User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 196
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Disturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spying on a neighbor whom the lead suspects is a serial killer. Shia LaBeouf shines in what is his first major leading role. Right from the beginning youDisturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spying on a neighbor whom the lead suspects is a serial killer. Shia LaBeouf shines in what is his first major leading role. Right from the beginning you can see how likeable he is on film, destine for stardom. David Morse is also great as the neighbor. Morse is always very intense and makes every movie he is in that much better, he is an extremely underrated supporting actor. The story is strong, the cast is strong, and I can guarantee you will be on the edge of your seat, this is a good one! Expand
  2. BrianM
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Brilliant film, but the tension could've been cranked up another couple of notches if it had been longer. Normally I'd give it an 8, but there's far too many people on here giving it ridiculously low scores, so I'll give it a high one.
  3. Luke
    May 31, 2007
    8
    A pleasant little romp. Only a little believable, but made well-enough to drew us in. Nice job of casting, and good performances.
  4. RazvyT
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    The best thriller I've seen in weeks, it's really fun and creepy .Worth to watch.
  5. ChrisV
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Great film in years!! Suspense, romantic, and comedy together, that's great!!!!
  6. JustinB.
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    I can't believe this movie has gotten good reviews. It was terrible. The acting was laughable (not in a good way), the story could have been coughed up by a four-year-old, and there were only 10 minutes of actual excitement. Sarah Roemer was attractive, Shia LaBeouf was goofy, and David Morse was a good actor and creepy as hell. There's not much more to say.
  7. PeterW.
    Mar 3, 2008
    0
    A predictable mash-up of Rear Windows and Silence of the Lambs.
  8. RogerD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    2
    This is a TEEN MOVIE being sold as a Hitchock style thriller. The leads are teens, they do a lot of thinking about the opposite sex, and they joke around like teens! The story itself is rather perposterous and is driven by events that are very unbelievable. Be warned: this is a TEEN MOVIE---stay away if you are over 19 years!
  9. JasonE.
    Jun 6, 2007
    5
    Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, ("Ramones") ('Guideto Recongnizing...too omnipresent in his blood) in the first fishing scene. Craven plays it with twinkling Irish eyes...Shia's Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, ("Ramones") ('Guideto Recongnizing...too omnipresent in his blood) in the first fishing scene. Craven plays it with twinkling Irish eyes...Shia's acting if he's got something to prove. Imagine Kal Penn's bravado faux toughness, caretaker vibe in 'H & Kumar.' Oh no, the accident...Let's pour our hearts out. Only his lost puppy dog-eyes bail him out of the early scenes where he must play weak. He's stuck on house-arrest, where's his porn collection? Even Mom is totally casual-cool, 'sorry you're a felon...' I grew up in the wrong household. Rest: A by-the-books story that nonetheless pleases when it indulges its cheap, sullied, low-rent thriller pulpy origins that are a Caruso specialty. Too bad it's hampered by its PG-13 rating, it should have been dirtier. Poor Morse, doomed to always play morally ambiguous creepazoids. (Even Von Trier could not resist.) However, its silly 'house-arrest' subplots and lack of honest emotional characterization made this an annoying downer for me. Expand
  10. MarieM
    Aug 12, 2007
    6
    This is sort-of Rear Window-ish if you kind-of close your eyes and don't know anything at all about the other movie. It's fun to watch but more gruesome than scary. There are glimpses of how clever it could have been but they wussed out.
  11. Rich
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Met my expectations and then some. Shia LaBeouf was very very good.
  12. Victor
    Sep 10, 2007
    2
    Possibly the worst movie I have seen this year, when you consider the studio and the resources. A total hack job - I don't know how it got decent reviews - it was god awful - please stay away.
  13. GaborA.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Tries the trick of having a slow buildup to try to fool some critics into thinking this movie has characters. But in the end instead of going from stupid to more stupid like its genre neighbors it simply goes from boring to stupid.
  14. ShawnL.
    Apr 15, 2007
    2
    The name of the movie is the best thing about it. But, there was nothing disturbing about this movie. Pretty boring, nothing happened. Fell asleep. The characters were cool, but was expecting a suspense thriller, not, an afternoon TV special.
  15. MichaelL.
    Apr 16, 2007
    5
    Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting moments of suspense, but man, can't we get a plausible plot, too? Holes you could drive a Hummer through... And what's up with Sarah Roemer Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting moments of suspense, but man, can't we get a plausible plot, too? Holes you could drive a Hummer through... And what's up with Sarah Roemer imitating a Playboy bunny rather than a kid? What a really creepy movie this could've been--with a bit more intellectualism, a bit less 16-24 demographic pandering, and a few coherent plot twists. Expand
  16. EricC.
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If you're dumb enough to expect Hitchcock from any movie other than a Hitchcock classic, you're not going to have a good time. But everyone else, Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If you're dumb enough to expect Hitchcock from any movie other than a Hitchcock classic, you're not going to have a good time. But everyone else, it's not a bad way to spend a boring afternoon or night. Expand
  17. GA.
    Apr 24, 2007
    7
    Definitley a worthwhile movie, but not quite as good as I hoped. The movie is very entertaining for the most part but the ending leaves you wanting more. I find that the ending was much to predictable and that it could have been much better, but overall it's still a "Good" movie that gets a: 7.3/10.
  18. ChristopherW.
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    I really enjoyed this one. It's smart and funny and also builds tension and suspense very well indeed. Enjoyable performances and even some romance and family turmoil to add some emotional resonance make this film one I would strongly recommend.
  19. DWilly
    Apr 29, 2007
    5
    This would have gotten a 7 if the ending hadn't been so bad; an 8 if it had kept up with what it had going at the beginning... Alas. Still, this Shia kid is fun to watch as was the babe up until they pull the rug out from you and turn what was a thriller into a slasher.
  20. SteveP.
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    Great thriller! Had me on the edge of my seat. Absolutely unexpected shot at the start. Builds tension superbly and there is enough character development to make us actually care about the characters.
  21. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    4
    It is boring. David Morse is over the top. The movie tries to be suspensful but leaves you in your sit waiting for suspense. But Shia LaBeouf is the movie's saving grace. He is very good and plays the troubled teen well. But the film is over all not worth the time or money.
  22. Karly
    Aug 17, 2007
    7
    I liked this movie although the ending left me a little disappointed.
  23. GeoffW.
    Sep 29, 2007
    2
    Loose, weak film relying on poor shock value alone.
  24. ArmondA.
    Sep 7, 2007
    3
    I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of films, such as "chop-socky", teen-slasher, and anything with Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey, I just don't watch them, and then I don't inflict my I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of films, such as "chop-socky", teen-slasher, and anything with Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey, I just don't watch them, and then I don't inflict my predictably low opinion of any given example of such "stuff". Let me just say that having missed the clues that should have warned me away from a rather typical teen-slasher-T-and-A-exercise, I did learn that not much has changed in this type of Hollywood product over 50 years, in the social attitudes depicted-- When this teen-hero reaches voting age he'll be reaching for the trusty old Republican lever. It's the picture of bland, mentally dead youngsters as PROTAGONISTS that entitles the movie to be called DISTURBIA. Expand
  25. brotherT
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    Absolutely diabolical. I saw it for free and I still think I was ripped-off.
  26. WilliamD.
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, "What are you doing!?!?" The characters always reacted realistically, and the movie flowed smoothly the whole way. The entire movie felt that it had I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, "What are you doing!?!?" The characters always reacted realistically, and the movie flowed smoothly the whole way. The entire movie felt that it had been polished. I am surprised that the movie's ratings are not higher overall. It seems that critics went to the movie expecting something they reviewed, and not the movie they saw. The only downside to this movie is that it is pretty predictable, which isn't always a bad thing, sometimes predictable means realistic. Overall, this movie is not completely original but radiates through the cast, the flowing script, and the refined feel of the movie. Expand
  27. BigRed
    Apr 13, 2007
    7
    It was good, but I liked it better the first time I saw it, when it was called Rear Window.
  28. SlingshotAl
    Apr 15, 2007
    8
    I personally think this was a pretty good film. There are a couple of different plots that come together in end which makes the twist that much better. Good first date movie.
  29. MakenzieW.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    It's not that scary movie that is dumb and has stupid things that are supposed to be scary and they aren't. It actually keeps you on the edge of your seat "literally" And somethings happen that you wouldn't expect even my dad liked it and he "hates" scary movies! It is the best scary movie I have ever seen
  30. RandyM.
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Wow. Smarter than I would have expected. And definetely creepier than I expected too. All the actors played their parts well (especially Morse......creepy). The director also paced the movie incredibly well, building up dread, and then slamming you with tension and jolts of fear. The most fun i've had at the movies in a long time.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: John Maynard
    50
    LaBeouf is appealing as the frustrated shut-in, and comic-relief cred goes to Aaron Yoo, who plays his neurotic buddy Ronnie. The ending, though, drags, and the film quickly shifts from a clever homage to "Rear Window" to a bad parody of "The Silence of the Lambs."
  2. The bloody wrap-up isn't handled especially well, and I must confess that the most shocking thing about the movie was the casting of Carrie-Anne Moss as a suburban mom. I kept expecting her "Matrix" skills to show up in the final reel.
  3. 70
    There are no big surprises, but the jumps and jolts are well timed and the overall mood is at once grisly and good-natured -- more diverting than disturbing.