TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1387 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,139
Mixed:
112
Negative:
136
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JoeSAug 16, 2009
This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a side comment to the movie as it transitions to a run of the mill fugitive story with every crappy alien movie cliche out there, despite the lack of aliens. I was extremely disappointed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BruceXOct 4, 2009
Special effects good, but story trite and relied on implausible premise that all aliens needed to be moved from one place to another and hostility was grossly underestimated. More interesting story would have been how the situation requiring Special effects good, but story trite and relied on implausible premise that all aliens needed to be moved from one place to another and hostility was grossly underestimated. More interesting story would have been how the situation requiring move arose in the first place. I just didn't buy it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MiKEAug 14, 2009
While watching District 9 it reminded me of other movies, the shakey carmera work from transformers , The aliens were a rip out of Half Life 2. The idea was an intresting one, but then it turned into a typical chase movie. A bluray rental While watching District 9 it reminded me of other movies, the shakey carmera work from transformers , The aliens were a rip out of Half Life 2. The idea was an intresting one, but then it turned into a typical chase movie. A bluray rental nothing more. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
AlexSAug 14, 2009
Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by betting it all on an infantile alien. It starts out feeling smart, and ends feeling dumber than dirt. Alien racism is halfway thought through, and what is up with the ever changing accents? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
GregTAug 17, 2009
I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the longest trailer I'd ever seen... Can't wait for D-9 part 2. With all the loose ends, and only costing 30m to make, there is really no way around a sequel. Sad. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MartinKAug 22, 2009
Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi fan you'll be embarrassed if you want anything more intelligent. I hate to agree with Ebert, but this is nothing more than poor space soap opera with emotional manipulation and little care to actually producing anything intelligent. I got the point of the movie. It's been done a million times and much better and without a need for an excuse to focus on apartheid, which didn't even make sense. It makes me realize that movies have deterioriated into such unoriginal trash that throw any new CGI trick in front of them and they'll scream how awesome it is. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TimPAug 26, 2009
Was I watching the same movie as some of these critics? Not a very good movie, if you must see at all please wait for the dvd rental.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TechHeadSep 19, 2009
This is one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. We were on the verge of walking out, but figured we have to recoup as much of our $9.00 per seat admission as we could. The acting and the special effects were the only thing good This is one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. We were on the verge of walking out, but figured we have to recoup as much of our $9.00 per seat admission as we could. The acting and the special effects were the only thing good about this flick. The story line was weak and cliche - your typical "fill in the blanks here" story telling. In its effort to teach a social message, it comes off borderline racists and a bit preachy if you ask me. Spare yourself. Wait for the video. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SeanJ.Sep 5, 2009
From the opening 5 minutes it promises lots, but the subsequent 1hr 45mins fails to deliver on them. The direction, unfortunately, falls heavily towards the Hollywood action movie style even though it clearly has pretenses about being a more From the opening 5 minutes it promises lots, but the subsequent 1hr 45mins fails to deliver on them. The direction, unfortunately, falls heavily towards the Hollywood action movie style even though it clearly has pretenses about being a more cerebral, thought provoking affair. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
FrankHDec 16, 2009
Calling this a science fiction movie is stupid in the extreme. If it's supposed to be a comment on the United Nations treatment of refugees in their refugee camps, then I like it, but it lacks all which makes a movie spectacular. It has Calling this a science fiction movie is stupid in the extreme. If it's supposed to be a comment on the United Nations treatment of refugees in their refugee camps, then I like it, but it lacks all which makes a movie spectacular. It has no humour, no soul, and depicts realistic looking ailiens with unrealistic low IQ. if this is a good one in all elses' eyes then it is proof that the genre is dying. good sci fi makes one want to see more, this movie made me feel angry that I wasted money on the Blue-Ray. The special effects was amazing though. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ThePassingLaneAug 16, 2009
The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the lead, and even he was border-line unsympathetic because he was such an obvious moron. The main mercenary was somehow unkillable, and therefore highly distracting as the film went to such pains to paint a "real" picture. And I agree that the film is not very original. Throughout D9 I could not stop thinking about how much better Cronenberg's The Fly and Spielberg's E.T. are, as narratives and cinema. Ultimately, this is another film, in an unfortunately growing number of films, that is not cinema, but rather feature length CGI exercise. The coolest thing about the movie was the spaceship looming over the city. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregTAug 17, 2009
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at
If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at what alien contact might look like, well, you're better off just watching the short film (Alive in Joburg) and stopping there.

As part of the second crowd, I was sorely disappointed to find that this film is essentially the premise of the short, which was well made, if not necessary enlightening, filled in with Hollywood nonsense to the point of incomprehension. The believable and intriguing sets of the original are discarded for the mind-numbing adrenaline fest of another cliche action movie.

But judging by these reviews and the film's $35 million weekend start, I'm in the minority.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AmberDAug 21, 2009
I've seen more storyline, character development, action, and suspense with Transformers franchise and Starship Troopers trilogy than with this movie. District 9 combines those two movies in a slapped-together mishmash. After the I've seen more storyline, character development, action, and suspense with Transformers franchise and Starship Troopers trilogy than with this movie. District 9 combines those two movies in a slapped-together mishmash. After the evictions, it's practically a free'for'all. A lot of the gore was unnecessary, as it could have been implied, not an in-your-face, blood-spattered camera shots. I know it's just a movie, but some of the action, like blowing up a human, the pieces will be cooked, not bloody, scientifically/biologically speaking. The heat and force of the alien weapons would make it so. All in all, it was a slapped together, mishmash with obvious homage to Starship Troopers and very little or none at all morals or ethics which would have made the movie greater in character development. I watched it once, wanted to walk out halway through, but I watched it to the end. Won't do that again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MikeWAug 21, 2009
Its seems different at first look, but underneath it, it is no where to the level of though to compare to matrix , terminator, alien all of which it derives elements of its idea. I am not sure i see it having vision as much as a montage of Its seems different at first look, but underneath it, it is no where to the level of though to compare to matrix , terminator, alien all of which it derives elements of its idea. I am not sure i see it having vision as much as a montage of ideas thought as cool. But in fair it served its point and was fun to watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KevinAAug 24, 2009
I wanted to love this movie, but in the end was just bored. I could not get over the gaping plot holes, the lazy plot devices (switching back and forth between documentary and film), etc. I could see how someone could buy into the premise; I wanted to love this movie, but in the end was just bored. I could not get over the gaping plot holes, the lazy plot devices (switching back and forth between documentary and film), etc. I could see how someone could buy into the premise; unfortunately I just wasn't one of those people. Massively disappointing. And Harvey, I hate Michael Bay films, so where does that put me? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RobinLSep 26, 2009
Had some funny parts and some interesting parts, but overall the movie was a gore-fest that just wasn't necessary.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
SteveG.Sep 3, 2009
Not so good, predictable and slow. Nice special effects.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
NerijusD.Sep 4, 2009
Transformers-like action with all its cliches and ugliness, an incredibly stupid plot and a LOT more other bad things.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TedSep 7, 2009
This movie could have been the best film of 2009, but the writers ruined it by putting in corny dialogue and music.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JaneBDec 25, 2009
I found this movie to be racially offensive towards the jewish, negros, and indians and highly gorey. It's a clear rip off of any holocoust movie I've ever seen, just with aliens thrown in. Think about it, they live the ghettos (or I found this movie to be racially offensive towards the jewish, negros, and indians and highly gorey. It's a clear rip off of any holocoust movie I've ever seen, just with aliens thrown in. Think about it, they live the ghettos (or slums), are numbered and are about to sent to a camp (a concentration camp). All in all the movie is a straight forward story line with no twist and an extremely dark and open ending. It was outrageously stupid, I am ashamed to give it even a 3. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ChristianPAug 21, 2009
Great premise. But the promise of a sci-fi Apartheid allegory remains unfulfilled. The film opens interestingly enough, but soon turns into hacky sci-fi/Hollywood explosion/gore fest. Some odd half-plot emerges...but it seems tacked on when Great premise. But the promise of a sci-fi Apartheid allegory remains unfulfilled. The film opens interestingly enough, but soon turns into hacky sci-fi/Hollywood explosion/gore fest. Some odd half-plot emerges...but it seems tacked on when the writers couldn't figure out how to take a good idea and make a story of it...I don't understand what everyone loved about it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DEEAug 24, 2009
Had some great effects. Great premise. Carboadr, two-dimensional villain. It's screenwriting 101--if you make a villain this 100% evil it is never interesting. Oooo, bad military; oooo evil bad guy. C'mon--what BS. The hero was Had some great effects. Great premise. Carboadr, two-dimensional villain. It's screenwriting 101--if you make a villain this 100% evil it is never interesting. Oooo, bad military; oooo evil bad guy. C'mon--what BS. The hero was woefully miscast and it was a frighteningly inconsistent performance. The actor who played his wife gave a truly awful performance. The aliens were strong and weak to suit plot-points. For me, District 9 was every bit the student film. And there's nothing worse than inexperience ruining a great premise. I was very disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
Billc.Aug 27, 2009
I went to see this movie only because of the high praise I read here at the meta-critic site. I thought it was very close to awful. It felt like a polished made for T.V. movie of the week. I found myself not caring about the plot or the I went to see this movie only because of the high praise I read here at the meta-critic site. I thought it was very close to awful. It felt like a polished made for T.V. movie of the week. I found myself not caring about the plot or the actors. I just kept thinking should I get out now? I stayed to the end.It never got any better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
This movie was too freakin weird and disturbing as hell. Too much swearing as well. Every other word was the f-word. I don't understand how you can enjoy this movie
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
3
emeraldstormJul 1, 2014
Overall, kind of a dumb movie. Wasn't exciting.. wasn't compelling. Had good special effects, but all movies do nowadays. I wasn't impressed, but it was unlike any other movie I've seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Satire and other allegorical pieces of fiction have a tricky job to do: They must offer commentary on something that we immediately recognize in our world, while creating an interesting enough world for those who are unable to recognize theSatire and other allegorical pieces of fiction have a tricky job to do: They must offer commentary on something that we immediately recognize in our world, while creating an interesting enough world for those who are unable to recognize the subject of commentary. It is here where District 9 fails. For despite the powerful images one can associate with apartheid, the absence of the allegory leaves a confused, poorly-plotted, and (let's face it) trite human story. And then it closes itself by shooting everything up. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
MikeMAug 18, 2009
My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully unaware of anything, and the filming with hand held cameras with graphic gore really does not go well with popcorn. Just didn't see what was so wonderful about this film. Will give it to the director that this was an ambitious idea, but it just did not work for me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MMAug 15, 2009
How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. Aliens getting stranded on earth is a pretty lame premise for a movie in the first place and, even though the special effects were great and the CGI truly impressive, it could not overcome that "Haven't we seen this all before?" feeling. And that feeling is hard to accept for over two and a half hours at a time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LucaSegafredoSep 29, 2009
This film is crap. The worst First Person Shooter has a better plot than this one. What you learn is that white South Africans are bad but Nigerians are the dregs of humanity.
Despite what a lot of people think there is not a single new
This film is crap. The worst First Person Shooter has a better plot than this one. What you learn is that white South Africans are bad but Nigerians are the dregs of humanity.
Despite what a lot of people think there is not a single new idea in this messed up movie.
Good intentions and good actors are not enough to make a movie. You need writers.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
2
steveSep 3, 2009
Best part of this movie was its marketing campaign. The rest is Hollywood at its dumbest.
1 of 2 users found this helpful