User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1545 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Excellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the word "realistic" when talking about this movie, it definitely feels more real than some of his past titles (Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds). The characters are, as always, extremely entertaining. Quentin always brings the best out of his actors, and maybe that'sExcellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the word "realistic" when talking about this movie, it definitely feels more real than some of his past titles (Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds). The characters are, as always, extremely entertaining. Quentin always brings the best out of his actors, and maybe that's because he just writes such great characters for them. The theme for the film is vengeance, which is the usual for Tarantino. He follows the Tarantino style as you can expect, but he doesn't fail to throw in a few surprises. He also isn't afraid to stay true to the times with the word **** being thrown into every other line of dialogue. I'm glad he didn't shy away from this because, as someone familiar with history, it wouldn't have felt right. The dialogue is fantastic, the pacing is terrific, the action is spectacular, and overall it's a very entertaining movie. I can tell already that a few racist or ignorant people are leaving bad reviews because the film pokes fun at them, so be weary about bringing anyone like that to see the movie with you. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    The thrill is gone. Tarantino leapt to center stage of American film making with Reservoir Dogs and cemented his reputation with Pulp Fiction, but it's time to face facts; sometimes there's two flashes in the pan before it's over. Tarantino, like Coppola, Cameron and Lucas, has lost his creative edge. Viewing a Tarantino film, one must expect violence by the ton and language that wouldThe thrill is gone. Tarantino leapt to center stage of American film making with Reservoir Dogs and cemented his reputation with Pulp Fiction, but it's time to face facts; sometimes there's two flashes in the pan before it's over. Tarantino, like Coppola, Cameron and Lucas, has lost his creative edge. Viewing a Tarantino film, one must expect violence by the ton and language that would make David Mamet wince. But, unlike the grievously over-rated Mamet, one also expects Tarantino's wit. The only humor here is a rip on Blazing Saddles with the overused racial epithet. I'm not a fool. I'm not expecting this review will stop anyone from wasting their money on this thing. I'm not expecting anyone to wake up to Tarantino's failings because I point them out. The NYC film critics love him as do the majority of those posting on this site. But, personally, I think you should wait to rent this thing or, better yet, pass it up entirely. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    If you like Kill Bill you will like this movie. That being said, I liken Taratino's filmmaking to a teacher preparing lesson plans for the slow reader group. This movie has the most base elements and is stock full of his trademark violence. Maybe, I'm the dim bulb but I just don't get this film. Angry black man taking his revenge on the tyrannical white establishment. Beyond that thereIf you like Kill Bill you will like this movie. That being said, I liken Taratino's filmmaking to a teacher preparing lesson plans for the slow reader group. This movie has the most base elements and is stock full of his trademark violence. Maybe, I'm the dim bulb but I just don't get this film. Angry black man taking his revenge on the tyrannical white establishment. Beyond that there isn't anything else in the film. It seems to be one long excuse to spew racial epithets, over and over and over and over. The film lacks any real depth and most of its appeal will be to the type of people that watch police chase videos or scan YouTube for someone getting kicked in the groin. If you have a couple of IQ points you can spare, then by all means burn some brain cells watching this entirely uninteresting flop. Enjoy! Collapse
  4. Dec 25, 2012
    4
    I loved "Inglourios Basterds", but I have to say, this movie was so...predictable. This is the first Tarantino film where his formula becomes obvious, and unfortunately, it's not to his credit. There were very few surprises, the humor was weaker than usual, and yeah, the soundtrack was fun, but also kind of obnoxious. What was lacking was the sheer creativity I've come to expect from QT.I loved "Inglourios Basterds", but I have to say, this movie was so...predictable. This is the first Tarantino film where his formula becomes obvious, and unfortunately, it's not to his credit. There were very few surprises, the humor was weaker than usual, and yeah, the soundtrack was fun, but also kind of obnoxious. What was lacking was the sheer creativity I've come to expect from QT.
    Also, it must be said, Jaimie Foxx just doesn't cut it -- his was the least interesting character in a movie named after him.
    By no means was this awful -- the cinematography was gorgeous, the setting was intriguing, and the historical sweep was fun. But wtf is up with having to say the cinematography was good after a QT film! That's not why anyone is supposed to like this. Overall: weak sauce.
    Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Django is another movie beautifully directed by Quentin Tarantino. It is astonishing that QT is able to take a subject as sinister as the treatment of many African American slaves during the nineteenth century and turn it into a film not only honorable of the subject matter, but as great of a story as Django is. In the midst of much of the underlying torment in the context of the film,Django is another movie beautifully directed by Quentin Tarantino. It is astonishing that QT is able to take a subject as sinister as the treatment of many African American slaves during the nineteenth century and turn it into a film not only honorable of the subject matter, but as great of a story as Django is. In the midst of much of the underlying torment in the context of the film, Tarantino is once again still able to deliver a movie that is both riveting and hilarious. The genius of this film is only further cemented by its exemplary cast. Leonardo DiCaprio plays an outstanding role as one of the wealthiest and cruel plantation owners in the South--so believable at times, it is scary. Jamie Fox also plays his role terrifically, giving the film the hero it deserves. Even the role played by Samuel L. Jackson is utilized very well. However, the role played by Christoph Waltz as Dr. King Schultz is simply sublime, and is a shining example of why he is becoming one of my favorite, if not my favorite, actors to date. Django is sure to become another Tarantino classic. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Excellent film. My favorite Tarantino movie to date. Like many Tarantino films, this movie makes you think, but it's a comedy. Django Unchained invokes a wide variety of emotions. One moment, you will be sickened. Then you'll get angry. And in the middle of those things, and before and after it all, you'll laugh. Sometimes you'll wonder if you were supposed to laugh, but you'llExcellent film. My favorite Tarantino movie to date. Like many Tarantino films, this movie makes you think, but it's a comedy. Django Unchained invokes a wide variety of emotions. One moment, you will be sickened. Then you'll get angry. And in the middle of those things, and before and after it all, you'll laugh. Sometimes you'll wonder if you were supposed to laugh, but you'll laugh anyway. And in the center of it all are interesting, genuine characters. Christoph Waltz plays Dr. Shultz, a German bounty hunter who is incredibly educated. Leonardo DiCaprio plays a Southern plantation owner, Calvin Candie, who is just plain sickening. Samuel L. Jackson plays DiCaprio's slave whose family has served the Candies for generations. And finally, there's Django, played by Jamie Foxx, a former slave who wishes to save his wife and exact vengeance on those who would keep slaves. These characters are some of my favorite movie characters of all time. The movie is worth watching just for them. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Aside from the obvious Tarantino dialogue, camerawork, and soundtrack, all of which are excellent, the film has an excellent meta-commentary on the blacksploitation genre by contrasting the idea of "Mandingo fighting" with the structure and outcome of the film itself. Characters, though not at snappily witty as in Tarantino's other films, are more complex, thought-out people than inAside from the obvious Tarantino dialogue, camerawork, and soundtrack, all of which are excellent, the film has an excellent meta-commentary on the blacksploitation genre by contrasting the idea of "Mandingo fighting" with the structure and outcome of the film itself. Characters, though not at snappily witty as in Tarantino's other films, are more complex, thought-out people than in Tarantino's other films. Samuel L. Jackson's character, who on a surface reading is a thin parody of the house slave stock character, becomes a much more rich and complex character when you look not only at his actions towards Django in the film, but consider his motivations and his general role at Candyland. I can't decide if he is ultimately a villain, is stealthily mitigating the abuses of the plantation, is simply spiteful, or if some of his more villainous-seeming actions are a poorly-executed attempt to aid Django, in his way. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    Poorly executed and predictable film. I can't say I like the idea of a spaghetti western that this film portrayed. They never even had slavery in the west. Overblown and over-dramatic.
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    So. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't needSo. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't need to be anywhere NEAR as long as it is. I mean, I'm willing to forego plot holes if I'm enjoying the ride (TAKEN, as well as any number of other movies, but that's the first that comes to mind), but the latter 1/3 of this thing just feels like Tarantino lost interest. It's sloppy. No where near what, in my humble estimation is still his masterpiece, the great KILL BILL, Vol. 1. Oh, and as an actor, Tarantino continues to have a bright future as a director. Expand
  10. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    It actually has a story line for about half the movie, then it becomes an unbelievable "shoot-em-up". If you don't mind the "gansta rap", the unnecessary filthy language, and the almost silly violence scenes, then go see it. Tarantino has such a gift for movie making, and yet, it seem he feels an obligation to take the violence "over the top".
  11. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    I loved Kill Bill, Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, etc. they are truly classics, but Django just did not do it for me. From the very first scenes I had a hard time getting immersed in the movie. Christoph Waltz accent throughout the movie seemed weird and out of place (in a western). There was much more "comedy" than in other Tarantino movies, but unfortunately it was pretty stupid and notI loved Kill Bill, Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, etc. they are truly classics, but Django just did not do it for me. From the very first scenes I had a hard time getting immersed in the movie. Christoph Waltz accent throughout the movie seemed weird and out of place (in a western). There was much more "comedy" than in other Tarantino movies, but unfortunately it was pretty stupid and not funny. Tarantino usually has some phenomenal music scores up his sleeve, but in Django it felt really poorly done. The dialogue wasn't very good, and really the whole movie felt really implausible throughout (I know its a movie - but why is everyone so incredibly dumb?) I was looking forward to this movie, and I liked the concept, but it never drew me in. Expand
  12. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Another triumph and masterpiece from QT. His use of a linear structure made it one of his most satisfying accomplishments if not one of his most emotional. The love story completely worked for me as well as the typical QT trademarks and explosive violence. A true American classic.
  13. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Django Unchained is Quentin Tarantino's homage to the spaghetti westerns of the 60's- with a hefty dollop of marinara on top, in true QT fashion. Jamie Foxx is the title character, a slave rescued from servitude by a German bounty hunter, Dr. King Schultz (Christopher Waltz). In exchange for helping him track down and kill various wanted men, Schulz agrees to help Django rescue hisDjango Unchained is Quentin Tarantino's homage to the spaghetti westerns of the 60's- with a hefty dollop of marinara on top, in true QT fashion. Jamie Foxx is the title character, a slave rescued from servitude by a German bounty hunter, Dr. King Schultz (Christopher Waltz). In exchange for helping him track down and kill various wanted men, Schulz agrees to help Django rescue his enslaved wife (Kerry Washington) from Candyland, a plantation owned by the sadistic Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio.) Tarantino has a knack for bringing out the best in actors, and DiCaprio in particular shines among a field of diamonds, playing Candie with marvelous antebellum gusto. Samuel L. Jackson said he wanted to play the most hated Negro in cinematic history, and he most certainly gets his wish here. Stephen, Calvin's racist house slave, is a truly despicable character, in a movie filled with them. This is an extremely violent film: fountains of blood erupt onto the screen during gunfights; a runaway slave is torn apart by a pack of dogs; eyes are poked out; skulls are bashed in. None of this should surprise anyone who has seen either of the Kill Bill movies. If gratuitous violence bothers you, do not watch this. I wasn't bothered, though. All the violence is directed towards slave owners and their enablers, and, frankly, they deserve to die. Even if you're an adamant pacifist, you can't deny Tarantino's virtuosity. His style of film making is just so fun to watch. The dialogue is a joy to listen to, as is the music. Even when an anachronistic rap song starts playing, you don't mind because, somehow, it fits right alongside the flamboyant guitar instrumentals and Johnny Cash's god-fearing country. Django Unchained, though simplistic and borderline cartoonish at times, is a supremely satisfying piece of film-making. Movie buffs rejoice: Tarantino is back, and he's not pulling any punches. Expand
  14. Dec 26, 2012
    4
    I dearly love Tarantino. I love Inglourious Basterds (and Pulp Fiction, and Reservoir Dogs, and I'd give all his other films, including Death Proof, at least an 8). But I found this one really disappointing. The key element missing for me was quality QT dialogue. There are very few memorable conversations in this. Whereas Pulp Fiction/Inglourious Basterds, two of my favorite movies of allI dearly love Tarantino. I love Inglourious Basterds (and Pulp Fiction, and Reservoir Dogs, and I'd give all his other films, including Death Proof, at least an 8). But I found this one really disappointing. The key element missing for me was quality QT dialogue. There are very few memorable conversations in this. Whereas Pulp Fiction/Inglourious Basterds, two of my favorite movies of all time, were full of brilliant oddball unconventional wisdom and clever turns of phrase, I can't remember a single good line from Django, and I just saw it an hour ago. Much of the humor is hackneyed, much of the attempts at insight are banal.

    Furthermore the weak dialogue caused me not to care about the characters, and the climactic scene is troublingly forced and unemotional. Really hoping this is just a blip for QT and not a harbinger of his subsequent work.
    Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    This was absolutely horrific movie I have ever seen. The lanugage was so vulgar and totally unnecessary. The violence was disgusting and the display of degradation of other human beings was such I left the theater before it was over in disgust. Save your money or donate to St. Jude.
  16. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    One of Quentin Tarantino's greatest movies and in my opinion his best film with the exception of Pulp Fiction. Jaime Foxx does a terrific job in the lead role, however it is the two supporting actors, Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio, who truly steal the show. Di Caprio's riveting portrayal of the sinister plantation owner Mr. Candie is perhaps his best acting job so far. If you areOne of Quentin Tarantino's greatest movies and in my opinion his best film with the exception of Pulp Fiction. Jaime Foxx does a terrific job in the lead role, however it is the two supporting actors, Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio, who truly steal the show. Di Caprio's riveting portrayal of the sinister plantation owner Mr. Candie is perhaps his best acting job so far. If you are a Tarantino fan this is a must see, it is one of the great movies of the 2000's and through Tarantino's signature directing and witty writing will become a classic in no time. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Quentin Tarantino has given us the best Christmas present, another one of his "Epic" cinematic accomplishments. Not only one of the best but my favorite movie of the year. Underneath the bloody, revenge, slavery theme of Django Unchained is also a love story. Django's only priority in this story is rescuing his beloved wife from the "evil" hands of Calvin Candie (Dicaprio) and his loyalQuentin Tarantino has given us the best Christmas present, another one of his "Epic" cinematic accomplishments. Not only one of the best but my favorite movie of the year. Underneath the bloody, revenge, slavery theme of Django Unchained is also a love story. Django's only priority in this story is rescuing his beloved wife from the "evil" hands of Calvin Candie (Dicaprio) and his loyal black land owner Stephen (Sam L. Jackson). The Western genre is one of my, if not the most, favorite genre of all movie genres. Spaghetti westerns are even superior, in my opinion. So I knew all the little homages Tarantino placed in this film. Including the original Django, Frank Nero, in the same scene with Jaime Fox's Django. These small features of the film just added more fun to my experience not to mention how well the comedy blended while in this portrayal of a dark horrific time in America. The songs used in this movie, MY GOD! Every song fitted so well into the scene it was introduced. The soundtrack is just another reason why Quentin is so unique when it come to film making. From Ennio Morricone to Rick Ross to Jim Croce everything was blended spectacularly to its southern setting.
    To say the acting is great is a bit of an understatement. Jamie Foxx plays such a fantastic lead as his character develops from a shy slave to the fastest, ballsy, gunslinger in the south. Christoph Waltz, like in Inglourious Basterds, steals every scene he's in with his witty charm and his lovable character's way of escaping out of a tight spot very unexpected. Leonardo Dicaprio gives another great performances and probably one of his best. A very flamboyant evil character at that. Now Samuel L. Jackson just blows it out of the park by a long shot. He gives such an astonishing performance as great as on the level of Jules in Pulp Fiction. He steals the scenes from the scenes Christoph Waltz is in. He was by far the most evil and outrageously funny character in the entire movie. He deserves an Oscar nomination for this role. Kerry Washington is great but is not the usual strong female performance you usually get in a Tarantino film. Probably because of the plot and its setting in history. All the secondary characters were flawless as well, including Jonah Hill's comedic small role. I adored everything from the stylized beginning to the showdown in the end. Even the small little details to the actors Quentin uses in his movies like Charles Parks or himself. I honestly found more humor than any comedy I've seen this year. The heavy use of gore and buckets of blood is exactly my taste in movies. Does it drag on? Of course, in the second act it tends to drag on a bit which is probably the set up of Dicaprio's character development. As a fan I wouldn't mind it being five hours long but as a reviewer perspective it could have been trimmed just a tad bid. The death scenes were a spectacle to experience. I was in awe from every death scene. I have to give this masterpiece a 10/10
    Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2012
    1
    This movie is one of the most boring, predictable, insidious and "inglorious" western of the last 10 years, and of course, to my criteria, the worst of Tarantino. I don't know what him was thinking (maybe mind-off), when directed this film.
  19. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    Quentin Tarantino's new film is exuberantly violent, campy, and largely over-theatrical. The story leans to a whimsy, uneventful wee thing - but the performances are colorfully well conveyed, most particularly to the supporting key roles of Leonardo DeCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson.
  20. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    With any filmmaker, there are ups and down. This one is definitely up! Christop Waltz (in another winning performance) plays a dentist-turned-bounty-hunter who strikes a deal with a slave (Jamie Foxx in the title role): help him find his bounty and he'll free Django and help him find his wife. They outsmart all the villains until they finally land at the plantation run by LeonardoWith any filmmaker, there are ups and down. This one is definitely up! Christop Waltz (in another winning performance) plays a dentist-turned-bounty-hunter who strikes a deal with a slave (Jamie Foxx in the title role): help him find his bounty and he'll free Django and help him find his wife. They outsmart all the villains until they finally land at the plantation run by Leonardo DiCaprio. Despite the cruel depiction of slavery, this is Tarantino's funniest film yet (the head bag scene is a classic). The violence leans toward comic book broadness with more blood splatter than guts or cuts Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    If you like Tarentino, you will like this film. If not, it is a piece of sh*t. It is an insult to history (there was no slavery in the American west), and stupidly violent. Tarentino is a one note wonder, who keeps remaking the same films.
  22. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to the ridiculous, amateurish critics here. The majority of the users giving this film poor views just LOVE films like Wreck it Ralph and The Bourne Legacy. Talk about artistic taste. This film is, without a doubt, one of the best (if not THE best) films of 2012. Since I was a bit late to the punch, there are plenty of reviews out, and I know that most enthusiasts would haveDon't listen to the ridiculous, amateurish critics here. The majority of the users giving this film poor views just LOVE films like Wreck it Ralph and The Bourne Legacy. Talk about artistic taste. This film is, without a doubt, one of the best (if not THE best) films of 2012. Since I was a bit late to the punch, there are plenty of reviews out, and I know that most enthusiasts would have planned to see it already... So if you haven't, just see it. Then you can either recognize its gritty brilliance and heart for what it is, or deplore it, and proceed to glorify the latest Michael Bay film instead. Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    This is the best film I've seen this year. Incredibly entertaining, hilarious and just satisfying to watch. All of the negative reviews seem to be from people who are offended by bad language and violence. Umm, don't go see a QT movie if you are so thin-skinned. For the rest of the adult audience, do not miss this one in the theaters. An amazing experience you will not soon forget.
  24. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Classic Tarantino movie. Awesome action scenes, great characters, interesting story, hard to find something bad about it. Interesting spin on slavery. Great movie.
  25. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    Certainly not for the squeamish, Django Unchained was a bloody good time. Tarantino paints a violent and slightly farcical (though, not offensive) portrait of slavery in his new film. Riddled with sensational action sequences and ripe comedic dialogue this film proved to be a good time, for the most part. Tarantino's trademark dialogue allowed his cast to give some memorable performances.Certainly not for the squeamish, Django Unchained was a bloody good time. Tarantino paints a violent and slightly farcical (though, not offensive) portrait of slavery in his new film. Riddled with sensational action sequences and ripe comedic dialogue this film proved to be a good time, for the most part. Tarantino's trademark dialogue allowed his cast to give some memorable performances. The two performances towering over all, was Leonardo DiCaprio as the evil, yet charismatic slave owner, Calvin Candie; and Samuel L. Jackson as his black hating, black servant, Steven. The movie, which greatly lagged in its first half, really picked up steam when these two entered the picture. Though it was ravishingly entertaining there wasn't really much to enjoy beyond the violent and stylized surface. Unlike his previous work, I found this one far more self indulgent and it was hard to take some of its more dense moments seriously, given the overload of pastiche. Along with its staggering runtime, the film lacked some structural ingenuity; often proving to be long winded and excessive. Everything on the surface was gorgeous though, thanks to the well crafted production elements and Robert Richardson awesome cinematography. I may call this one of Tarantino's weaker efforts, if not weakest; but he still maintains his record of always delivering a good movie. Expand
  26. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Certainly an amazing accomplishment of a film. Django Unchained is best described as fun. It had excellent acting and was at all times enjoyable. While it does force you to confront thoughts you rarely acknowledge, it is hilarious much of the way through. The plot was extremely predictable in a very good way. You can see what's coming a mile away and you want it to arrive. AnyoneCertainly an amazing accomplishment of a film. Django Unchained is best described as fun. It had excellent acting and was at all times enjoyable. While it does force you to confront thoughts you rarely acknowledge, it is hilarious much of the way through. The plot was extremely predictable in a very good way. You can see what's coming a mile away and you want it to arrive. Anyone criticizing the predictability as a bad thing is likely doing so simply to criticize. I would recommend this movie to anyone not disturbed by extreme violence and cruel behavior. Expand
  27. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    This is not "Pulp Fiction" nor "Inglorious Basterds", but it is as insanely entertaining as you expect. Great performances, crisp and funny dialogue, violent shootouts, cool music, very good camera and cinematography. A spagetti western revenge epic with a modern look. It's the full Tarantino package, so enjoy!
  28. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Yes the story is predictable, but name a Tarantino film outside of Pulp Fiction that isn't predictable. What makes this film great is how he can get away with the in your face subject matter, while still leaving the audience laughing at every comical moment. Like a lot of QT films it starts to feel a little long midway, but it picks back up in phenomenal fashion. People who go see thisYes the story is predictable, but name a Tarantino film outside of Pulp Fiction that isn't predictable. What makes this film great is how he can get away with the in your face subject matter, while still leaving the audience laughing at every comical moment. Like a lot of QT films it starts to feel a little long midway, but it picks back up in phenomenal fashion. People who go see this flick and not expect over the top gore are fooling themselves. This isn't a heavily dramatic depiction of the evils of slavery, if you want that you should go see Lincoln instead. Instead it assumes your already aware of how evil slavery was and creates a comedic action satire story of the good angry black guy out to get revenge against a horde of evil white slavers. This isn't his greatest flick, but its the best he has done in a long time. Well worth going to go see, even for people not that into Tarantino flicks. Expect to find a fun and enjoyable action movie with a lot of laughs. Expand
  29. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    The previews for Django Unchained are misleading because they do this masterpiece no justice. This movie is truly spectacular in nearly every aspect. The dialogue is fantastically written as its both very witty and humorous. Even though comedy isn't on the genre list, there's a lot of comedy, mainly dark, in this - which becomes beneficial for comic relief purposes because the movie hasThe previews for Django Unchained are misleading because they do this masterpiece no justice. This movie is truly spectacular in nearly every aspect. The dialogue is fantastically written as its both very witty and humorous. Even though comedy isn't on the genre list, there's a lot of comedy, mainly dark, in this - which becomes beneficial for comic relief purposes because the movie has many intense scenes and the movie is pretty long. The acting was superb. Almost everyone gave a strong performance. Samuel L Jackson played the old, bitter man to perfection. Jamie Foxx showcased that he could play a multidimensional character that expressed many different emotions. While I'm not fond of DiCaprio, I must admit his first performance as an antagonist was well-done and really blended into the the character he was portraying. And Christoph Waltz truly deserves an award for his performance. Everything about it was brilliant. The timing, mannerisms, facial expressions, body language, believably, you name it. The only performance I didn't care for was Kerry Washington's. Her performance was lacking emotional investment. In other words, I didn't fall in love with her character. But still, her character didn't overshadow the movie's brilliance or even stand out like a sore thumb. It was just mediocre. Like many Tarantino movies, this had a lot of blood, violence, gore, and all that good stuff. That said, the movie isn't for people who have a weak stomach, but it is indeed for anyone who's a sucker for realistic blood and gore. In fact, it will make blood seekers go berserk. After all, let's just say it will make many of his films look peaceful in comparison. The plot and narrating were both crafted well, too. They both keep you guessing what direction the movie is going. An the directing, of course, is just superb. The camera shots, the timing, the choice (plus timing) for the music, the envision of how scenes should look like....... everything was choreograph extremely well. Ultimately, Django Chain is a front runner for movie of the year and in my eyes has surpassed everything that's happened this year by a mile. Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Inglourios was much better. Where to begin...parts of Django were good. Leonardo, Jamie, and without a doubt Christoph Waltz. Django was, toooo long. Easily could have done without 30 minutes of it and it would have been better. I found myself bored. I'd rent it so you can take a break midway :)
  31. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    Pros of the film: performances by Waltz and DiCaprio, dialogue, and certain action sequences. Cons: length, overzealous use of gore and dramatic spectacle. "Django Unchained" seems catered to Tarantino's "Kill Bill" fans, which is unfortunate if you thought "Inglorious Basterds" displayed the director heading in a better direction.
  32. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    This might get preachy. First things first, anyone who gives this movie a one out of ten either lacks taste or is just being plain sour. I am not here to rate the director, however I AM here to rate the film. I do not care one bit about how this may or may not stack up to QT's past films. Truthfully, this is one of the most entertaining movies I've seen all year. The cinematography isThis might get preachy. First things first, anyone who gives this movie a one out of ten either lacks taste or is just being plain sour. I am not here to rate the director, however I AM here to rate the film. I do not care one bit about how this may or may not stack up to QT's past films. Truthfully, this is one of the most entertaining movies I've seen all year. The cinematography is vibrant, creative, and brilliant, and QT never fails to tell the story exceptionally well via visuals. The dialogue was witty and fantastic, it exceeded my expectations. (sarcasm ahead) WHY IS THE PLOT SO SIMPLE?! IT SHOULD HAVE A THOUSAND TWISTS AND THE COMPLEXITY OF A 10,000 PIECE PUZZLE! Not. I see nothing wrong with a simple plot that does the job, to simply entertain the audience. This film was amazing. It kept me captivated, laughing, and gritting my teeth from time to time from the marvelously-placed suspense. Expand
  33. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    I just saw this epic movie in the theaters, and wow is amazing! Quentin Tarantino is by far my favorite director after this movie. He doesnt do anything wrong esspecially in this master piece. The final shootout is insane to say the least! From begining to finish, this film does not dissapoint! Just see this non stop action movie and you will be blown away! 10 out of 10 definetly
  34. BKM
    Jan 1, 2013
    7
    Quentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. NowQuentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. Now if Tarantino would just take all of his considerable talents and make a film that adds up to more than a mere mash up of his numerous geek inspirations. Expand
  35. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Man, what a movie, WHAT AN AMAZING MOVIE !!! It was like a roller coater ride. I was pumped the entire time. I could feel the adrenaline. Everybody delivered a great performance, especially Jamie Foxx. I hope, for once, the academy will considered a good movie like this.
  36. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    The best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. All the actors are perfectly cast. Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, Leonardo Decaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, and Kerry Washington are all outstanding. I've already seen it twice and I can't wait to see it again when it comes out on blu-ray.
  37. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This movie handles SO MANY genres at once or in sequence so perfectly that it creates it's own genre. That Genre is Tarantino. It's badass, funny, horrifying and absolutely bloody. If you love Tarantino's work, then this is definitely one of his best, if not THE best movie he's ever produced. Just see this epic movie. It's a goddamn masterpiece.
  38. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    The best Tarantino movie in my opinion, Django is a thrill ride full of laughs, tension and action that enthralls for all of it's nearly 3 hours. I hate needless violence and swearing in movies, but the gore and cussing never feel unnecessary due to the context, and in fact add to the immersion. A must-see.
  39. Jan 22, 2013
    5
    As always with Tarantino the characters are excellent but everything else is average at best. DiCaprio and Waltz steal the show with stellar performances while Jamie Foxx is just...Jamie Foxx (they could have copied & pasted his performance from Miami Vice/Collateral/any film but Ray) and Tarantino surprise, surprise puts in a painful turn as an Australian (?) Slave trader/transporter. TheAs always with Tarantino the characters are excellent but everything else is average at best. DiCaprio and Waltz steal the show with stellar performances while Jamie Foxx is just...Jamie Foxx (they could have copied & pasted his performance from Miami Vice/Collateral/any film but Ray) and Tarantino surprise, surprise puts in a painful turn as an Australian (?) Slave trader/transporter. The film as a slow (at times tedious) first half followed by a fast pace second half filled with comical action set pieces. All in all, its worth a watch for Leo & Christoph but don't expect to have your mind blown. Expand
  40. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Uh oh...a film about blacks and slavery, better give it a good review! This movie is stupid. I also imagine some people will think it is true history. Why is that bad (beyond the obvious)? Because at it's heart it is a revenge movie where blacks kill whites, then cheer about it. I think there is quite enough tension without a movie like this promoting racial violence. It is a time whenUh oh...a film about blacks and slavery, better give it a good review! This movie is stupid. I also imagine some people will think it is true history. Why is that bad (beyond the obvious)? Because at it's heart it is a revenge movie where blacks kill whites, then cheer about it. I think there is quite enough tension without a movie like this promoting racial violence. It is a time when people should work together, as we have in the past, to promote racial equality, not violence. No one living today was ever a slave, and most of the people alive today had nothing to do with slavery. It was horrible and wrong, but we DID get rid of it. Some countries (Africa for one) STILL HAVE slavery today. Expand
  41. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    It's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like Peter Jackson's Hobbit I think Tarantino doesn't like editing. It's really entertaining but it just takes a while to get there. Still one of the year's bestIt's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like Peter Jackson's Hobbit I think Tarantino doesn't like editing. It's really entertaining but it just takes a while to get there. Still one of the year's best films though. Expand
  42. Dec 27, 2012
    3
    Too much use of the N word in this movie. Believe it or not people back then did have a vocabulary of more than 12 words. Also not every sentence began and ended with the N word like it does today in the rap music business. The shootout with James Brown in the background took me out of the moment in this supposed western.
  43. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    You either love Tarantino or you hate him. If you're an uptight, PC liberal prude who hates Tarantino, this film will do nothing to change your mind. But, if you like your films to be violent and witty, your dialogue brilliant and smart, your actors sublime and ridiculous, your cinematography sprawling and personal, your soundtrack eclectic and coherent, then "Django Unchained" willYou either love Tarantino or you hate him. If you're an uptight, PC liberal prude who hates Tarantino, this film will do nothing to change your mind. But, if you like your films to be violent and witty, your dialogue brilliant and smart, your actors sublime and ridiculous, your cinematography sprawling and personal, your soundtrack eclectic and coherent, then "Django Unchained" will become, perhaps, not only one of your favorite Tarantino films, but one of your favorite films, period.

    "Django" is Quentin Tarantino in true form, at his best, and while it's a very long film, you will never once feel bored. Hilarious, enlightening, shocking, frightening, saddening, ambitious and greatly, greatly enjoyable, "Django" is hands-down one of the best films I've ever seen.
    Expand
  44. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    While I was extremely excited to see Tarantino's take on a Spaghetti Western Slave Revenge story, the results were mixed. It wasn't what any of us expected.

    The first sequences was humorous, but failed to capture Tarantino's aim at creating tension - a theme that would plague the film for much of its nearly three hour gargantuan running time. When the dialogue crackled, his intentional
    While I was extremely excited to see Tarantino's take on a Spaghetti Western Slave Revenge story, the results were mixed. It wasn't what any of us expected.

    The first sequences was humorous, but failed to capture Tarantino's aim at creating tension - a theme that would plague the film for much of its nearly three hour gargantuan running time. When the dialogue crackled, his intentional quick zooms dampened the mood. When the action was sharp, his intention to add humor ruined the shock value.

    Where characters and dialogue are usually his strong point, Tarantino instead seemed to be going for laughs by using the N word in every possible way. Amusing for awhile, but it wore off at the 2/3 mark.

    The film couldn't have been cast better - From Waltz and Foxx through every antagonist and bit part - special marks for Don Johnson who was both a charming southern gentlemen and an angry racist in every other sentence. Di Caprio nailed his role, which in a movie of overacting, seemed to be nuanced in the best ways possible.

    A day later, I still don't know if Samuel L Jackson stole the show or ruined it. His performance was uneven, but carried the 3rd act.

    If Tarantino continues to make his brand of genre pics, I will watch them, as he clearly enjoys making movies as much as we like watching them. But he's a victim of Inglorious' critical success, as a good 25-30 minutes could have been cut out of this film and made it even stronger.
    Expand
  45. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    While undoubtedly a good film, and not at all crappy holiday filler, I can't hope on the "this is an incredible film" train. I liked it, but found it to be not much more than a good way to spend a friday evening. Not bad at all, but not great. Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Dicaprio really shine, but that's really the only stand out incredible part of the film. Overall, just good, not great.
  46. Jan 3, 2013
    4
    As I was expecting from Tarantino, movie was stuffed with much of a violence and beautiful expressive scenes . The story seemed intriguing at the beginning, but soon became too primitive, one-minded, good-guy-VS-bad-guy predictable fantasy-land. In a way it generates audience hate emotions and tension from the struggle scenes, similar to Quentin's "Inglourious Basterds." Even though thisAs I was expecting from Tarantino, movie was stuffed with much of a violence and beautiful expressive scenes . The story seemed intriguing at the beginning, but soon became too primitive, one-minded, good-guy-VS-bad-guy predictable fantasy-land. In a way it generates audience hate emotions and tension from the struggle scenes, similar to Quentin's "Inglourious Basterds." Even though this movie was neatly shot and acting was quiet good, I found cinema hours long and boring. It reminded me another simple-minded movie "Obsessed" (Starring Beyonce) Expand
  47. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Tarantino displayed little, if any restraint at all while filming this movie. It is ridiculously long and at times it is way over done. Some of the action scenes are overly obnoxious and some of the other scenes are of such a serious and delicate matter (brutal slave scenes) to tamper with. The outstanding performances by Dicaprio and Cristoph Waltz help keep this movie so entertaining.
  48. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    What a great spectacle. This is what going to the movies should feel like. I already loved Inglorious Bastards but this one is even better because it is a little bit more focused. It is not a perfect film because 3 hours are a little too much. With 20 minutes less it would be perfect. But damn I so enjoyed it and the rest of the theatre seemed to enjoy it too. Jokes, amazing scenes,What a great spectacle. This is what going to the movies should feel like. I already loved Inglorious Bastards but this one is even better because it is a little bit more focused. It is not a perfect film because 3 hours are a little too much. With 20 minutes less it would be perfect. But damn I so enjoyed it and the rest of the theatre seemed to enjoy it too. Jokes, amazing scenes, Tarantino´s typical take on things and especially... the performances WoW Everybody is perfect: Jamie Fox, Christoph Waltz and Samuel L. Jackson are so great... but the biggest thing is Leonardo Dicaprio. What a great and different role and villain for him. He´s perfection in here and steals the show: so creepy, funny and effeminate. It´s superb. Nobody would regret seeing this film, a great roller coaster. Expand
  49. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    Quentin Tarantino best film. Some wonderful performances in this film from jamie foxx leo dicaprio christoph waltz which is now one of my favorite actors is just wonderful in this film and samuel l jackson one of his most memorable performance with quotes like "who dis n***a on dat neigh" and dem MF aren't here to buy no mandingo". Beautifully written and well directed 10/10.
  50. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    Good movie. Not amazing, but good. A little too much slow motion that didn't really add anything to the movie. Jamie Foxx was good, but I was hoping for a more charismatic performance from him.
  51. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    Q.T. has made a career of taking a genre and spoofing it by upping the volume and violence and placing tongue firmly in cheek. In this latest one the tongue is placed in a nether cheek. The older I get the less humor I find in his work and it is replaced more by "ludicrous." So why go? Grand-sons must be catered too and I found he got the humor in the violence and badinage to carry onQ.T. has made a career of taking a genre and spoofing it by upping the volume and violence and placing tongue firmly in cheek. In this latest one the tongue is placed in a nether cheek. The older I get the less humor I find in his work and it is replaced more by "ludicrous." So why go? Grand-sons must be catered too and I found he got the humor in the violence and badinage to carry on Q.T.'s reign as king of Pulp. I do wonder how this will play in the deep south and the inner city. Expand
  52. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I know QT loves violence in his films but really, I couldn't watch the scene with the dogs or the Mandingo fight. There is also a scene discussing KKKI saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I know QT loves violence in his films but really, I couldn't watch the scene with the dogs or the Mandingo fight. There is also a scene discussing KKK hoods that seems right out of a Mel Brooks movie rather than Tarantino but it was hilarious. For me, Christoph Waltz was the best thing about the whole movie. I hope he and Tarantino continue to do more films together - it's a perfect match. The film may have been written for Waltz as he is a German actor, and speaking German is a key component of the film. There are strong performances from DiCaprio and Jackson as well. Great directors get great performances from their cast. All in all, a great combination of humor and violence, plus a strong depiction of slavery and its atrocities. Expand
  53. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    I always have mixed feelings about Tarantino movies as his view of the world just feels too negative and/or snarky to be one in which I want to live but Wow can the man use a camera. Having said that, I did enjoy Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. Django doesn't equal those films. He has simply gone a bridge too far with the blood and vengeance while twisting his characters into caricatures.I always have mixed feelings about Tarantino movies as his view of the world just feels too negative and/or snarky to be one in which I want to live but Wow can the man use a camera. Having said that, I did enjoy Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. Django doesn't equal those films. He has simply gone a bridge too far with the blood and vengeance while twisting his characters into caricatures. There are exciting acting and visual moments, but they probably aren't worth the popcorn unless splashing blood and torture really does it for you. Expand
  54. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    As someone who appreciates Quentin Tarantino's films, I had high hopes for this film, despite its running time (2:45). There were many great things about this film, Christopher Waltz's performance as a fearless bounty hunter, Samuel L. Jackson and Leo Dicaprio both were very strong, but the film just felt overlong. Not to mention excessively gratuitous. Slavery is not a topic to be handledAs someone who appreciates Quentin Tarantino's films, I had high hopes for this film, despite its running time (2:45). There were many great things about this film, Christopher Waltz's performance as a fearless bounty hunter, Samuel L. Jackson and Leo Dicaprio both were very strong, but the film just felt overlong. Not to mention excessively gratuitous. Slavery is not a topic to be handled lightly, but there are many scenes in this film that are excessive in their brutality, and in hindsight, simply add to the film's run time without contributing too much in terms of plot development. Enjoyable, while being on Tarantino's lower totem pole of films. Expand
  55. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    As a native of Mississippi, I have to say that this movie is...Fantastic. It really brings to light the absurdity of slavery and the rampant ignorance found across the country on such an issue. Whites, blacks, Asians, Latinos--ALL ethnicities sat in the theater together laughing and cringing collectively. It's over-the-top Tarantino at his best. In comparison to Inglourious Basterds,As a native of Mississippi, I have to say that this movie is...Fantastic. It really brings to light the absurdity of slavery and the rampant ignorance found across the country on such an issue. Whites, blacks, Asians, Latinos--ALL ethnicities sat in the theater together laughing and cringing collectively. It's over-the-top Tarantino at his best. In comparison to Inglourious Basterds, Django Unchained is much more balanced, maintaining sharp dialogue and awesome action that audiences have come to love. If this were a truly offensive flick, as critics seem to point out, Django would not have had such excellent actors play lead roles, and the NAACP Image Awards would not have recognized it with such acclaim. Note: Greenville, MS, doesn't look anything like that, but who really cares. Expand
  56. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    Drags on. The plot comes to a clear finish, then drags on for another half an hour. Other than that fine. Not wonderful. Tarantino movies are starting to show their age. What would be "edgy-silly" --is more just silly. Django sorta teeters on being a kids movie.
  57. Jan 13, 2013
    3
    The movie is too damned long, Im a big time fan of most of Quentin's films but he has passed his prime sadly, first with inglorious basterds, and now this. It's a shame, the movie should of ended about 45 minutes before it did, I wanted so bad to leave the theater. don't get me wrong the movie had great moments, but the editing of it was poor, for the last 30+ minutes all I could think wasThe movie is too damned long, Im a big time fan of most of Quentin's films but he has passed his prime sadly, first with inglorious basterds, and now this. It's a shame, the movie should of ended about 45 minutes before it did, I wanted so bad to leave the theater. don't get me wrong the movie had great moments, but the editing of it was poor, for the last 30+ minutes all I could think was when is this thing going to be over - sadly a great movie turned irritating and left me pissed off by the time the credits rolled. everyone else left the theater in the same mindset. This should of been a director's cut, not a theater production, seems like Quentin went outta his way to put him self in the movie and add as much scenes as possible that were simply not needed. Expand
  58. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    A Cool Western Spaghetti rather than saying classic western.Tarantino's trademark are much less except for the bloody mash.Even one could doubt if it is a tarantino flick(until you see his cameo somewhere at the end) .The Characters,especially the one played by christoph waltz tends to be intriguing but doesn't match up with the film.Leonardo DiCaprio occupies less space but a powerfulA Cool Western Spaghetti rather than saying classic western.Tarantino's trademark are much less except for the bloody mash.Even one could doubt if it is a tarantino flick(until you see his cameo somewhere at the end) .The Characters,especially the one played by christoph waltz tends to be intriguing but doesn't match up with the film.Leonardo DiCaprio occupies less space but a powerful one.No wonder if the title character doesn't get any award nominations.All i can say is the film is more lengthy and less creative.And yes..it is behind death proof.I can give Death proof 8 rating.As a fan i received some kind of disappointment. Expand
  59. Jan 10, 2013
    7
    The movie started out strong on all fronts, but begins to descend into a long-winded story that never really grasped my attention. Still, the movie manages to bring plenty of comedic gore and drama which is unique.
  60. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Not everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django is gonna get a lot of comparisons to Basterds because they are both revenge fantasies at their core. While that may not be fair it is natural given theNot everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django is gonna get a lot of comparisons to Basterds because they are both revenge fantasies at their core. While that may not be fair it is natural given the very similar plot arcs. While I still think I would have preferred Bastreds if it had been made second because of two of the best scenes ever put into film, it is hard to say because Django did feel familiar while Basterds felt like something you had never seen before. There is still plenty to love about the movie. As usual this film is very dialogue driven with biting humor and some dark overtones. Nobody in film ever uses dialogue to build tension like Tarantino and there is plenty of that at work here. Performances are great almost across the board, especially Waltz and Dicaprio. Foxx gives a nice, understated performance as Django. My only beef with the performances was surprisingly Jackson. Although I think that is more a product of the character than his performance. If the usual Tarantino stylized violence is your cup of tea, there is enough of it on display here to get your fill. For me this movie goes off the rails just a bit in the final third. I never felt like Tarantino knew how to end this film and it ended uo being the weak link in another very good Tarantino vehicle. Expand
  61. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Evocative, controversial, innovative. Another instant classic in Quentin Tarantino's already illustrious career. Recalls "Inglorious Basterds" revenge theme, cathartic and utterly fantastic.
  62. Mar 31, 2013
    1
    Creatively LAZY, uninventive, poorly edited, over-long. This film is BAD all over. Any hope you have for it at the start ebbs away at a faster and faster pace as it drags on to its pathetic, cliched, gory conclusion. Why is this director renowned? The cinematography is lame and forgettable. Not a single scene or sequence of editing expresses anything of value. Tarantino is a dreadfulCreatively LAZY, uninventive, poorly edited, over-long. This film is BAD all over. Any hope you have for it at the start ebbs away at a faster and faster pace as it drags on to its pathetic, cliched, gory conclusion. Why is this director renowned? The cinematography is lame and forgettable. Not a single scene or sequence of editing expresses anything of value. Tarantino is a dreadful director of acting. All the performances are bad in this film, and his own cameo is squirm-inspiringly dreadful. The writing is also lame, and it beggars belief that this was given an academy award. All it has in it is the repeated central scene using foreign language, like QT is trying to impress his continental buddies with how hip he is, and then covering itself for the bad script with gratuitous violence of the use-till its BORING Tarantino's use of violence is also weak. In this movie death is used as a comedy prop. When it fails to be funny, it just makes the audience feel naseous. Rather than direct our ill-will towards the supposed 'bad-guys' of the story its likely to lead to our hatred for the script writer: QT himself. I guess there are some giggles to be had laughing at the caricatures of southern American stereotypes. But in the end I felt sorry for the actors, trapped in the circus of bad script. Poor Leonardo De Crapplio was especially bad as the "Candy Man'. Candy has too slaves killed before him in a single day, yet neither scene makes any sense, and is a case of terrible acting failing in a terrible plot. Without a doubt slavery in the South truly piled evil upon evil. Sadly QT has not grown up, and possesses none of the intelligence, wisdom, of vision needed to deal with any of that. His movies continue to get WORSE AND WORSE and this one is just about unwatchably BAD. The one gimmick he has that is endearing is throwing on a good song now and again. But it's just a gimmick QT. You look old, fat, stupid and irrelevant. Brother you ARE! I saw the interview where QT thinks he is in a sweet patch? No boy! You are all washed up! This movie SUCKS! 1/10 for the music. I won't be seeing whatever crap he flings at us next. Expand
  63. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    It's Tarantino at his best, again. The day I see a bad Tarantino movie is the day I'll stop seeing 'em. I think this was a great revenge flick. The most you can ask for is to be entertained, and I certainly was.
  64. ALD
    Dec 29, 2012
    9
    While the film is a Spaghetti Western, it was not set in the west. The two plantations in which they go to are set in Tennessee and Mississippi. The use of the N word is justified because of the time period they're in. I know people say it was overused, but based on the times, it was used realistically. The performances in this movie were absolutely great, and the dialogue was just asWhile the film is a Spaghetti Western, it was not set in the west. The two plantations in which they go to are set in Tennessee and Mississippi. The use of the N word is justified because of the time period they're in. I know people say it was overused, but based on the times, it was used realistically. The performances in this movie were absolutely great, and the dialogue was just as good as any other Tarantino movie. Waltz and DiCaprio dominate in their respective roles, and Foxx does exactly what he's supposed to do in his role. Samuel L. Jackson also played his character to perfection. This movie, in my opinion, was his best since Pulp Fiction. The actors in it should get serious Oscar buzz, as should Tarantino for his directing. I highly encourage everyone to watch it. It was totally awesome. Expand
  65. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Probably the greatest movie ever created. Incredible while watching it, cinematography and everything. Great to reflect upon as well. Perfect. Quentin Tarantino.
  66. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    The critics review for this movie are all right. The negatives that they point out are true, it is long, ridiculously bloody, and personally, the editing is awful (specifically the first half). However the acting, writing, and directing were great attributes that led this movie to glorious endings and beautiful scenes. It is DiCaprio's best acting since Blood Diamond, and the script makesThe critics review for this movie are all right. The negatives that they point out are true, it is long, ridiculously bloody, and personally, the editing is awful (specifically the first half). However the acting, writing, and directing were great attributes that led this movie to glorious endings and beautiful scenes. It is DiCaprio's best acting since Blood Diamond, and the script makes you feel the hatred and revenge that this movie exhibits. Go see it, I would understand if you don't like it as much as me but you will get your moneys worth in the gunfight scenes alone. Expand
  67. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    It's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuring Christoph Waltz, and it's a treat to be able to root for him after loving to hate him in Basterds; (2) the humor - the homage to Blazing Saddles with theIt's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuring Christoph Waltz, and it's a treat to be able to root for him after loving to hate him in Basterds; (2) the humor - the homage to Blazing Saddles with the hood scene is worth the price of admission alone; and (3) a slightly missed opportunity with DiCaprio - for some reason, I felt like I should have despised him more. Yes, he's a scoundrel who does horrible things, but I didn't want him to burn as much as I wanted other Tarantino villains to meet their demise. It's an excellent film, but it doesn't compare to Pulp Fiction, which is also long, but extremely tight in its sequencing. Expand
  68. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Just as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene set in an isolated forest where wily German bounty hunter "Dr. Schultz" finds and frees Django in order to lead him to a bounty, the teamed duo embark onJust as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene set in an isolated forest where wily German bounty hunter "Dr. Schultz" finds and frees Django in order to lead him to a bounty, the teamed duo embark on a killing odyssey, jumping bounties, getting rich and facing all of the vile and ingrained implications involved with racist Southern slavery into a series of action-packed vignettes. Some might say Tarantino has offered us just another violent-frenzied exploitation film, but he does so in the best way possible, knowing when and where to tug to make the audience laugh and cringe, and does so with great characters, dialogue and tension. He knows how to do what every great director should know how to do. Expand
  69. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Well, I was ready for nothing less than a masterpiece, got it in spades... I am amazed at the quackery in the world of critiquing movies professionally. Anyone that has any idea as to what they were in for when they decided to go see this movie, would leave a very happy movie goer. This is classic QT, and as predictable as it may be for some, I sure as hell did not see certain plot twistsWell, I was ready for nothing less than a masterpiece, got it in spades... I am amazed at the quackery in the world of critiquing movies professionally. Anyone that has any idea as to what they were in for when they decided to go see this movie, would leave a very happy movie goer. This is classic QT, and as predictable as it may be for some, I sure as hell did not see certain plot twists coming, and I am damn good at reading plot. Anyhow. This deserves all 10's, it will delight you if you are indeed an individual that can understand and appreciate what it is and why it is so important as a work of art. Otherwise, go back to your Bridesmaids and Twilight flicks. What a joy of a horror it was. Expand
  70. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    Pulpy, funny, extremely violent and well-written. Unfortunately Django fails to deliver the tension obtained in older westerns or even his previous efforts. Still a great watch with some utterly fantastic performances.
  71. Jan 5, 2013
    4
    The first act of this movie was great. I loved the two main characters and the point the film. I wanted to see where Tarintino would go with this. It was graphic, it was funny, and an all around good time. Heck there was a funny KKK scene with Jonah Hill. Second act started to bother me a bit but I was ok with it. However, the third act was where sh*t hit the fan. The tone drasticallyThe first act of this movie was great. I loved the two main characters and the point the film. I wanted to see where Tarintino would go with this. It was graphic, it was funny, and an all around good time. Heck there was a funny KKK scene with Jonah Hill. Second act started to bother me a bit but I was ok with it. However, the third act was where sh*t hit the fan. The tone drastically changes. Characters just do thigns and their motivatiosn are never explained to us. Tarintino just assumes the audience will figure out. The problem with Django is not how it starts its that what I liked about the movie in the first act is absent for the other 2/3rds. Combine that with pointless gore and dumb character actions and you have a mess of a flick. I want to like this film because it has some good stuff in it; but the problems with the story and the absence of the first act Expand
  72. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    "Quentin Tarantino has once again proved why he is one of the greatest and most authentic directors making films today, filled with gut-busting violence, Oscar worthy performances and some much comic relief. Django is one of 2012's best movies, by far." A+
  73. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Django is a beautiful production with perfect acting, cinematography, and sound. I enjoyed myself to a large extent watching it. My only criticism would be the length is a bit much considering how linear the content is. I cannot see a Tarantino movie without amazingly high expectations so he did well, considering.
  74. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    Soooo boring and predictable. It feels like some retarded film student saw "Inglorious Basterds" and thought to himself: Hey, wouldn't it be sooo damn cool to do the same movie in a Wild West setting with like more swearing, more blood and more slposions?? Unbfortunately that retard is QT. 2 points for Leo's acting, he delivers a confident & convincing performance as usual
  75. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Another classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequencesAnother classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequences are sensational from the very beginning but the key component in making this film so great is the two intriguing characters at the heart of it, Foxx and Waltz. Inglorious Basterds was a marvellous movie and I thought that Waltz was the shining light and once again he steals the show. He really is an actor on top of his game under the stewardship of Tarantino and he excels. Compared to other Tarantino outings the film is much more linear excluding less flashbacks. Some will complain about the elements of racism but it's part of what Tarantino is tackling with Django. Foxx proves to be a hit in the lead role and delivers a solid performance. It was a genius piece of casting having Leo DiCaprio as the villain. He is a supreme talent and possibly the finest actor of this generation and once more he is in flawless form as the villain of the movie. As usual Samuel L. Jackson makes an appearance and he, as always, is ever dependable. There's also cameo's from the Director himself, Tarantino and Jonah Hill. Django Unchained is without a doubt one of the best films you'll likely see all year round. It's a must see film and another masterstroke from Quentin Tarantino! It has everything you'd expect from one of his films. The laughs are their in abundance, the actions sequences are superb but there's also the serious issues of racism and slavery at the heart of the tale. And to top it off, there's a stellar cast as always delivering oustanding performances. It is a bit on the long side coming in at just under 3 hours but it's a journey you just have to take all the way through to it's grand stand finish! Make no mistake Django is another work of magic from the maestro that is Quentin Tarantino. Expand
  76. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    I was expecting this to be an overrated film riding on the Tarantino hype. But make no mistake, Django Unchained is a great movie in its own right and one of Tarantino's greatest works. It just about nails everything. The scenes are lengthy but very tense and with amazing direction as you would expect. The trademark "no holds barred" violence and intelligently crafted dialogue are present,I was expecting this to be an overrated film riding on the Tarantino hype. But make no mistake, Django Unchained is a great movie in its own right and one of Tarantino's greatest works. It just about nails everything. The scenes are lengthy but very tense and with amazing direction as you would expect. The trademark "no holds barred" violence and intelligently crafted dialogue are present, along with a great deal of comical moments. The story and direction as well as the characters all deserve praise of the highest order. Even if you're not a Tarantino fan, you should definitely give Django a try. Expand
  77. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    If you love Quentin Tarantino, you love Django Unchained. Yes, it's bloody at some points. Yes, the language can be offensive. However, everything about this movie is the definition of "cool". This movie was also casted perfectly. I loved everyone in this movie. The single problem I had with the film was when Tarantino went a little over the top with the humor. Imagine watching a classicIf you love Quentin Tarantino, you love Django Unchained. Yes, it's bloody at some points. Yes, the language can be offensive. However, everything about this movie is the definition of "cool". This movie was also casted perfectly. I loved everyone in this movie. The single problem I had with the film was when Tarantino went a little over the top with the humor. Imagine watching a classic western, and then out of nowhere comes blasting rap music for your hero... little things like that were a little bit too absurd for me. Overall an amazing film. Expand
  78. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Tarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to its length; Django starts of strongly but got significantly weaker near the end. However, despite its seemingly 'low' ambition as a blaxpotation /Tarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to its length; Django starts of strongly but got significantly weaker near the end. However, despite its seemingly 'low' ambition as a blaxpotation / western hybrid flick, Django Unchained is the first film I have seen to address the issue of slavery in manner that is believable. It's casual attitude towards maybe the first 'true' portrayal of this 'dark part' of American history. This interesting perspective on this issue raise a lot of the audiences' interests in flipping (or browsing) the historical books, and maybe that's what Tarantino is aiming at. Still one of the better films of this year. Expand
  79. Jan 13, 2013
    6
    Django Unchained is nowhere near as good as it is advertised and it sadly really disappointing. It features some of the best performances of the year and it is really funny. Some of the scenes;however, lag, drag, and are too long and conversational to make me interested. This is a good film, but it certainly is one of the more disappointing movies of the year for me. I give this film 65%.
  80. Apr 21, 2013
    3
    Definitely, Taranatino's worst movie to date. Hokey and absurd in many places. Ridiculous violence in others. Come on Quentin, is this supposed to be a comedy or a serious film? And when are you going to stop putting yourself in your movies? I hate to break it to you, buddy, but you just can't act and you always bring the film down to a lower level when you're on-screen. I believeDefinitely, Taranatino's worst movie to date. Hokey and absurd in many places. Ridiculous violence in others. Come on Quentin, is this supposed to be a comedy or a serious film? And when are you going to stop putting yourself in your movies? I hate to break it to you, buddy, but you just can't act and you always bring the film down to a lower level when you're on-screen. I believe it's gotten to the point where you're believing your own press and feel anything you put out there is going to be accepted as brilliant by your legion of followers....and, unfortunately, based on some of the reviews I have been reading, this still seems to be true. How sad. P. S. I didn't include specifics because I didn't want to spoil the film for those still wanting to see it. Suffice to say, there are way too many holes in this script to be consider anything other than a B-movie by an A screenwriter and director. Expand
  81. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    I may be biased since i adored every movie Tarantino puts out (except for Jackie brown, it was just too long for its own good) but seriously, its a fantastic movie. It has a faster pace than most of his movies, and when I say that, there's really only one scene that has a normal amount of Tarantino dialogue. (Tarantino likes to have VERY long scenes of just dialogue, but builds a lot ofI may be biased since i adored every movie Tarantino puts out (except for Jackie brown, it was just too long for its own good) but seriously, its a fantastic movie. It has a faster pace than most of his movies, and when I say that, there's really only one scene that has a normal amount of Tarantino dialogue. (Tarantino likes to have VERY long scenes of just dialogue, but builds a lot of personality) There was some great laughs in the movie. The real kicker was that, yes Jamie Fox was the star, but he is certainly not the one to be watching. Leonardo DiCaprio and Christoph Waltz stole the show and played their characters perfectly. Overall, if you like Tarantino, you should defiantly see this movie, if you don't or haven't seen or heard of Tarantino, its still worth seeing, even if its only once. Expand
  82. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    First of all: For you guys who complain about Tarantino using slavery in the west, pay attention to the movie before talking The movie DOES NOT pass in the west! Texas and Mississippi are on the south, that's it, the movie doesn't take place anywhere else. You really think Tarantino would make such a mistake?
    I loved the movie, the acting, the story (that is quite different from the style
    First of all: For you guys who complain about Tarantino using slavery in the west, pay attention to the movie before talking The movie DOES NOT pass in the west! Texas and Mississippi are on the south, that's it, the movie doesn't take place anywhere else. You really think Tarantino would make such a mistake?
    I loved the movie, the acting, the story (that is quite different from the style of any other Tarantino movie), the way he mixes all kinds of genre (comedy, drama, action, etc) and makes the movie get so interesting you want to watch it again, and again and again. Besides i didn't like the fact Django turned out to be the Cowboy image (come on, it would be awesome if he was just the free slave getting his vengence without this whole american western cowboy hero thing), Tarantino made an impressive screenplay with an impressive acting work. For the violence, some people complain about the absurd amount. For me, Tarantino can ude it the way he wants, that at the end, it's going to be good, more then any other violence movie.
    Expand
  83. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    Django Unchained was a little bit disappointing and that occurs because we do not see the same dynamic of others movies of Tarantino. The film starts with the typical irony and disguise cruelty of Dr. Schultz a dentist bounty hunter who makes a pact with Django, and they start looking for vengeance. As the story develops we see that the doctor does whatever he wants in order to accomplishDjango Unchained was a little bit disappointing and that occurs because we do not see the same dynamic of others movies of Tarantino. The film starts with the typical irony and disguise cruelty of Dr. Schultz a dentist bounty hunter who makes a pact with Django, and they start looking for vengeance. As the story develops we see that the doctor does whatever he wants in order to accomplish his missions, with the help of the protagonist, who suddenly is an expert with guns. Then they get to Candie land and at dinner the movie becomes simply foolish rubbish. In this point starts a pointless vengeance, with lots of gun shots that miraculously cannot harm Django. Then the plot becomes senseless, the protagonist goes almost to everyplace and kills everybody. Besides that are other things in this picture that went wrong, like the character of Django, who is a complete failure as protagonist, is not clever at all, without possibility of comparing him to Vincent, Jules, Beatrix or even Shosanna. Also the film does not have an intelligent dialogue like the bible passage of Pulp Fiction, the superman monologue of Kill Bill or the rats metaphor of Inglourious Basterds. Although the minimalism of Tarantino remains in the story, it is poorly developed. However the timeless and fragmented reality does not exists, and a clear example is that the story is not told with chapters. The only astonishing performance is Christoph Waltz. The script is awesome only in the first part and the final third is an insult to what this director represents. Tarantino definitely is in debt. Expand
  84. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    The violence in this film is really over the top, but that is not unusual for a Quentin Tarantino movie. What you are watching when you see Django is a sick mind at work, not very different from watching Inglorious Bastards. The film is also much too long. Cutting out the gore would probably shorten it by an hour.
  85. May 11, 2013
    3
    The genres listed for this film are: Action, Adventure, Drama, Crime, Western. Wrong on adventure and wrong on crime (yes, lots of criminal acts but it's not about crime/solving crime), and it should include: parody and satire. Tarantino definitely has a signature method of directing but it always seems juvenile, never maturing. I recognize alot of people dig his films and that's fine butThe genres listed for this film are: Action, Adventure, Drama, Crime, Western. Wrong on adventure and wrong on crime (yes, lots of criminal acts but it's not about crime/solving crime), and it should include: parody and satire. Tarantino definitely has a signature method of directing but it always seems juvenile, never maturing. I recognize alot of people dig his films and that's fine but I can't recommend them for their shallow, excessive violence and shallow caricature characters. Expand
  86. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Quentin Tarantino is a great director, he can make the most meaningless scene in a movie interesting and memorable, which is sort of how the film starts off.
  87. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    One of Tarantino's best films. The pacing is good throughout, but seems to be artificially quickened in a couple parts of the movie. Even so, there's enough here to keep fans entertained for the duration.
  88. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Fan-f*cking-tastic! Dynamite dialogue, sensational storytelling, and ravishing revenge. My OCD brain could not find a single fault with this movie. Absolutely loved it. Top 10 best movies I've ever seen.
  89. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I would actually give Django an 8.5 not a 9. I gave it an 8 on imdb so I would like to think the 2 scores average. I thought it was a good, solid movie. However a few aspects of the story seemed too ridiculous. Only a skilled filmmakers as these could get away with a movie like this. Example, a german cowboy? While it's an interesting idea I'm not sure how the character came to be. PerhapsI would actually give Django an 8.5 not a 9. I gave it an 8 on imdb so I would like to think the 2 scores average. I thought it was a good, solid movie. However a few aspects of the story seemed too ridiculous. Only a skilled filmmakers as these could get away with a movie like this. Example, a german cowboy? While it's an interesting idea I'm not sure how the character came to be. Perhaps more backstory about him would make it more believable and less ridiculous. Overall, like my rating says, the movie was quite good. It kept my emotions high whether I was laughing, near tears or simply blow away by the action. I must say that some of the slavery aspects were painful to swallow, much like a holocaust movie or a movie like Flight where an alcoholic nearly drinks himself to death. However, before the reader gets up in arms, the pain one is meant to feel regarding slavery and the like is appropriate. Unless you are ignorant and don't find it painful or you simply didn't think the slavery aspect was portrayed well in the film. I digress, Tarantino has once again rewritten history in a way. This film ranks third behind Pulp Fiction and Inglorious Bastards. While I'm not sure if what he is doing is right or in good taste even, he still pulls it off because he is a brilliant and talented filmmaker. I look forward to what he is going to do next, I just hope we won't have to wait to long... Expand
  90. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    While Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but the movie does not suffer as a result. The historical setting is perfectly recreated. I found the hyper-exaggeration of violence quite funny at times, moreWhile Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but the movie does not suffer as a result. The historical setting is perfectly recreated. I found the hyper-exaggeration of violence quite funny at times, more so than in other of QT's movies. I would definitely see it again. 8/10 Expand
  91. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I hate to state the (very) obvious, but 'Django Unchained' is just what you would expect from a film by Quentin Tarantino. Granted, 'Django' isn't his greatest film where emotional depth and resonance is concerned, but it certainly is the most entertaining. I had a blast. It is probably the single film this year that I had particularly high hopes for that were met to the exact level of myI hate to state the (very) obvious, but 'Django Unchained' is just what you would expect from a film by Quentin Tarantino. Granted, 'Django' isn't his greatest film where emotional depth and resonance is concerned, but it certainly is the most entertaining. I had a blast. It is probably the single film this year that I had particularly high hopes for that were met to the exact level of my expectations. It follows the same type of mold of any Tarantino film. There are many drawn out scenes of interesting dialogue that typically conclude with sudden bursts of super-violence which are meant to be jarring (and are). There are multiple cameos from established actors (trust me, there are a lot of them) and there is usually one standout off-the-wall character that parades around like a controlled, unsettling lunatic. Those shoes, last filled by Christoph Waltz in 'Inglourious Basterds', are now worn by Leonardo DiCaprio as the racist and refined francophile brat, Calvin Candie. He is truly a great villain here, delivering one of the best character interpretations of his career. All of the other performances are great too, though. Waltz proves his worth as a full-on Tarantino convert as the morally good Dr. Schultz, demonstrating the control he had in 'Inglourious Basterds', but with the traces of humanity that didn't exist in Hans Landa. Samuel L. Jackson, a standard in Tarantino movies, gives a thoroughly maddening performance as the book-keeping slave (the name escapes me now), whose motives and actions are consistently intriguing. And who could forget Foxx, displaying a cool, hardened, revenge-driven character so filled with spite for the evil around him that it nearly jeopardizes his plans to save his wife at every turn. I am also happy that, when writing the script, the word n****r wasn't taken out, not shying away for the times of today out of reverence for historical accuracy. There are plenty scenes worth noting for their brutal violence and often gut-busting hilarity, but I shouldn't spoil the film. You should go see it. It's really awesome. Expand
  92. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Django is a classic in my mind. It falters in the arena of plot, the final climax feels far more contrived than natural, but apart from that, the film is spectacular. The characters/performances are incredibly entertaining. All of them are. Cinematography is gorgeous, and fitting. It's a good time to be had, just leave your thinking cap at home.
  93. Jan 13, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awful and people are just hopping on the Tarantino wagon since if you don't like his movies it means you dont appreciate movies. The first two hours of this movie nothing happens, just poor writing and funny ol' racist jokes. Then we have a ridiculous gun fight to throw some sort of action in it where dead bodies keep getting shot in order to create an excess of blood going everywhere.

    Leo sucks in it, samuel l jackson is such a joke now to be taken seriously. People that actually appreciate movies will form their own opinion of this horrible movie and not just like it because they feel they have to. I wanted to turn this movie off so many times.

    Boring. Predictable. FORM YOUR OWN OPINIONS.
    Expand
  94. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Tarantino new movie is great he is funny bloody and intresting so let me tell you first why is it funny:all tarantino movies are funny to me becuase that all the killing is so crazy that is very funny.the story is 2 years before the civil war whan django meets with dr king schultz.and schultz make with django a deal that django will help him with is hunting and in the winter they willTarantino new movie is great he is funny bloody and intresting so let me tell you first why is it funny:all tarantino movies are funny to me becuase that all the killing is so crazy that is very funny.the story is 2 years before the civil war whan django meets with dr king schultz.and schultz make with django a deal that django will help him with is hunting and in the winter they will rescue is wife.so i am very reccomending django unchained Expand
  95. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    This is a legitimately fun film that doesn't skip being generally good. Great humor throughout, jaw-dropping violence, great characters and better performances. That all said, the best parts of this film, for me, was the fact that through all the fun, Tarantino still creates a truly despicable villain, cringe-worthy and infuriating moments, and a fantastic atmosphere. Django is the mostThis is a legitimately fun film that doesn't skip being generally good. Great humor throughout, jaw-dropping violence, great characters and better performances. That all said, the best parts of this film, for me, was the fact that through all the fun, Tarantino still creates a truly despicable villain, cringe-worthy and infuriating moments, and a fantastic atmosphere. Django is the most fun you're going to have in theaters this winter. Expand
  96. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    Tarantino could really have made "Django" something rare in which stylish performances could meet an alluring script in the middle of the hard-core Western environments that stay true to its time. Unfortunately, for as much as it pulls you in during its impeccable first half, it takes away in the next with its glacial pacing and its overly-brutal actions sequences. While the performancesTarantino could really have made "Django" something rare in which stylish performances could meet an alluring script in the middle of the hard-core Western environments that stay true to its time. Unfortunately, for as much as it pulls you in during its impeccable first half, it takes away in the next with its glacial pacing and its overly-brutal actions sequences. While the performances remain strong throughout, Tarantino's direction does nothing to hold on to what kept my interest in the first place, which was Foxx's transformation from a born slave into a natural bounty hunter. Watching Foxx share the screen with Waltz as they outsmart, outmaneuver and obliterate their targets in the most entertaining way they know how is stunning in its amusement. This is perhaps why I am so disappointed with Tarantino's change of heart somewhere half way through the movie. The lighthearted tone assigned to the characters takes an ultimately darker turn which takes away what made "Django" tremendously fun in the first place. The fight scenes also become downright disturbing half way in as Tarantino strains up the gore to such an extent that the scenes themselves no long seem to be enjoyable. I realize that hardcore Tarantino fans would prefer nothing else, but I am just saying make sure you have a decent stomach. Despite the fact that "Django Unchained" loses a lot of its steam early on, I simply refuse to dislike it because of its robust insight towards the time period, DiCaprio and Waltz's powerful performances and for Tarantino's ability to write an energetic script even if his direction doesn't suit it perfectly. Expand
  97. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Thanks to a seemingly unending overflow of marvelous performances, a bitingly scintillating script, and the always-lovable auteurist techniques of Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained" makes for a truly gratifying film adventure and one of the greatest westerns I have ever seen.
  98. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Tarantino at his best. Another unique and incredible story. Great acting and screenplay. Definitely the best movie of the year hands down. Jamie Fox isn't the best actor in my opinion but I thought he was great for the role of Django, also Samuel L. Jackson was classic as always!
  99. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    As a lover of Spaghetti Westerns (Once Upon a Time in the West is my favorite) and Tarentino films (Death Proof is my favorite), it was a no-brainer that I would enjoy this film. I was only a little surprised at how thoroughly I enjoyed it. From start to finish I was captivated. Do I think this is an absolutely great film that everyone must go see before they die? Nope. I can see where aAs a lover of Spaghetti Westerns (Once Upon a Time in the West is my favorite) and Tarentino films (Death Proof is my favorite), it was a no-brainer that I would enjoy this film. I was only a little surprised at how thoroughly I enjoyed it. From start to finish I was captivated. Do I think this is an absolutely great film that everyone must go see before they die? Nope. I can see where a lot of people would not enjoy it. It is not a heavy thinkpiece or a soulless action flick. It is a character driven film with great moments of high tension (I do not believe anyone does it better today than Quentin) done by someone who has a great appreciation for the art - the way he makes pouring a beer pop with sound and image is one of the few things that earn him the right as a master. I left the theater wondering when I would have the chance to go see it again. Expand
  100. Feb 15, 2013
    3
    For those who are not QT-believers, Django offers rather dull and tiresome movie with few entertaining moments. See for yourselves on DVD, since in theatre where you must sit still you will just get bored. Curious though, I do not lose attention easily. Enjoyed Hobit and many other lenghty movies, but Django just caused nausea.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Another strong, sparky and bloody entry in the QT canon. Although, creaking under its running time, it's not quite as uproariously entertaining as his last pseudo-historical adventure, "Inglourious Basterds."
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    What Tarantino has is an appreciation for gut-level exploitation film appeal, combined with an artist's desire to transform that gut element with something higher, better, more daring. His films challenge taboos in our society in the most direct possible way, and at the same time add an element of parody or satire.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 3, 2013
    100
    The film doesn't play it safe, so neither will I. Instead, I'll say that it finds Mr. Tarantino perched improbably but securely on the top of a production that's wildly extravagant, ferociously violent, ludicrously lurid and outrageously entertaining, yet also, remarkably, very much about the pernicious lunacy of racism and, yes, slavery's singular horrors.