User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 196
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Disturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spying on a neighbor whom the lead suspects is a serial killer. Shia LaBeouf shines in what is his first major leading role. Right from the beginning youDisturbia is a remake of Alfred classic, Rear Window. When there is 50+ years in-between the original and the re-make you know it's going to be so different, that they are hardly the same movie anymore. The only similarity in fact, is spying on a neighbor whom the lead suspects is a serial killer. Shia LaBeouf shines in what is his first major leading role. Right from the beginning you can see how likeable he is on film, destine for stardom. David Morse is also great as the neighbor. Morse is always very intense and makes every movie he is in that much better, he is an extremely underrated supporting actor. The story is strong, the cast is strong, and I can guarantee you will be on the edge of your seat, this is a good one! Expand
  2. BrianM
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Brilliant film, but the tension could've been cranked up another couple of notches if it had been longer. Normally I'd give it an 8, but there's far too many people on here giving it ridiculously low scores, so I'll give it a high one.
  3. Luke
    May 31, 2007
    8
    A pleasant little romp. Only a little believable, but made well-enough to drew us in. Nice job of casting, and good performances.
  4. RazvyT
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    The best thriller I've seen in weeks, it's really fun and creepy .Worth to watch.
  5. ChrisV
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Great film in years!! Suspense, romantic, and comedy together, that's great!!!!
  6. JustinB.
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    I can't believe this movie has gotten good reviews. It was terrible. The acting was laughable (not in a good way), the story could have been coughed up by a four-year-old, and there were only 10 minutes of actual excitement. Sarah Roemer was attractive, Shia LaBeouf was goofy, and David Morse was a good actor and creepy as hell. There's not much more to say.
  7. PeterW.
    Mar 3, 2008
    0
    A predictable mash-up of Rear Windows and Silence of the Lambs.
  8. RogerD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    2
    This is a TEEN MOVIE being sold as a Hitchock style thriller. The leads are teens, they do a lot of thinking about the opposite sex, and they joke around like teens! The story itself is rather perposterous and is driven by events that are very unbelievable. Be warned: this is a TEEN MOVIE---stay away if you are over 19 years!
  9. JasonE.
    Jun 6, 2007
    5
    Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, ("Ramones") ('Guideto Recongnizing...too omnipresent in his blood) in the first fishing scene. Craven plays it with twinkling Irish eyes...Shia's Very early impressions: Oy. Shia's brash approach to this character is already grating on me within the first five minutes. He's too brash, loud, and strongly NYr present...he even wears the toolish of all tool T-shirts, ("Ramones") ('Guideto Recongnizing...too omnipresent in his blood) in the first fishing scene. Craven plays it with twinkling Irish eyes...Shia's acting if he's got something to prove. Imagine Kal Penn's bravado faux toughness, caretaker vibe in 'H & Kumar.' Oh no, the accident...Let's pour our hearts out. Only his lost puppy dog-eyes bail him out of the early scenes where he must play weak. He's stuck on house-arrest, where's his porn collection? Even Mom is totally casual-cool, 'sorry you're a felon...' I grew up in the wrong household. Rest: A by-the-books story that nonetheless pleases when it indulges its cheap, sullied, low-rent thriller pulpy origins that are a Caruso specialty. Too bad it's hampered by its PG-13 rating, it should have been dirtier. Poor Morse, doomed to always play morally ambiguous creepazoids. (Even Von Trier could not resist.) However, its silly 'house-arrest' subplots and lack of honest emotional characterization made this an annoying downer for me. Expand
  10. MarieM
    Aug 12, 2007
    6
    This is sort-of Rear Window-ish if you kind-of close your eyes and don't know anything at all about the other movie. It's fun to watch but more gruesome than scary. There are glimpses of how clever it could have been but they wussed out.
  11. Rich
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Met my expectations and then some. Shia LaBeouf was very very good.
  12. Victor
    Sep 10, 2007
    2
    Possibly the worst movie I have seen this year, when you consider the studio and the resources. A total hack job - I don't know how it got decent reviews - it was god awful - please stay away.
  13. GaborA.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Tries the trick of having a slow buildup to try to fool some critics into thinking this movie has characters. But in the end instead of going from stupid to more stupid like its genre neighbors it simply goes from boring to stupid.
  14. ShawnL.
    Apr 15, 2007
    2
    The name of the movie is the best thing about it. But, there was nothing disturbing about this movie. Pretty boring, nothing happened. Fell asleep. The characters were cool, but was expecting a suspense thriller, not, an afternoon TV special.
  15. MichaelL.
    Apr 16, 2007
    5
    Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting moments of suspense, but man, can't we get a plausible plot, too? Holes you could drive a Hummer through... And what's up with Sarah Roemer Yikes. I guess smart suspense films are a thing of the past. Hitchcock would be supremely insulted to know this mindless muddle is being compared to his brilliant "Rear Window". Okay, there are a few neat little scares, and some nail-biting moments of suspense, but man, can't we get a plausible plot, too? Holes you could drive a Hummer through... And what's up with Sarah Roemer imitating a Playboy bunny rather than a kid? What a really creepy movie this could've been--with a bit more intellectualism, a bit less 16-24 demographic pandering, and a few coherent plot twists. Expand
  16. EricC.
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If you're dumb enough to expect Hitchcock from any movie other than a Hitchcock classic, you're not going to have a good time. But everyone else, Pretty surprising, for a movie with one of the lamest titles ever. Not dumbed down, even though it's marketed towards teens. It doesn't break the suspense mold, but does little things here and there that are pretty clever. If you're dumb enough to expect Hitchcock from any movie other than a Hitchcock classic, you're not going to have a good time. But everyone else, it's not a bad way to spend a boring afternoon or night. Expand
  17. GA.
    Apr 24, 2007
    7
    Definitley a worthwhile movie, but not quite as good as I hoped. The movie is very entertaining for the most part but the ending leaves you wanting more. I find that the ending was much to predictable and that it could have been much better, but overall it's still a "Good" movie that gets a: 7.3/10.
  18. ChristopherW.
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    I really enjoyed this one. It's smart and funny and also builds tension and suspense very well indeed. Enjoyable performances and even some romance and family turmoil to add some emotional resonance make this film one I would strongly recommend.
  19. DWilly
    Apr 29, 2007
    5
    This would have gotten a 7 if the ending hadn't been so bad; an 8 if it had kept up with what it had going at the beginning... Alas. Still, this Shia kid is fun to watch as was the babe up until they pull the rug out from you and turn what was a thriller into a slasher.
  20. SteveP.
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    Great thriller! Had me on the edge of my seat. Absolutely unexpected shot at the start. Builds tension superbly and there is enough character development to make us actually care about the characters.
  21. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    4
    It is boring. David Morse is over the top. The movie tries to be suspensful but leaves you in your sit waiting for suspense. But Shia LaBeouf is the movie's saving grace. He is very good and plays the troubled teen well. But the film is over all not worth the time or money.
  22. Karly
    Aug 17, 2007
    7
    I liked this movie although the ending left me a little disappointed.
  23. GeoffW.
    Sep 29, 2007
    2
    Loose, weak film relying on poor shock value alone.
  24. ArmondA.
    Sep 7, 2007
    3
    I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of films, such as "chop-socky", teen-slasher, and anything with Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey, I just don't watch them, and then I don't inflict my I feel a little guilty giving this film such a low rating when the real failure took place in my brain. What possessed me to pick the dvd off the store shelf? The title ?? The box ??? ... Knowing that I don't enjoy certain types of films, such as "chop-socky", teen-slasher, and anything with Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey, I just don't watch them, and then I don't inflict my predictably low opinion of any given example of such "stuff". Let me just say that having missed the clues that should have warned me away from a rather typical teen-slasher-T-and-A-exercise, I did learn that not much has changed in this type of Hollywood product over 50 years, in the social attitudes depicted-- When this teen-hero reaches voting age he'll be reaching for the trusty old Republican lever. It's the picture of bland, mentally dead youngsters as PROTAGONISTS that entitles the movie to be called DISTURBIA. Expand
  25. brotherT
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    Absolutely diabolical. I saw it for free and I still think I was ripped-off.
  26. WilliamD.
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, "What are you doing!?!?" The characters always reacted realistically, and the movie flowed smoothly the whole way. The entire movie felt that it had I went into the movie expecting an entertaining, but probably not very well made movie. I left the theater very impressed for multiple reasons. The acting was impressive all-around but Shia LaBeouf was the real stand out. Not once did I say, "What are you doing!?!?" The characters always reacted realistically, and the movie flowed smoothly the whole way. The entire movie felt that it had been polished. I am surprised that the movie's ratings are not higher overall. It seems that critics went to the movie expecting something they reviewed, and not the movie they saw. The only downside to this movie is that it is pretty predictable, which isn't always a bad thing, sometimes predictable means realistic. Overall, this movie is not completely original but radiates through the cast, the flowing script, and the refined feel of the movie. Collapse
  27. BigRed
    Apr 13, 2007
    7
    It was good, but I liked it better the first time I saw it, when it was called Rear Window.
  28. SlingshotAl
    Apr 15, 2007
    8
    I personally think this was a pretty good film. There are a couple of different plots that come together in end which makes the twist that much better. Good first date movie.
  29. MakenzieW.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    It's not that scary movie that is dumb and has stupid things that are supposed to be scary and they aren't. It actually keeps you on the edge of your seat "literally" And somethings happen that you wouldn't expect even my dad liked it and he "hates" scary movies! It is the best scary movie I have ever seen
  30. RandyM.
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Wow. Smarter than I would have expected. And definetely creepier than I expected too. All the actors played their parts well (especially Morse......creepy). The director also paced the movie incredibly well, building up dread, and then slamming you with tension and jolts of fear. The most fun i've had at the movies in a long time.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie.. I wasnt expecting the movie to be that great. but i was wrong, the movie kept me wanting to know what was going to happen next..movie was well balanced, the plot was good and the actors were excellent. made me jump out of my seat a couple of times, and that does not happen to me very often. Do not judge a book by its cover, it might look like a bad movie, but the movie its Awesome movie.. I wasnt expecting the movie to be that great. but i was wrong, the movie kept me wanting to know what was going to happen next..movie was well balanced, the plot was good and the actors were excellent. made me jump out of my seat a couple of times, and that does not happen to me very often. Do not judge a book by its cover, it might look like a bad movie, but the movie its the complete opposite, specially because you know who's doing what. Expand
  32. ChadS.
    Apr 19, 2007
    7
    Like John Wayne Gacy, being discreet and ingratiating towards the neighbors(in this case, Kale's mom) afforded Mr. Turner(David Morse) the means to carry-on a long-term campaign of surreptitious murder. In the overblown final act, however, Turner operates like an amateur and nearly undoes the precarious "Rear Window" meets "Ferris Bueller's Day-Off" cross-generational balancing Like John Wayne Gacy, being discreet and ingratiating towards the neighbors(in this case, Kale's mom) afforded Mr. Turner(David Morse) the means to carry-on a long-term campaign of surreptitious murder. In the overblown final act, however, Turner operates like an amateur and nearly undoes the precarious "Rear Window" meets "Ferris Bueller's Day-Off" cross-generational balancing act that "Disturbia" pulls-off with more aplomb than other films which extrapolates classic Hollywood or old English Literature. The Hitchcock classic was really about vouyerism, about the relationship between spectator and spectacle, which on both counts, "Disturbia preserves. But there's a difference: Jimmy Stewart didn't have a hand-held video camera; he was passive just like any moviegoer, then and now. Kale(Shia LaBeouf), on the other hand is pro-active; he shoots the action(itself a commentary on illegal taping in theaters) and crosses over into the diegesis(like Mia Farrow's character in "The Purple Rose of Cairo"). "Disturbia" makes explicit that it's a commentary on reality television, so the open windows, the differing panoramas(rather than the solitary building in "Rear Window) represent the flipping of stations, not a silver screen like in the Hitchcock film. When Kale enters Mr. Turner's house, he's like the star of his own reality program. Expand
  33. WilT.
    Apr 19, 2007
    6
    A decent movie, don't expect anything earth shattering, but it's interesting and kept me entertained. Though I should point out, it's not a "horror" movie per say, but more like a drama/thriller. One quick thing to note is that if you don't like unrealistic movies, then don't watch this one, because this whole drama could have been avoided had the protagonist just A decent movie, don't expect anything earth shattering, but it's interesting and kept me entertained. Though I should point out, it's not a "horror" movie per say, but more like a drama/thriller. One quick thing to note is that if you don't like unrealistic movies, then don't watch this one, because this whole drama could have been avoided had the protagonist just called the police like any normal person. Expand
  34. RalphM.
    Apr 22, 2007
    8
    The first half of the movie is the best - any movie that starts with fly fishing with the most blantent product placement and then turns into a genre blender is worth a see.
  35. Rev.R.
    Apr 27, 2007
    5
    Our rich vocabulary allows a pithy description of the first hour: slow! However, moving into the latter third of the film we are enlightened. We discover that Hitchcock was a master of terror, as this remake of Rear Window pales in comparison.
  36. MelanieT
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    This movie was sooo suspenseful! This is now my fave movie and I am only 11 years old! I would see this movie if i were you, you'd be surprise!
  37. KenG
    May 17, 2007
    4
    Since Hitchcock is one of the greatest directors movies have ever had, and "Rear Window" was one of his greatest films, it's really not fair to condem this movie because it's not as good as "Rear window", as a lot of people seem to want to do. The fact is, on its own terms, this movie is a clumsy mess, with a script that was in need of a major rewrite.
  38. JasonJ.
    May 29, 2007
    4
    This movie and it's premise have been made before. One of the movies that this movie rips off is called Fright Night. Oh, sorry, this ones a serial killer and the other one was a vampire that killed people. Are we really running out of ideas as a culture? How sad. Hey, I have an idea... how about a movie with teenagers getting killed in a cabin out in the woods? Later.
  39. JoeT.
    Jul 22, 2007
    6
    Just gradually loses its creative energy as the movie goes on, and falls on tired suspense genres clinches. By the end, it's a tired B-movie slasher flick. Too bad. The first 30 minutes or so had a lot going for it.
  40. Peter
    Jul 22, 2007
    4
    Eyes are large for the box office and small for truth in this teenage exploitation flick. Now lets see his father dies in a motor accident in the most gruesome way you could imagine. He then punches out his school teacher, is then found guilty of a assault and sentenced to 3 months house arrest. He's living next door to a hot babe, Oh and by the way his other neighbor is a serial Eyes are large for the box office and small for truth in this teenage exploitation flick. Now lets see his father dies in a motor accident in the most gruesome way you could imagine. He then punches out his school teacher, is then found guilty of a assault and sentenced to 3 months house arrest. He's living next door to a hot babe, Oh and by the way his other neighbor is a serial murderer. All of this could work if the director wasn't such a lame. Caruso ends up turning this into a pathetic teen romance and nothing is said about the emotional scaring of such events on young lives. No ambiguity, no looking into the heroes eyes and feeling for him. Movies like this can be enjoyed if you can discipline yourself from thinking. But I guess that is very much the modern American film industry. Expand
  41. DanielleJ.
    Aug 17, 2007
    8
    Exciting to have a thrilling movie. So tired of the predictable horror, thriller movies. Loved it!
  42. Keith
    Aug 17, 2007
    1
    a majority of the film was exactly what i expected it to be: a sequence of the most predictable cliches in modern horror cinema. the ending, however, even exceeded my expectations by succeeding in becoming the most shamelessly far-fetched and messy hodge podge i can ever remember seeing in a movie. Disturbia is garbage. it gets one point for visual appeal and the faintest glimmer of a majority of the film was exactly what i expected it to be: a sequence of the most predictable cliches in modern horror cinema. the ending, however, even exceeded my expectations by succeeding in becoming the most shamelessly far-fetched and messy hodge podge i can ever remember seeing in a movie. Disturbia is garbage. it gets one point for visual appeal and the faintest glimmer of promise very early on in the story that it later crushes to bits. Expand
  43. LauraP.
    Aug 22, 2007
    8
    Some real suspense. More of an homage to Rear window than a knockoff.
  44. JOJO
    Aug 25, 2007
    2
    A predictable , painful and unimaginative ripoff of Hitchcock. If you have never seen a Hitchcock movie, then you may find it exciting and suspenseful.
  45. BeBob
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    Exciting thrilling movie. I liked it. Nice to watch with your girlfriend, if you want to get a hug.
  46. giulia
    Sep 22, 2007
    5
    One week ago I went to this seneak preview thing , you know, where you don't know which movie they will play. and mostly its rubbish. and this time it was disturbia. and of course it wasn't brilliant or anything like that. but it was decent enough to be not much of a disappointment. its okay. Nothing more.
  47. RobbieB.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    A great thriller, Shia LaBeouf is fantastic!!
  48. MichaelR.
    Mar 21, 2008
    8
    Even though its pg-13 it was a great horror movie.Shia does a great job acting and the serial killer in the movie was very convincing.Its not predictable at all.
  49. AndrewS.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Wow. I wasn't expecting much, but Disturbia really drew me in. It starts out as a comedy, and gradually increases in suspense and horror. This is one of my favorites! David Morse was creepy, really creepy.
  50. AshleeH.
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Thrilling. Suspensful. Very fun.
  51. TylerJ.
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Very good! The movie was pretty predictable, however. Nonetheless, the movie kept me at the edge of my seat. There was a lot of character development. I'll definitely buy this when it comes out on DVD.
  52. ChadD.
    Apr 15, 2007
    3
    It's your average teenage flick. Nothing original. The story is credited to Christopher Landon? Why? What did he do? Came up with the story... um... a guy stuck in his house sees a crime... but instead of being in a wheel chair, he'll be under house arrest. And instead of being a man, he'll be a teen so all the teens will go see it!" hahaha. YIKES! The movie was ok...the It's your average teenage flick. Nothing original. The story is credited to Christopher Landon? Why? What did he do? Came up with the story... um... a guy stuck in his house sees a crime... but instead of being in a wheel chair, he'll be under house arrest. And instead of being a man, he'll be a teen so all the teens will go see it!" hahaha. YIKES! The movie was ok...the actor made it. The story has many loop holes. Go see FINAL DESTINATION 1,2, 3, 14.... they're better. T Expand
  53. TylerC.
    Apr 15, 2007
    7
    I came into this movie not expecting much, because after all it was PG. Started out pretty good, but once it dove into the story I was hooked. This movie just goes to show that a horror movie doesn't need to be jammed full of gore and over the top violence. What it lacked in shock factor it made up for in suspense.
  54. AMovieCritic
    Apr 16, 2007
    6
    Takes a bit too long to get going. I liked the attempt to set up characters but they really needed to get to the point faster. And whenever it seemed to be building up momentum it lost it again on more "banter" and it just got a bit old. It's a lot more intelligent than your average teen thriller and features one of the best and most shocking car wrecks I've seen in a movie, and Takes a bit too long to get going. I liked the attempt to set up characters but they really needed to get to the point faster. And whenever it seemed to be building up momentum it lost it again on more "banter" and it just got a bit old. It's a lot more intelligent than your average teen thriller and features one of the best and most shocking car wrecks I've seen in a movie, and once the suspense does kick in, the movie's a blast. It just takes a bit too long to get there. It's a lot slower and funnier than I had hoped it would be. Jokes seemed to be fired at the audience as frequently as in a comedy, and while some humor is good in a movie like this, I think there was a point when the jokes needed to stop, but they just kept coming. That said, though, it's a fun, smart teen thriller whose biggest problem is that it just takes too long to get to the part that the audience is all waiting for. Will make a fun rental; not necessarily worth seeing in the theater. Expand
  55. MarkB.
    Apr 18, 2007
    6
    In David Mamet's recent, witty examination of what's right and (mostly) wrong with Hollywood, Bambi vs. Godzilla, the famous playwright/ screenwriter/ director describes a certain type of movie that's best enjoyed by entering the theater 15 minutes late. If not for the truly spectacular, scary and imaginatively shot car crash that sets the events in motion, Disturbia would In David Mamet's recent, witty examination of what's right and (mostly) wrong with Hollywood, Bambi vs. Godzilla, the famous playwright/ screenwriter/ director describes a certain type of movie that's best enjoyed by entering the theater 15 minutes late. If not for the truly spectacular, scary and imaginatively shot car crash that sets the events in motion, Disturbia would fit Mamet's bill perfectly. The movie needs to have its high school hero Kale (Shia LaBeouf) placed under three month house arrest, wearing one of those ankle devices that confines him to home and yard, but the circumstances contrived by screenwriters Christopher Landon and Carl Ellsworth (and "contrived" is EXACTLY the right word) are so obviously and unbelievably designed to make Kale's crime as understandable as possible that Landon and Ellsworth don't just rupture themselves devising them--they all but send themselves to the emergency ward! (Since in the course of the movie our hero is going to become more sympathetic anyway as he endeavors to finger a neighbor who might be a serial killer, what's wrong with the script getting him incarcerated within his home by having him commit a truly criminal, indefensible act--so that his reformation really counts for something?) While we're at it, let's lop off the LAST 15 minutes, too--an uninspired, derivative trip through boogety-boogety land that requires the heretofore intelligent villain (David Morse) to suddenly behave in a completely illogical manner after it's been made obvious that up to this point he was holding all the winning cards. What's in between Disturbia's highly dodgy beginning and end, however, is a pretty terrific hour or so of entertainment...but not for the reasons the filmmakers apparently think. Once you get past the contrivance of Kale's mom (Carrie-Anne Moss) being out of the house at highly irregular times for sheer plot convenience (until she becomes a third-act chess piece, she might just as well be one of those trombone-voiced offscreen adults in the Peanuts TV specials), Disturbia becomes a very solid little vest-pocket character study with Kale growing in responsibility and finding his place in the world even though he's been geographically restricted to a very, very small part of it. LaBeouf, who was so impressive in Holes as a kid in not just a pickle but a whole vat of them, is equally excellent here, and is matched by Sarah Roemer, an offbeat beauty who plays the girl next door that Kale probably wouldn't have gathered the confidence to talk to had he not been confined. While piecing together clues, they don't just form a tentative romance...they build a friendship, and Disturbia's most effective suspense involves not knives or body parts but the question of whether Roemer's chic but slightly insecure Ashley will conform to what's socially expected of her or step outside the box. The main interior set is visually impressive and complex (Kale never does quite manage to clean his room!) and the sound effects work is truly extraordinary: the high echo blend of fire engines, cats, dogs, traffic, faint music and other sounds of summer at night is simultaneously evocative and creepy. Too bad the movie's technical excellence and the winning performances of LaBeouf and Roemer (whose conversations are so natural they not only seem partly improvised but add to the movie's subtext of electronic invasion by giving us the impression that we're spying on something private and intimate) go for absolutely naught because Disturbia feels bound to adhere to its genre: what plays for awhile as a sort of millennial, home-school update of The Breakfast Club ends up coming off as not much more than the latest installment of Friday the 13th Part-Whatever-The-Hell-They're-Up-To-By-Now. Expand
  56. JeremyD.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This movie did not look so great in previews, but when I saw it in theaters, I thought the only thing this movie should have worked better on was the preview. Disturbia was a perfect combination of action, horror and comedy. I never took my eyes of the screen. Shia LaBeouf is a far better actor than I thought before.You wont regret watching this movie
  57. ChrisC
    Apr 26, 2007
    4
    A good premise gone terribly wrong. A promising idea is plagued by poor pacing and characters impossible to believe. The main character suspects the killer for absolutely no reason, and just happens to be right. Way too much time is spent on the obligatory-seeming teen romance to the point that all of the good aspects of the movie are obscured.
  58. PeterJ.
    Dec 21, 2007
    6
    Good movie. Nothing more, nothing less. The chick in the movie kept me watching :)
  59. DME
    Mar 28, 2011
    9
    I liked this movie. It was somewhat suspensful without being horrifying. There were some unpredictable parts and dramatic irony. Good acting and good story.
  60. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    This movie was very refreshing as it was a tradition classic murder thriller similar to Rear Window but with even more action and suspense. Although it's slow at times and there could have been a few twists put in, the build-up is great and the characterization is great. Shia Labeouf does a great job as well as the (extremely) HOT girl lead. One of the best thrillers in years.
  61. Oct 10, 2010
    7
    A good start for Shia LaBeouf. It has a relatively sow start but as the movie progresses on it gets to be way more chilling. And the ending, although the lighting is awful cause i couldn't see anything in that basement, was really well done. All in all, good movie. Not the best, but i enjoyed it.
  62. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    Disturbia could be one of those movies people look back on several years from now and resort to the fact that it could be the most stupid movie they have seen, or notice it's slight intelligence. The plot is too predictable that the intensity of it takes a sharp nosedive. The tension doesn't seem to peak anywhere, until the last 20 minutes. And if anyone seems to pick up the ever soDisturbia could be one of those movies people look back on several years from now and resort to the fact that it could be the most stupid movie they have seen, or notice it's slight intelligence. The plot is too predictable that the intensity of it takes a sharp nosedive. The tension doesn't seem to peak anywhere, until the last 20 minutes. And if anyone seems to pick up the ever so addictive tension, it doesn't add much to the story. The only question the audience would be dying to answer is "Get the b***h already!" It's a smidge too long as well. Comedy seems to be a forefront for the majority of the film, and the audience won't exactly feel that "disturbed". But there is some intelligence to the film though. A moving plot desperately tries to develop anytime there isn't that one-liner. There aren't many disturbing moments, but the drama and comedy drives the film into something more interesting. Lead actor Shia Laebouf doesn't quite add any substance to the movie, but in the end I don't quite care. I got some drama, teen romance, and a few thrilling moments. It would be disturbing not to like this movie at all. Expand
  63. May 19, 2011
    8
    A terrific thriller and an incredibly intense movie. Shia LaBeouf is once more phenominal as a teenager under house arrest who suspects that one of his neighbours is a serial killer however as Kale and his freinds trys to gather evidence he doesn't realise just how much danger they are in. The film constantly has you invested in what's going on and the tension is built up superbly. DavidA terrific thriller and an incredibly intense movie. Shia LaBeouf is once more phenominal as a teenager under house arrest who suspects that one of his neighbours is a serial killer however as Kale and his freinds trys to gather evidence he doesn't realise just how much danger they are in. The film constantly has you invested in what's going on and the tension is built up superbly. David Morse is so creepy its scary as the neighbour Kale suspects to be the serial killer. Overall a very solid and fantastic film it ticks all the boxes in what you would want in a thriller but it also has its scarier side for any horror fans. Expand
  64. Apr 13, 2011
    5
    Somewhat promising at the outset but sadly it degenerated rapidly into a completely generic, implausible Hollywood thriller. Carrie Ann Moss as someone's mother? How the mighty are fallen.
  65. Jan 4, 2013
    5
    People giving this a high rating is baffling. I did enjoy it to an extent because Shia LaBeouf is a likable actor and the girl next door is good eye candy but as a thriller of any kind it is pretty flat. The plot has more holes in it than a second hand dartboard, examples being not phoning the police when he sees the car with damage to the wing and also a prolific methodical serial killerPeople giving this a high rating is baffling. I did enjoy it to an extent because Shia LaBeouf is a likable actor and the girl next door is good eye candy but as a thriller of any kind it is pretty flat. The plot has more holes in it than a second hand dartboard, examples being not phoning the police when he sees the car with damage to the wing and also a prolific methodical serial killer who kills people with the lights on and curtains open as well as suddenly attempting to kill half of the neighbours on the street when he does not have to. It all comes down to poor lazy writing. If compared to a classic like Rear Window it is way short of that quality. Expand
  66. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    It is predictable but solid acting and the film's ability to hold interest through out more then make up for it. I liked the film and I am suprised that so many people bash it.
  67. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Solid acting and rather suspensful, I am suprised that critics didn't like it more then they did. It was a pretty solid movie that I enjoyed watching.
  68. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    There's ample room to fail while remaking a classic film such as Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window... Fortunately, for us, Disturbia is almost as fresh and thrilling as the film which it is based on. Go, Shia LaBeouf!
  69. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    Disturbia is a tense movie for what it is. None of the characters add anything to the film. A movie that is good, nothing more, nothing less and very forgettable.
  70. Apr 21, 2012
    5
    There are plenty of jolts to be found within the suspense techniques, but the way the film exploits **** cliches is as stale as bread left out for a year.
  71. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    A dazzling scare dance that's sure to keep you on your toes.
  72. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I really didn't think I'd like it as much as I did. Apart from the really good script and all the suspense and "oh crap, they're dead" moments, something about this movie brought me back to when I was still in high-school..... minus the hot chick and the suspected serial killer neighbor. Disturbia is pretty funny when it wants to be, and pretty damn serious when it has to be.
  73. Jan 16, 2015
    9
    Um suspense de terror incrível Shia LaBeoulf é extraodinário. David Morse faz um ótimo psicopata. Super Envolvente uma simples prisão domiciliar,acaba num pesadelo maior.
  74. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    I was a little skeptical when I rented it. But it was great. It had the perfect combination of a horror movie and comedy. Great movie. Get it you won't be disappointed.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: John Maynard
    50
    LaBeouf is appealing as the frustrated shut-in, and comic-relief cred goes to Aaron Yoo, who plays his neurotic buddy Ronnie. The ending, though, drags, and the film quickly shifts from a clever homage to "Rear Window" to a bad parody of "The Silence of the Lambs."
  2. The bloody wrap-up isn't handled especially well, and I must confess that the most shocking thing about the movie was the casting of Carrie-Anne Moss as a suburban mom. I kept expecting her "Matrix" skills to show up in the final reel.
  3. 70
    There are no big surprises, but the jumps and jolts are well timed and the overall mood is at once grisly and good-natured -- more diverting than disturbing.