Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four and together they must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it's too late. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 19, 2014
    88
    The strength of Burger’s movie is the fact that a non-reader of Roth’s work can enjoy Divergent and not be confused by any aspect of the storyline.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    Divergent is less action-oriented than "The Hunger Games" but no less compelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Mar 16, 2014
    67
    Because there’s some genuinely great ideas in the film, and some terrific character work, but it’s given such uneven attention, alternately languished upon and glossed over, that the portrait Burger creates feels complete without, well, making us feel a whole lot else.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    Divergent is a clumsy, humorless and shamelessly derivative sci-fi thriller set in a generically dystopian future.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 20, 2014
    50
    This society makes no sense except as a metaphor. The social layout of Divergent was supposedly devised so as to maintain peace, but putting people into airtight factions guarantees conflict.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 3, 2014
    40
    The more you scrutinise the society Roth and these screenwriters have created, the more it seems a chintzily self-designed dystopia whose rules and entire infrastructure are pure cardboard.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 20, 2014
    20
    In all candor, and with all the amity I can muster, Divergent is as dauntingly dumb as it is dauntingly long.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 90
  2. Negative: 22 out of 90
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Definitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They picked the perfect actors for the roles! I will definitely go and read the 2nd book to see what will be coming up in the next movie! Don't miss this one. :) Collapse
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    This is such a good movie, it's far more realistic then the Hunger games and not as childish. So go to the theaters, if you haven't yet and go watch Divergent. It's only a shame that there are only three books made. But most of all the special effects are great because the first movie of this book adaption wasn't a low budget, like the hunger games, when Peeta and Katniss come in on their race car. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    Usually, I write a short review of every movie I watch. But I had a lot of things to say about the movie so here goes.....

    Before I start,
    I would like to say, shame on the critics. Sure, it's may be just their opinions but some of the critics' reviews I have read said that they haven't read the book yet. Critics are journalists and they should do their research a little. Don't just sit there, watch the movie and judge it without some research. And also, are they really expecting Divergent to have the same epic feeling as The Hunger Games? Seriously? We all should know Divergent trilogy won't be brilliant as The Hunger Games trilogy.

    Some of the elements from the book have to be removed for the movie. It's pretty common these days. As a fan, I understand. But what ticks me a little is that two of the important elements have to be removed in the movie. I won't mention one of them because it's a huge spoiler but I will mention the other one. Two of the characters (as I can remember) are removed in this movie and those characters were Uriah and Edward. While I am disappointed about it, I can easily forgive this part unlike The Hunger Games where Maggie is completely cut off and she has some importance to the overall trilogy despite her small appearance. Okay, enough dropping THG references. :)))))

    What I like though is that they kept the final act of the movie justice to the final chapters of the book, except one part which I am not going to tell. But still, it's like what I imagined in the books.

    Most of the cast' performance are okay except Shailene Woodley and Theo James. Their performances were excellent! They are the highlight of the whole movie. I am glad they took their roles as Tris Prior and Four Eaton. If you're still complaining how Theo is quite older than Four, seriously get a life. And oh, let's not forget Kate Winslet! Her signature English accent is not noticeable there so she did her role well. And Theo as well, another English actor.

    And lastly, the pace and the plot of the movie. It's just entertaining enough with its action-packed scenes for non-readers so that's something despite some of the plot holes that some non-readers are going to question.

    I can't wait for Insurgent!!!! (And oh, non-readers, try to read the books. ;)
    Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    6
    Harry Potter in dystopian times; saddening because YA novel-to-film adaptations in hollywood are now becoming an oversaturated market. It holds to be an adequate film on strong aesthetics as well as good (not her best) acting from Shailene Woodley and the secondary characters. It falters from blatant plot holes, a rushed and forced ending, as well as poor acting from the antagonist (yes, Kate Winslet's role is very superficial, and lacks any form of depth whatsoever). Already signed on to another sequel, here's to hoping that this series contains a learning curve structure. Insurgent now has high expectations. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    5
    When reading the book, I had concerns about how well it would translate to film. It's a book without much action and most of the narrative is internalized to the protagonist. Books like that tend to struggle to adapt well and Divergent is no different. The director tried to make changes to the story in order to try and make it work but I honestly think it was futile. It's just not a good story for a 2-hour interpretation. Even at that, I would rather have seen the story stay true and struggle to adapt than change and struggle. All in all, it was set up to fail from the beginning. Shailene Woodley and Theo James gave solid performances and the special effects and action sequences were done well but they made the film watchable and slightly enjoyable at best. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    Shailene Woodley is the worst choice for this movie and this is bad because she is near all the 2 hours . she is so **** dull unlike ashley judd (the mother) she was awesome . theo james is another bad choice . i only wish they do better next time after they know their roles better . never read the book but its simply great story . Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever, I loved it sooooooooooooooooo much, the book is **** but the movie is amazing, you must watch it in the movie theater. The protagonist is so beautiful, inteligent and smart, I LOVE HER Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers