TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1372 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,126
Mixed:
110
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TrentAug 16, 2009
I think this movie totally rocked and to be comparing it to such movies as the fly and right legged freaks is just bad reviewing. After comparing my thoughts to the thoughts of some big name reviewers, makes me wonder what they watched. The I think this movie totally rocked and to be comparing it to such movies as the fly and right legged freaks is just bad reviewing. After comparing my thoughts to the thoughts of some big name reviewers, makes me wonder what they watched. The have went down several notches in my book. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EthanRAug 16, 2009
Good, just not THAT good.The movie is excellently directed and the concept is wholly original but the acting and dialogue can get tiring. The main character, even with his actions late in the movie, really has no redeeming qualities. He acts Good, just not THAT good.The movie is excellently directed and the concept is wholly original but the acting and dialogue can get tiring. The main character, even with his actions late in the movie, really has no redeeming qualities. He acts selfish, he curses excessively and, in short, is just difficult to feel bad for. Except for the final ten minutes or so he treats the prawns awfully, even when he is becoming one of them. Other things, like how he is able to use a robotic weapon not only in general but totally accurately with only one alien hand is dubious. Conversely, the prawns are certainly easy to sympathize with and it is too bad Christopher wasn't given more of a central role. As a whole and in spite of the main characters annoying acting and terrible personality the movie is certainly worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
qwertyAug 16, 2009
As science fiction, trite but fast-flowing. As social allegory, really heavy-handed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JIAug 16, 2009
Most critics, both positive & negative are reading far too much into this film The basic plot is not original at all. It's a standard anti-hero/redemption adventure story. (and occasionally funny if you have a certain sense of humor... Most critics, both positive & negative are reading far too much into this film The basic plot is not original at all. It's a standard anti-hero/redemption adventure story. (and occasionally funny if you have a certain sense of humor... I certainly laughed out loud) BUT, it is done extremely well. It is stylistically unique, and the sci-fi is solid. It far exceeds expectations of typical Holloywood sci-fi adventure and should rightfully take it's place in the top five or ten of all time. I'd guess that if one really doesn't like the film, one probably isn't a fan of the genre, is creeped out by icky visuals, or simply can't relate to the South African cast & location or the refugee/concentration camp setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesGAug 16, 2009
Good flick. The idea is original unlike so many movies such. But it lacked strong characters, there was basically only one character throughout much of the movie, and it left the viewer wondering what happens next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamMAug 16, 2009
If you don't mind a little grit in your sci-fi then this is fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinAug 16, 2009
Awesome! Great action with an intense storyline! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyAug 16, 2009
My new favorite sci-fi film. District 9 is packed with intense action, heart-wrenching emotion, and a story that is not only unique, but perfectly executed. Fortunately, the ending is not so much a lame cliffhanger, but an excellent wrap up My new favorite sci-fi film. District 9 is packed with intense action, heart-wrenching emotion, and a story that is not only unique, but perfectly executed. Fortunately, the ending is not so much a lame cliffhanger, but an excellent wrap up to the story that it began, and allows room for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CeceliaAug 16, 2009
You owe it to yourself to see this film after enduring all the other horrible, soulless movies that came out this summer. Forget GI Joe, leave Transformers 2 behind; please, please please do yourself the favour of seeing District 9. Great You owe it to yourself to see this film after enduring all the other horrible, soulless movies that came out this summer. Forget GI Joe, leave Transformers 2 behind; please, please please do yourself the favour of seeing District 9. Great for all ages, engaging and stimulating... if you've got kids they'll walk out of the theater wanting to be movie-makers when they grow up. God help me; I wish more movies were like this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnAug 16, 2009
What a great movie. Very intense. Awesome storyline. What struck me the most is that it is very accurate with the sort of world we live: money & power is all that matters to the leaders of this world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeNAug 17, 2009
Flawless! This is perhaps the bets movie I've seen this summer and so far this year. District 9 is an amazing, smart, eye poping, and thrilling movie. The storyline is terrific. Not only that, but it's the best alien movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KRAug 17, 2009
Nearly a perfect movie. It's also a great way of sorting who in a movie theatre is capable of independent thought. If they say: "not enough explosion" they were expecting Independence Day. If they say "Wow" and are speechless, then they Nearly a perfect movie. It's also a great way of sorting who in a movie theatre is capable of independent thought. If they say: "not enough explosion" they were expecting Independence Day. If they say "Wow" and are speechless, then they could actually see the point of the very clever film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GumbyTheBorgAug 17, 2009
Wow, what an incredible surprise. With all the hype flying about, I was expecting some typical alien shoot-em up (or something thereof), but it actually turns out that this is actually excellent science fiction movie making. I would have to Wow, what an incredible surprise. With all the hype flying about, I was expecting some typical alien shoot-em up (or something thereof), but it actually turns out that this is actually excellent science fiction movie making. I would have to say that this is some of the best sci-fi to hit the big screen since "The Matrix". The fact that this movie was made with only $30 million blows my mind. This one's a keeper! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanKAug 17, 2009
In the last ten years, science fiction films have lost an edge they previously had. Films such as "I-Robot", "The War Of the Worlds" remake, even the 2009 rehash "Star Trek" lacked any social commentary and instead focused on action elements In the last ten years, science fiction films have lost an edge they previously had. Films such as "I-Robot", "The War Of the Worlds" remake, even the 2009 rehash "Star Trek" lacked any social commentary and instead focused on action elements to keep viewers entertained. Now, District 9 has an new tone on science-fiction, an incredible film which is by far one of the best science fiction films in a long time. The plot is filled with commentary on the social climate of the twenty-first century. The aliens in District 9 represent the situation in countries throughout the world in which immigrants are arriving in large numbers fleeing from disaster or war. MNU, the agency which "takes care" of the aliens shows a picture of a government who does not care about the situation and wants to leave it for others to fix. Sharlto Copley is incredible as the film's lead and as he transforms into an alien he loses hope only to find hope in a father and son family of aliens. While the aliens are CGI effects they have personalities where in the film you forget that they are effects, but true characters. The remaining actors are well-done in their roles and the film's final shot is sad, yet at the same time, partially up-lifting. There were faults mostly in regards to the gore effects. While the effects themselves were good, the monotone film print made the effects even more disgusting, which is not a bad thing, yet is not a good thing at the same time, due to large amounts of gore throughout the film. In conclusion, District 9 is truly a well thought masterpiece of cinema and it's conclusion leaves this viewer wondering about a follow-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JermaineCAug 17, 2009
Seriously, the pic that they have next to the rating here is basically a spoiler...... Overall, this movie is so original and fresh, it deserves a perfect score. Sharlto is an amazing actor, and about 3/4 of the way through it I had to stop Seriously, the pic that they have next to the rating here is basically a spoiler...... Overall, this movie is so original and fresh, it deserves a perfect score. Sharlto is an amazing actor, and about 3/4 of the way through it I had to stop and remind myself that I was watching a movie. Its so good, it feels like nonfiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidTAug 17, 2009
This movie is brilliant. It tackles world issues dead on and is relentless in it exposition of our human nature and society. However, the Director made one very large mistake. He began shooting scenes without script dialogue written. This This movie is brilliant. It tackles world issues dead on and is relentless in it exposition of our human nature and society. However, the Director made one very large mistake. He began shooting scenes without script dialogue written. This led to Actors creating their own dialog and Sharlto misuse of the F word. Sharlto whose character was dealing with a great amount of trauma and stress let loose a series of F bombs that were unecessary and in fact a touch revolting. Other than the dialog this movie is brilliant. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudreyG.Aug 17, 2009
Those movie was the best movie I have ever seen. Just perfect. Bill R that's not a reason to give District 9 a 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
arniebAug 18, 2009
Refreshing mix of everything, GREAT FILM! I loved the way they did a modern twist on the Wayne Bros style of comedy, but in scifi . loved the comedy-to-action-to-drama-to-emotive approach. Great gritty style scifi, GIVE US MORE OF THE SAME Refreshing mix of everything, GREAT FILM! I loved the way they did a modern twist on the Wayne Bros style of comedy, but in scifi . loved the comedy-to-action-to-drama-to-emotive approach. Great gritty style scifi, GIVE US MORE OF THE SAME FROM HOLLYWOOD TOO! PS hate Wayne bros stuff though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardMAug 18, 2009
One of the best sci-fi movies in a very long time. Killer action(literally), character development, and right on target humor, make this a movie to not miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidLAug 18, 2009
The movie is amazing, it's not a typical hollywood movie, but I left with my heart racing. Lightning guns which make people explode is a nice bonus. I also liked using a live pig as a ballistic weapon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Aug 18, 2009
Best film in a long time. Good Sci fi has always been about the present. This is good Sci fi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanRAug 18, 2009
Not a single second will you get bored...absolutely engrossing and fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianMAug 18, 2009
Best movie I have seen all year. I love the parallels between the movie and current events.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BaranAug 18, 2009
This was an amazing movie. Anyone who is a fan of scifi should go see it... hell anyone who is a fan of movies in general should go see it. Take all these bad reviews with a grain of salt. If you read all of them, you will realize that they This was an amazing movie. Anyone who is a fan of scifi should go see it... hell anyone who is a fan of movies in general should go see it. Take all these bad reviews with a grain of salt. If you read all of them, you will realize that they all contradict each other. One says the story is great, another will say it is awful. Someone says the CGI sucked while the others say that the CGI was the only saving grace. And some of the haters didn't even really get the movie. They didn't get the point of it or even what the social commentary was supposed to be. I think most of the bad reviews came from people who didn't get the movie so they write it off as boring, been done before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
driggyAug 18, 2009
Great movie with stunning visual effects. The plot is immersive and setting unique. A great sci fi movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarveyHAug 19, 2009
Anyone rating this a 6 or below probably thinks Michael Bay is the second coming of Christ to the movie world. This is one of the most original ideas to come out of Hollywood in a long time, it is a emotional roller coaster that any non Anyone rating this a 6 or below probably thinks Michael Bay is the second coming of Christ to the movie world. This is one of the most original ideas to come out of Hollywood in a long time, it is a emotional roller coaster that any non idiot will love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JarrodLAug 19, 2009
Without doubt the best of summer 09, and I would have to look a few years back to see something with the vision and unique feel of this. Children of Men? Blade Runner? This movie skips all the popcorn cliche's (slow mo zoomed in efx, Without doubt the best of summer 09, and I would have to look a few years back to see something with the vision and unique feel of this. Children of Men? Blade Runner? This movie skips all the popcorn cliche's (slow mo zoomed in efx, campy one liners) and does not shy away from being socially harsh at times. It holds a mirror to us in the way we treat 'outsiders' - how we justify our own insensitivity. It works as a social commentary on media, government, and class warfare. It also works as stand alone sci-fi, creating a believeable premise that is shot so as to make the fantastic appear average. Do not miss this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveFAug 19, 2009
Loved it loved it loved it! Very imaginative and entertaining! Excellent effects and a truly remarkable performance by the Lead actor. In a perfect world I would give him an oscar! Yes I would
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuniorWAug 19, 2009
There is no way to explain how brilliant of a movie this is if you haven't seen it, or if you have and don't think much of it; then you just aren't aware or are a complete fool. The movie has a lot of depth to it through all There is no way to explain how brilliant of a movie this is if you haven't seen it, or if you have and don't think much of it; then you just aren't aware or are a complete fool. The movie has a lot of depth to it through all the fantastic action and in your face story/plot. I really liked the fact that they just came out in the beginning of the movie and just let the audience see what they were dealing with from the jump. As for the environment in general and the interactions between the aliens and the humans, I'm thinking it was almost perfect. So much truth to a lot of the happenings and with more detail I could explain better but everyone needs to see this movie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerryGAug 19, 2009
Great sci-fi movie! A bit of language and a little gory at times, but the story and how it's told are well-done. It's really a franken-movie, in that I've seen or heard of most of the stuff before, but it comes together Great sci-fi movie! A bit of language and a little gory at times, but the story and how it's told are well-done. It's really a franken-movie, in that I've seen or heard of most of the stuff before, but it comes together nicely. I recognized parts of Alien Nation, Cloverfield, 5th Element, Enemy Mine, The Office (TV), Half-Life 2 (game), and more. Assuming you don't get squeamish easily, worth the ticket! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinMAug 21, 2009
District 9 was easily the most amazing film I have ever seen. It combined several elements to give it such an astounding impression - it brought into debate the issues of racial divide and segregation, the sense of "differentiation", and of District 9 was easily the most amazing film I have ever seen. It combined several elements to give it such an astounding impression - it brought into debate the issues of racial divide and segregation, the sense of "differentiation", and of course the elements of action and drama. For a relatively unknown director and cast, I was absolutely astounded at how phenomenal the movie was, both in terms of content and its overall impression. Go see it - you will not be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeenanSAug 22, 2009
This film is not perfect, but it damn sure is one of the best sci-fi flicks to come around in quite some time. This is unlike any other sci-fi film you can think of. While I do have to complain that it seems they thew in too much humor This film is not perfect, but it damn sure is one of the best sci-fi flicks to come around in quite some time. This is unlike any other sci-fi film you can think of. While I do have to complain that it seems they thew in too much humor considering it deals with political issues such as genocide and war, this is still a great film loaded with intense action scenes, a captivating storyline, and great acting. This is a definite must-see, it will rock your world and your perception of what a sci-fi film can do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JammoDAug 23, 2009
Different, original, incredible potential... One of the best movie I've ever seen. Drekkon says Green Light on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlanI.Aug 23, 2009
An interesting tale of troubled "race relations", the plot becomes a little thin as it concentrates too much on the struggling, cowardly protagonist of the film instead of the larger political implications (summer movie syndrome?). The gonzo An interesting tale of troubled "race relations", the plot becomes a little thin as it concentrates too much on the struggling, cowardly protagonist of the film instead of the larger political implications (summer movie syndrome?). The gonzo video journalism style of camera work gets a little nauseating on the big screen but extra points for telling a human story in the sci-fi genre without excessive action scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryHAug 23, 2009
It's a really good way to end this summer (almost) full of disappointments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AviAug 23, 2009
Excellent all around. Very moving and thought provoking. The acting is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorMAug 23, 2009
The only thing keeping this movie from receiving a perfect 10 in my mind is the a few minor plot holes that simply require a healthy suspension of disbelief to enjoy the movie. This movie is smart, exciting, thrilling, and enjoyable. The The only thing keeping this movie from receiving a perfect 10 in my mind is the a few minor plot holes that simply require a healthy suspension of disbelief to enjoy the movie. This movie is smart, exciting, thrilling, and enjoyable. The acting is believable and the special effects are amazing. If you enjoy an intelligent movie that has a coherent plot, this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidSAug 23, 2009
This movie was not quite what I expected, I liked it but it was definitely not what I expected. The effects were very well done it looked very real and believable. I am thinking by the way it ended that a sequel is on the cards. All in all, This movie was not quite what I expected, I liked it but it was definitely not what I expected. The effects were very well done it looked very real and believable. I am thinking by the way it ended that a sequel is on the cards. All in all, I think it is definitely worth seeing on the big screen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
joshdAug 24, 2009
One of the best, if not the best, sci-fi films ever made. Original, engrossing and the special effects are not encumbering like some heavy-ass cheesecake after dinner. They fit perfectly with the story, which there is more of than any recent One of the best, if not the best, sci-fi films ever made. Original, engrossing and the special effects are not encumbering like some heavy-ass cheesecake after dinner. They fit perfectly with the story, which there is more of than any recent special-effects laden film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkSAug 25, 2009
Great sci-fi/political satire/action film. Contained elements (or payed homage to) of the movie Enemy Mine, the book Black Like Me, Blackhawk Down, and a whole slew of other films and novels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnKAug 26, 2009
Great sci-fi action film, both hilarious & thrilling at the same time, with knowing nods to Alien (and Aliens), Starship Toopers, The Fly, Terminator, RoboCop, Independence Day, The Day The Earth Stood Still, and Invasion of the Body Great sci-fi action film, both hilarious & thrilling at the same time, with knowing nods to Alien (and Aliens), Starship Toopers, The Fly, Terminator, RoboCop, Independence Day, The Day The Earth Stood Still, and Invasion of the Body Snatchers. See it ASAP!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MannHAug 26, 2009
This is what a Summer action movie should be Thought provoking and intelligent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamRAug 26, 2009
If you haven't seen District 9, I advise you to go see it in theaters the moment it's possible. Don't wait for DVD or rip it off some torrent website, go see it in theaters. District 9 is a smart, occasionally funny, action If you haven't seen District 9, I advise you to go see it in theaters the moment it's possible. Don't wait for DVD or rip it off some torrent website, go see it in theaters. District 9 is a smart, occasionally funny, action thriller, easily the best of '09. The story is told from Wikus, who's closer to an average person than most action thrillers, as he has major flaws (such as marrying up to get a promotion "unexpectedly", selfish but an honest worker) who gets caught up in the midst of a conflict when he absent mindedly fools around with a canister, which roller coasters into fights that include but not limited to; Mechs, nasty as hell alien weaponry, Military vs Gang war, lots of blood and more. The fight scenes are well done, without the lens flares and ADHD camera handling. Even the stuff between the action is interesting, as it shows Wikus's life shattering and morphing before him as well as other life changing scenes for him and those around him. I'm trying not to spoil much of it, and I wish I could, because it's just a great movie worth telling about. Go see it damn you, and if you already did...well, do it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkusAug 29, 2009
As a South African filmmaker, I can without a doubt say that District 9 is the best South African film I've ever seen! Loved it from beginning to end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.Aug 31, 2009
Best Sci-Fi Flick I've seen in a long time, kinda brings back the independence day vibe....awesome!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Sep 11, 2009
Blown away from start to end. Brilliant acting and directing. Anybody giving it less than a 7..... well, you just cant appreciate a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sarahbSep 12, 2009
As a South African I found it hysterically funny as there were so many 'in jokes' that I'm sure people from other parts of the world may have missed out on. As for the plot being based on Apartheid, that is only partially As a South African I found it hysterically funny as there were so many 'in jokes' that I'm sure people from other parts of the world may have missed out on. As for the plot being based on Apartheid, that is only partially true...in fact the issue of 'aliens' can be more recently linked the the 2008 xenophobic attacks across South Africa, particularly in the settlements where Black South Africans were forced to move to during Apartheid. In these attacks black people from other African countries were attacked by black South Africans for, amongst other things, being too black...so the story has a greater message about how the abjected often become the oppressor. However, if you are not used to using your brain too much all the nuances will be missed on you and it may be better if you stick to the Hollywood blockbusters! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jasonzSep 12, 2009
What makes this film a ten? Well, it's certainly not for everybody. D9 is an unapologetic South African Sci-Fi. It tries to please nobody but itself - science fiction for south Africa, and south Africa alone. The layers of humor and What makes this film a ten? Well, it's certainly not for everybody. D9 is an unapologetic South African Sci-Fi. It tries to please nobody but itself - science fiction for south Africa, and south Africa alone. The layers of humor and social messages can only be really laughed at by South Africans, but they carry potent, hilarious, and often poisonous messages. At the same time, the film is a very clear salute to Hollywood: A thank-you letter from Soweto to LA, in a way... it takes references to south African life and blends them, creating a new, hyper-real and bizarrely interesting sci f landscape. The film explores the uncomfortable world of apartheid and many of its bizarre bureaucratic idiosyncrasies; at the same time it touches on scores of south African issues; from gangsterism to Muti killings; it rolls so many south African things up into a little ball, and then re-molds them in a Hollywood shape. As an abstract cultural exercise alone, D9 is extremely interesting; it represents turning point for African film fiction: the arrival of the popcorn movie. For Americans, this is not of interest at all; they've been watching popcorn flicks for years. For Africa, however, this is the first film of it's kind and as such it has immediately made it to the level of "important movie" in the developing world. It's this kind of film that will help to continue the process of emerging capitalist cultures that are attempting to establish their own voice within the resounding clamor of globalization. It's not scared of who it is, It's not afraid to be itself and it thus stands on two very strong legs. D9 is an underdog; an african film that, for the first time in history; topped the world box office... so, whatever your opinion of it might be; D9 kicked some serious ass. VIVA D9 VIVA. amandla. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecHSep 14, 2009
Okay, let's be fair, this movie was amazing. Contrary to what you might think, this is actually a very good sci-fi movie. The pacing was great; not once was I bored during that movie, even during the non-action sequences. The acting of Okay, let's be fair, this movie was amazing. Contrary to what you might think, this is actually a very good sci-fi movie. The pacing was great; not once was I bored during that movie, even during the non-action sequences. The acting of the main character was superb. In the beginning of the movie, he is a kind of clumsy goofy guy. However, as the story progresses and the situation gets more serious, you really get to see his character change. One of the things I like most about District 9 is that when you finally get to that climactic battle scene, it turns up the intensity level and never lets up. And the documentary style actually worked. I know what you're thinking, we've seen faux documentaries before, but in District 9 it truly feels fresh and new. I'm not saying this movie is perfect. There are bad things about the movie. but those things are so minor in comparison to the good of the movie, that District 9 still gets a full 10 out of 10. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RuslanZSep 15, 2009
Absolutely amazing. This is not another x-men, transformers or some big boobs film. This is ART! Just look at main actor, he looks nothing like a typical "Bruce Willies" guy. Not another pop corn film with good humans killing bad aliens. Yes Absolutely amazing. This is not another x-men, transformers or some big boobs film. This is ART! Just look at main actor, he looks nothing like a typical "Bruce Willies" guy. Not another pop corn film with good humans killing bad aliens. Yes buy the end there some cliche moments, but they are forgivable. We got movie like this not in a every ten years. enjoy! sorry English not my native. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lordolunchSep 17, 2009
Don't listen to the naysayer critics on this movie. It is simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. The special effects are amazing, but the movie doesn't just focus on giving u a big over the top show, it actually has great Don't listen to the naysayer critics on this movie. It is simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. The special effects are amazing, but the movie doesn't just focus on giving u a big over the top show, it actually has great story elements. Everything about this movie is perfect and even non big sci-fi fans(like myself) should watch this. Its one of the best movies this year and is actually VERY original unlike what some critics say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoãoPSep 21, 2009
No words to describe this movie. brilliant work from Peter Jackson with a compelling storyline, and that shows true human emotions instead of hollywood's cliché-type movies. incredible dialogue and special effects. loved the No words to describe this movie. brilliant work from Peter Jackson with a compelling storyline, and that shows true human emotions instead of hollywood's cliché-type movies. incredible dialogue and special effects. loved the camera type used, looking just like a documentary giving the movie truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoMSep 22, 2009
This film was wonderful ride, this movie got me out of my Transformers Depression.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeSep 27, 2009
Wonderful film. One of the most original movies I have ever seen. Every lover of Sci-fi films has to see this, even the people who hate sci-fi movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxSDec 11, 2009
Possibly the most weirdest, most emotional, mindfuck of a movie i have seen all year. it may seem strange but is a powerful view on what happens when the aliens are the weaker race and how humanity responds to them. A brilliant movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarredS.Dec 22, 2009
Amazing movie, too much has to be said that can't fit in this paragraph. I will say though that you feel true emotion for the aliens as they struggle to stay alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RileyG.Dec 25, 2009
Wow....what a surprising edge-of-your-seat, thrill-a-minute, sci-fi film this was! SO GLAD the Halo movie fell through, because D-9 is pure, cinematic gold! Cannot wait for the blu-ray release! Easily the coolest set of weaponry this side of Wow....what a surprising edge-of-your-seat, thrill-a-minute, sci-fi film this was! SO GLAD the Halo movie fell through, because D-9 is pure, cinematic gold! Cannot wait for the blu-ray release! Easily the coolest set of weaponry this side of Star Wars & Half-Life. Here's hoping District 10 won't be far behind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moby1Dec 26, 2009
I loved this film and am looking forward to the next one. So refreshing that it is set in South Africa too. Will be getting it on bluray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kal-elDec 28, 2009
Wow, talk about brutal sci-fi . the most original and best science fiction movie in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterCDec 29, 2009
Phenomenal. I was speechless after seeing it in theaters. The vast majority of sci-fi films don't generally induce deep thinking. Many many philosophical themes presented here. The main actor was superb. MAKE A DAMN SEQUAL!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
a fun movie with a almost documentery first half that feel alittle odd then picks up into a action flick last half. its a fun film to wach with some great action and a few moments of commedy . also any film with a mech in it im already sold .a fun movie with a almost documentery first half that feel alittle odd then picks up into a action flick last half. its a fun film to wach with some great action and a few moments of commedy . also any film with a mech in it im already sold . although it feels like half a film though when you see the ending and left me wanting more of a resolve to it all. it deffinitly felt different from your typical alien movie . which i felt overal was a good thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
1966ZodiacOct 9, 2010
This movie is an epic sci-fi movie. A fictional documentary style movie tht captures a persons attention and heart. I absolutely loved every minute of this film and can't recommend it enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RONGIUMay 29, 2011
Sorry, mechanical translation. Sentient Beings Our man-Wikus Van De Merwe Sharlto Copley / MNU-Alien Affairs "We meet at the headquarters of the Department of Foreign Aliens MNU. "What we do here in this department ... is trying to establishSorry, mechanical translation. Sentient Beings Our man-Wikus Van De Merwe Sharlto Copley / MNU-Alien Affairs "We meet at the headquarters of the Department of Foreign Aliens MNU. "What we do here in this department ... is trying to establish contact with the shrimp, in the interests of MNU and humans." Sensitive people of any age and during the movie experience a natural intellectual intuition, their thinking suffered a further violent jolt, a little later. Some goals are reassessed, some set aside, and others reformulated. Initially, the camcorder shoulder creates a slight sense of unease that is gradually disappearing when you start face to face with the new extra-refugees, their history and the many key points to ensure, without any filters. Why, for example, the Nigerian government has created a lot 'of problems with Sony's presence in the film of figure Obesandjo Eugene Khumbanyiwa /? Everything has always been seemingly formless, mysterious, becomes perfectly understandable. The consequence of this new state of being, the reason will inevitably take place, is the unleashing of an infinite number of emotions. Even phobias, probably tend to decrease. The exoskeleton is not afraid, surely you realize that the real "enemy" is to be found in other forms of life, perhaps similar to ours in that? Shrimp, aliens, strangers, "Poleepkwa" or non-humans are sentient beings, that is fitted with a brain and a fully developed nervous system. And 'any sentient being who is suffering physically and mentally. We can not know why they come, are higher than humans, have a hard outer shell and a face full of tendrils mass, probably involved in chewing, but was not tried. They have a great forza.Christopher Johnson is one of them is a non-human, but very, very, special ... his history with the violent impact of Wikus Van De Merwe Sharlto Copley / A question and some topics covered by the director. Wikus will be easy to trigger the clearing operations? Nepotism and factionalism. The role of the bureaucracy. Apartheid, its consequences. The DNA of the galaxy. Illegal weapons and cat food. A not-too-happy marriage /. Elimination, cleanup and removal of mass effect. The choices of power vs. the power to choose. Disease and loneliness. Genetic mutation. Weapons of mass destruction. Science and Power. The Taste of Power. The media. Crisis and the end of a regime. The different origins. A new friend Sir Peter Jackson producer known to the general public for his work on The Lord of the Rings, he sensed in the script by Neill Blomkamp director and co-writer / Terri Tatchell with a new, penetrating way of presenting a drama, epic, united in while a thin, bodily humor. He pointed and won. So I understand. Good Clicks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenNov 26, 2010
The film starts in quasi-documentary fashion with a strangely comic tone, but do not be put off. It gets much better. As much about the problems of the African Continent as a convential Sci-Fi. A well crafted highly original film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DalekMay 19, 2012
Interesting film, I think the first 20 minutes were boring but then it became more entertaining. Simple storyline but the ending is a bit different aside from Hollywood cliche endings. I'll tell you that. Also the main character says **** aInteresting film, I think the first 20 minutes were boring but then it became more entertaining. Simple storyline but the ending is a bit different aside from Hollywood cliche endings. I'll tell you that. Also the main character says **** a lot of times... It was unnecessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetalMan95Nov 5, 2010
Great! I loved it. The aliens actually looked real and you can feel for them just by the look on their face. and the end battle sequences were awesome. and the scenes involving Sharlto Kopley's character's dilemma, were really well done
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
InstaFlickaSep 6, 2010
The InstaFlicka Index 3.86/5 ------

Doing our part to help you by watching the NetFlix Instant Queue until our eyes bleed.

The dotcom: http://is.gd/cJhdS
Via iTunes: http://is.gd/cJhmw
Via Stitcher: http://is.gd/eEag7
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spartan-117Oct 17, 2010
Grand.I wanna se halo movie to
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. District 9, a surprisingly emotional science fiction/thriller is one of the most unique and original films of the year. It starts off as a documentary, a very clever way to make the whole concept seem realistic. The concept is aliens arriving on earth and being kept in slums by the humans, and not being allowed to leave. Being produced by Peter Jackson, you would expect it to be a visual feast and it does not disappoint. The aliens, or 'prawns' as they are called, are incredibly realistic. It had a wonderful start and terrific ending, but faltered slightly in the middle when, in my opinion, all I wanted to see was how it turned out in the end. However, overall it is a fabulously unique film and deserves its Oscar nomination for 'Best Picture'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KateMOct 8, 2010
This film is amazing simply because it is so frickin realistic and you will have no idea what you have sat down to watch. And it is original because it pulls off everything every other movie has been attempting to do for years. A must see. GO NZ!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
Peter Jackson is very good at science fiction while making this huge entertainment. it displays a lot of xenophobia and racial discrimination based off the events of the apartheid, and it has a lot of nightmare fuel for the kids and its notPeter Jackson is very good at science fiction while making this huge entertainment. it displays a lot of xenophobia and racial discrimination based off the events of the apartheid, and it has a lot of nightmare fuel for the kids and its not for the squeamish. still, its great. we all know that every movie Peter Jackson makes kicks a**.

Rating: 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheGorillaJan 15, 2011
wow, this movie is some serious thing. the story is great, the script, the message, the everything! i'm not a big fan of sci-fi genre but this really amazed me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuFeb 1, 2015
District 9 is an incredible action / SF movie. It really recalls some of the classic old films from the 80's such as Robocop or Total Recall with it's sense of gory fun. Yet somehow, I also find District 9's action sequences to be veryDistrict 9 is an incredible action / SF movie. It really recalls some of the classic old films from the 80's such as Robocop or Total Recall with it's sense of gory fun. Yet somehow, I also find District 9's action sequences to be very moving. There's a sad streak that runs through the film and gives it genuine heart. Both the MNU infiltration scene and the final conflict leave me with a frog in my throat and a tear in my eye. District 9 is an SF film with deep subtexts, great acting, memorable characters and action sequences that both thrill and impact you emotionally. What more could you possibly ask for? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
monkeybrainspitFeb 24, 2011
"They must just go. I donâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dragons4LifeAug 14, 2011
Jaw-dropping, amazing, epic, masterpiece, touching... I could go on forever. The acting was unbelievably good (especially Sharlto Copley), and the message truly delivers. It makes you stuck to the screen till the end, and your heart poundJaw-dropping, amazing, epic, masterpiece, touching... I could go on forever. The acting was unbelievably good (especially Sharlto Copley), and the message truly delivers. It makes you stuck to the screen till the end, and your heart pound faster throughout the movie. One of the best sci-fi movie in existence.

Nice job. I hope Neill Blomkamp decides to make a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
First off, a very original movie. The story here is not so much interesting, as the way it is executed. The viewer stick to the character of Vikus who`s just another yupie guy in pursuit of a career. He is to lead the operation ofFirst off, a very original movie. The story here is not so much interesting, as the way it is executed. The viewer stick to the character of Vikus who`s just another yupie guy in pursuit of a career. He is to lead the operation of transporting thousands of aliens. It all goes wrong and he must fight to survive. In a matter of hours he becomes public enemy number one and has to flee to the alien camp. The aliens are interesting as they posses human like features. They resemble humans in many ways. They are not here to destroy earth or exterminate humans. They are stranded somewhere in the universe and it happens to be earth. The special effects are exceptionally well done, the music is great and acting is average. A very interesting story showing that aliens from another world don`t always have to be blood-thirsty invaders. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergNov 12, 2011
At first, I was hesitant due to the overlong opening credits sequence but was blown away by the rest of the film. While I normally despise the overuse of CGI in modern cinema, this film is an example of how to use it both properly andAt first, I was hesitant due to the overlong opening credits sequence but was blown away by the rest of the film. While I normally despise the overuse of CGI in modern cinema, this film is an example of how to use it both properly and effectively. The aliens look amazing and are nearly always perfectly in sync with the human characters. It is also a highly original concept; in most alien sci-fi films, the aliens come to Earth to destroy our planet, but here they want a peaceful co-existence with mankind, at least that is the basic premise of the plot. In other words, the cliche is reversed in that humans are seen as the main villains and not the aliens, due to the fact all the humans want to exploit the alien technology and make billions in profits. The film also sports some homages to earlier films of this genre, most notably Independence Day (1996), due to the huge mothership that is floating above the city of Johannes burg but never attacks or even moves, and of course the human-alien creature the main character gradually transforms into is a direct reference to The Fly, with similar make-up effects and scenes that show the phenomenon up close, without looking away. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the film as far as it went and I await a sequel with great anticipation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShahmeerApr 21, 2011
District 9 Is a movie that has it's ups and downs. Nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards, this film proves to be what it's supposed to be. Nominated. Not winning. The true fact is that the whole thing isn't good, only theDistrict 9 Is a movie that has it's ups and downs. Nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards, this film proves to be what it's supposed to be. Nominated. Not winning. The true fact is that the whole thing isn't good, only the beginning and the end. At the beginning, the documentary style captivated me COMPLETELY. But after a while, suddenly it starts going to the "normal" style. Thats what I hated. But then, it turns back to documentary, then back to "normal", and so on. For like half an hour. Then, the story becomes interesting. It captivates me. And at the beginning, I have total DISGUST for the aliens. But somehow, the movie does it, and I realize they have feelings, and I also feel for them, as well. But that's not the best part. The middle might have been a lot of "what the?!", but the end makes up for it quite well. The intensity and sudden "Whoa." is just half of what the ending does for your entertainment. The emotional alien attachment and the truth about the lead is the other half. If you put those halts together, you get a spectacular 2/5ths of a film. So an excellent first 2/5ths and then the last 2/5ths added together makes 4/5ths of enjoyable film time, and the other 1/5ths, eh, plots the film, i guess. But all in all, District 9 fell just short of the "9" in the title, and it receives an out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
An alien race, known by the human population as 'prawns', have been forced to live in a militarized zone in Johannesburg called District 9 for 28 years following their arrival on Earth. Confined to poverty tensions are starting to mount and aAn alien race, known by the human population as 'prawns', have been forced to live in a militarized zone in Johannesburg called District 9 for 28 years following their arrival on Earth. Confined to poverty tensions are starting to mount and a munitions company are contracted to forcibly remove the 'Prawns' to a distant compound.

Finding an original premise for an alien movie is a tough task but District 9 certainly manages it. Shot in documentary style it is able to present a far grittier look at how humans may react to the arrival of an alien species than your average Hollywood Blockbuster. In fact it is easy to draw parallels with the real-life treatment of citizens that have lived in South Africa through the apartheid.

If that all sounds like heavy going don't be put off as District 9 also works as an exciting sci-fi thriller. While some of the bad guys may be a little cliched the movie features some fantastically shot action scenes and excellent special effects throughout. This all makes for a fascinating movie that is more than worth two hours of anyone's time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
slapchipsMay 7, 2011
@All the people that gave negative scores, most of you people aren't even from South Africa. So don't call this movie racist or unrealistic if you don't understand the conditions here. It was very realistic and it was done with a relatively@All the people that gave negative scores, most of you people aren't even from South Africa. So don't call this movie racist or unrealistic if you don't understand the conditions here. It was very realistic and it was done with a relatively low budget. I don't like the unrealistic Hollywood movies of today, for instance:all the UFO's conveniently land in North America, and all the aliens are always hostile. The gore is NOT unrealistic, of course with that technology something like people exploding would happen. The script was also very realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
First impression, wow. Just... wow. A gore fest, shaky documentary, stunning sci-fi and drama all in one, here is the first sci-fi splatter drama in ten years that can be considered a masterpiece. Directed by a newcomer named Neill Blomkamp,First impression, wow. Just... wow. A gore fest, shaky documentary, stunning sci-fi and drama all in one, here is the first sci-fi splatter drama in ten years that can be considered a masterpiece. Directed by a newcomer named Neill Blomkamp, District 9 shows us a story of freedom centered on the turning point in the life of Wikus (a surprising performance by non-professional Sharlto Copley), a field operative fresh from promotion. He's hired to lead the eviction of the "prawns" (the creepy aliens) but something terrible happens to him that will change his life forever. A Blair-Witch-Project-meets-Independence-Day film, District 9 demonstrates beautiful storytelling. It's filmed in a documentary style that would recall Cloverfield. I guess that film contributed a lot to Neill Blomkamp, who deserves a best director Oscar nomination for this one. It's a blast directorial debut and I'll be patiently waiting for more from this Canadian filmmaker. District 9 is a very big achievement in terms of its technical qualities. The visual and sound effects were all complex. Add to that the voices of our sympathetic aliens. The pacing was also brilliant. All action, the film becomes more thrilling after the twist that'll very much change the life of our main character. Above all, District 9 is one of the best of the sci-fi genre. It's moving and terrifying (not to mention totally humble) in the same degree and I just love it. It's more than what most of us expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Alexander_NJun 15, 2011
An outstanding science-fiction film which of coarse is not fully appreciated by a lot of viewers. The storyline and cast were very professional and believable, which tied in nicely with the morals of refugee cruelty. Visual effects and soundAn outstanding science-fiction film which of coarse is not fully appreciated by a lot of viewers. The storyline and cast were very professional and believable, which tied in nicely with the morals of refugee cruelty. Visual effects and sound were also most impressive to accompany the stunning gore. Sharlto Copley is also worth noting, as he suited the role of Wikus nicely.

Neill Blomkamp and Peter Jackson did an amazing job with this film. Worth seeing without question.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
davenbettridgeSep 5, 2011
District 9 was my favourite movie of 2009 and one of the best science fiction movies to be released in several years. The aliens join some of the best movie monsters in cinema and I found myself really caring for them and their situation. TheDistrict 9 was my favourite movie of 2009 and one of the best science fiction movies to be released in several years. The aliens join some of the best movie monsters in cinema and I found myself really caring for them and their situation. The ideas are well executed; the guns and action is thrilling and its drama works well for the most part. The movie does have some flaws; the lack of resolution to the premise is an issue, the amount of swearing is unnecessary and the middle of the film does drag a little. But District 9 is still an awesome sci-fi. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pwnstarJul 5, 2011
This movie is one of the best of 2009. It has everything a Sci-fi fan could want in a movie. Great special effects, good plot, and amazing action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"District 9" - One Line Review! (B!)

I liked the style, I thought the action was pretty fun, the plot was interesting - hard to really like/care about any of the characters except for Christopher, looking forward to the sequel! B!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlienSpaceBatsOct 11, 2011
This film catered to me on so many levels it quickly became my favourite, I never tire of watching it. District 9 has a premise that would not have been out of place in a classic SF novella, frenetic action sequences informed by modern videoThis film catered to me on so many levels it quickly became my favourite, I never tire of watching it. District 9 has a premise that would not have been out of place in a classic SF novella, frenetic action sequences informed by modern video game titles, it's funny, disgusting and exhilarating. Watch for the Afrikaans humour littered throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OverrwatcherSep 25, 2011
Not only is it an excellent sci-fi movie(Which is rare), it's an excellent movie in general. It has plenty of action, decent editing, and a lot more. Sure, the script may be so-so, but the rest of this is a fantastic movie. JUST NOTE THAT IFNot only is it an excellent sci-fi movie(Which is rare), it's an excellent movie in general. It has plenty of action, decent editing, and a lot more. Sure, the script may be so-so, but the rest of this is a fantastic movie. JUST NOTE THAT IF YOU DON'T WANT TO SEE PEOPLE BEING RIPPED TO SHREDS DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonathanCOct 5, 2011
Great film. Unique and highly enjoyable. From the click language of the prawn-like aliens to the properly done documentary style beginning, I enjoyed this film. A classic Sci-Fi on a small budget. brilliant. Sharlto Copley is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skedarMay 14, 2012
One of the best science fiction movie of the late 200x years.

It is a mixture of good ingredients, an interesting setting where humans are dominating aliens in the perfectly matching modern African setting, and a heavily action packed story.
One of the best science fiction movie of the late 200x years.

It is a mixture of good ingredients, an interesting setting where humans are dominating aliens in the perfectly matching modern African setting, and a heavily action packed story. It lies slightly on the dystopian side of the line, the main protagonist can't be said to be the likable good guy type of characters, he's not special in any way, he does his job because he has to, like a puppet in this corporation ruled world, without thinking too much about the moral side of his actions.

The action is great, the alien technology is pretty decent, it's advanced and interesting enough without being overpowered. We also don't get lost in explanations about how the alien technology might work, the kind of details I love to read about in good science fiction books, but that only would have made the movie less believable because of how usually rubbish and dumbed down these explanations are in movies (sigh, I'm a physicist).

The documentary style is unusually good, unnoticeable when the action is taking place and emphasized when it should be.

I can only hope for a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eTurkeyAug 10, 2012
Talk about breathing new life into a genre that probably has the most DIE-HARD fans out there. While science fiction features have been entertaining us for decades, District 9 breaks the mold and goes against the grain in terms of showcasingTalk about breathing new life into a genre that probably has the most DIE-HARD fans out there. While science fiction features have been entertaining us for decades, District 9 breaks the mold and goes against the grain in terms of showcasing a completely different backdrop in contrast to the norm. While this flick deserves high praise for its originality, it is sadly quite convoluted in many parts. However, once the picture builds up steam, you eventually make sense of it all. Having said that, I still can't help but feel the director left it too late in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
T-rAvDec 12, 2011
(September 25, 2009)
First off, if you have not seen this movie yet, stop reading this review, and go invest in a ride through District 9. Trust me, you will not be disappointed. This film deserves to be up there with the greatest sci fi
(September 25, 2009)
First off, if you have not seen this movie yet, stop reading this review, and go invest in a ride through District 9. Trust me, you will not be disappointed. This film deserves to be up there with the greatest sci fi films of all time. Really, even labeling this as just a sci fi film is almost an insult. The basic idea of the plot may not seem that ingenious just by word of mouth, but when you witness the story play out, the story as a whole shines out as its own creative new brand. Just the way this film was marketed was brilliant; signs on the sides of buses saying for human use only, a phone number to call and report alien activities, and a website with back information on MNU (the company responsible for all the alien activities). The documentary style also pushes the realism this story brings, but I am glad they did not do the whole film in this style, because I know films with âshaky camâ? can be a huge turn off for people. And it is not just the plot that is phenomenal in this piece. These are some of the best CG effects ever conceived in a film. Never before have I felt so much emotion towards a creature on the screen that was not actually there. Just the way the people interact with the Prawns (the name for the aliens) as if they were really there is a sight to see. Emotion is a key word in this film; District 9 will tug on every inch of human emotion inside your body. This film did get the R rating, and with good reason. This movie is full of gore and many droppings of the F bomb, but there was never one time that I felt any of this was out of place. This movie without the big infusions of violence would not be the same emotionally at all. I had been researching information on this film for about four months before its release to see what it was all about, and I have to tell you my expectations were high. And for this film to still surprise me and just completely blow me away, they must have done something right. This film leaves such a huge impact on the audience in so many ways, I cannot see how someone could walk away from this movie and feel disappointed. There are little things people will complain about, but when you wrap it all up, this is as flawless as a movie gets. In my opinion this movie deserves more praise than anything else that has came out this year so far, so get out there and announce this masterpiece to the world.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Nov 25, 2012
District 9 is a sci-fi film of 2011 directed by Neill Blomkamp. In the 80s an alien ship stops over Johannesburg. The ship remains stationary and after three months the state of South Africa decides to send soldiers to explore the ship andDistrict 9 is a sci-fi film of 2011 directed by Neill Blomkamp. In the 80s an alien ship stops over Johannesburg. The ship remains stationary and after three months the state of South Africa decides to send soldiers to explore the ship and find a group of aliens in poor conditions, because of their appearance, are nicknamed "prawns" (derogatory term with which they are called). Brought to earth the relationship between them and humans is very tense and difficult and therefore are confined in District 9 and controlled by MNU, a multinational company that says they want to help the relationship between humans and aliens but really want to discover the secrets of arms the "prawns". After 20 years since their arrival, the villagers are fed up and demand that the aliens are moved. It is the task of Wikus van Merwe to move the aliens. The film is really a very original: the aliens that are in all respects immigrants who are misunderstood and despised by humans. A film about various topics such as racism and integration. The whole story is told in the first part as a mockumentary and the second as a normal film starring a man (Wikus) and insecure coward who understand the hard way how they live aliens. Excellent special effects (especially the way in which they were made aliens). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I wasn't expecting this. I kept hearing how awesome this movie is, and in the end, I was confused.

The beginning of the movie was slow and shaky; very cheap-documentary-like. I think that was the point. The introduction to the situation
I wasn't expecting this. I kept hearing how awesome this movie is, and in the end, I was confused.

The beginning of the movie was slow and shaky; very cheap-documentary-like. I think that was the point. The introduction to the situation could have been a bit clearer, though, because it took a long while for the movie to really start moving forward.

The idea itself is a good one: aliens stranded on Earth, living in a slum, eventually despised by humans. They have to be moved, but not all of them want to go. I don't think most of them wanted to be on Earth to begin with.

All in all I don't think there was even that big of an understanding between Wikus Van De Merwe (Sharlto Copley) and the aliens, although he got poisoned by something alien-based and began to turn into one himself. He seemed to be loathing the change, which was a very natural reaction of course, and in a way was a very refreshing thing to see.

The actors in this one were all pretty much unknown to me, but I didn't pay attention to acting all that much. I was too busy to keep up with the plot, which was a bit unclear at times.

A decent movie, but I think it will take a few more watches to determine whether it's a hidden gem - or waste of time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gman666Sep 8, 2013
I love District 9! The way it's presented is original and fresh and provides a great new change to your typical sci-fi action film. The story is gripping and provides a great concept and is surprisingly believable and allows you to immerseI love District 9! The way it's presented is original and fresh and provides a great new change to your typical sci-fi action film. The story is gripping and provides a great concept and is surprisingly believable and allows you to immerse yourself in the film. The acting is great and convincing, despite the unrealistic premise. The film is difficult to fault, however, I could say that it is inconsistent and switches to a very different action based film about halfway through which makes you forget about all the other interesting ideas and themes being presented previously in the film. Overall it's a must watch film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HyperboleJan 15, 2012
As much as I love the plot, setting and supporting characters. It is Sharlto Copley playing a Afrikaner bureaucrat who is reluctant, self serving, but not devoid of empath who makes this film. The increasing level of insanities he has toAs much as I love the plot, setting and supporting characters. It is Sharlto Copley playing a Afrikaner bureaucrat who is reluctant, self serving, but not devoid of empath who makes this film. The increasing level of insanities he has to endure make it exciting to watch and believable due to his performance. The outstanding CGI helps too. The 'Prawns' are as real as the brilliant pacing. The music is excellent too. 'Christopher' the computer graphics alien engineer as believable as anyone else.

Ugly is beautiful in this case.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndrouJan 10, 2014
Really good movie, with a slow beggining, but an incredible conclusion. Worth watching. I hope they make a sequence for it. Just didn't like some incoerent acts by the protagonist part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
A fascinating look at society through the eyes of South Africa and an alien invasion under the lens of an unusual documentary. District 9 is both one of the most peculiar films I've ever seen and one of the most interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 26, 2012
District 9 is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The interesting story line makes the film different than other sci-fiction movies. The movie is mixed with some comedy and strong visuals. It is something you defenitly want to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
A_NorthernerDec 22, 2012
District 9 can be broken down into two halves, the situation and characters are introduced through a combination of documentary style interviews, both present and retrospective, and news reports. This approach serves first time director NeillDistrict 9 can be broken down into two halves, the situation and characters are introduced through a combination of documentary style interviews, both present and retrospective, and news reports. This approach serves first time director Neill Blomklamp well, as not only is it intriguing and different, but its a fairly cheap method (the films budget was only $30 million and it took in over seven times this at the box office). Following the introductory first half, the action switches to following Wikus as his troubles begin to increase. 
The social commentary (calling it an undertone would be to pretend it is discreet) of the film is evident and could be transferred to any group of 'outsider's in any population. The issue has been covered by many reviewers far better than I could attempt to do so I'll just leave it at that.

Blomkamp deserves credit for his unique take on the alien's arrival to Earth. So often potrayed as violent, destructive and more importantly, the dominant species, Blomkamp's aliens are food deprived, malnourished and although restless, they are successfully policed by the humans and treated as a species (or race, there goes that social commentary aspect again) with basic human rights. Consider Ridley Scott and James Cameron's Aliens being politely asked to sign a deportation order for relocation to another camp.

The main protagonist Wikus is played by little known South African actor Sharlto Copley. Copley's performance and transformation of Wikus from a vain and smug executive to hunted, desperate and sacrificing fugitive are tremendous and he deserves the recognition for his role as actor and also producer of the short film Alive in Joburg upon which District 9 is based. I found the final act of the film, culimanting in the final scene, genuiely emotional, which considering that the previous twenty minutes had become a bit of a gunfest is credit again to Blomkamp.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hodubApr 4, 2012
Overall a solid movie. Depicts a realistic scenario of alien presence on Earth, and the treatment of them by humans. Unlike many movies involving extraterrestrial activity on Earth, the aliens are NOT the antagonists, but rather a privateOverall a solid movie. Depicts a realistic scenario of alien presence on Earth, and the treatment of them by humans. Unlike many movies involving extraterrestrial activity on Earth, the aliens are NOT the antagonists, but rather a private military corporation known as Multi-National United. The movie is set in Johannesburg, South Africa during modern times. The visuals are stunning, and there is no shortage of intense (but not mindless) action. The weapons and technology the aliens use are also impressive. But the clear message the movie sends is that the aliens are not invaders, but rather intergalactic travelers who are shipwrecked on an unfamiliar planet, and fall victim to human evils such as oppression and discrimination. I thought overall this movie was quite original for a sci-fi action flick, and forces the audience to change their perspective of aliens coming to Earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews