TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1368 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,122
Mixed:
110
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DanielB.Sep 7, 2009
Not only is this film an engaging science fiction film it is one of the only sci fi films where I have left the cinema viewing the humans as the real monsters. This is a must see summer blockbuster and probably one of the most important Not only is this film an engaging science fiction film it is one of the only sci fi films where I have left the cinema viewing the humans as the real monsters. This is a must see summer blockbuster and probably one of the most important films of this year and maybye the decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TjaartS.Jan 12, 2010
This movie takes us from a tongue in cheek parallel of the apartheid era to the xenophobic actions following of people as a result of the vilification of people in public which gives one the "right" to just do what you want to them....it is This movie takes us from a tongue in cheek parallel of the apartheid era to the xenophobic actions following of people as a result of the vilification of people in public which gives one the "right" to just do what you want to them....it is gritty, very smart with acting, style and the expression of and accent from the home ground of the afrikaans speaking people, so remniscent of many myopic attitudes under the surface of most cultures. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
msAug 15, 2009
I thought this movie was intelligently put together. Its not as deep as a heavy drama, but there's decent character development and an OK script. The technology/CGI for the movie was pretty well done and the storyline concept was unique I thought this movie was intelligently put together. Its not as deep as a heavy drama, but there's decent character development and an OK script. The technology/CGI for the movie was pretty well done and the storyline concept was unique and well thought out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobSOct 6, 2009
This isn't a cosy film. You can't just sit there and expect robots hitting each other whilst the good looking guy gets the good looking girl. The fact that it deals with aliens is largely irrelevant. Its NOT about apartheid, but it This isn't a cosy film. You can't just sit there and expect robots hitting each other whilst the good looking guy gets the good looking girl. The fact that it deals with aliens is largely irrelevant. Its NOT about apartheid, but it IS about displacement and reflects the sad treatment of powerless refugees across the world. This is a difficult story with no easy answers provided by the SFX guys. There IS a kind of resolution but its hard fought for and therefore more worthwhile when it arrives. An INTELLIGENT Sci-fi film for once. Well done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BeatrixAug 19, 2009
It begrudges me to read the negative reviews of this movie. A lot of viewers have focused on the messages (of which are their personal opinions) that this film is portraying rather than judging it purely on entertainment. This movie was a It begrudges me to read the negative reviews of this movie. A lot of viewers have focused on the messages (of which are their personal opinions) that this film is portraying rather than judging it purely on entertainment. This movie was a breath of fresh air and is one that I can add to a short list of films I would watch multiple times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RuanF.Sep 6, 2009
As a South African I went to watch the movie expecting it to be worse than what the reviews said. I'm tired of all the racism stories and well I wasn't expecting anything good. Wow I was wrong. I loved it and will probably go watch As a South African I went to watch the movie expecting it to be worse than what the reviews said. I'm tired of all the racism stories and well I wasn't expecting anything good. Wow I was wrong. I loved it and will probably go watch it again. The only flaw for me is that it turns into too much of an action movie, though still a good one. All the so called plot holes can be reasoned away and I'm glad that we are not spoonfed everything. Awesome movie and well worth the watch! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Mr.NoSep 7, 2009
Stunning, amazing, I would definetly recommend.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanHOct 27, 2009
Whats with all these 0's and people saying this film is bad...?!!?!?! Rigged boards? Dont talk rubbish.. Anyway..this film is geniuenly epic...and it really dos make you feel empathy for the aliens and sorry for Wikus...the main Whats with all these 0's and people saying this film is bad...?!!?!?! Rigged boards? Dont talk rubbish.. Anyway..this film is geniuenly epic...and it really dos make you feel empathy for the aliens and sorry for Wikus...the main character. I loved it from start to finish....the special effects are top notch, it isnt my favorite film..but its definelty one of them! Seriously do yourself a favor and see it...its really really good!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DomoRAug 14, 2009
I'm certain a sequel is being hashed out as I type this little review and the resulting "District 10" had better explain some things to me...like is there a biological basis for bigotry? My left lower claw is tapping out messages in I'm certain a sequel is being hashed out as I type this little review and the resulting "District 10" had better explain some things to me...like is there a biological basis for bigotry? My left lower claw is tapping out messages in wounded impatience but that's just me and my wild DNA...it gets a little funky with all that cat food in the system. All in all, I have to say this film was amazingly well done and embraced many themes about our humanity that were compelling and engaging. But I didn't feel it was "deep" enough. Don't get me wrong. It's a great little film. But the themes have just been scratched and I hope will be further explored. And yeah, I liked all that vomiting, public urination and relatively tidy body explosions! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidHAug 14, 2009
This movie proves it's not about money, it's all about the artist behind the camera. Well done Mr. Blomkamp and Mr. Jackson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeDBAug 14, 2009
District 9 is subtle, subversive and its a Sci-Fi shot in Johannesburg?? What a treat watching a movie that does not bombard you with colour, special effects and the soulless Hollywood 'SHAZAM' factor. Instead we are given a real District 9 is subtle, subversive and its a Sci-Fi shot in Johannesburg?? What a treat watching a movie that does not bombard you with colour, special effects and the soulless Hollywood 'SHAZAM' factor. Instead we are given a real portrayal of squatter camp life, with beings suffering and oppressed to the point of revolt. We feel for them; we want them to be rescued and oh yes they are aliens!!! This Movies strength is its core is overflowing with subversive power and the fact that its a alien/chase/special effects fiasco just makes it a great ,great movie!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisCAug 15, 2009
Dark, twisted, and wonderfully executed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DomenickPAug 24, 2009
This movie stomps so much ass that they had to import colons from other countries to keep up with the demand!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonDeatherageAug 24, 2009
Great movie. One of the best of the year. Original and excting. Makes you want more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FredericN.Jan 12, 2010
Simply amazing! There's no ham n cheese Hollywood here for the light hearted, so if that's you, stop reading. Just a brutally honest mauling of the human condition (the aliens aren't all love and flowers either). with some Simply amazing! There's no ham n cheese Hollywood here for the light hearted, so if that's you, stop reading. Just a brutally honest mauling of the human condition (the aliens aren't all love and flowers either). with some wonderful wonderful acting, i must admit, i hated the wikus character when i first watched this film, but when i watched it again i understood why. He's a selfish little man, who knows full well what he is being asked to do is move over a million 'prawns' to a concentration camp. He only does anything (until the very end) if its in his own self interest. This makes him like 99% of humans alive today, perhaps this was a little too close to home for some us used to Hollywood heroes? anyway, absolutely watch this film, it had me totally glued to the screen for the last 2/3rds of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielAug 24, 2009
I walked into this movie expecting it to be great but it turned out to be near perfect. An awesome, pumping movie that will make you want to see it again and again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bram29Sep 17, 2011
district 9 is the best movie i have seen up to this moment. i loved every bit of it. the action is brutal, the characters are believable, and there is a clear message. that's right: district 9 is about stuff! seriously, do not miss out on this movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
An allegorical satire of Apartheid, represented by a sci-fi action film. Also comes into the film is its gritty violence, profane dialogue, and dystopian view of Johannesburg. The photography and CGI are stunning and astonishing. SharltoAn allegorical satire of Apartheid, represented by a sci-fi action film. Also comes into the film is its gritty violence, profane dialogue, and dystopian view of Johannesburg. The photography and CGI are stunning and astonishing. Sharlto Copley is under-exaggerated from his spellbinding performance. 'District 9' is a well crafted and wriiten political message of the horrid effects of segregation. Neill Blomkamp is a new breed of sci-fi filmmaker. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticMar 18, 2012
This isn't just some action movie. This strange sci-fi movie is completely scary, dark, raw, and suspenseful. Sharlto Copley should have at least been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor. He completely nailed his part, and helps usThis isn't just some action movie. This strange sci-fi movie is completely scary, dark, raw, and suspenseful. Sharlto Copley should have at least been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor. He completely nailed his part, and helps us to feel the emotion and horror. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
9
HomeCriticNov 6, 2010
It is a great movie, and every science fiction fan should watch it. The story is quite unique from one perspective, because in this movie the aliens are not the threat to us - we are the threat to the aliens. The story is also great and notIt is a great movie, and every science fiction fan should watch it. The story is quite unique from one perspective, because in this movie the aliens are not the threat to us - we are the threat to the aliens. The story is also great and not hard to follow, the characters have very sharp personalities.
Overall it's a very good movie, I had a lot of fun, so check it out!
I give it 9/10
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
RyanCSep 10, 2009
Gritty. Funny. Gory. Intense. Original. All-action. Empathy-wielding. Epic.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KaiKAug 15, 2009
All the critics who gave it a 50 either misunderstood the film or simple lack any sort of intelligence. Some critics have bad taste in films. Please note this is not a comedy nor a comic book film, it is a realistic science fiction film. All the critics who gave it a 50 either misunderstood the film or simple lack any sort of intelligence. Some critics have bad taste in films. Please note this is not a comedy nor a comic book film, it is a realistic science fiction film. This movie is a Si-Fi classic. It has a lot of rich ideas and great action. District 9 has all the components you would expect from a excellent film. It has a great plot that makes you think about humanity and what would happen if we were really to encounter Aliens. All the snobby critics can go eat canned cat food, and should be held captive in district 9. The snobby critics misunderstood the movie the way M.N.U. misunderstood the aliens of district 9. Hopefully we will see district 10 some time in the near future. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
TroyBAug 14, 2009
I can honestly say that I have never seen anything like this before. A true and complete original. You will ride an emotional rollercoaster while watching this film. You'll laugh, scream, wince, jump and quite possibly cry. I cannot I can honestly say that I have never seen anything like this before. A true and complete original. You will ride an emotional rollercoaster while watching this film. You'll laugh, scream, wince, jump and quite possibly cry. I cannot recommend seeing this film enough. Amazing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BradyAug 16, 2009
it was amazingly original and very unpredictable. a must for me personally.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Loved the documentary style at the beginning of the film. Although it wained slightly after that, the twist was a great move and the storyline very complex for a movie where Aliens and Humans get blown to smithereens.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
This bizarre SF movie, appropriately structured using documentary styled filming, is simply one of the year's best movies that effectively acknowledges the audience of racial discrimination.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
DeGreZetSep 13, 2011
Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites
Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites movies and i advice District 9 every Sci-Fi fans.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
LarrySep 2, 2009
Funny, but I actually agree with the folks who rated this a zero and with those who rated it much higher. All things said, I am able to just ignore the clear faults this movie has and accept it as a worthy sci-fi thriller.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
carolinebJan 2, 2010
I have tears in my eyes. 'District 9' is pure genuis! Neill Blouwkamp got it so right, the words for such things, haven't been invented yet. I grew up in English speaking KZN South Africa, hearing van der Merwe jokes , but I have tears in my eyes. 'District 9' is pure genuis! Neill Blouwkamp got it so right, the words for such things, haven't been invented yet. I grew up in English speaking KZN South Africa, hearing van der Merwe jokes , but deep down inside, I always knew, that thrown into the frontline, van der Merwe would be heroic and clearly Neill knew it too. I cannot wait for Neill's next film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTFeb 20, 2010
A genuinely thrilling and smart film. If you like your sci-fi movies deeper and more realistic than usual, than you're on the right track with this one.
1 of 2 users found this helpful