DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: April 11, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 286 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
217
Mixed:
51
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Disturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spyingDisturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spying on a neighbor whom the lead suspects is a serial killer. Shia LaBeouf shines in what is his first major leading role. Right from the beginning you can see how likeable he is on film, destine for stardom. David Morse is also great as the neighbor. Morse is always very intense and makes every movie he is in that much better, he is an extremely underrated supporting actor. The story is strong, the cast is strong, and I can guarantee you will be on the edge of your seat, this is a good one! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMMar 1, 2008
Brilliant film, but the tension could've been cranked up another couple of notches if it had been longer. Normally I'd give it an 8, but there's far too many people on here giving it ridiculously low scores, so I'll give Brilliant film, but the tension could've been cranked up another couple of notches if it had been longer. Normally I'd give it an 8, but there's far too many people on here giving it ridiculously low scores, so I'll give it a high one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
LukeMay 31, 2007
A pleasant little romp. Only a little believable, but made well-enough to drew us in. Nice job of casting, and good performances.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RazvyTJul 30, 2007
The best thriller I've seen in weeks, it's really fun and creepy .Worth to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisVSep 5, 2007
Great film in years!! Suspense, romantic, and comedy together, that's great!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JustinB.Apr 12, 2007
I can't believe this movie has gotten good reviews. It was terrible. The acting was laughable (not in a good way), the story could have been coughed up by a four-year-old, and there were only 10 minutes of actual excitement. Sarah I can't believe this movie has gotten good reviews. It was terrible. The acting was laughable (not in a good way), the story could have been coughed up by a four-year-old, and there were only 10 minutes of actual excitement. Sarah Roemer was attractive, Shia LaBeouf was goofy, and David Morse was a good actor and creepy as hell. There's not much more to say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeterW.Mar 3, 2008
A predictable mash-up of Rear Windows and Silence of the Lambs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RogerD.Apr 19, 2007
This is a TEEN MOVIE being sold as a Hitchock style thriller. The leads are teens, they do a lot of thinking about the opposite sex, and they joke around like teens! The story itself is rather perposterous and is driven by events that are This is a TEEN MOVIE being sold as a Hitchock style thriller. The leads are teens, they do a lot of thinking about the opposite sex, and they joke around like teens! The story itself is rather perposterous and is driven by events that are very unbelievable. Be warned: this is a TEEN MOVIE---stay away if you are over 19 years! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonE.Jun 6, 2007
Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, ("Ramones") ('Guideto Recongnizing...too omnipresent in his blood) in the first fishing scene. Craven plays it with twinkling Irish eyes...Shia's acting if he's got something to prove. Imagine Kal Penn's bravado faux toughness, caretaker vibe in 'H & Kumar.' Oh no, the accident...Let's pour our hearts out. Only his lost puppy dog-eyes bail him out of the early scenes where he must play weak. He's stuck on house-arrest, where's his porn collection? Even Mom is totally casual-cool, 'sorry you're a felon...' I grew up in the wrong household. Rest: A by-the-books story that nonetheless pleases when it indulges its cheap, sullied, low-rent thriller pulpy origins that are a Caruso specialty. Too bad it's hampered by its PG-13 rating, it should have been dirtier. Poor Morse, doomed to always play morally ambiguous creepazoids. (Even Von Trier could not resist.) However, its silly 'house-arrest' subplots and lack of honest emotional characterization made this an annoying downer for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarieMAug 12, 2007
This is sort-of Rear Window-ish if you kind-of close your eyes and don't know anything at all about the other movie. It's fun to watch but more gruesome than scary. There are glimpses of how clever it could have been but they wussed out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichAug 8, 2007
Met my expectations and then some. Shia LaBeouf was very very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VictorSep 10, 2007
Possibly the worst movie I have seen this year, when you consider the studio and the resources. A total hack job - I don't know how it got decent reviews - it was god awful - please stay away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GaborA.Mar 30, 2008
Tries the trick of having a slow buildup to try to fool some critics into thinking this movie has characters. But in the end instead of going from stupid to more stupid like its genre neighbors it simply goes from boring to stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShawnL.Apr 15, 2007
The name of the movie is the best thing about it. But, there was nothing disturbing about this movie. Pretty boring, nothing happened. Fell asleep. The characters were cool, but was expecting a suspense thriller, not, an afternoon TV special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Apr 16, 2007
Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting moments of suspense, but man, can't we get a plausible plot, too? Holes you could drive a Hummer through... And what's up with Sarah Roemer imitating a Playboy bunny rather than a kid? What a really creepy movie this could've been--with a bit more intellectualism, a bit less 16-24 demographic pandering, and a few coherent plot twists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricC.Apr 17, 2007
Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If you're dumb enough to expect Hitchcock from any movie other than a Hitchcock classic, you're not going to have a good time. But everyone else, it's not a bad way to spend a boring afternoon or night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GA.Apr 24, 2007
Definitley a worthwhile movie, but not quite as good as I hoped. The movie is very entertaining for the most part but the ending leaves you wanting more. I find that the ending was much to predictable and that it could have been much better, Definitley a worthwhile movie, but not quite as good as I hoped. The movie is very entertaining for the most part but the ending leaves you wanting more. I find that the ending was much to predictable and that it could have been much better, but overall it's still a "Good" movie that gets a: 7.3/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherW.Apr 27, 2007
I really enjoyed this one. It's smart and funny and also builds tension and suspense very well indeed. Enjoyable performances and even some romance and family turmoil to add some emotional resonance make this film one I would strongly I really enjoyed this one. It's smart and funny and also builds tension and suspense very well indeed. Enjoyable performances and even some romance and family turmoil to add some emotional resonance make this film one I would strongly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DWillyApr 29, 2007
This would have gotten a 7 if the ending hadn't been so bad; an 8 if it had kept up with what it had going at the beginning... Alas. Still, this Shia kid is fun to watch as was the babe up until they pull the rug out from you and turn This would have gotten a 7 if the ending hadn't been so bad; an 8 if it had kept up with what it had going at the beginning... Alas. Still, this Shia kid is fun to watch as was the babe up until they pull the rug out from you and turn what was a thriller into a slasher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveP.Apr 6, 2007
Great thriller! Had me on the edge of my seat. Absolutely unexpected shot at the start. Builds tension superbly and there is enough character development to make us actually care about the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatrickC.May 7, 2007
It is boring. David Morse is over the top. The movie tries to be suspensful but leaves you in your sit waiting for suspense. But Shia LaBeouf is the movie's saving grace. He is very good and plays the troubled teen well. But the film is It is boring. David Morse is over the top. The movie tries to be suspensful but leaves you in your sit waiting for suspense. But Shia LaBeouf is the movie's saving grace. He is very good and plays the troubled teen well. But the film is over all not worth the time or money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KarlyAug 17, 2007
I liked this movie although the ending left me a little disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeoffW.Sep 29, 2007
Loose, weak film relying on poor shock value alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArmondA.Sep 7, 2007
I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of films, such as "chop-socky", teen-slasher, and anything with Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey, I just don't watch them, and then I don't inflict my predictably low opinion of any given example of such "stuff". Let me just say that having missed the clues that should have warned me away from a rather typical teen-slasher-T-and-A-exercise, I did learn that not much has changed in this type of Hollywood product over 50 years, in the social attitudes depicted-- When this teen-hero reaches voting age he'll be reaching for the trusty old Republican lever. It's the picture of bland, mentally dead youngsters as PROTAGONISTS that entitles the movie to be called DISTURBIA. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
brotherTJan 19, 2008
Absolutely diabolical. I saw it for free and I still think I was ripped-off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamD.Apr 13, 2007
I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, "What are you doing!?!?" The characters always reacted realistically, and the movie flowed smoothly the whole way. The entire movie felt that it had been polished. I am surprised that the movie's ratings are not higher overall. It seems that critics went to the movie expecting something they reviewed, and not the movie they saw. The only downside to this movie is that it is pretty predictable, which isn't always a bad thing, sometimes predictable means realistic. Overall, this movie is not completely original but radiates through the cast, the flowing script, and the refined feel of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BigRedApr 13, 2007
It was good, but I liked it better the first time I saw it, when it was called Rear Window.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SlingshotAlApr 15, 2007
I personally think this was a pretty good film. There are a couple of different plots that come together in end which makes the twist that much better. Good first date movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MakenzieW.Apr 15, 2007
It's not that scary movie that is dumb and has stupid things that are supposed to be scary and they aren't. It actually keeps you on the edge of your seat "literally" And somethings happen that you wouldn't expect even my dad It's not that scary movie that is dumb and has stupid things that are supposed to be scary and they aren't. It actually keeps you on the edge of your seat "literally" And somethings happen that you wouldn't expect even my dad liked it and he "hates" scary movies! It is the best scary movie I have ever seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Apr 15, 2007
Wow. Smarter than I would have expected. And definetely creepier than I expected too. All the actors played their parts well (especially Morse......creepy). The director also paced the movie incredibly well, building up dread, and then Wow. Smarter than I would have expected. And definetely creepier than I expected too. All the actors played their parts well (especially Morse......creepy). The director also paced the movie incredibly well, building up dread, and then slamming you with tension and jolts of fear. The most fun i've had at the movies in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful