TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1387 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,139
Mixed:
112
Negative:
136
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
I lost my interest when the first image appeared on the screen. Such a bizarre concept that was just plain stupid. Nothing about it I could appreciate. Such a failure. Can't believe it was nominated for best picture.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 26, 2011
My expectation before watching this movie was: if Peter Jackson is the director, it will suck. I was confirmed. I stopped caring after 180 seconds when the aliens were shown for the first time. These must be the most ridiculous aliens in filmMy expectation before watching this movie was: if Peter Jackson is the director, it will suck. I was confirmed. I stopped caring after 180 seconds when the aliens were shown for the first time. These must be the most ridiculous aliens in film history. The pseudo-documentary style is horribly nauseating. There is not a single scene in this movie that looks professional, it is overly clear that the actors are...acting. It has the feel of a home video made by a child.
As a critic, how can you take yourself and your profession serious if you give this crap a good review ? It is just laughable. Why did Peter Jackson decide to make movies ? What do his movies add to this world, except for pissing people off because they are so incredibly bad ?
Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Satire and other allegorical pieces of fiction have a tricky job to do: They must offer commentary on something that we immediately recognize in our world, while creating an interesting enough world for those who are unable to recognize theSatire and other allegorical pieces of fiction have a tricky job to do: They must offer commentary on something that we immediately recognize in our world, while creating an interesting enough world for those who are unable to recognize the subject of commentary. It is here where District 9 fails. For despite the powerful images one can associate with apartheid, the absence of the allegory leaves a confused, poorly-plotted, and (let's face it) trite human story. And then it closes itself by shooting everything up. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
This movie was too freakin weird and disturbing as hell. Too much swearing as well. Every other word was the f-word. I don't understand how you can enjoy this movie
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
2
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
An ugly, post-modern yet ramshackle and banjaxed picture that sidesteps convention so often it risks falling into the well that "Limits of Control" is currently drowning in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VorlargenMar 15, 2012
This movie is so bad I couldn't finish it. If I want to watch raw news footage I can go to YouTube.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
emeraldstormJul 1, 2014
Overall, kind of a dumb movie. Wasn't exciting.. wasn't compelling. Had good special effects, but all movies do nowadays. I wasn't impressed, but it was unlike any other movie I've seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
thesantanafanSep 5, 2010
I won't lie, I was expecting a great movie when I went to see this. It was terrible. The thing is, it's easy to trick americans into liking a movie with an original premise and neat special effects, not to mention the documentary filmingI won't lie, I was expecting a great movie when I went to see this. It was terrible. The thing is, it's easy to trick americans into liking a movie with an original premise and neat special effects, not to mention the documentary filming style which made viewers feel intelligent. This movie is like the product of an intelligent person writing down a good idea, and giving it to mentally challenged filmmakers. Everyone seems to overlooked the annoying flaws of this movie: The behavior, the dialogue, the use of the line "I'm not leaving without you" and various other cliches that you wouldn't expect to find in such an "original" film. There were dozens of moments of annoying stupidity that I kept trying to ignore. And there is no real excuse for all the discomfort in the movie. I usually forgive films for being stupid because they are still enjoyable. This movie had little to enjoy (except for when the robot shoots a man with a dead pig, I got a good laugh out of that) . Just the fact that it was original, the fact that it had allegories to apartheid and racism, and the fact that it was filmed like a documentary seems to have everybody won over. But I can't forgive all the stupid dialogue and behavior. I could just see through every silly second. For example; the love for cat food = Random aspect that makes the aliens seem more real. There was a lot of cheap little ways they tried to make the aliens seem more real. But right from the beginning, I couldn't help but see through them, and if I was less observant and more gullible I probably would have enjoyed the movie. I could write a book about all the things wrong with this movie, but I should not write so much in a movie review. I just can't be concise with this subject. I just want to end with this fact: I walked into that theater expecting a great movie. As the movie went on, I was struggling to convince myself that I was watching a great movie. I couldn't do it. Later I went to see Avatar, expecting a bad movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, because it was honest and it's silliness was forgivable. James Cameron understands that its more important for a film to be enjoyable then it is for it to make a statement by being different. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
BobHJan 2, 2010
Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying main character from which the beggining you hope dies, he doesnt. The only decent thing the movie had was the alien weapons and there is probly less than 10 kills with them. Do not buy this movie, if you must see it just rent it, even then you are going to wish you had a couple dollars and a few hours of your life back! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JeanR.Oct 10, 2009
One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please could we at least have a change of alien physique in future offerings, because the insect format is so hackneyed). I didn't care about any of the characters, which is the only thing that could have made me stay to the end, and there wasn't a single shred of genuine humour or lightness throughout. I think of the detail and subtlety of "MInority Report" and "Blade Runner", and wonder why Hollywood has to keep on churning out such lame-brained trash that obviously caters to the lowest end of the market. Peter Jackson, stick to hobbits! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
JoeSAug 16, 2009
This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a side comment to the movie as it transitions to a run of the mill fugitive story with every crappy alien movie cliche out there, despite the lack of aliens. I was extremely disappointed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MikeMAug 18, 2009
My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully unaware of anything, and the filming with hand held cameras with graphic gore really does not go well with popcorn. Just didn't see what was so wonderful about this film. Will give it to the director that this was an ambitious idea, but it just did not work for me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
LPAug 20, 2009
I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the aliens, In this way the movie disregards the aliens and their culture just like the callous humans of the story. Creatures are the focal point --not the story. I felt cheated out of my money and my time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
billbAug 30, 2009
I beg you not to see this movie! I'm 60 years old,love sci fi, I'm smart,he he,worst movie Iv ever seen. I wanted to get up in the theater and say, isn't this movie a joke?" Jerking camera made me seasick.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
fabrinnehAug 30, 2009
I really didn't kike this movie. Usually I like Sci-Fi, but this one not at all. I was also chock by the racial content of this movie. I am sure I am not the only one.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DamieanP.Sep 10, 2009
It's 2009 and amazing that movies are completely dull, boring, non-entertaining. I feel most are just to "trick" you to spend money. My 6 year old could make a better plot. We in the U.S. are becoming numb.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MikeBSep 17, 2009
With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an entertainment movie, you know...acting, plot, production values, special effects, believability.....well, I give it a 1.5 out of 10, which I rounded down to a 1. Then to make it even worse, second grade preachy BS all through it in the same package. What a waste of my time. It starts with a great premise, and you think, wow, this movie is going to be great. You imagine where this movie could go and you anticipate something grand coming....as soon as they get over this boring introductory stuff. But, the whole movie stays in totally unbelievable boring step 1 phase, and never gets off the ground or goes anywhere. The biggest advantage of this movie is you can now look at those reviewers who gave it a 100, and know that their opinions are worthless for your future movie reviews. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DanielKSep 7, 2009
What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of the worst movies I paid to see at the theaters ever. The national critics must have some agenda to give such high praise. The funniest part of the movie was how it is set-up for "District 10". They must be F-ing kidding! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnCJan 9, 2010
Badly conceived story, although, well filmed and assembled. It was just goofy, full of conceptual holes, not well thought out. There was no believable science in the thing, they just expected you to suspend your disbelief because they were Badly conceived story, although, well filmed and assembled. It was just goofy, full of conceptual holes, not well thought out. There was no believable science in the thing, they just expected you to suspend your disbelief because they were showing this pseudo documentary. Really stupid. It has been a while since I have seen a film that brings out such diametrically opposed views. It's like a Rorschach test. I can't figure out what it is about the film that makes so many people go nuts for it. I thought it stank. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LoriSFeb 21, 2010
The New York Post's review was spot on! "The movie falls into the same uneasy category as "Eight Legged Freaks": too tongue-in-cheek to be thrilling, not funny enough to be a comedy."
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BigBullyMar 1, 2010
Finally overtook Missouri Breaks as the worst movie in the past 100 years.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
RyanSOct 16, 2009
THIS MOVIE FAILS... HARD!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BruceXOct 4, 2009
Special effects good, but story trite and relied on implausible premise that all aliens needed to be moved from one place to another and hostility was grossly underestimated. More interesting story would have been how the situation requiring Special effects good, but story trite and relied on implausible premise that all aliens needed to be moved from one place to another and hostility was grossly underestimated. More interesting story would have been how the situation requiring move arose in the first place. I just didn't buy it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PeterT.Oct 8, 2009
I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would bother to watch more than 20 minutes of this unmitigated mind raping dross. What sheer fun it is to watch a video game, normally interactively played, unfold lazily before your very I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would bother to watch more than 20 minutes of this unmitigated mind raping dross. What sheer fun it is to watch a video game, normally interactively played, unfold lazily before your very eyes with the same absence of storyline, acting or logical resolution to its various silly plot points. An allegory to the the human drama know as apartheid? If it was an allegory to that, you surely wouldn't want to set it in Johannesburg would you? that's like making an allegory to Nazi Germany while filming a tale set in Nazi Germany.... This kind of stupidity doesn't bother anyone anymore? Aliens who eat cat food as an allegory to drug use? Do all you ten-voters also still watch Sesame Street or something? D9 is nothing less than a completely farcical and generic action fodder hailed as the second coming of Christ featuring the most nauseating and lazy style of filming known as mockumentary with actors bereft of any professional acting skills and a script which is roughly made up on the spot with an f-bombs galore to hide the fact that the screenwriter signed off when he was told to quit being such a pain in the butt. "It's only a movie man!", or so he was told. No, no one is bothered by this. We turn off our brains as we laud the FX puppeteer for serving us yet another upgrade in CGI rendering as we cry ourselves to sleep from the joy that is living in these blissful times where real emotion is thankfully replaced by bandwagon hype and comfortable contrivances that won't occur in real life anyway. How terribly complacent it is to not have to worry about an actual sensical three act structure when you've got all this marketing budget to throw around allowing you to already cash in on the prefabricated acclaim and Pavlov conditioning of the crowds way before the movie is even actually screened. Seriously, why bother making the movie at all? Oh wait, I almost forgot, they never actually did... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MiKEAug 14, 2009
While watching District 9 it reminded me of other movies, the shakey carmera work from transformers , The aliens were a rip out of Half Life 2. The idea was an intresting one, but then it turned into a typical chase movie. A bluray rental While watching District 9 it reminded me of other movies, the shakey carmera work from transformers , The aliens were a rip out of Half Life 2. The idea was an intresting one, but then it turned into a typical chase movie. A bluray rental nothing more. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
AlexSAug 14, 2009
Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by betting it all on an infantile alien. It starts out feeling smart, and ends feeling dumber than dirt. Alien racism is halfway thought through, and what is up with the ever changing accents? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MMAug 15, 2009
How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. Aliens getting stranded on earth is a pretty lame premise for a movie in the first place and, even though the special effects were great and the CGI truly impressive, it could not overcome that "Haven't we seen this all before?" feeling. And that feeling is hard to accept for over two and a half hours at a time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
GregTAug 17, 2009
I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the longest trailer I'd ever seen... Can't wait for D-9 part 2. With all the loose ends, and only costing 30m to make, there is really no way around a sequel. Sad. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DavidS.Aug 19, 2009
I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very disappointed. I heard several people leaving the theater voicing the same. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MartinKAug 22, 2009
Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi fan you'll be embarrassed if you want anything more intelligent. I hate to agree with Ebert, but this is nothing more than poor space soap opera with emotional manipulation and little care to actually producing anything intelligent. I got the point of the movie. It's been done a million times and much better and without a need for an excuse to focus on apartheid, which didn't even make sense. It makes me realize that movies have deterioriated into such unoriginal trash that throw any new CGI trick in front of them and they'll scream how awesome it is. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful