Django Unchained

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1932 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Thanks to a seemingly unending overflow of marvelous performances, a bitingly scintillating script, and the always-lovable auteurist techniques of Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained" makes for a truly gratifying film adventure and one of the greatest westerns I have ever seen.
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Tarantino at his best. Another unique and incredible story. Great acting and screenplay. Definitely the best movie of the year hands down. Jamie Fox isn't the best actor in my opinion but I thought he was great for the role of Django, also Samuel L. Jackson was classic as always!
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    4
    To me this is Tarantino's weakest effort yet. The film is funny at times, but does not manage to sustain interest throughout. It lasts for almost 3(!) hours, which is far too long with a plot as thin as this.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    3
    The 1st thing that strikes me when the credits finally rolled was: "Oh my god, the trailer was so much better!" The 2nd thing was a very depressing thought: The film has no story structure. Christ, this is the man who wrote Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, True Romance. What the hell went wrong? And finally, when DiCaprio gives you the best performance in the film you are in a world of trouble.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    1
    Compared to "Inglorious Bastard"This movie is just like sh#t.Killing Burning Vulgarity,it's a genuine Spagatti western film really was. Leonardo did his part great.however,the script the story is hardly acceptable,let alone winning an Oscar award. I don't like racism but what the film had portrayed is not only challenging the slavery transaction in the 1800s,but also delivery aCompared to "Inglorious Bastard"This movie is just like sh#t.Killing Burning Vulgarity,it's a genuine Spagatti western film really was. Leonardo did his part great.however,the script the story is hardly acceptable,let alone winning an Oscar award. I don't like racism but what the film had portrayed is not only challenging the slavery transaction in the 1800s,but also delivery a contemptuous attitudes to both laws and human rights. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    Poorly executed and predictable film. I can't say I like the idea of a spaghetti western that this film portrayed. They never even had slavery in the west. Overblown and over-dramatic.
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    I always have mixed feelings about Tarantino movies as his view of the world just feels too negative and/or snarky to be one in which I want to live but Wow can the man use a camera. Having said that, I did enjoy Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. Django doesn't equal those films. He has simply gone a bridge too far with the blood and vengeance while twisting his characters into caricatures.I always have mixed feelings about Tarantino movies as his view of the world just feels too negative and/or snarky to be one in which I want to live but Wow can the man use a camera. Having said that, I did enjoy Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. Django doesn't equal those films. He has simply gone a bridge too far with the blood and vengeance while twisting his characters into caricatures. There are exciting acting and visual moments, but they probably aren't worth the popcorn unless splashing blood and torture really does it for you. Expand
  8. Jan 13, 2013
    3
    The movie is too damned long, Im a big time fan of most of Quentin's films but he has passed his prime sadly, first with inglorious basterds, and now this. It's a shame, the movie should of ended about 45 minutes before it did, I wanted so bad to leave the theater. don't get me wrong the movie had great moments, but the editing of it was poor, for the last 30+ minutes all I could think wasThe movie is too damned long, Im a big time fan of most of Quentin's films but he has passed his prime sadly, first with inglorious basterds, and now this. It's a shame, the movie should of ended about 45 minutes before it did, I wanted so bad to leave the theater. don't get me wrong the movie had great moments, but the editing of it was poor, for the last 30+ minutes all I could think was when is this thing going to be over - sadly a great movie turned irritating and left me pissed off by the time the credits rolled. everyone else left the theater in the same mindset. This should of been a director's cut, not a theater production, seems like Quentin went outta his way to put him self in the movie and add as much scenes as possible that were simply not needed. Expand
  9. May 11, 2013
    3
    The genres listed for this film are: Action, Adventure, Drama, Crime, Western. Wrong on adventure and wrong on crime (yes, lots of criminal acts but it's not about crime/solving crime), and it should include: parody and satire. Tarantino definitely has a signature method of directing but it always seems juvenile, never maturing. I recognize alot of people dig his films and that's fine butThe genres listed for this film are: Action, Adventure, Drama, Crime, Western. Wrong on adventure and wrong on crime (yes, lots of criminal acts but it's not about crime/solving crime), and it should include: parody and satire. Tarantino definitely has a signature method of directing but it always seems juvenile, never maturing. I recognize alot of people dig his films and that's fine but I can't recommend them for their shallow, excessive violence and shallow caricature characters. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    better/comparable to inglorious basterds. not as good as KB, PF, RD, DP, or JB. waltz carried the film and when he goes so does the film. still compared to the rest of hollywood its a 9. compared to tarantino its a 7.
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    The thing that I love about Tarantino (and subsequently about this movie) is that he makes the film that HE wants to make, not the film that anyone else would want him to make. This movie is fantastic specifically because it doesn't follow any tried-and-true Hollywood recipe for success, like so many other movies have been doing lately. Is it a comedy? Sort of. Is it a drama? Sort of. IsThe thing that I love about Tarantino (and subsequently about this movie) is that he makes the film that HE wants to make, not the film that anyone else would want him to make. This movie is fantastic specifically because it doesn't follow any tried-and-true Hollywood recipe for success, like so many other movies have been doing lately. Is it a comedy? Sort of. Is it a drama? Sort of. Is it a revenge flick? Well, yeah. It does actually fit in that category pretty good, but overall it doesn't really fit in an easy genre. People are complaining it isn't funny enough, to which I say, "Funny enough for what? Who promised you funny? If you want funny, or any other "single genre" movie, you're in the wrong movie." The only classification it unquestionably fits into is that it is a Quentin Tarantino movie, and that's what makes Tarantino great. If it weren't for him, a movie like this would never get made and we would all live sadder lives. Expand
  12. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    Tackles the issue of race relations before the American Civil War more honestly than most recent Westerns, but the violence is too graphic - unwatchable or tedious - and with very little of the usual Tarantino characterisation, it's a disappointment. Most of the characters are pure pastiche and the plot is nonsense. Just like 'Kill Bill' this feels like a project that QT was too in loveTackles the issue of race relations before the American Civil War more honestly than most recent Westerns, but the violence is too graphic - unwatchable or tedious - and with very little of the usual Tarantino characterisation, it's a disappointment. Most of the characters are pure pastiche and the plot is nonsense. Just like 'Kill Bill' this feels like a project that QT was too in love with to handle successfully, ending up feeling more racist than otherwise to me. Not because of the 'n-word' count, but because apart from Jackson's excellent Jim Crow figure, all the other black characters are faceless and it seems as if only the ubermensch Django has any spirit (and that a psychotic one). Expand
  13. May 18, 2013
    3
    this movie is a Mandingo ripoff which is a movie done in the 1975 but when Quentin Tarantino
    decided to re-circle the story and cash it on the fans well guess what a critically acclaimed movie.
    and it's 2012 for crying out loud why we have movies about racism any more i thought we left that river dry. it's not entertaining at all neither can be taking seriously. overall another
    this movie is a Mandingo ripoff which is a movie done in the 1975 but when Quentin Tarantino
    decided to re-circle the story and cash it on the fans well guess what a critically acclaimed movie.
    and it's 2012 for crying out loud why we have movies about racism any more i thought we left that river dry.
    it's not entertaining at all neither can be taking seriously. overall another disgusting movie by this stupid director.
    Expand
  14. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    This was absolutely horrific movie I have ever seen. The lanugage was so vulgar and totally unnecessary. The violence was disgusting and the display of degradation of other human beings was such I left the theater before it was over in disgust. Save your money or donate to St. Jude.
  15. Jan 25, 2013
    2
    It's ridiculously bloody, lacks of sensibility and courage to boldly tell a story without his Tarantino's style. Would Tarantino dare to make a film without bloody deaths and sinful torture. It's a torture itself the film. Are we supposed to be entertained or disgusted, nauseated and bored.
  16. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    If you like Tarentino, you will like this film. If not, it is a piece of sh*t. It is an insult to history (there was no slavery in the American west), and stupidly violent. Tarentino is a one note wonder, who keeps remaking the same films.
  17. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    Soooo boring and predictable. It feels like some retarded film student saw "Inglorious Basterds" and thought to himself: Hey, wouldn't it be sooo damn cool to do the same movie in a Wild West setting with like more swearing, more blood and more slposions?? Unbfortunately that retard is QT. 2 points for Leo's acting, he delivers a confident & convincing performance as usual
  18. Jan 13, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awful and people are just hopping on the Tarantino wagon since if you don't like his movies it means you dont appreciate movies. The first two hours of this movie nothing happens, just poor writing and funny ol' racist jokes. Then we have a ridiculous gun fight to throw some sort of action in it where dead bodies keep getting shot in order to create an excess of blood going everywhere.

    Leo sucks in it, samuel l jackson is such a joke now to be taken seriously. People that actually appreciate movies will form their own opinion of this horrible movie and not just like it because they feel they have to. I wanted to turn this movie off so many times.

    Boring. Predictable. FORM YOUR OWN OPINIONS.
    Expand
  19. Feb 15, 2013
    3
    For those who are not QT-believers, Django offers rather dull and tiresome movie with few entertaining moments. See for yourselves on DVD, since in theatre where you must sit still you will just get bored. Curious though, I do not lose attention easily. Enjoyed Hobit and many other lenghty movies, but Django just caused nausea.
  20. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Uh oh...a film about blacks and slavery, better give it a good review! This movie is stupid. I also imagine some people will think it is true history. Why is that bad (beyond the obvious)? Because at it's heart it is a revenge movie where blacks kill whites, then cheer about it. I think there is quite enough tension without a movie like this promoting racial violence. It is a time whenUh oh...a film about blacks and slavery, better give it a good review! This movie is stupid. I also imagine some people will think it is true history. Why is that bad (beyond the obvious)? Because at it's heart it is a revenge movie where blacks kill whites, then cheer about it. I think there is quite enough tension without a movie like this promoting racial violence. It is a time when people should work together, as we have in the past, to promote racial equality, not violence. No one living today was ever a slave, and most of the people alive today had nothing to do with slavery. It was horrible and wrong, but we DID get rid of it. Some countries (Africa for one) STILL HAVE slavery today. Expand
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    3
    Too much use of the N word in this movie. Believe it or not people back then did have a vocabulary of more than 12 words. Also not every sentence began and ended with the N word like it does today in the rap music business. The shootout with James Brown in the background took me out of the moment in this supposed western.
  22. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    I’m surprised how few people seem to be giving this film a negative review based on racism. The black stereotypes in this film are nauseating. I haven’t seen the film(s?) this was based on, but it seems to me that the value in remaking a thing would be to translate what was good about it while giving mind to what could change. Well, for example, just imagine if Indiana Jones didn’t say,I’m surprised how few people seem to be giving this film a negative review based on racism. The black stereotypes in this film are nauseating. I haven’t seen the film(s?) this was based on, but it seems to me that the value in remaking a thing would be to translate what was good about it while giving mind to what could change. Well, for example, just imagine if Indiana Jones didn’t say, “Good onya Flash Gordon et al., but really you were too dry, we’re gonna load this film up with humor!” But that’s essentially what you have here. Not a dearth of humor, but of human understanding. All of the black characters seemed to reflect Candie’s disgusting lie that black people exist to be servants, except, of course, for Django. He seems to be so contrasted by the idiocy of the rest of the African American characters as to be, in the logic of the movie, infused with the “White Man’s” spirit. Consider the people freed at the beginning and end of the film, they have to be told, “Go now, you are free.” In fact, the men in the wagon continue to sit there through the credits and finally say: “Who was that n-gr?” Thank God that being black and a slave didn’t mean being utterly stupid as this film seems to be saying or we would all be in serious trouble indeed as all the superlative black people gifted to us by history would be erased. I think what is worst for me is that Candie’s bigotry, justified as science in the form of Phrenology, goes completely unchallenged--except in the “Me angry man, you die now” sense. The blame for this falls entirely on Tarantino who should never have created such a racist film. At that scene at the dinner table, I would have relished a pause from the dialogue to bring Sam Jackson on screen to cut into Candie’s skull and show the audience the fallacy of Phrenology. As it is, I think racist people will walk away from this movie feeling empowered with knowledge and reason. Expand
  23. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks you rwight in the face w/this movie. You will go through a lot of emotions while watching this movie. But, if you are a fan of QT, you should be fine. Don'tI am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks you rwight in the face w/this movie. You will go through a lot of emotions while watching this movie. But, if you are a fan of QT, you should be fine. Don't worry about Spike Lee with all his money. See the movie, then make your own judgement call. It was a very long movie, but that's cool. I thought the last half hour or so moved slowly along. Expand
  24. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This movie is not for everyone. My parents hated it because they were expecting a straight-up western they were wrong. If you don't know who Quentin Tarrantino is then this movie is probably going to annoy you. I'm a HUGE Tarrantino fan so I got exactly what I was expecting... The best movie I've watched all year, and the opening was absolutely fantastic. If you like Pulp Fiction, KillThis movie is not for everyone. My parents hated it because they were expecting a straight-up western they were wrong. If you don't know who Quentin Tarrantino is then this movie is probably going to annoy you. I'm a HUGE Tarrantino fan so I got exactly what I was expecting... The best movie I've watched all year, and the opening was absolutely fantastic. If you like Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, or From Dusk till Dawn and you liked the "STYLE" those films had then do yourself a favor and check this awesome movie out now!!! Expand
  25. Feb 23, 2013
    3
    Where to begin. This was an extremely disappointing film. Firstly let me start by saying that I am usually a fan of Tarantino's work (Kill Bill vol.1 and Death Proof aside) and I absolutely adored Inglorious Basterds, so obviously with the historical setting I had high hopes for this one. Hopes that were not fulfilled. The characters were just... awful. Bland, almost lucidly fake, or justWhere to begin. This was an extremely disappointing film. Firstly let me start by saying that I am usually a fan of Tarantino's work (Kill Bill vol.1 and Death Proof aside) and I absolutely adored Inglorious Basterds, so obviously with the historical setting I had high hopes for this one. Hopes that were not fulfilled. The characters were just... awful. Bland, almost lucidly fake, or just stupidly unsubtle and over the top like Samuel L Jackson's Uncle Tom or the moustache-twiddling, almost thunder and lightning inducing bad guy Calvin Candie. Seriously, was the cast of characters written by a teenager? Stoned? Then there's the 'comedy'. If you appreciate KKK humour or the shooting of the white devil, then by all means go and see this film and satisfy those moronic urges. Art direction was poor for a Tarantino, no memorable locations apart from the first plantation they visit. Just... really poor. I could literally give many many many more reasons why this film is an abomination but I actually can't be bothered, much how I feel Tarantino felt when making this. As for the stupidly high score, I just have no idea what the 'critics' saw. I mean, it is simply awful. Rant over. Expand
  26. May 29, 2013
    7
    Comedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'Django Unchained' is already a hugely popular movie, and so many, even among those who haven't seen it, are familiar by now with its fairly simple plot. So thisComedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'Django Unchained' is already a hugely popular movie, and so many, even among those who haven't seen it, are familiar by now with its fairly simple plot. So this time around, I'm only going to point out a few marked ways in which Quentin's seventh film struck me as rather unTarantinian.

    'Django', of course, is still very obviously a Tarantino film. But look, for instance, at how the flash-backs are done with quick fades rather than simple cuts, and how they're shot with different filters 'flash-back' filters. This drains them of most of the immediacy of the flash-backs of his other movies. Or, more accurately, they make them actually feel like flash-backs; the equivalents in his other films were effectively just scene transitions. He also uses music rather flamboyantly this time, often using only small parts of songs, and he uses more of it than usual.

    The camera is also much more active than in previous films. Look at the often flashy way he films the lengthy scene at Candie's dinner table and compare it to the tavern scene in chapter four of 'Inglourious Basterds'. In that scene, the camera is resolutely static throughout, using simple two-shots, three-shots and close-ups. For my money, this helped to make the scene considerably more immersive and suspenseful than the one at Candie's dinner table.

    Compare also the unwavering realism of the nazis and peripheral characters in 'Basterds' with the slave-owners and townsfolk in 'Django', who are frequently exaggerated and played for laughs. For myself, I was a bit disappointed by this decline in realism. I know Tarantino did this to retain the feel of the Spaghetti Westerns he's always loved so much. But one of his greatest strengths has always been his talent for taking lesser genres and accentuating their best elements, while omitting their weaker ones. For most of his movies, this has included maintaining strict realism in the story's environments and supporting characters, but not so much in 'Django"s case.

    Because of its content, the story it tells and its central characters and performances, 'Django' is an excellent, classical tale of a film. It has a couple of plot twists that are stunning. I am told that the Samurai sword-fight sequence in 'Kill Bill Vol. 1' is probably the best ever filmed, and I have no doubt that 'Django"s revolver melee is as good a one as we're ever likely to see. But to an extent that surprised me, the movie lacks the definition of the rest of Quentin's films. I think there are three main reasons for this.

    First, the story is that of a journey, an adventure, and has a fairly set path its makers must follow. Tarantino's stories usually move wherever and whenever they want to, but in each place they visit, they tend strongly to sit firmly down and stay there a good while. 'Django' is more fluid and, except for Candyland, moves through its locales rather speedily.

    The second reason is that after 'Inglourious Basterds', his most restrained and static film yet, I believe Tarantino felt a need to have more fun making his next film, use more music, more comedy (I don't know how long it's been since I've laughed in a theatre as hard as I did when Quentin gets himself blown to smithereens), be more dynamic with his camera, and to finally fully indulge his love of Spaghetti Westerns, a desire which until now he's had to satisfy only in bits and pieces. This is all fine. But I think he set to work with less restraint than was strictly wise this time.

    The third reason is that his editor Sally Menke died a year or so before production began on the film. Sally had edited all of Quentin's films and had long been known as his greatest collaborator. I realize now that such a loss does have its effect on a film. And her replacement, though he was an assistant in the editing of the Kill Bill movies, may not have been an ideal choice.

    I point these things out because so few critics seem to have talked about them, and because together they work to produce a film with fewer marks of its director's craft and brilliance. Obviously 'Django Unchained' is a very strong and enjoyable film with numerous virtues, which delves fearlessly into a subject that's been so widely and wrongly ignored for so long that it now seems in real danger of being largely unknown to many of us. Consider the nauseating case of Arkansas Representative Jon Hubbard who, in a book published last year, wrote that slavery 'may actually have been a blessing in disguise'.

    Quentin spoke with bafflement about the unyielding reluctance of the film industry, and of society at large, to discuss or confront the terrors of thralldom. He said of his movie, 'Let this be the first stone through the window.'
    Expand
  27. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Takes all of Tarentino films and make one great movie...........................................................................................................................................................
  28. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Excellent film. The performances from Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Samuel L. Jackson were all fantastic and Jamie Foxx did very well also. The dialogue is captivating and it's great seeing DiCaprio as a villain for a change, as well as seeing Waltz as a hero.
  29. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Just everything you wait from a QT movie. Blood, guns, violence, deep and long dialogs, humor and stuff - everything entertains you, unless you don't accept the cruel, but still realistic perspective of one of the most nonconformist directors. This movie is like taking a breath of fresh air, it's something really new that pops-up among all the mainstream occasional stuff.
  30. Jan 18, 2013
    4
    SPOILERS!!! It's fun the first half hour: Django and the Dr. meet and kill the 3 brothers. After that, it's a long and boring movie with two violence scenes so extreme that made me ill. It's overly long, Cristoph Waltz plays the same character (now good) from Inglorious Basterds, though it's the only thing that's worth paying attention to after the initial 30 minutes. After he dies, theSPOILERS!!! It's fun the first half hour: Django and the Dr. meet and kill the 3 brothers. After that, it's a long and boring movie with two violence scenes so extreme that made me ill. It's overly long, Cristoph Waltz plays the same character (now good) from Inglorious Basterds, though it's the only thing that's worth paying attention to after the initial 30 minutes. After he dies, the movie looses any positive aspects. I forget to mention Samuel Jackson's character, which is very entertaining, especially at the last scene. But overall, I never want to see this again. Expand
  31. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    Django Unchained has the same kind of outrageous violence and gore as Inglorious Basterds just in a different setting which if you enjoyed the first time around, you probably will the second time. Christopher Waltz and Jamie Foxx are a great duo and DiCaprio was great as Calvin Candie. I was entertained throughout.
  32. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    Django Unchained was great film -- solid, well made and well casted. One of the film's high points -- a usual with Tarantino -- was the character interaction through dialogue. Many scenes came across as overwhelmingly tense due to the actors and their stunning performances. However, I would say that this film slightly loses steam in its last half hour. I have heard a lot of criticism aboutDjango Unchained was great film -- solid, well made and well casted. One of the film's high points -- a usual with Tarantino -- was the character interaction through dialogue. Many scenes came across as overwhelmingly tense due to the actors and their stunning performances. However, I would say that this film slightly loses steam in its last half hour. I have heard a lot of criticism about Leonardo Dicaprio's acting but he was stellar in this film, his accent was spot on and he played a perfect villain. Christoph Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio were definitely the film's best actors but Jamie Foxx -- whilst he did a good job -- did not measure up to their performances as much as could be hoped. A great film with a solid story, historical accuracy, practical effects and stunning performances from Waltz and DiCaprio with perfectly scripted dialogue. If you are not one for gore and blood, maybe skip this however, as the last half hour gets a bit messy. Expand
  33. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    I thought the acting was superb, the editing was done quite well, the style was very interesting, the story was great, and the action and special effects were really good. My only problems with the movie were the soundtrack and the dialogue. I don't think that the songs in the soundtrack were necessarily bad I just think a few songs didn't really fit in with the movie and kind of took meI thought the acting was superb, the editing was done quite well, the style was very interesting, the story was great, and the action and special effects were really good. My only problems with the movie were the soundtrack and the dialogue. I don't think that the songs in the soundtrack were necessarily bad I just think a few songs didn't really fit in with the movie and kind of took me out of the immersion. Then, the dialogue, while not bad, wasn't the best. There were some scenes had some good dialogue but the movie as a whole had only decent dialogue which is disappointing especially for a director that has had movies with amazing dialogue. Expand
  34. May 25, 2013
    10
    •This movie will be one of those that will still be blowing new comers minds LONG after a lot of the current CGI laced popular films of today have lost their modern edge.
    •A completely unquestionable cinematic masterpiece.
    •One of the best Tarantino pieces IMO.
    • One of the best western/cowboy movies ever IMO.
  35. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome, Awesome, and Awesome. Probably one of QT's best as well as a top notch character part for SLJ and Leo! I just left the theatre and really didn't think I'd enjoy the movie as much as I did after watching the previews over the past few weeks. Boy, was I wrong. Lots of laughs and, if you can get over the 'n' word (which, by the way, no one should get offended since this is pre-civil war south we're dealing with), the movie is filled with a twist on QT's wit in bringing out certain quirky (if not strange) qualities in whites, as well as a good portrayal of southern slaves (with some added wit). I especially liked the face that more black faces were seen in this movie (hopefully, one of the best this year for Oscar) which are too often lacking in big sellers in recent film industry. Thanks QT for such a great cast, acting, and laughs!! Can't wait to purchase this from store shelves. Expand
  36. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Best Tarantino movie till Pulp Fiction, and great script, also excellent casting for this ocassion, altough I expected to see Kevin Costner, Dicaprio did a really great job and of course Cristoph Waltz play looked so real, but best actor of the movie was Samuel L Jackson. Won't spoil anymore! See it by yourself.
  37. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    Quentin Tarantino must like hearing his name associated with the words, "does it again!" because that's exactly what myself and many others say after seeing one of his films. This movie was a long drawn out drivel that some reviews might have you believe, this was a movie with a good soundtrack and amazing writing and fantastic acting. Pure emotion felt when the horrors of slavery wasQuentin Tarantino must like hearing his name associated with the words, "does it again!" because that's exactly what myself and many others say after seeing one of his films. This movie was a long drawn out drivel that some reviews might have you believe, this was a movie with a good soundtrack and amazing writing and fantastic acting. Pure emotion felt when the horrors of slavery was being exploited within the film. Christoph Waltz did a fantastic job in playing a German bounty hunter. Let me just say.... Leonardo DiCaprio should have gotten a nomination for Best Supporting Actor in the Academy Awards. I mean, WOW did he do an amazing job. I've seen many DiCaprio films and out of all performances given.... THIS one would have to be my favorite. Props to whoever chose the locations for the films it REALLY made me feel like this was actually happening. After the Nazi revenge fantasy, Inglorious Basterds, I was really interested how Quentin Tarantino would take on the horrors that was slavery. I can't praise this film enough without breaking the 5000 character limit. If you were a fan of Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill, you should see this film. Expand
  38. Jan 10, 2013
    4
    More palatable than most of Tanantino's works. He's extremely overrated- the only film of his that I really enjoyed was "Jackie Browne." His love of the tacky B-movie genre is thin camouflage for a distubingly deep, annoyingly chatty sadism.
  39. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Ultimately an enjoyable experience and everything I wanted out of the movie. Fantastic direction and acting from Foxx, DiCaprio, and Waltz make for an incredibly high tension during the scenes at Candieland. In classic Tarantino fashion, the writing, gory action sequences and the revenge fueled plot make it a personally attaching experience.
  40. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If your a fan of pie in your face humour, that slapstick comedy which any clown can laugh at. While also being an avid fan of spatter/splatter, then I am sure your one of those who praise this film as one of the all time Q greats. Unfortunately the dialogue must have won the Guinness World Record for how many times the N word was used throughout its duration, being more so then any other single word in the entire film almost more than all other words combined. Its rhetoric contained lessons in etiquette from a polite German bounty hunter, or Broomhilda (Brunhild) the naked viking, but lets actually suppose you have those submissive dimples and will lap this film up for what it is. There also were quite bad holes in its plot purposefully because of that pie in your face. Lets suppose an apprentice sniper has night vision on his rifle. A bounty hunter kills a father in front of his son at long range effectively undoing the entire message of this film because a sketch artist has identified him without the visual aid of his freed man. After killing Candy would they let that man walk out of there to do it all again? I'm sure those six shooters needed that much blood flying in your face from them, making a cannon look bad. I.B had plots within plots, this however was 3 whole hours of the same thing repeated again and again. While missing much of the beauty of a western from it's locations. Sure it was grindhouse/exploitation but each character was to damn comical and cheesy almost losing there effect. Most of the time those actors looked like they were going to burst out laughing from each of their expressions and dialogue. Probably expect to a sequel, at the very least expect a generation of Django's it has begun........ Expand
  41. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Great movie expecially if you are a fan of Quentin Tarantinos films. The time period this movie takes place in adds the great classic revenge tone Tarantino is know to use. During the whole time of the movie there is no point were it drops and becomes boring, there is always something happening. The only problem with this great film is the last 20 min. or so of the movie, it seemed thatGreat movie expecially if you are a fan of Quentin Tarantinos films. The time period this movie takes place in adds the great classic revenge tone Tarantino is know to use. During the whole time of the movie there is no point were it drops and becomes boring, there is always something happening. The only problem with this great film is the last 20 min. or so of the movie, it seemed that Tarantino had to rush it. But overall the film is a great addition to Tarantinos collection. 9/10 Expand
  42. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Quentin Tarantino does yet another outstanding performance with Django Unchained! The acting was superb from every actor but Christoph Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio did it for me this time. The cinematography was gorgeous and the music couldn't have been more appropriate. However, at times this movie felt predictable. From watching a lot of QT, you get used to the way he sets out the storyQuentin Tarantino does yet another outstanding performance with Django Unchained! The acting was superb from every actor but Christoph Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio did it for me this time. The cinematography was gorgeous and the music couldn't have been more appropriate. However, at times this movie felt predictable. From watching a lot of QT, you get used to the way he sets out the story etc. and Django was just a perfect example of a QT classic. Nevertheless, it was enjoyable, entertaining and a bloody good movie. I would totally recommend it. Expand
  43. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    This is not my favorite film by Tarantino and frankly, I know he could have done better. Jamie Foxx gave an OK performance while Christoph Waltz stole the show.

    It was campy, uber-violent (but not in the usual Tarantino style) and far too long. Additionally, DiCaprio did not have enough screen time and his character, though short-lived, was funny and entertaining. Wish he would have
    This is not my favorite film by Tarantino and frankly, I know he could have done better. Jamie Foxx gave an OK performance while Christoph Waltz stole the show.

    It was campy, uber-violent (but not in the usual Tarantino style) and far too long.

    Additionally, DiCaprio did not have enough screen time and his character, though short-lived, was funny and entertaining. Wish he would have been a more integral part of the plot.

    Overall, the movie was highly predictable on all counts, it's worth seeing if you want cheap entertainment, but if you have liked Tarantino in the past, prepare for disappointment.
    Expand
  44. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    Maybe it's just the fact I find most of Tarantino's work to be amazing, but this dude knows what he is doing most of the time. Aside from the organization of this film and its over-editing, Django was one of those movies you want to see more than once. DiCaprio gives one of his best performances, and the trademark gore of a Tarantino film was taken to the next level, which I found to beMaybe it's just the fact I find most of Tarantino's work to be amazing, but this dude knows what he is doing most of the time. Aside from the organization of this film and its over-editing, Django was one of those movies you want to see more than once. DiCaprio gives one of his best performances, and the trademark gore of a Tarantino film was taken to the next level, which I found to be incredibly entertaining. Expand
  45. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    This movie will appeal to the ones who delight in certain types killing other types they really don't like but can not easily convey their dislike. Very predictable and mostly boring. The overall tenet of this sorry excuse for a movie is highly unlikely to even be remotely considered possible...unless you are a very vindictive and unskilled entity. I found it to be a waste of time and doThis movie will appeal to the ones who delight in certain types killing other types they really don't like but can not easily convey their dislike. Very predictable and mostly boring. The overall tenet of this sorry excuse for a movie is highly unlikely to even be remotely considered possible...unless you are a very vindictive and unskilled entity. I found it to be a waste of time and do not recommend it to anyone with even a modicum of sensibility. If you are of that ilk, you will be angered or saddened...or both. Expand
  46. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Quentin' s western is comedy, violence, and incredibly script with excellent actuation's remarking Di Caprio and Waltz. Totally good film. And the most important is that is fun
  47. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Skip this bloated turd and do your self a favor: watch the amazing 1966 Django. The days of Quentin Tarantino being cool as a film maker are way over. He needs to be the new Siskel Ebert, that would be awesome.
  48. May 23, 2013
    10
    Django Unchained is easily one of the best movies I have seen in really long, everything from the story to the great shooting scenes is incredibly well done. Quentin Tarantino always delivers.
  49. May 22, 2013
    2
    The disappointing moment when I realize that Tarantino sadism served up as style.
    This man loves ultra violence in film.

    I've loved his movies up until this one. I think he went too far this time.
  50. May 27, 2013
    4
    Sort of a mix between Inglorious Basterds and Kill Bill 1, with the worst aspects of both. It's overlong as with IB, and filled with silly action set pieces as in KB. Very stylish, pretty short on anything else. Leo steals the show; you can't buy any of the other characters or their motivations. People will try to tell you it's a homage to blaxploitation movies or brilliant satire cloakedSort of a mix between Inglorious Basterds and Kill Bill 1, with the worst aspects of both. It's overlong as with IB, and filled with silly action set pieces as in KB. Very stylish, pretty short on anything else. Leo steals the show; you can't buy any of the other characters or their motivations. People will try to tell you it's a homage to blaxploitation movies or brilliant satire cloaked in b-grade trapping, or any of the normal stuff people say about Tarantino movies. The truth is, it's just a silly movie that lacks the wit of his earliest films. Expand
  51. Jun 27, 2016
    8
    The acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour and bloody violence.
  52. Jul 25, 2014
    1
    If Mel Brooks had directed it might have worked, because this can only be approached as a work of satire. But it's not funny, it's not sad, it's a dud on every level, a milk dud has more flavor.

    Tarantino cannot write romance, what a shock, right. But a romance is the center of the story and ( Jamie Foxx, Kerry Washington) were both a total miscast. Will Smith would have elevated the
    If Mel Brooks had directed it might have worked, because this can only be approached as a work of satire. But it's not funny, it's not sad, it's a dud on every level, a milk dud has more flavor.

    Tarantino cannot write romance, what a shock, right. But a romance is the center of the story and ( Jamie Foxx, Kerry Washington) were both a total miscast. Will Smith would have elevated the love story playing opposite say perhaps Keke Palmer who owns an edge and inherent sadness in her eyes at times but shares the attractive personality of Will Smith, whereas Foxx and Washington were both dull and artificially stoic.

    What's more Tarantino did not even come close to depicting the misery of enslavement, which was key in lending any emotional involvement for the audience.

    A lazy outing at the typewriter for Tarantino....if you wanna write slavery, shackle yourself to the desk next time because you clearly do not know what it means and failed even to imagine it.

    Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio both shined per usual and the death of their characters were felt but as for the rest of the cast you can throw them all to the dogs...

    Tarantino has proven twice now he can't write historical.
    Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    Despite its excessiveness of everything, Django Unchained ulleashes a bold, brutal and important movie for the general public to be aware of and does so under the consise direction of Quentin Tarantino.
  54. Jan 13, 2016
    5
    Change the name of Tarantino's new movie to the Hateful 9 because I also hated it. Looking to give him a fresh look, I watched Django Unchained on Netflix. Better than Hateful 8…but not by much. QT has psychological hang ups; African-Americans and the history of blacks , the word **** and Samuel Jackson. The latter is a really good actor but really .. every film ? As always , DiCaprio is aChange the name of Tarantino's new movie to the Hateful 9 because I also hated it. Looking to give him a fresh look, I watched Django Unchained on Netflix. Better than Hateful 8…but not by much. QT has psychological hang ups; African-Americans and the history of blacks , the word **** and Samuel Jackson. The latter is a really good actor but really .. every film ? As always , DiCaprio is a treasure. Bad,bad man. Deliciously played. The acting overall was solid as was the story line but the problem is QT excess and self indulgence. Since Pulp Fiction , the first 1/3 of his movies are really good, often comical , the middle 1/3 o.k. and the last part excessively violent and senseless. My new slogan is "just say no to Tarantino" . Expand
  55. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This movie was awsome, i really liked it and i belive he is a true master. The cast was amazing and all of them created a movie that i was waiting to see for 6 months, definite must see
  56. May 19, 2013
    8
    I saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to WaltzI saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to Waltz you kind of forget about Fox some times which is kind of a shame because Jamie Fox is no slouch in this and does a fine job. As a western its a pretty damn good one but my biggest problem with it is the music Now normally one of three things happens with music 1. either it blends in to where you don't notice it 2. It pops out wonderfully to make a scene better or 3. It pops out and just does not fit at all. With Django it falls in to number 3. Tarantino uses a lot of 60s and 70s style music which just doesn't feel right at all and just took me out at times going why is he using this kind of music? It just doesn't fit a western at all. Feels like it would belong more in Jackie Brown or Pulp Fiction That out of the way the story is good and the acting from the other actors is very solid The movie is well worth seeing Expand
  57. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway, Django Unchained really steers away from clichés. It's definitely a film I'd want to watch again.
  58. Dec 22, 2015
    8
    Django Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. TheDjango Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. The presentation is excellent with the landscape being big and beautiful and the violence being big, dumb, goory, and fun. Its everything a western is and it’s a ton of fun! Expand
  59. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    There were a lot of things about this movie that I liked. The things that I didn't like, bothered me.... 1) There are an uncomfortable amount of far-fetched moments, in which characters seem to act against their nature in order to serve the plot better. 2) Tarantino's cameo is extremely awkward he may as we'll have been on screen wearing a beret and sitting in a director's chair. 3) I'llThere were a lot of things about this movie that I liked. The things that I didn't like, bothered me.... 1) There are an uncomfortable amount of far-fetched moments, in which characters seem to act against their nature in order to serve the plot better. 2) Tarantino's cameo is extremely awkward he may as we'll have been on screen wearing a beret and sitting in a director's chair. 3) I'll never agree with the use of modern music in period movies. Are electric guitars and hip-hop necessary in a cowboy movie?
    I think Quentin Tarantino is (maybe was) a great director. I just wish he'd stop making semi-serious, semi-goofball REVENGE flicks a la Kill Bill, Kill Bill Vol. II, Inglorious Basterds, and Django Unchained. That's four, and I believe he's threatened to make another Kill Bill! It's now a great number of years since Tarantino has shown any real range as a filmmaker. He obviously has the talent and imagination to make a serious movie for a change, and he really should.
    Expand
  60. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    Tarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I willTarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I will definitely see his next film again for the music, the inventive parley and the dialogue and the eccentricity of his leading role. Expand
  61. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very entertaining movie throughout. Lot's of violence, but it's a Tarantino flick, you know what you sign up for when watching. Jamie Foxx was very good. He has the charisma and cojones to make you actually believe he could pull off this legend. Overall, however, the movie was very predictable in Tarantino style. It felt like, oh, I already saw this in Jackie Brown, Kill Bill, Reservoir Dogs, and Inglorious Basterds. It was like a mashup of those movies done over the top with slavery thrown in for extra shock and story value. I was entertained, don't get me wrong, but I wish he did something more original with the movie instead of rehashing old ground. The end scene, also, was horrendously cheesy. I know it was an "Homage" but crikey, that was out of place and bad. Save the western ride off into the sunset worship and make a cut with a worthy ending that befits Jamie Foxx's stellar character performance throughout! It's like QT just stripped all of Jamie's charismatic character and the castration that never happened before in the film somehow managed to occur just before he makes his horse dance in a ridiculous forced tribute scene to appease the director's misguided fantasy ending. Expand
  62. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    Real film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly the best cast Waltz!
  63. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Django Unchained was an excellent, surprisingly light and utterly hilarious western from Quentin Tarantino. The movie surprised me at many different junctures and delighted throughout. This was a fantastic film!
  64. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed the movie, but the convoluted scheme and plot really didn't make a lot of sense. It was also horribly predictable but a fun action flick none the less with good acting and cinematography.
  65. Feb 1, 2016
    9
    One of the best movies that I have seen in a very long time. Funny, intense and emotional all in one movie. It was definitely a classic taratino film.
  66. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

    The director’s usual fast paced dialogue, bloody action sequences and ability to successfully mix comedy and drama to create truly memorable scenes are all on show here. Add in exceptional
    I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

    The director’s usual fast paced dialogue, bloody action sequences and ability to successfully mix comedy and drama to create truly memorable scenes are all on show here. Add in exceptional performances from a talented cast that includes Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio and deserved Oscar winner Christopher Waltz, as the dentist turned bounty hunter, and you have an example of the filmmaker at his very best.

    Non-Tarantino fans need not apply.
    Expand
  67. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    An exciting film inspired by spaghetti westerns that once again proves that Quentin Tarantino's writing talent is beyond original (although the movie has some recycled material in it) whether if its the funny dialogues or the fictional twists in the story that is based on the history of American slavery (just like he did in Inglorious Basterds). Quentin is a real filmmaker, he knowsAn exciting film inspired by spaghetti westerns that once again proves that Quentin Tarantino's writing talent is beyond original (although the movie has some recycled material in it) whether if its the funny dialogues or the fictional twists in the story that is based on the history of American slavery (just like he did in Inglorious Basterds). Quentin is a real filmmaker, he knows exactly how to make his audience feel in every single scene in this film, especially by the help of the amazing score, nonetheless, "Django" is a hilarious film, not only by the help of the brilliant script, but by the help of one of its leading characters bounty hunter Dr King Schultz that is played by one of tarantino's best discoveries, Christopher Waltz, like Tarantino himself, he knows how to express his emotions and story telling in this film. Scene after a scene is a whole other divine cinematic experience although some of them are way too long and should have been cut off. Yes, racism is painful but it's only as painful as this film's punch in the face for our society today. Tarantino's message has certainly spread to my mind, and I am quite positive it will do the same to yours (well not everyone, after all, it's Tarantino). Expand
  68. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    A great movie, with great actors and real good scenes in it. The soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever. The only problem is that the film doesn´t maintain the quality after waltz and dicaprio are gone and is therefore not getting the full score.
  69. Aug 30, 2015
    9
    Quentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarks on a blood thirsty journey to kill the evil white slave owner Calvin Candie, played by the godly Leo DiCaprio, and retrieve back his long lost wifeQuentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarks on a blood thirsty journey to kill the evil white slave owner Calvin Candie, played by the godly Leo DiCaprio, and retrieve back his long lost wife during colonial America. I promise you, this ain't a journey you wouldn't wanna miss. Expand
  70. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Ever since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slave freed by a bounty hunter, Dr King Shultz (A sublime Christoph Waltz) who needs his help hunting his next bounty. The two head off in search of thisEver since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slave freed by a bounty hunter, Dr King Shultz (A sublime Christoph Waltz) who needs his help hunting his next bounty. The two head off in search of this bounty and Django's wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) who is a slave at Candyland, a brutal southern plantation run by Calvin Candie (a wonderfully temperamental Leonardo Dicaprio). It's a thrilling film and the only real problems with Django are that it suffers from some pacing issues and has a woeful cameo by Tarantino himself which borders on hilarity but just manages to irritate. In its dialogue the film sparks but in the build up to the violent set pieces the film flounders until suddenly the gunfire breaks out and we are back off to the races. Its a whole lot of stop and start which in some aspects detract from the enjoyment. Ultimately the film is fantastic for the most part with some fine performances by Waltz, DIcaprio, Foxx and Samuel L Jackson who gives a performance that is on par with his in my opinion best performance in the equally wonderful Tarantino flick Jackie Brown. Despite the bleak nature of the film and the shocking imagery used, Tarantino's wit and keen eye for detail save the film from being downright miserable and even give it a happy go lucky feel which is remarkable. Overall Tarantino delivers on everything you expect with flying colours but deep down you may be expecting a little more originality as he plays multiple cards from his own deck but never strives for anything out of the ordinary. A great film by regular standards, an average Tarantino film. Expand
  71. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    A incredibly bloody and brilliant masterpiece by the ever brilliant Quentin Tarantino is smart, hilarious and shocking in equal measure. The film has been made with complete care and it shows with beautiful cinematography, fantastic acting and great directing. One of the best films to be released in 2012.
  72. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first film I have seen in 2013 is also the first Tarantino film I have seen and the first '18' rated film I have seen at the cinema, and I only have one word to say: Dude. I absolutely loved the film, it was beautifully shot, incredibly well acted (particularly Leonardo Decaprio as Calvin Candy and Christoph Waltz as Dr. Schultz), extremely violent and very funny at times (one of my favourite film moments of all time is the scene completely ridiculing the Ku Klux Klan). This film has made me want to watch every one of Tarantino's films, as I now know what all the fuss is about. I do have a problem with the film however, it is a tad too long, even 10 minutes shaved off the run-time would have been good, however, this is a small gripe with an otherwise perfect film. The film is very well made to show everything in a ridiculous light, other than slavery, which was approached in a way that made parts of the film very hard to watch, but in a good way, as many films based in the 'Wild west' do not even take into account that atrocities like slavery were going on at the time of the cowboy: so I found it educational as well. Bold, bloody, stylistic and not for anybody easily offended by blood or bad language, Django Unchained is one of the best films I have ever seen, if not a little long. Dude, 93/100.

    (Also, Candy and Stephen are horrible).
    Expand
  73. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Best film of 2012. Best acting of 2012. It is a shockingly exciting
  74. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Tarantino's masterpiece, Django Unchained is probably one of the best movies I have ever seen.
    I felt that every kind of detail, even the small ones, were intentional, Tarantino though all the details, and put them in the absolute right place!
  75. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    A ridiculous good time, one of Tarantino's most indulgent yet most thoughtful films yet.
    A re-hash of Kill Bill, but with a refreshing setting and with a surprisingly brutal political theme.
  76. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Almost 3 hours and at no stage did it feel drawn out or too long. This trumps Inglorious Basterds and suits as Tarintino's best film. A funny, witty, slick, violent homage to spaghetti westerns set with the dark backdrop of the racist wild west.
  77. May 27, 2013
    10
    "The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and brilliant also fit seamlessly into a description of this wonderful film.
    Set in the midst of slavery in the Old West and the Deep South of the United
    "The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and brilliant also fit seamlessly into a description of this wonderful film.
    Set in the midst of slavery in the Old West and the Deep South of the United States, Django (Jamie Foxx) and a group of slaves are being hoarded across the plain by two brothers, when dentist turned bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) interrupts proceedings, he frees Django in the hope that he will lead him to another set of brothers who Django and his wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) were recently owned by.
    Christoph Waltz brings an energetic and humorous energy to the role that is simply unmatched. Django is cold and collected in the hope of finding his wife, who he finds out is a slave of the talkative and ruthless Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio). As Django and Schultz set off across the frontier and wade out the winter, Schultz trains Django to become a bounty hunter, he sees it as his duty to free this slave and therefore look after him.
    In typical Quentin Tarantino fashion, Django Unchained is more about pushing the boundaries of cinematic taboo than the simple story that is told. The use of the 'N' word has been the point of deliberation since the films release, but either way, a perfect Spaghetti Western has been moulded with Tarantino at the helm, is use of long dialogue and extended scenes of conversation continue to amaze, especially when the talented Christoph Waltz is involved, lest we forget his fantastic turn as Col. Hans Landa in Inglorious Basterds,but he truly raises the bar in Django for nobody but himself, is attitude and personality are unmatched, save for possibly Leonardo DiCaprio, who we rarely, if ever, see as the villain, but who shows exactly what he is capable of with the sadistic but charming Candie.
    Jamie Foxx has been perfectly cast as them main man Django, he shows heart but willingness to find his wife by any means possible, and his rise to heroism throughout the film is a perfect test of character that he does brilliantly.
    Tarantino again picks a perfect setting and now has a western hit under his belt, whether its the music, the deep southern accents or the wonderful camera work of gore and glory, he has again created a very deservedly named masterpiece.
    Expand
  78. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Ok, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful and awesome, and you look back on the scene with fondness, but it just takes too long to get to that point in an already lengthy picture. I feel that DjangoOk, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful and awesome, and you look back on the scene with fondness, but it just takes too long to get to that point in an already lengthy picture. I feel that Django himself was an honest character, and your really rooting for him by the end. All of the actors are great. A lot of the violence will have you going "Ohhh, THAT HURT!" but it's not the most inspired part of the film. Overall, it's a good movie. Is it on the level of Pulp Fiction? No. Not really. It's Tarantino trying to drive home a message, and while he succeeds at it, I feel that his best work is elsewhere. It's another Tarantino revenge story with a strong narrative, but I think his source material was a little TOO massive for him this time. It's a very strong 7 still though. Expand
  79. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Cleverly combining heavy racial slavery topic and exuberant bloodlust in Wild West gunslinger tale, Django Unchained is as a string of intensely gripping sequences. It serves as clashes between personalities, either with means of wit or bullets, acted by intriguing grandiose characters. Screenplay is amazing, chaining scenes after scenes with such gusto from virile visual and fresh audioCleverly combining heavy racial slavery topic and exuberant bloodlust in Wild West gunslinger tale, Django Unchained is as a string of intensely gripping sequences. It serves as clashes between personalities, either with means of wit or bullets, acted by intriguing grandiose characters. Screenplay is amazing, chaining scenes after scenes with such gusto from virile visual and fresh audio tunes. It is, however, a violence-ridden movie, and while the comedy balances it well, it could be seen as antagonizing or offensive.

    Acting is all round superior with the star-studded cast. Django (Jamie Foxx) looks youthful, determined, vengeful and sly in one life-altering journey, in short, a charismatic badass. If there's a gunslinger epic with palatable protagonist of then lower class stature, Jamie Foxx is perfectly worthy choice. Christopher Waltz as Dr. King Schultz is a phenomenal presence on-screen. As Django's mentor and partner, this eloquently-speaking German bounty hunter is a strikingly deep character, but in the same time able to provide subtle prominent humor, making him an instant favorite.

    Leonardo DiCaprio as plantation owner, Calvin Candie, has a flamboyant capitalist persona, bordering on sneaky businessman with hidden sadistic intention. There's a lingering sense of danger as Django and Schultz delve into his business territory. Samuel L. Jackson as Stephen, a caretaker of Candie family's plantation, Candyland, is highly shrewd while pretending to be a loud old grumpy man. Interaction between the characters is as intense as the gunfights, perhaps more so as it precedes them.

    Scenes and cinematography are brilliantly crafted, well-structured and masterfully organized. Each brings simple yet effective shots, the dialogues are interesting and the pace is just right to give much needed characterization. Action sequences are overly exaggerated, often depicting flying bodies which liters of blood leaked from. It's unapologetically gruesome, tortured maiden and nutshots included.

    It's a lengthy movie, almost three hours or so, and the racial topic might deter some viewers. Those things aside, it's a splendid movie, something of a made from gunpowder and blood, served brazenly.
    Expand
  80. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    My first cinema-going in 2013 is dedicating to Tarantino
  81. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    It appears to be very appealing and attractive from the far but it is actually very meaningless when I look at it from the inside, like a king without cloth.
  82. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Violent. Sentimental. Enthralling. The actors enliven the script under Tarantino's direction, and create a modern (south) Western spectacle that Tarantino fans will savor.
  83. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    This movie is, as the name implies, chainless or as the young folk say off the chain. Tarantino kills it again, with scenes that have you at the edge of your seat, heros that steal your heart, and antagonists that you love to hate. If you haven't seen it do your self a favor, get to a theater, watch Django unchained, and thank me later.
  84. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Tarantino hits another home run. This ones out of the city not just the park. What a interesting movie. The characters are amazing. Waltz is the good guy this time and he is wonderful. Fox is wonderful. I really enjoyed this movie. Must see. If you like QT movies you will love it. If you don't like QT movies....what can I say.
  85. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is brilliant, from the direction of the obviously talented Quentin Tarantino to the acting of such figures of Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, Don Johnson, Kerry Washington, Samuel L. Jackson and, particularly, Christoph Woltz There's a reason this film has won not one but TWO Awards, and it was by far my favorite film of 2012, as well as being one of my favorite films ever. I would change nothing about this film (apart form making it longer), and the only think I pity is that Tarantino killed off all but two major characters, because a sequel or continuation of some kind would have been brilliant. Expand
  86. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Tarantino follows his formula and doesn't dissapoint. Django Unchained is a masterfully crafted film and is as entertaining and smart as anything he's ever done. Christoph Waltz deserves another Academy Award for an amazing performance.
  87. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    This is the best movie I've ever watched in cinema, it is worth every penny that I spent. I am particularly fond of the soundtrack, acting, storyline and acting (basically every part of the movie). I remembered how mind blown I was right from the beginning, until the end of this movie. It was almost too good to be true; and I had the privilege to watch it in the cinema. Personally, I feltThis is the best movie I've ever watched in cinema, it is worth every penny that I spent. I am particularly fond of the soundtrack, acting, storyline and acting (basically every part of the movie). I remembered how mind blown I was right from the beginning, until the end of this movie. It was almost too good to be true; and I had the privilege to watch it in the cinema. Personally, I felt that Leonardo Di Caprio were absolutely brilliant in this movie, I was really hoping he could win an award... loved this! Again, Quentin Tarantino did it! Pure genius Expand
  88. Sep 1, 2014
    9
    Another epic masterpiece from Quentin Tarantino. Once again, the perfect mix of bold and funny that we've come to know and love; and he does so with great help from Waltz, DiCaprio and Foxx.
  89. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Django Unchained is Quentin's best film since pulp fiction. Its funny, sick, and extremely entertaining on all levels. Unlike his other films the movie never drags and mixes comedy and violence to near perfection.
  90. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Tarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while, Jamie Fox portrays the perfect mixture of fear, anger, and pretentiousness, and DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson are just the perfect villains. The movieTarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while, Jamie Fox portrays the perfect mixture of fear, anger, and pretentiousness, and DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson are just the perfect villains. The movie is a great ride all the way through, and keeps the fun going the whole 2 hours and 45 minutes. The ending to this movie is one of the most satisfying I've seen in quite some time, and the final shootout is unlike anything I've seen. I definitely will see it again. Expand
  91. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
    I have to admit that only in this movie I realized what talent is Christoph Waltz. The man is a scene thief. He expresses so many emotions with so little and every line is perfectly timed and executed.
    Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
    I have to admit that only in this movie I realized what talent is Christoph Waltz. The man is a scene thief. He expresses so many emotions with so little and every line is perfectly timed and executed. My greatest concern was the length of the movie, however every one of 165 minutes was entertaining.
    Expand
  92. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Yep--another bit of Tarantino gold to add to the collection. Love it. Oh, and Christoph Waltz really shines here--again. From the despicably evil Jew Hunter to Dr. Schultz: bigot-hating bounty hunter--he really lives these characters. But then, everyone usually does with Tarantino at the helm. Great stuff.
  93. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    What's the excellent revenge, anger ,justice ,and blood What's new .The same old story. The same old acting Just a fairy tale. No imagine ,no case. Lets someone tell me, what's the new element of this movie?
  94. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Another great Tarantino movie. Christoph Waltz is as amazing as "Basterds" and even Jamie Foxx is likeable. The storyline is creative, brutal, and effective. Full of shocks and hilarious gratuitous violence, Django is a film to be seen.
  95. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Tarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesome soundtrack. The dialogues are the main and the best part of the movie, as usual, the characters are well-written well-acted (DiCaprio has just provenTarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesome soundtrack. The dialogues are the main and the best part of the movie, as usual, the characters are well-written well-acted (DiCaprio has just proven that he can be a great antagonist), and the action is gory and awesome. Despite being 165-minute-long, the film keeps you hooked all the way. To summarize - it's Tarantino at his finest. Go watch this. Collapse
  96. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite Tarantino film yet! Okay, Tarantino fans may not like it because it maybe a tiny bit more mainstream than they'd like but it's got awesome music, a pretty fun story and some awesome acting from Jamie Foxx. I found the pacing with past Tarantino films to be a bit off but this is perfect, it has those trademark ridiculously long scenes and really long monologues but thenThis is my favourite Tarantino film yet! Okay, Tarantino fans may not like it because it maybe a tiny bit more mainstream than they'd like but it's got awesome music, a pretty fun story and some awesome acting from Jamie Foxx. I found the pacing with past Tarantino films to be a bit off but this is perfect, it has those trademark ridiculously long scenes and really long monologues but then also a load of fast paced scenes, humour and action. I liked this one especially because I found it quite provocative about the slave trade, what of his past films have done this? IB with nazi's? Not really. This is going to be one of my favourite films for years to come I can tell! :D Expand
  97. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Superb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for some lame hip-hop songs) were all top level! Highly recommended!
  98. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    This movie has moments but does not do it. I thought Waltz, Foxx, and Dicaprio did great work but the script was thin and the plot was not done correctly. To be honest the violence and Language is way to much. This film almost felt like a parody and with this type of talent it should not happen. I was expecting a Red Dead Redemption which I thought was extremely well done as a story.

    Okay movie
  99. Jan 17, 2013
    6
    Well, as expected, it exploits the Southern American history in the most abusive, offensive and disrespectful way: by creating entertainment and amusement out of it! But, considering the history of American film production that doesn't come as a surprise to me. Just think of the grand Schindler's List! Other than that, the film is classic Tarantino and as disrespectful as might sound IWell, as expected, it exploits the Southern American history in the most abusive, offensive and disrespectful way: by creating entertainment and amusement out of it! But, considering the history of American film production that doesn't come as a surprise to me. Just think of the grand Schindler's List! Other than that, the film is classic Tarantino and as disrespectful as might sound I really enjoyed it (blushing)! Expand
  100. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    At one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest film (The movie is filled with them). In the middle of all these references are lots of fun and heavy violence. This is one of Quentin´s funniest films,At one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest film (The movie is filled with them). In the middle of all these references are lots of fun and heavy violence. This is one of Quentin´s funniest films, the humor is so smart and critical and most importantly so entertaining (The KKK scene is hilarious). The violent scenes are very flamboyant and stylized (as in any other Tarantino film) and so much fun. Samuel L. Jackson and Christoph Waltz deliver fantastic performances, as you would expect, but even the actors who you wouldn't expect to be great, are, like Don Johnson as Big Daddy. The dialogues are amazing, they´re fast, smart and funny. Django Unchained is definitely a must-see! Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Another strong, sparky and bloody entry in the QT canon. Although, creaking under its running time, it's not quite as uproariously entertaining as his last pseudo-historical adventure, "Inglourious Basterds."
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    What Tarantino has is an appreciation for gut-level exploitation film appeal, combined with an artist's desire to transform that gut element with something higher, better, more daring. His films challenge taboos in our society in the most direct possible way, and at the same time add an element of parody or satire.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 3, 2013
    100
    The film doesn't play it safe, so neither will I. Instead, I'll say that it finds Mr. Tarantino perched improbably but securely on the top of a production that's wildly extravagant, ferociously violent, ludicrously lurid and outrageously entertaining, yet also, remarkably, very much about the pernicious lunacy of racism and, yes, slavery's singular horrors.