but it is very entertaining and the director doesn't beat you over the head with a big moral mallet. Good It's not the best film I've ever seen, but it is very good. I've read people complain that the lead isn't a likeable character, but surely that's the point. Perhaps irony doesn't translate well for some audiences. Ok, it isn't that original, but it is very entertaining and the director doesn't beat you over the head with a big moral mallet. Good effects, good cast - how anyone can have rated this a 'zero' is beyond me. Loved it! Expand
  76. Conor
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Yes to all of this film.
  77. NoahG.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen.
  78. JeanD.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    You'll probably watch this film expecting just another corny alien movie. We all though that, oh how wrong we were.
  79. DaveK.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This movie is interesting, funny (at times), action packed, has an original story, great acting, and has some serious emotional bits in it. It's pretty much the definition of an entertaining cinematic experience. I total recommend it; it was awesome!
  80. JustinD
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, if there is one movie you absolutely have to see this summer, District 9 is it. Action packed, thrilling, flawlessly acted, emotionally resonant, and best of all: ORIGINAL. Sharlto Copley and Neill Blomkamp are two men that any fan of film should keep tabs on. Currently the movie of the year in my eyes and I highly doubt any film being able to come close to it, much Ladies and gentlemen, if there is one movie you absolutely have to see this summer, District 9 is it. Action packed, thrilling, flawlessly acted, emotionally resonant, and best of all: ORIGINAL. Sharlto Copley and Neill Blomkamp are two men that any fan of film should keep tabs on. Currently the movie of the year in my eyes and I highly doubt any film being able to come close to it, much less actually topping it. Expand
  81. Aaron
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This is a great, deep, and smart movie. It has many undertones about out modern society which makes it hit so much closer to home. Recommended.
  82. JH
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Really a stunning film. To me, this was like seeing The Matrix for the first time in the theater. Sci-fi action with imaginative writing and a soul. I can't really describe how incredible it was.
  83. JamesT
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    As good as "Planet of the Apes", almost as good as "Blade Runner".
  84. AlexanderM.
    Aug 14, 2009
    8
    Not for the fainted of heart. This movie has some pretty grotesque scenes. I
  85. AnonymousMC
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    I didn't know what I was getting into with this movie, but once it started I was so glad I saw it. This is an original sci-fi movie that I never seen. It was taking Starship Troopers, The Fly, and added a new depth of great story telling into it. This movie has everything! Action, sci-fi, drama, gore, and a great story. I loved it. It was a great ride from beginning to the end.I didn't know what I was getting into with this movie, but once it started I was so glad I saw it. This is an original sci-fi movie that I never seen. It was taking Starship Troopers, The Fly, and added a new depth of great story telling into it. This movie has everything! Action, sci-fi, drama, gore, and a great story. I loved it. It was a great ride from beginning to the end. There is a great career from this director, and I think the actor that plays Vickers has just started a great career as well. Would highly recommend this to anybody Expand
  86. ZackS
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    I almost cried in the theater. I never thought i would ever see a movie this good. This may be one of the greatest movies every made and i do not make that statement lightly. Go see this movie and experience what its like to visit District 9.
  87. JenI
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    Very smart movie - thought provoking - which is a nice change at the cinema.
  88. AaronH
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Neil Blomkamp has not made a good science fiction movie, he has made an amazing cinematic debut. that in my opinion has the potential to re-write the way Sci-fi is made for the 21st century. Story, VFX, Sound Design are all amazing as well as the cinematography & Direction. If you are a Sci-Fi Fan go see District 9 it will give you a sense of fictional rebirth.
  89. DominickD
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    A couple minor flaws do little to dampen what is probably one of the best films of this year. An interesting thriller that revolves around dark themes in human history, and whether or not something like this could in fact happen. Sharlto Copely deserves an oscar nod for his role, it was that emotionally powerful, and he truly made most of the movie. I really anticipate Blomkamp's A couple minor flaws do little to dampen what is probably one of the best films of this year. An interesting thriller that revolves around dark themes in human history, and whether or not something like this could in fact happen. Sharlto Copely deserves an oscar nod for his role, it was that emotionally powerful, and he truly made most of the movie. I really anticipate Blomkamp's next film, whatever it may be. Expand
  90. TravisF.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    Great!! Even better the second time.
  91. PeterG.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    An all around fantastic movie that will grip you from beginning to end.
  92. JohnH.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    Down to earth. Literally. The Director shows you just how awful human decision making can get, as well as the deep running greed in our governments. I wont lie, I almost came to tears a few times. Very Gripping. Best two hours ive spent in a theatre in a few years.
  93. jacks
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    Love this movie especially for a sci-fi fan like myself. i wouldn't call the plot a twist, but the plot was very new and something i'm jealous that i haven't thought of first >: ( i loved the characters and couldn't help but feel sorry for the poor aliens getting experimented and tested on though i did love when those bastard MNU soldiers got blown to hell and back Love this movie especially for a sci-fi fan like myself. i wouldn't call the plot a twist, but the plot was very new and something i'm jealous that i haven't thought of first >: ( i loved the characters and couldn't help but feel sorry for the poor aliens getting experimented and tested on though i did love when those bastard MNU soldiers got blown to hell and back again! the ending kept me on my toes and i don't want to give anything away to any readers that have not yet seen the movie, but, everything ends up being ok! and for those critics who think this was supposed to have a large amount of humor or comedy....c'mon guys, seriously! Expand
  94. victorv
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    The movie was more for the thinking person then the action loving fan showing how bad the human race can be but either way i just loved the documentary style and how the whole movie was put togther best ive seen in a very long time.
  95. JeffreyS
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    I was emotionally and mentally exhausted at the end of this film. Without spoiling anything (the "Critics" probably did that for you already), I'll just say that Blomkamph worked within a socially-recognized and Hollywood set of restraints to bring us one of the most original, intense, and socially savvy sci-fi movie of all time (Yes, it's that good). I can't say that this I was emotionally and mentally exhausted at the end of this film. Without spoiling anything (the "Critics" probably did that for you already), I'll just say that Blomkamph worked within a socially-recognized and Hollywood set of restraints to bring us one of the most original, intense, and socially savvy sci-fi movie of all time (Yes, it's that good). I can't say that this movie truly draws off anything else; the constant references to The Fly or any other movies are somewhat misguided. This movie is truly original and has raised the bar forever!!!!! Expand
  96. BezoO
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    The story is amazing. You really feel for the characters in this movie. Flows very well and I wanted more when the credits rolled...haven't had that feeling in a while.
  97. DaleP
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    I am not a fan of science fiction, or the traditional action-packed summer blockbuster affairs. I loved District 9. The sci-fi and action were present and accounted for, but the unique narrative structure and brilliant characterization set this apart from the typical genre flicks. I highly recommend District 9.
  98. JohnB
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Amazing! Really every bit as good as the reviews have said. Very well put together without being a pile of sci fi cliches. Plot was very intertwining but if the film has one fault, and it is a minor one mind you, is that it doesn't take enough time to fully develop the characters. You get to know them, but you want to know more. That aside, the movie delivers like nothing else Amazing! Really every bit as good as the reviews have said. Very well put together without being a pile of sci fi cliches. Plot was very intertwining but if the film has one fault, and it is a minor one mind you, is that it doesn't take enough time to fully develop the characters. You get to know them, but you want to know more. That aside, the movie delivers like nothing else you've seen. If this is the guy they want to do the Halo movie, I say let him do it, and let it be rated R! Superb first effort Neill, just a fantastic ride! Expand
  99. Trent
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    I think this movie totally rocked and to be comparing it to such movies as the fly and right legged freaks is just bad reviewing. After comparing my thoughts to the thoughts of some big name reviewers, makes me wonder what they watched. The have went down several notches in my book. Highly recommended.
  100. EthanR
    Aug 16, 2009
    7
    Good, just not THAT good.The movie is excellently directed and the concept is wholly original but the acting and dialogue can get tiring. The main character, even with his actions late in the movie, really has no redeeming qualities. He acts selfish, he curses excessively and, in short, is just difficult to feel bad for. Except for the final ten minutes or so he treats the prawns awfully, Good, just not THAT good.The movie is excellently directed and the concept is wholly original but the acting and dialogue can get tiring. The main character, even with his actions late in the movie, really has no redeeming qualities. He acts selfish, he curses excessively and, in short, is just difficult to feel bad for. Except for the final ten minutes or so he treats the prawns awfully, even when he is becoming one of them. Other things, like how he is able to use a robotic weapon not only in general but totally accurately with only one alien hand is dubious. Conversely, the prawns are certainly easy to sympathize with and it is too bad Christopher wasn't given more of a central role. As a whole and in spite of the main characters annoying acting and terrible personality the movie is certainly worth seeing. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    100
    Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    90
    Grabs you by the eyeballs from the very first frame.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Engber
    50
    As an allegory of racial conflict and mass immigration, District 9 never really goes anywhere: The appealing premise fades into the background before 20 minutes have elapsed.