Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Over twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creatures were set up in a makeshift home in South Africa’sOver twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creatures were set up in a makeshift home in South Africa’s District 9 as the world’s nations argued over what to do with them.
    Now, patience over the alien situation has run out. The tension between the aliens and the humans comes to a head when a human field operative, Wikus van der Merwe, contracts a mysterious virus that begins changing his DNA. Wikus quickly becomes the most hunted man in the world, as well as the most valuable – he is the key to unlocking the secrets of alien technology. Ostracized and friendless, there is only one place left for him to hide: District 9. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    100
    Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Sorrento
    100
    The humanity of District 9 adds another dimension to this multilayered, rewarding work -- one of the best of the summer, and undoubtedly the most inventive from the multiplex this year.
  3. 91
    This is a delicious premise, and Blomkamp, who first played with it in a 2005 short called "Alive in Joburg," has magnified and improved it with ferocious energy, wit and style.
  4. 88
    This baby has the stuff to end the movie summer on a note of dazzle and distinction.
  5. A memorable, monstrous fable that's consistently gripping.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    The last time I felt the sort of outrageously kinetic action-movie high District 9 delivers, it was 1981 and George Miller, Mel Gibson, and "Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior" had just come roaring out of Australia.
  7. Reviewed by: Joanne Kaufman
    50
    There's a wonderfully sly, farcical verve to these early moments, but it dissipates when the script, with its strains of "E.T." and "The Fly," moves into high sci-fi gear.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Avi
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Excellent all around. Very moving and thought provoking. The acting is great.
  2. DerekS
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    I'm sorry, but anyone who thought that District 9 was a bad movie needs immediate medical attention as they've undoubtedly suffered I'm sorry, but anyone who thought that District 9 was a bad movie needs immediate medical attention as they've undoubtedly suffered a concussion or some other form of head injury. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
    This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells
    Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
    This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites movies and i advice District 9 every Sci-Fi fans.
    Expand
  4. ChadA.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    ONLY FOOLS WOULD HAVE BEEF WITH THIS FILM If you hate Quality complex plots Creative concepts Psychological themes and undertones And last ONLY FOOLS WOULD HAVE BEEF WITH THIS FILM If you hate Quality complex plots Creative concepts Psychological themes and undertones And last but not least Action-scenes that are high quality and MAKE SENSE DONT WATCH D9 catch Transformers 2 and the rest of the garbage action films out this year to fill your primitive action junkie taste. Expand
  5. JoeyK.
    Aug 17, 2009
    8
    A fantastic film that is a whole lot of fun, but I don't think it was without flaws. While I found the majority of the film brilliant A fantastic film that is a whole lot of fun, but I don't think it was without flaws. While I found the majority of the film brilliant and exciting, I felt that the most interesting stuff came from the backstory. I would have enjoyed seeing more of that and less of the main human character. I enjoyed following him far less that I think I should have and found him to be despicable, only capable of becoming compassionate at the grimest of moments. Even then, I felt him completely selfish and motivated by his own desires. And his story of transformation was also less than desirable. But just about everything else in the film was fantastic. The aliens are great, both in look and in personality and dimension. The action is great and a whole lot of fun, worth the ticket price alone. And the whole set up and world created here is brilliant. While there is much to be desired, the film creates an emotional ride that is both exciting and interesting. Expand
  6. SteveT
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    Ground-breaking, superb presentation of background. Terrible story & characters. If you love Sci-Fi, as I do, this film is worth seeing, Ground-breaking, superb presentation of background. Terrible story & characters. If you love Sci-Fi, as I do, this film is worth seeing, simply for the interesting realm in which it takes place. (For example, only once in the show do I see an alien acting distinctly human as it strikes an inanimate object in frustration.) Otherwise, avoid this movie. Stupid aliens with advanced tech has been done many times, and much, much better in print. Flat characters with no redeeming qualities is rarely done in film or print, because it works so poorly. My initial impression of the show was: Cool. My final impression was: Rats. I'm truly astonished that this film is so intensely satisfying for so many people, when for me it ranks with Alien vs. Predator and Tomb Raider 2...it was OK. Expand
  7. JoeAl
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Worst Sci-Fi movie I have ever seen!! First time ever I walked out of a movie... From alien rights to alien relocation... Damn liberals Worst Sci-Fi movie I have ever seen!! First time ever I walked out of a movie... From alien rights to alien relocation... Damn liberals ruined what could have been a good thing. Expand

See all 591 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.