Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four andIn a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four and together they must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it's too late. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 19, 2014
    88
    The strength of Burger’s movie is the fact that a non-reader of Roth’s work can enjoy Divergent and not be confused by any aspect of the storyline.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    Divergent is less action-oriented than "The Hunger Games" but no less compelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Mar 16, 2014
    67
    Because there’s some genuinely great ideas in the film, and some terrific character work, but it’s given such uneven attention, alternately languished upon and glossed over, that the portrait Burger creates feels complete without, well, making us feel a whole lot else.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    Divergent is a clumsy, humorless and shamelessly derivative sci-fi thriller set in a generically dystopian future.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 20, 2014
    50
    This society makes no sense except as a metaphor. The social layout of Divergent was supposedly devised so as to maintain peace, but putting people into airtight factions guarantees conflict.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 3, 2014
    40
    The more you scrutinise the society Roth and these screenwriters have created, the more it seems a chintzily self-designed dystopia whose rules and entire infrastructure are pure cardboard.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 20, 2014
    20
    In all candor, and with all the amity I can muster, Divergent is as dauntingly dumb as it is dauntingly long.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 121
  2. Negative: 32 out of 121
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Definitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the TitanDefinitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They picked the perfect actors for the roles! I will definitely go and read the 2nd book to see what will be coming up in the next movie! Don't miss this one. :) Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsyThis movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsy or deeply thought-provoking or intellectual, but sometimes people just want to go to a movie and be entertained without having to think too much. Keep in mind I'm well beyond 40 yrs old and i do also love movies like silver linings playbook, so you know where i'm coming from. but both my wife and i found this was one of the most entertaining movies we can remember seeing. It does draw some interesting parallels with Hunger games (which we also liked) but is a different and unique take on future humanity struggling (and failing) to control and manage society. Sadly, I worry one of the reasons this kind of storyline is ringing true to viewers these days is because our own society and leaders seem to be running off the rails themselves, and a twisted Orwellian future state seems less far-fetched than ever before... Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    I'm giving 8 to the movie because as a person that has read the book I felt that there were some details that shouldn't have been left behind,I'm giving 8 to the movie because as a person that has read the book I felt that there were some details that shouldn't have been left behind, however Im giving 8 to the movie because even when you didn't read the book you'll understand it without trying too hard and they were kind of true to the book, they weren't mayor changes so yeah, I'm looking forward to Insurgent :). Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2014
    6
    Divergent is a dystopian science fiction that finds itself suffering from the mould Hollywood has created for recent book adaptations. It is aDivergent is a dystopian science fiction that finds itself suffering from the mould Hollywood has created for recent book adaptations. It is a very formulaic and predictable storyline that is immersed in an intricately-built world. However the acting is insanely good, particularly Shailene Woodley, who makes everything feel much more real. The only issue was the repetitive theme of 'Chosen One' fights against oppressive government force. In the end Divergent is a watchable film if you enjoy dystopian sci-fis. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    In itself an interesting concept, the movie was riddled with cliches and was dragged out a lot longer than necessary. I'm not too sure aboutIn itself an interesting concept, the movie was riddled with cliches and was dragged out a lot longer than necessary. I'm not too sure about the actors either. Very mixed performances. But overall enjoyable, although not amazing in any way Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    3
    As a book reader, I have never been so disappointed in a book-to-movie conversion. Not only did they leave extremely important details out,As a book reader, I have never been so disappointed in a book-to-movie conversion. Not only did they leave extremely important details out, but many important events occur out of order. Motivations for certain characters aren't even explained; even extremely important plot devices are not included. Many of these changes serve no purpose and hinder the emotional impact certain characters' decisions would otherwise have on the viewer. Book readers will generally be confused with the changes, and by the time the credits roll, most will be asking, "Why?" Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever, I loved it sooooooooooooooooo much, the book is **** but the movie is amazing, you must watch it in the movie theater. The protagonist is so beautiful, inteligent and smart, I LOVE HER Expand

See all 121 User Reviews

Trailers