Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four andIn a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four and together they must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it's too late. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 19, 2014
    88
    The strength of Burger’s movie is the fact that a non-reader of Roth’s work can enjoy Divergent and not be confused by any aspect of the storyline.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    Divergent is less action-oriented than "The Hunger Games" but no less compelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Mar 16, 2014
    67
    Because there’s some genuinely great ideas in the film, and some terrific character work, but it’s given such uneven attention, alternately languished upon and glossed over, that the portrait Burger creates feels complete without, well, making us feel a whole lot else.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    Divergent is a clumsy, humorless and shamelessly derivative sci-fi thriller set in a generically dystopian future.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 20, 2014
    50
    This society makes no sense except as a metaphor. The social layout of Divergent was supposedly devised so as to maintain peace, but putting people into airtight factions guarantees conflict.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Apr 3, 2014
    40
    The more you scrutinise the society Roth and these screenwriters have created, the more it seems a chintzily self-designed dystopia whose rules and entire infrastructure are pure cardboard.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 20, 2014
    20
    In all candor, and with all the amity I can muster, Divergent is as dauntingly dumb as it is dauntingly long.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 137
  2. Negative: 37 out of 137
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Definitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the TitanDefinitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They picked the perfect actors for the roles! I will definitely go and read the 2nd book to see what will be coming up in the next movie! Don't miss this one. :) Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    Divergent is one the most intense films I have seen all year, I have never read the books but Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Miles Tiller, KateDivergent is one the most intense films I have seen all year, I have never read the books but Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Miles Tiller, Kate Winslet (Basically everyone in this movie) did a great job, even with similarities it is enough with its own thing. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2014
    8
    It's a must see movie. It's build on the same perception that is presented in The Hunger Games, but it's something more with this one thanIt's a must see movie. It's build on the same perception that is presented in The Hunger Games, but it's something more with this one than it's predecesor. Shailenne is a fenomenal actress and this role come to justify just that. Also the rest of the cast are good actors, great play for their characters in the movie. All in all, don't jump this one !! Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    I don't have a lot to say about Divergent. It's not spectacular, it's not terrible. There's nothing that feels insincere or insulting to theI don't have a lot to say about Divergent. It's not spectacular, it's not terrible. There's nothing that feels insincere or insulting to the intellect. Most importantly, the central message of the movie is one that's very important for society to hear in an age where claustrophobic peer pressure assaults us at all hours of the day, and where fitting in is seen as more valuable than hanging on to individual worth Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    5
    This film offers some good moments that have you screwing up your face and you really do feel the emotion behind certain scenes. TheThis film offers some good moments that have you screwing up your face and you really do feel the emotion behind certain scenes. The storytelling is good, but it drags out a bit and there is not enough action. Ultimately, it misses out or just ignores little unanswered questions and fails to capitalize on the climax, it's really quite a boring ending. Worth a watch if you like waiting three years for a sequel, but I wouldn't recommend it as I personally hate unfinished stories and I don't think 'The World of Divergent' will make it to it's third 2-parter (yawn) instalment. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2014
    3
    Divergent arrives with a whimper in the crowded post - Harry Potter young adult franchises largely due to it's failure in generating thrillsDivergent arrives with a whimper in the crowded post - Harry Potter young adult franchises largely due to it's failure in generating thrills for most of the movie and it's overly derivative plot. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever, I loved it sooooooooooooooooo much, the book is **** but the movie is amazing, you must watch it in the movie theater. The protagonist is so beautiful, inteligent and smart, I LOVE HER Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Trailers