District 9

District 9 Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Over twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creatures were set up in a makeshift home in South Africa’sOver twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creatures were set up in a makeshift home in South Africa’s District 9 as the world’s nations argued over what to do with them.
    Now, patience over the alien situation has run out. The tension between the aliens and the humans comes to a head when a human field operative, Wikus van der Merwe, contracts a mysterious virus that begins changing his DNA. Wikus quickly becomes the most hunted man in the world, as well as the most valuable – he is the key to unlocking the secrets of alien technology. Ostracized and friendless, there is only one place left for him to hide: District 9. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread.
  2. 100
    The humanity of District 9 adds another dimension to this multilayered, rewarding work -- one of the best of the summer, and undoubtedly the most inventive from the multiplex this year.
  3. 91
    This is a delicious premise, and Blomkamp, who first played with it in a 2005 short called "Alive in Joburg," has magnified and improved it with ferocious energy, wit and style.
  4. 88
    This baby has the stuff to end the movie summer on a note of dazzle and distinction.
  5. A memorable, monstrous fable that's consistently gripping.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    The last time I felt the sort of outrageously kinetic action-movie high District 9 delivers, it was 1981 and George Miller, Mel Gibson, and "Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior" had just come roaring out of Australia.
  7. There's a wonderfully sly, farcical verve to these early moments, but it dissipates when the script, with its strains of "E.T." and "The Fly," moves into high sci-fi gear.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. GaryH
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    It's a really good way to end this summer (almost) full of disappointments.
  2. DerekS
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    I'm sorry, but anyone who thought that District 9 was a bad movie needs immediate medical attention as they've undoubtedly suffered I'm sorry, but anyone who thought that District 9 was a bad movie needs immediate medical attention as they've undoubtedly suffered a concussion or some other form of head injury. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
    This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells
    Next Peter Jackson's movie and next amazing movie!
    This movie is other than all Action, Sci-Fi movies. It holds in tension and tells excellent story. Story is the best in this movie but all is really great. This is ones of my favorites movies and i advice District 9 every Sci-Fi fans.
    Expand
  4. StuartW.
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I heard so many good things about this film and after watching the trailer and seeing that Peter Jackson was connected with it i expected a I heard so many good things about this film and after watching the trailer and seeing that Peter Jackson was connected with it i expected a good film. So many times I've been disappointed. I have to say this is a classic! I have no doubt that as well as films like bladerunner and aliens this will go down in time as a film that is regarded as a cult hit. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2015
    8
    So strange but true, the beginning was the idea of ​​" District 9" , about aliens but that idea was criticized badly , it would be a disasterSo strange but true, the beginning was the idea of ​​" District 9" , about aliens but that idea was criticized badly , it would be a disaster that would be horrible or what the users talks us a sh*t, but in the end it turned around and we wanted to see a movie of most coveted , interesting and very cool aliens , according to this, " District 9" has exceeded expectatives. Expand
  6. JasonJ
    Aug 27, 2009
    6
    Alright, America is in trouble. We have lost our artistic compass. I was excited to see this movie. The movie throws you off balance Alright, America is in trouble. We have lost our artistic compass. I was excited to see this movie. The movie throws you off balance immediately with a lead human character who can barely act. It was like trying to follow the dialogue in a Monty Python episode. I lot of stumbling. He was unlikable because the actual actor couldn't act. Then, we have the plot holes. As one reviewer put it, "you could drive a mother-ship through them." The aliens somehow had way better weapons than us, yet they chose to be treated the way they did. When push came to shove, they were violent, so don't give me some explanation about them being docile. This movie was better than a lot of the 2s and 3s being released lately, but they really threw this movie together. I wonder if the producers and directors get to see the entire movie and, after which, can make changes. Perhaps there's no time for it. If I were Jackson and i was able to watch the whole movie then make changes, I would have refilmes about half of the movie. They could have made a 10/10, but speed is more valuable than quality anymore. Expand
  7. JoeAl
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Worst Sci-Fi movie I have ever seen!! First time ever I walked out of a movie... From alien rights to alien relocation... Damn liberals Worst Sci-Fi movie I have ever seen!! First time ever I walked out of a movie... From alien rights to alien relocation... Damn liberals ruined what could have been a good thing. Expand

See all 597 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  2. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.