TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1372 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,126
Mixed:
110
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DavidS.Aug 19, 2009
I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very disappointed. I heard several people leaving the theater voicing the same. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EricTAug 24, 2009
Yet another pathetic allegory for the New World Order salivating to put humans in giant concentration camps after they pull the big false flag trigger to the next world war. Eat me, Hollywood propaganda turd movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshC.Sep 3, 2009
How in craps name did this get any good ratings...it is the worst movie i've ever seen. I'd rather get kicked in the nuts three times before seeing this thriller again...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
retropumpSep 9, 2009
I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but it got such good reviews maybe we should stick with it and see if it gets better". Boy was I in the dog box. The so-called "allegorical social commentary" was so blatant and poorly done that a 3 year old could have got it. The acting appeared to be off-the-cuff, with f**k thrown in whenever the script faltered, the attempt at amateur doco film making was so bad that it was worse than most amateur docos (and left us both feeling nauseous with the jumping swaying camera angles). The humor was there, sure, but it wasn't worth more than a slight smile to think, for instance, of aliens being addicted to cat food (including the can). The humor was neither subtle nor very funny. The action scenes were typical of all action movies, and the special effects were not anything new in this age of digital special effects offerings. The plot was incohesive and pretty much pointless with zero character development. The movie brings nothing new to cinema, just a mismashed rehash of the same old same old with plenty of gore thrown in. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EmmyGJan 9, 2010
Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband (sci-fi, war movie superhero freak) said, and I quote " I would have rather watched Barbie Princess than that shit!" Luckily we didn't waste an entire 2 hours of our lives on this movie... we fast forwarded and then after turning it off read the entire plot online and realized we REALLY weren't missing anything! How did this movie ever gain any popularity? I want to vomit now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ToddO.Dec 22, 2009
If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How did the lead learn how to understand crawfish language? The crawfish leaves by himself? .. Utterly stupid and I will never have those 2 hours back in my life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LJHOct 22, 2009
This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other so perfectly when neither one can speak the others language? How does the main human character know how to use alien technology that he hasn't seen before? Why is the alien fuel only found on Earth and if the aliens are so desperate to get home why is only one of them looking for it? All in all this is a fairly terrible film, I expected big things from Peter Jackson after Lord Of The Rings but after looking at some of his other work it seems like he can't make a decent film without guidelines from a book. Very disappointing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BarbaraWDec 28, 2009
This movie was actually painful to watch. It is a sci-fi slow moving, slow paced boring piece. Do not waste your time. Nothing to see or experience here, we almost shut it off several times, but thought, there must be something here. There is not.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ThePassingLaneAug 16, 2009
The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the lead, and even he was border-line unsympathetic because he was such an obvious moron. The main mercenary was somehow unkillable, and therefore highly distracting as the film went to such pains to paint a "real" picture. And I agree that the film is not very original. Throughout D9 I could not stop thinking about how much better Cronenberg's The Fly and Spielberg's E.T. are, as narratives and cinema. Ultimately, this is another film, in an unfortunately growing number of films, that is not cinema, but rather feature length CGI exercise. The coolest thing about the movie was the spaceship looming over the city. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregTAug 17, 2009
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at what alien contact might look like, well, you're better off just watching the short film (Alive in Joburg) and stopping there.

As part of the second crowd, I was sorely disappointed to find that this film is essentially the premise of the short, which was well made, if not necessary enlightening, filled in with Hollywood nonsense to the point of incomprehension. The believable and intriguing sets of the original are discarded for the mind-numbing adrenaline fest of another cliche action movie.

But judging by these reviews and the film's $35 million weekend start, I'm in the minority.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KCJ.Aug 17, 2009
First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexAug 19, 2009
Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the same one we've seen a thousand times: "Humans are more monstrous than the monsters." Are you surprised? Can you wrap your head around that? How about if I repeat myself again... and again? Didn't Peter Jackson already make a movie about this? (King Kong) *Spoiler Alert* Lastly, nothing made sense. Why come to Earth? Why be addicted to cat food? Why be abused by humans if you have crazy-powerful alien weapons and super strength? Why do the humans and aliens understand each others' language? Why not converse in the same language? It takes an alien 20 years to radio the mothership directly overhead to beam him up? Once in the mothership, why fly away? To get help? You could have done that 20 years ago - ya know, instead of landing here and stranding your fellow aliens in a hell-hole. If someone is shooting you - with bullets - from a gun - and you're dying... why not shoot back!? I've saved the best for last: Why does a splash of alien fuel mutate a person into an alien? .Ask yourself that question one more time... then splash yourself with gasoline. These are not "plot holes" these are "plot chasms." They are stupid. The movie is stupid. Before you start with the "no, you're stupid!", let me assure you. I saw the movie. I understood it. It was stupid. No, really, I get it. I got it. Yes, apartheid, yeah, segregation, yeah humanity is evil and the aliens are the good guys. Sure, social commentary, satire, etc. I said "I get it!" That doesn't make it clever or original, and it most certainly does not make it entertaining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ShaunM.Aug 21, 2009
There is nothing here. Some of my favorite movies of all time include Children of Men, the Matrix, Terminator 2, Demolition Man, and any other sci-fi movies with originality. In fact, they don't even have to be original.. BUT this movie There is nothing here. Some of my favorite movies of all time include Children of Men, the Matrix, Terminator 2, Demolition Man, and any other sci-fi movies with originality. In fact, they don't even have to be original.. BUT this movie does not have a descent plot and it's originality is spoiled in the execution. Maybe my hopes were too high... I don't know. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryMAug 21, 2009
After the first 5 minutes, all I kept wondering is when it would end. I would have made better use of my money to pay them to stop the movie. An absolute boring, mess. The theater was full at the beginning, but people left and didn't After the first 5 minutes, all I kept wondering is when it would end. I would have made better use of my money to pay them to stop the movie. An absolute boring, mess. The theater was full at the beginning, but people left and didn't return. I should have followed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
killdarrenAug 26, 2009
So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. 1. Aliens come to earth. 2 People scared. 3. Aliens have feelings too. 4. Bang, Bang, Pow, Shoot, Shoot 5. Must understand/kill them. 6. Hero lives 7. End storyline with possibility for sequel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GregBSep 11, 2009
Comicbook? Or Headshooter movie. This film is absolute political crap. Notice all the "good" reviews nothing about story, filming, acting, just "it is great", "awesome", "best movie this year" my question is WHY?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TheSwanSep 11, 2009
Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try it out. Also, the plot was a good idea but executed poorly. It could have been a real thought provoking film about the treatment of different looking creatures (mirroring real life events) and possibly even a cult classic...but thanks to bad execution, shocking main character dialogue, pretty bad action scenes towards the end and the fact that the african smuggler guys in the slum were portrayed as hysterical and crazy. come on, it was stereotyping african tribes as being almost bloodthirsty and superstitious! so...why a rating of 2? well, my mates and i pissed ourselves everytime somebody or something got shot and exploded. they even fired a cow at someone. also, the leader of the slum gang got an hilariously O.T.T death that made me almost cry at the stupidity of it. i actually thought it was a black comedy until i discovered otherwise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AllenHSep 11, 2009
The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's "language" only one of them, and the film suffered from the trendy "shaky camera syndrome" (please, learn to create real tension instead of using this tired trick). Don't waste your time with this movie unless you like grade B science fiction schlock, because that's all it is. When there is not even one big name actor in a movie, there is usually a reason. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LeighS.Sep 1, 2009
Totally revolting ! used all the typical tricks, racial issues got annoying. Gory and unoriginal. Uncomfortable throughout, leaves you feeling ill.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NicolaDSep 1, 2009
I have never had the urge to leave a cinema quicker! Totally unbelievable cat food eating prawns who have forgotten how to operate their own guns and ship and all so we can have an annoying commentary on racism! For crying out loud why must I have never had the urge to leave a cinema quicker! Totally unbelievable cat food eating prawns who have forgotten how to operate their own guns and ship and all so we can have an annoying commentary on racism! For crying out loud why must we be bombarded with such low energy nonsense! There should be an apology made for the harmful impact this film makes on the consciousness of all humanity! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
cbSep 16, 2009
Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene of things being blown to pieces, which is kind of just CGI, too. 3) Oh, and, it's a film about discrimination, yeah, like, set in South Africa, which is ironic, isn't it, because it's, like, a really discriminatory place, and stuff, and they're doing the same here only with aliens, which makes it a satire, apparently. nothing else. really. and that third point about its being a satire/allegory was sarcastic (the film goes about as far as to say "look, the aliens are being discriminated against, like black people", before then throwing in a bunch of wildly stereotypical, cocaine-addled black characters.) and..the second point was kind of the same as the first.. so essentially there was only one thing to 'get' in this film - that someone's really good with CGI, and should probably be using their talents to make better movies. This is the crux of my review, so you can stop reading here and go see the movie if you like, or alternatively save your money and your time and put them to better use. If you have nothing else to do, here are some more specific criticisms I wanted it to move in to something more farcical or darkly comic, as it gave hints that it might do, and it quickly became clear that it might be the only move that Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GregHSep 18, 2009
Wow, what were the critics watching when they gave this movie such high marks. I just walked out of this movie and received a refund, first time I have ever done that. This movie is a mess from beginning to end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
dunkSep 19, 2009
District 9 is an insult to the African empire. And should be banned from showing in any African country. We Africans need to stop the exploitation of our African heritage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BatSandsSep 20, 2009
This movie was so bad there's not even anything worth saying about it. I think all these 10s in these ratings shows that movie makers are padding these review sites. I've never entered a review before but had to do it for this This movie was so bad there's not even anything worth saying about it. I think all these 10s in these ratings shows that movie makers are padding these review sites. I've never entered a review before but had to do it for this movie. This was a putrid movie. I went with four people with pretty varied tastes and every one of us thought it was totally a waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregSOct 11, 2009
Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", which I guarantee will be a complete POS. Same story with Cloverfield - great marketing, TERRIBLE film. PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$ on a DVD rental. This movie is a joke, an insult. It is LITERALLY one of the worst flicks ever made. I made the mistake of going to the theatre to see this and - I swear to God - HALF the audience left. It is undiluted PIGSWILL from start to finish. Shame on the marketeers for their low cunning. It's tantamount to theft. But hey, we're all accustomed to being ripped off these days, huh? Sheesh. I despair. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GarethDOct 23, 2009
Similar to Jackson`s pre-fame films - Bad Taste and Braindead. However, these were pretty much pure comedy and much more enjoyable because of this. This was neither funny or thought provoking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KCJ.Aug 17, 2009
First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
EricMAug 21, 2009
Awful, cram down your throat moralization. Characters and plot are shallow and cynical. Explosives mere ploy to distract from the gratuitous preaching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
fredUAug 23, 2009
Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was pitiful, accented by the sotry line that the main charachter was to be discredited in the media by having interacial sex with Prawns....Oh man, I feel like writing the director/producer and asking for a refund for my ticket and the waste of 2 hours of my life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JeanR.Oct 10, 2009
One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please could we at least have a change of alien physique in future offerings, because the insect format is so hackneyed). I didn't care about any of the characters, which is the only thing that could have made me stay to the end, and there wasn't a single shred of genuine humour or lightness throughout. I think of the detail and subtlety of "MInority Report" and "Blade Runner", and wonder why Hollywood has to keep on churning out such lame-brained trash that obviously caters to the lowest end of the market. Peter Jackson, stick to hobbits! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful