Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four andIn a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four and together they must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it's too late. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 19, 2014
    88
    The strength of Burger’s movie is the fact that a non-reader of Roth’s work can enjoy Divergent and not be confused by any aspect of the storyline.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    Divergent is less action-oriented than "The Hunger Games" but no less compelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Mar 16, 2014
    67
    Because there’s some genuinely great ideas in the film, and some terrific character work, but it’s given such uneven attention, alternately languished upon and glossed over, that the portrait Burger creates feels complete without, well, making us feel a whole lot else.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    Divergent is a clumsy, humorless and shamelessly derivative sci-fi thriller set in a generically dystopian future.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 20, 2014
    50
    This society makes no sense except as a metaphor. The social layout of Divergent was supposedly devised so as to maintain peace, but putting people into airtight factions guarantees conflict.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 3, 2014
    40
    The more you scrutinise the society Roth and these screenwriters have created, the more it seems a chintzily self-designed dystopia whose rules and entire infrastructure are pure cardboard.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 20, 2014
    20
    In all candor, and with all the amity I can muster, Divergent is as dauntingly dumb as it is dauntingly long.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 134
  2. Negative: 35 out of 134
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Definitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the TitanDefinitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They picked the perfect actors for the roles! I will definitely go and read the 2nd book to see what will be coming up in the next movie! Don't miss this one. :) Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsyThis movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsy or deeply thought-provoking or intellectual, but sometimes people just want to go to a movie and be entertained without having to think too much. Keep in mind I'm well beyond 40 yrs old and i do also love movies like silver linings playbook, so you know where i'm coming from. but both my wife and i found this was one of the most entertaining movies we can remember seeing. It does draw some interesting parallels with Hunger games (which we also liked) but is a different and unique take on future humanity struggling (and failing) to control and manage society. Sadly, I worry one of the reasons this kind of storyline is ringing true to viewers these days is because our own society and leaders seem to be running off the rails themselves, and a twisted Orwellian future state seems less far-fetched than ever before... Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    It was actually a pretty good movie. I have never read the book or really knew what to expect from the story. The movie really puts you at theIt was actually a pretty good movie. I have never read the book or really knew what to expect from the story. The movie really puts you at the edge of your seat the whole time. There's a lot of action and the fighting scenes were entertaining. The plot/setting was sort of a mixture of Hunger Games (dystopian world where kids fight) with similar class discrimination as Harry Potter (kids take a test and choose which class they belong to). I really think there's a lot of potential for this franchise to take off in the future with subsequent movies especially since the cast is pretty strong. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2014
    6
    Decent, but nothing more. Its buildup was fine but it then descended into a shoot-em-up, which must have made Republicans and the NRA happy.Decent, but nothing more. Its buildup was fine but it then descended into a shoot-em-up, which must have made Republicans and the NRA happy. It's a half hour too long, given epic treatment when it deserves far less, and the dialogue's terrible, as if a high school student had written it. I'll pass on any sequels. And the poster's hilarious--Four transcends his fear of heights, just to get Tris' butt in his face. I hope for his sake she didn't have tacos for lunch. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    5
    The movie is entertaining enough and there are really talented people involved, but the script is weak and the story in general does not quietThe movie is entertaining enough and there are really talented people involved, but the script is weak and the story in general does not quiet take off. It is decent and the best thing is probably that there is room for improvement in the upcoming sequels. Just for when you have a couple of hours you don´t know what to do and have seen all the other better films out there. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    Shailene Woodley is the worst choice for this movie and this is bad because she is near all the 2 hours . she is so **** dull unlike ashleyShailene Woodley is the worst choice for this movie and this is bad because she is near all the 2 hours . she is so **** dull unlike ashley judd (the mother) she was awesome . theo james is another bad choice . i only wish they do better next time after they know their roles better . never read the book but its simply great story . Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever, I loved it sooooooooooooooooo much, the book is **** but the movie is amazing, you must watch it in the movie theater. The protagonist is so beautiful, inteligent and smart, I LOVE HER Expand

See all 134 User Reviews

Trailers