Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 25, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2042 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,851
Mixed:
113
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 15, 2016
Django Unchained will forever be a 9 even if I loved it so much. Django Unchained is another way to waste a chain on something worth keeping forever and it will never dust away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 24, 2013
The movie was pretty good. Nothing amazing, but still pretty good. Jamie Foxx and Leonardo DiCaprio truly stole the show, though the faults in the film largely lie in the fact many of the scenes seemed to be random and just thrown together.The movie was pretty good. Nothing amazing, but still pretty good. Jamie Foxx and Leonardo DiCaprio truly stole the show, though the faults in the film largely lie in the fact many of the scenes seemed to be random and just thrown together. In addition (this won't ruin the film), when somebody gets shot, it seems to painfully unrealistic. Not only was the blood coming out in unnatural waves, but it was almost action film esque, which was a turn off for me. However, I'm nitpicking. It was still entertaining and well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryDec 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With any filmmaker, there are ups and down. This one is definitely up! Christop Waltz (in another winning performance) plays a dentist-turned-bounty-hunter who strikes a deal with a slave (Jamie Foxx in the title role): help him find his bounty and he'll free Django and help him find his wife. They outsmart all the villains until they finally land at the plantation run by Leonardo DiCaprio. Despite the cruel depiction of slavery, this is Tarantino's funniest film yet (the head bag scene is a classic). The violence leans toward comic book broadness with more blood splatter than guts or cuts Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 18, 2013
Django Unchained is living proof that just because a movie is long, doesn't mean it's boring or that it drags. (This was also proven in Goodfellas) It is a great movie, with expert storytelling by Tarantino and noted performances by JamieDjango Unchained is living proof that just because a movie is long, doesn't mean it's boring or that it drags. (This was also proven in Goodfellas) It is a great movie, with expert storytelling by Tarantino and noted performances by Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, and the emerging Christopher Waltz! It's fun to watch, even though the violence level is standard for Tarantino. On a sadder note, this will be the first of his feature films not edited by Sally Menke, who died in 2010. What a pity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jan 2, 2013
Thanks to a seemingly unending overflow of marvelous performances, a bitingly scintillating script, and the always-lovable auteurist techniques of Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained" makes for a truly gratifying film adventure and one ofThanks to a seemingly unending overflow of marvelous performances, a bitingly scintillating script, and the always-lovable auteurist techniques of Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained" makes for a truly gratifying film adventure and one of the greatest westerns I have ever seen. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticApr 28, 2013
Tarantino does it again. The man has never made a bad movie and with Django Unchained we get a well written and acted film. Jamie Fox and Leonardo DiCaprio are fabulous, but Christolph Waltz is the stand out here. He and Tarantino are justTarantino does it again. The man has never made a bad movie and with Django Unchained we get a well written and acted film. Jamie Fox and Leonardo DiCaprio are fabulous, but Christolph Waltz is the stand out here. He and Tarantino are just a perfect combination. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Another epic masterpiece from Quentin Tarantino. Once again, the perfect mix of bold and funny that we've come to know and love; and he does so with great help from Waltz, DiCaprio and Foxx.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Jan 8, 2013
Django Unchained is Quentin's best film since pulp fiction. Its funny, sick, and extremely entertaining on all levels. Unlike his other films the movie never drags and mixes comedy and violence to near perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMay 14, 2013
When I first saw Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained, I wrote that it was as deplorable and delicious as a forbidden cigarette. This second time around I'm still dizzy, from something meaner than nicotine. This brilliant and brutal revengeWhen I first saw Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained, I wrote that it was as deplorable and delicious as a forbidden cigarette. This second time around I'm still dizzy, from something meaner than nicotine. This brilliant and brutal revenge western, with its bromcom double act from Jamie Foxx and Christoph Waltz, is set among the slave plantations of pre-civil war America. It is partly based on the 1960s cult Django westerns starring Franco Nero (who returns in cameo here) and partly on the notorious 1975 exploitation picture Mandingo, but it's distinctive on its own fantastically outrageous terms: an audacious and horribly funny comic-book nightmare. Tarantino, king of the comeback, famously returned John Travolta to the pop-culture frontline for Pulp Fiction and indeed renewed crime writer Eddie Bunker's pulp-fiction stardom by getting him an acting gig as Mr Blue in Reservoir Dogs. Now Tarantino has made his own comeback, after a recent worrying slump, with his best film since Kill Bill: Vol. 1.It's certainly an awful lot better than the previous film Inglourious Basterds, which I attacked on account of its misfiring spaghetti-Nazi theme and bafflingly dull plot. I should here record that many did not agree with this view, and my previous lavish praise for the great man only seemed to make things worse. Someone online called me a "petulant Taranteenybopper" throwing a strop. Well, possibly.For me, Tarantino had always been the master of a certain type of narcotic euphoria in the cinema, something exquisitely superfluous, something to do with his mastery of surface and style an ability to make you believe in it and see through it at the same time. That ability has gloriously returned. Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained is morally comfortable; everyone is a victim or monster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Nov 28, 2016
Quentin Tarantino is one of the most unique and interesting writer/directors in all of Hollywood, a man who's style and wit seem to transcend time and history, but would he be able to apply this talent to slavery and the wild west, I had myQuentin Tarantino is one of the most unique and interesting writer/directors in all of Hollywood, a man who's style and wit seem to transcend time and history, but would he be able to apply this talent to slavery and the wild west, I had my doubts. Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is not your typical bounty hunter, as he has a very unique and unorthodox way of getting his job done. Schultz thinks the best way to shock people is to free a slave, make him his partner, and let him ride into town and stay with him wherever he goes, which usually leads to shock, outrage, and more N words than your typical Jay-Z album. Eventually the successful duo goes in search of Django's wife, who is being held at the plantation of a truly evil man, Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio). In order to get her back, the two attempt to con the southern "gentleman", but will everything go as planned? This film is vintage Tarantino, filled with the unique characters you won't find anywhere else, ridiculous cameos you'd never expect, tremendous back and fourth dialogues, and of course the unexpected. as everything and anything will happen. Every actor under Tarantino's direction has a way of stepping up their game in his films, but Christoph Waltz was truly spectacular. There is a good reason he won the 2012 Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor, as somehow he manages to give an even stronger performance than he did in Inglorious Bastards. I really can't say enough about Tarantino, and out of all his films, this was the one I was the least excited about, but as it turns out, Django may actually be one of the best films he's ever done, and it is now the newest entry on our list of must see movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
Quentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarksQuentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarks on a blood thirsty journey to kill the evil white slave owner Calvin Candie, played by the godly Leo DiCaprio, and retrieve back his long lost wife during colonial America. I promise you, this ain't a journey you wouldn't wanna miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 27, 2016
The acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour andThe acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour and bloody violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jan 10, 2013
The movie started out strong on all fronts, but begins to descend into a long-winded story that never really grasped my attention. Still, the movie manages to bring plenty of comedic gore and drama which is unique.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 9, 2013
Django Unchained was an excellent, surprisingly light and utterly hilarious western from Quentin Tarantino. The movie surprised me at many different junctures and delighted throughout. This was a fantastic film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveFeb 5, 2013
Quentin Tarantino gives us another trademark film which, whilst acknowledging the spaghetti westerns of the 60's, is also a true original. The film has some great writing and is performed with relish by an enthusiastic cast playing colourfulQuentin Tarantino gives us another trademark film which, whilst acknowledging the spaghetti westerns of the 60's, is also a true original. The film has some great writing and is performed with relish by an enthusiastic cast playing colourful characters in a film full of colour in every sense of the word. Christoph Waltz does a sort of reprise of his 'Inglorious Basterds' character but is much nicer here, and Leonardo Di Caprio cast against type plays Calvin Candie with villainous relish. For the most part this is a fun journey. Tarantino definitely subscribes to the notion that nothing succeeds like excess, and bloody excess at that! The film is audacious, humorous, violent and a lot of the time played with its tongue firmly in its cheek. Music, including some fabulous new songs, is also used to perfect effect. It's also a pleasure to see a bunch of character actors from the 60's and 70's popping up in supporting roles to remind us of how good they were, and still are Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleJan 5, 2013
It's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuringIt's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuring Christoph Waltz, and it's a treat to be able to root for him after loving to hate him in Basterds; (2) the humor - the homage to Blazing Saddles with the hood scene is worth the price of admission alone; and (3) a slightly missed opportunity with DiCaprio - for some reason, I felt like I should have despised him more. Yes, he's a scoundrel who does horrible things, but I didn't want him to burn as much as I wanted other Tarantino villains to meet their demise. It's an excellent film, but it doesn't compare to Pulp Fiction, which is also long, but extremely tight in its sequencing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellApr 17, 2013
Best film of 2012. Best acting of 2012. It is a shockingly exciting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 22, 2013
My first cinema-going in 2013 is dedicating to Tarantino
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
Charismatic Acting by Waltz and DiCaprio, it effectively reverses the history of slavery with well thought of dark-comedy. Not the masterpiece of Pulp Fiction, but Tarantino stabilizes his position as a respected screenwriter and director
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 22, 2015
Django Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances byDjango Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. The presentation is excellent with the landscape being big and beautiful and the violence being big, dumb, goory, and fun. Its everything a western is and it’s a ton of fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
Django Unchained is typically too violent and too lengthy and profane. However, all the actors steal their scenes and the plot is very sturdy and strong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJun 5, 2015
To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness to deep bloody **** that no one wants to see.
The actors and everything is awesome, especially
To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness to deep bloody **** that no one wants to see.
The actors and everything is awesome, especially Leonardo DiCaprio and the theme.
But Jamie Foxx is such a boring actor, like 1/10, meanwhile Samuel L Jackson is 11/10, just freaking hilarious!

Overall is Django Unchain surprisingly better than my expectations!
8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersApr 3, 2013
Tarantino never disappoints; Django is a hilarious, super stylish, unbelievably bloody, and just plain badass film that happens to be one of the best movies of last year. The performances are all terrific, Waltz, Foxx, DiCaprio (who ITarantino never disappoints; Django is a hilarious, super stylish, unbelievably bloody, and just plain badass film that happens to be one of the best movies of last year. The performances are all terrific, Waltz, Foxx, DiCaprio (who I normally dislike), and Jackson in particular. The script is great as well. While it may not be as good as Pulp Fiction or Inglorious Basterds (amazing film), Django Unchained is likely the most entertaining film he's ever done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMay 27, 2013
"The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and"The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and brilliant also fit seamlessly into a description of this wonderful film.
Set in the midst of slavery in the Old West and the Deep South of the United States, Django (Jamie Foxx) and a group of slaves are being hoarded across the plain by two brothers, when dentist turned bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) interrupts proceedings, he frees Django in the hope that he will lead him to another set of brothers who Django and his wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) were recently owned by.
Christoph Waltz brings an energetic and humorous energy to the role that is simply unmatched. Django is cold and collected in the hope of finding his wife, who he finds out is a slave of the talkative and ruthless Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio). As Django and Schultz set off across the frontier and wade out the winter, Schultz trains Django to become a bounty hunter, he sees it as his duty to free this slave and therefore look after him.
In typical Quentin Tarantino fashion, Django Unchained is more about pushing the boundaries of cinematic taboo than the simple story that is told. The use of the 'N' word has been the point of deliberation since the films release, but either way, a perfect Spaghetti Western has been moulded with Tarantino at the helm, is use of long dialogue and extended scenes of conversation continue to amaze, especially when the talented Christoph Waltz is involved, lest we forget his fantastic turn as Col. Hans Landa in Inglorious Basterds,but he truly raises the bar in Django for nobody but himself, is attitude and personality are unmatched, save for possibly Leonardo DiCaprio, who we rarely, if ever, see as the villain, but who shows exactly what he is capable of with the sadistic but charming Candie.
Jamie Foxx has been perfectly cast as them main man Django, he shows heart but willingness to find his wife by any means possible, and his rise to heroism throughout the film is a perfect test of character that he does brilliantly.
Tarantino again picks a perfect setting and now has a western hit under his belt, whether its the music, the deep southern accents or the wonderful camera work of gore and glory, he has again created a very deservedly named masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesDec 26, 2012
I saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I knowI saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I know QT loves violence in his films but really, I couldn't watch the scene with the dogs or the Mandingo fight. There is also a scene discussing KKK hoods that seems right out of a Mel Brooks movie rather than Tarantino but it was hilarious. For me, Christoph Waltz was the best thing about the whole movie. I hope he and Tarantino continue to do more films together - it's a perfect match. The film may have been written for Waltz as he is a German actor, and speaking German is a key component of the film. There are strong performances from DiCaprio and Jackson as well. Great directors get great performances from their cast. All in all, a great combination of humor and violence, plus a strong depiction of slavery and its atrocities. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrMar 9, 2013
Tarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film alsoTarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I will definitely see his next film again for the music, the inventive parley and the dialogue and the eccentricity of his leading role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Apr 1, 2013
Quentin Tarantino has still got it in this outragously bloody spaghetti western. This movie has lots of things that make this a Tarantino classic. It has great acting, Especially Leonardo DiCaprio, fantastic western action and a greatQuentin Tarantino has still got it in this outragously bloody spaghetti western. This movie has lots of things that make this a Tarantino classic. It has great acting, Especially Leonardo DiCaprio, fantastic western action and a great humorous scene (KKK scene). One big thing though was the screenplay. It's great screenplay don't get wrong. It's truly original, but it over uses the "n" word, which may offend some people. But other than that it's really just pure genius. Overall, it's an exciting western that people have been dying to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diogomendesAug 25, 2015
Quentin Tarantino, an excellent director, has delivered one of his finest works with "Django Unchained", a bloody and very exciting picture. Really love this movie. It's funny and full of stylish performances. If you haven't seen it, go seeQuentin Tarantino, an excellent director, has delivered one of his finest works with "Django Unchained", a bloody and very exciting picture. Really love this movie. It's funny and full of stylish performances. If you haven't seen it, go see it. It's one of the best 2012 movies.

Final Score: 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantDec 22, 2014
Django Unchained is surprising in the fact that it's not just good like i was expecting it was excellent. I think the films message about slavery will hit a wider and more general audience and it's backed by amazing action,story and actingDjango Unchained is surprising in the fact that it's not just good like i was expecting it was excellent. I think the films message about slavery will hit a wider and more general audience and it's backed by amazing action,story and acting from Jamie fox and Leonardo DiCaprio and of course Christopher waltz who steals the whole show. get this movie it is seriously worth it and i'm looking forward to what Tarantino does next Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geedupFeb 11, 2013
Being a Q Tarentino fan, I am a bit bias. His style of storytelling and characters leave me to like almost everything he has done. Including this film. Jamie Foxx was great, Leo Decraprio was a great villian but C Waltz stole the film as theBeing a Q Tarentino fan, I am a bit bias. His style of storytelling and characters leave me to like almost everything he has done. Including this film. Jamie Foxx was great, Leo Decraprio was a great villian but C Waltz stole the film as the man who brings Django throughout the adventure. The film grabs your attention immediatly and does become dull from brief moments, but the film is nearly 3 hours-so expected some of that. As always a pudgy Tarentino makes his appearance towards the end. Not sure how some say the story (an african american slave getting his revenge/come-uppatnce) is not original/good. There is something for all, a great story, twists and violence to boot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hoops2448Feb 26, 2013
Ever since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slaveEver since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slave freed by a bounty hunter, Dr King Shultz (A sublime Christoph Waltz) who needs his help hunting his next bounty. The two head off in search of this bounty and Django's wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) who is a slave at Candyland, a brutal southern plantation run by Calvin Candie (a wonderfully temperamental Leonardo Dicaprio). It's a thrilling film and the only real problems with Django are that it suffers from some pacing issues and has a woeful cameo by Tarantino himself which borders on hilarity but just manages to irritate. In its dialogue the film sparks but in the build up to the violent set pieces the film flounders until suddenly the gunfire breaks out and we are back off to the races. Its a whole lot of stop and start which in some aspects detract from the enjoyment. Ultimately the film is fantastic for the most part with some fine performances by Waltz, DIcaprio, Foxx and Samuel L Jackson who gives a performance that is on par with his in my opinion best performance in the equally wonderful Tarantino flick Jackie Brown. Despite the bleak nature of the film and the shocking imagery used, Tarantino's wit and keen eye for detail save the film from being downright miserable and even give it a happy go lucky feel which is remarkable. Overall Tarantino delivers on everything you expect with flying colours but deep down you may be expecting a little more originality as he plays multiple cards from his own deck but never strives for anything out of the ordinary. A great film by regular standards, an average Tarantino film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 4, 2013
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue,
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue, bloody action sequences and ability to successfully mix comedy and drama to create truly memorable scenes are all on show here. Add in exceptional performances from a talented cast that includes Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio and deserved Oscar winner Christopher Waltz, as the dentist turned bounty hunter, and you have an example of the filmmaker at his very best.

Non-Tarantino fans need not apply.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJAug 26, 2013
Django Unchained is an example for awesome western movie! I think it's near perfect, but the only thing i hated was that the real action started at the end and the first gangs died too easy! Everything else was great! 7.5 out of 10 is myDjango Unchained is an example for awesome western movie! I think it's near perfect, but the only thing i hated was that the real action started at the end and the first gangs died too easy! Everything else was great! 7.5 out of 10 is my score HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
quincytheodoreFeb 20, 2013
Cleverly combining heavy racial slavery topic and exuberant bloodlust in Wild West gunslinger tale, Django Unchained is as a string of intensely gripping sequences. It serves as clashes between personalities, either with means of wit orCleverly combining heavy racial slavery topic and exuberant bloodlust in Wild West gunslinger tale, Django Unchained is as a string of intensely gripping sequences. It serves as clashes between personalities, either with means of wit or bullets, acted by intriguing grandiose characters. Screenplay is amazing, chaining scenes after scenes with such gusto from virile visual and fresh audio tunes. It is, however, a violence-ridden movie, and while the comedy balances it well, it could be seen as antagonizing or offensive.

Acting is all round superior with the star-studded cast. Django (Jamie Foxx) looks youthful, determined, vengeful and sly in one life-altering journey, in short, a charismatic badass. If there's a gunslinger epic with palatable protagonist of then lower class stature, Jamie Foxx is perfectly worthy choice. Christopher Waltz as Dr. King Schultz is a phenomenal presence on-screen. As Django's mentor and partner, this eloquently-speaking German bounty hunter is a strikingly deep character, but in the same time able to provide subtle prominent humor, making him an instant favorite.

Leonardo DiCaprio as plantation owner, Calvin Candie, has a flamboyant capitalist persona, bordering on sneaky businessman with hidden sadistic intention. There's a lingering sense of danger as Django and Schultz delve into his business territory. Samuel L. Jackson as Stephen, a caretaker of Candie family's plantation, Candyland, is highly shrewd while pretending to be a loud old grumpy man. Interaction between the characters is as intense as the gunfights, perhaps more so as it precedes them.

Scenes and cinematography are brilliantly crafted, well-structured and masterfully organized. Each brings simple yet effective shots, the dialogues are interesting and the pace is just right to give much needed characterization. Action sequences are overly exaggerated, often depicting flying bodies which liters of blood leaked from. It's unapologetically gruesome, tortured maiden and nutshots included.

It's a lengthy movie, almost three hours or so, and the racial topic might deter some viewers. Those things aside, it's a splendid movie, something of a made from gunpowder and blood, served brazenly.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Another classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail acrossAnother classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequences are sensational from the very beginning but the key component in making this film so great is the two intriguing characters at the heart of it, Foxx and Waltz. Inglourious Basterds was a marvellous movie and I thought that Waltz was the shining light and once again he steals the show. He really is an actor on top of his game under the stewardship of Tarantino and he excels. Compared to other Tarantino outings the film is much more linear excluding less flashbacks. Some will complain about the elements of racism but it's part of what Tarantino is tackling with Django. Foxx proves to be a hit in the lead role and delivers a solid performance. It was a genius piece of casting having Leo DiCaprio as the villain. He is a supreme talent and possibly the finest actor of this generation and once more he is in flawless form as the villain of the movie. As usual Samuel L. Jackson makes an appearance and he, as always, is ever dependable. There's also cameo's from the Director himself, Tarantino and Jonah Hill. Django Unchained is without a doubt one of the best films you'll likely see all year round. It's a must see film and another masterstroke from Quentin Tarantino! It has everything you'd expect from one of his films. The laughs are their in abundance, the actions sequences are superb but there's also the serious issues of racism and slavery at the heart of the tale. And to top it off, there's a stellar cast as always delivering outstanding performances. It is a bit on the long side coming in at just under 3 hours but it's a journey you just have to take all the way through to it's grand stand finish! Make no mistake Django is another work of magic from the maestro that is Quentin Tarantino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Entra pra lista como um dos filme mais incríveis de Quentin Tarantino, graças a sua trama, trilha sonora e personagens e sem contar boas doses exageradas de sangue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Despite its excessiveness of everything, Django Unchained ulleashes a bold, brutal and important movie for the general public to be aware of and does so under the consise direction of Quentin Tarantino.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 17, 2014
Django Unchained was absolutely amazing! Although it was a nearly three hour movie, there was never a dull moment, which made it feel much less shorter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sanyrubJan 27, 2013
What a great spectacle. This is what going to the movies should feel like. I already loved Inglorious Bastards but this one is even better because it is a little bit more focused. It is not a perfect film because 3 hours are a little tooWhat a great spectacle. This is what going to the movies should feel like. I already loved Inglorious Bastards but this one is even better because it is a little bit more focused. It is not a perfect film because 3 hours are a little too much. With 20 minutes less it would be perfect. But damn I so enjoyed it and the rest of the theatre seemed to enjoy it too. Jokes, amazing scenes, Tarantino´s typical take on things and especially... the performances WoW Everybody is perfect: Jamie Fox, Christoph Waltz and Samuel L. Jackson are so great... but the biggest thing is Leonardo Dicaprio. What a great and different role and villain for him. He´s perfection in here and steals the show: so creepy, funny and effeminate. It´s superb. Nobody would regret seeing this film, a great roller coaster. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 31, 2016
Outside of the obvious (and excellent) "Pulp Fiction," I haven't really seen that many of Quentin Tarantino's films. "Django Unchained" was a film that a few of my family members wanted to watch, so I decided to check it out with them. Boy,Outside of the obvious (and excellent) "Pulp Fiction," I haven't really seen that many of Quentin Tarantino's films. "Django Unchained" was a film that a few of my family members wanted to watch, so I decided to check it out with them. Boy, was I glad I did. "Django Unchained" is an excellent film with superb acting, great writing and characters, and some great action. It was definitely a big risk releasing a film this bloody, but Tarantino made it work, and "Django Unchained" is a fantastic film that, while not for the faint of heart, is still definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithApr 30, 2013
Django unchained could in my opinion be Tarantino's best movie. It's unrestrained, vicious, and at times very funny. It should have beat Argo for best picture. Just watch it. Unless you can't stand violence in movies. In that case youDjango unchained could in my opinion be Tarantino's best movie. It's unrestrained, vicious, and at times very funny. It should have beat Argo for best picture. Just watch it. Unless you can't stand violence in movies. In that case you might not like it, but it's screenplay, acting, and directing are all masterful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 10, 2013
Tarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to itsTarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to its length; Django starts of strongly but got significantly weaker near the end. However, despite its seemingly 'low' ambition as a blaxpotation / western hybrid flick, Django Unchained is the first film I have seen to address the issue of slavery in manner that is believable. It's casual attitude towards maybe the first 'true' portrayal of this 'dark part' of American history. This interesting perspective on this issue raise a lot of the audiences' interests in flipping (or browsing) the historical books, and maybe that's what Tarantino is aiming at. Still one of the better films of this year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
One of the great strengths of Quentin Tarantino's films is the way his love of cinema permeates every frame. From subtle, throw-away lines and in-jokes to more obvious nods (such as the "old fashioned" Columbia logo at the beginning or theOne of the great strengths of Quentin Tarantino's films is the way his love of cinema permeates every frame. From subtle, throw-away lines and in-jokes to more obvious nods (such as the "old fashioned" Columbia logo at the beginning or the '70s-style opening credits), it wends its way through his productions. Over the course of his career, Tarantino has paid homage to a number of genres; with Django Unchained, it's time for the Western. Of course, the director never does anything in a straightforward manner, so this is also a revenge flick and a somewhat offbeat comedy. Tarantino may be the best working director to take scenes of blood, mayhem, and gore and transform them into moments of hilarity. Pulp Fiction introduced this tendency ("Oh man, I shot Marvin in the face!") and Tarantino has honed it since. Despite the occasional brutality of the material, Django Unchained includes some of the best laugh aloud scenes of any 2012 motion picture, regardless of the genre.

Over the years, we have come to expect things from Tarantino, and he delivers most of them in Django Unchained. There are the high-octane action scenes, which tend to be short and brutal. There's copious gore; when someone gets shot, you can be damn sure he's going to bleed. There's a tendency for the director to thumb his nose at political correctness. We're bound to see female bare feet at some point. And there's a sense of energy and momentum that culminates in satisfying violence. Perhaps the only thing somewhat on the back burner in Django Unchained is Tarantino's penchant for witty repartee and clever monologues. There's a little of it here, but not nearly as much as in some of his previous endeavors. Still, this is very much "a Quentin Tarantino Film" in every sense of the phrase and those who build expectations based on those four words won't be disappointed.

As has been true of past efforts, Tarantino coaxes memorable performances out of his actors. Joining the ranks of John Travolta, Uma Thurman, and Christoph Waltz (among others) is Jamie Foxx. After Ray, Foxx was viewed seriously as a dramatic actor, but he hasn't been given much of note to do in recent years. With Django Unchained, Tarantino provides him a meaty role and he tears into it with relish. He also displays a warm and unique chemistry with co-star Waltz, who is once again great. Leonardo DiCaprio, in a rare supporting role, shows that, despite his heartthrob reputation, he's capable of playing a truly loathsome villain. Samuel L. Jackson, buried under prosthetics and makeup, is recognizable primarily because of his voice and attitude. Tarantino's "reclamation project" (in which he takes a once-popular actor and gives him something interesting to do) is Don Johnson, although his screen time is limited. There are a few notable cameos: Jonah Hill, Amber Tamblyn, Bruce Dern, Tom Savini, Robert Carradine, and Franco Nero (who played the lead character in the unrelated 1966 film, Django).

One of the best things about Tarantino films in general and Django Unchained in particular is that the viewer is never sure where the narrative is going. Tarantino delights in unexpected surprises, some of which are sudden and violent. Consider, for example, John Travolta's death mid-way through Pulp Fiction - I'd wager no one saw that coming. While there's nothing quite that dramatic in Django Unchained, the movie has its moments and the storyline doesn't follow an unbending trajectory. Although it's technically a Western, Tarantino doesn't feel constrained by limits often placed on the genre. He stirs in elements of exploitation/blacksploitation to give Django Unchained a more pulpy, high energy feel. This is a serious movie with some serious things to say about how blacks were treated in the Old South but there's plenty of action to go along with the darker material.

Not unexpectedly, Tarantino inserts himself into Django Unchained in a part that's larger than a cameo and smaller than a supporting role. It's tough to say whether his acting has improved but he tries on an Australian accent that is ridiculously bad. However, the director may be self-aware enough to recognize his limitations in front of the camera and his appearance, distracting as it is, could be designed to be cheesy. Or not. Difficult to say.

Django Unchained may be Tarantino's most uplifting movie to date. Without revealing the ending, I can say it's less nihilistic than that of, say, Reservoir Dogs. Age may not have mellowed Tarantino but at least he can see the value in a little optimism. Django Unchained isn't in the absolute top tier of the director's films; I consider Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, and Inglourious Basterds to be more complete experiences. But this is a fine, accomplished effort and a great way to spend nearly three hours in a movie theater. Most people will leave with a smile and those who don't probably should have gone to see something softer in the first place.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Jan 13, 2013
Just as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene setJust as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene set in an isolated forest where wily German bounty hunter "Dr. Schultz" finds and frees Django in order to lead him to a bounty, the teamed duo embark on a killing odyssey, jumping bounties, getting rich and facing all of the vile and ingrained implications involved with racist Southern slavery into a series of action-packed vignettes. Some might say Tarantino has offered us just another violent-frenzied exploitation film, but he does so in the best way possible, knowing when and where to tug to make the audience laugh and cringe, and does so with great characters, dialogue and tension. He knows how to do what every great director should know how to do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Nesbitt10Jul 9, 2013
A wild-bloody, live action cartoon with a homicidal vengeance, a reversal of roles, much like "Inglorious Basterds"; rewriting history if you will, they way Quinten Tarantino sees it, and the way we enjoy it. Quinten takes his blood-spatteredA wild-bloody, live action cartoon with a homicidal vengeance, a reversal of roles, much like "Inglorious Basterds"; rewriting history if you will, they way Quinten Tarantino sees it, and the way we enjoy it. Quinten takes his blood-spattered historical tent show on the road, putting down stakes in Antebellum Dixieland. Not technically a "Basterds" prequel, "Django" stems from a similar impulse, to reframe and rewrite American history in boldly absurd strokes. "Inglorious Basterds" is an exceptional film, but "Django Unchained" surpasses its predecessor, and then some.

The movie opens in 1858 Texas with the unorthodox purchase of a slave, Django (Jamie Foxx), by a dentist-turned-bounty hunter, Dr. King Schultz (Christopher Waltz). Since Schultz doesn't believe in slavery, he soon frees Django and the two become partners in Schultz's business. After a profitable winter, they head to Mississippi where their goal is to locate Django's wife, Broomhilda (Kerry Washington). When they succeed, they find an excuse to be invited to the plantation where she is being held. There, they are guests of the mansion's master, Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), where their act bamboozles everyone except Candie's personal slave, Stephen (Samuel L. Jackson), who smells a rat the moment he sets eyes on Django.

When Tarantino first introduces audiences to the two characters we'll come to embrace and respect, it's while Django (Foxx) is chained up to other slaves as they march slowly in the dark in the middle of nowhere. Dr. Schultz arrives playing the role of a dentist in a scene that's close to being as perfectly written and delivered as Waltz' farmhouse scene from “Basterds,” freeing Django and thus begins a reluctant partnership. What starts as an uneasy alliance in which one side holds all the power, transforms over the course of the movie into one in which the unlikely pair become partners and friends. Delivering this transformation along with character development, Tarantino is at his screenwriting best.

There is not a single misstep by any of the “Unchained” cast. Led by Foxx as a slave-turned-bounty-hunter, and Waltz as a man with more layers than initially revealed, this ensemble is a perfectly cast with everyone at the top of their games. “Django” is an absolute must-see for Tarantino fans, but it's not necessary to be into either Tarantino or just Westerns to be fully entertained. There are many notable cameos: Don Johnson (small part), Jonah Hill, Amber Tamblyn, Bruce Dern, Tom Savini, Robert Carradine, and Franco Nero (who played the lead character in the unrelated 1966 film, Django).

Tarantino is one of the few filmmakers that seamlessly and successfully merges style with substance. He is a creature of cinema, unashamedly standing on the shoulders of greats, forging new meaning out of the universal cultural experiences. That is why as far as I'm concerned “Django Unchained” is one of the best of 2012.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 27, 2013
Wow. For its length, the movie flew by at an alarming rate. The dialogue was sharp. Christoph Waltz carried the movie on his shoulders for so long it was a surprise he played only a supporting character. The action, exposition and dialogueWow. For its length, the movie flew by at an alarming rate. The dialogue was sharp. Christoph Waltz carried the movie on his shoulders for so long it was a surprise he played only a supporting character. The action, exposition and dialogue were well balanced, and the script definitely deserved an Oscar. It was highly entertaining. Like Inglourious Basterds, this movie was kind of a wish fulfillment. If someone was oppressed, we as humans would like them to strike back with vengeance. It was a good catharsis. It doesn't mean anyone who enjoyed watching it endorses violence against whites... just that what happened was wrong and those who enslaved should have suffered most horribly. But that time is long gone. Lessons should be learnt from that era, but grudges should be let go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Quentin Tarantino has once again proved why he is one of the greatest and most authentic directors making films today, filled with gut-busting violence, Oscar worthy performances and some much comic relief. Django is one of 2012's best"Quentin Tarantino has once again proved why he is one of the greatest and most authentic directors making films today, filled with gut-busting violence, Oscar worthy performances and some much comic relief. Django is one of 2012's best movies, by far." A+ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoDec 30, 2015
I am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Django Unchained has to brilliant sections with some of Tarantino's most cinematic direction and cinematography, and even blends some evenI am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Django Unchained has to brilliant sections with some of Tarantino's most cinematic direction and cinematography, and even blends some even more obvious comedic moments into the mix. The film also provides Foxx and Waltz in two great roles and despite Waltz being the good guy this time you can't help but feel you've visited his character before, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The first act of the film is in some ways kind of like a buddy cop film, with Foxx and Waltz bouncing off each other well and going round together making things right, and then the second act is more focused on the mission of DiCaprio who brings one of his best yet most sinister performances to the screen. The films writing ends it in a blood bath which seems ridiculous but is still enjoyable to watch as an over the top Tarantino film.
8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineJan 26, 2013
Great characters played by great actors. Waltz deserves an OSCAR for this role for sure. Amazing story. Memorable scenes and dialogues - Tarantino's style. Awesome operator's work. Could be the best movie in 2013.

P.S. Samuel L. Lewis has
Great characters played by great actors. Waltz deserves an OSCAR for this role for sure. Amazing story. Memorable scenes and dialogues - Tarantino's style. Awesome operator's work. Could be the best movie in 2013.

P.S. Samuel L. Lewis has both funny and disgusting role here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BKMJan 1, 2013
Quentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it'sQuentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. Now if Tarantino would just take all of his considerable talents and make a film that adds up to more than a mere mash up of his numerous geek inspirations. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
moonman1994Jan 19, 2013
Django Unchained was an excellent movie. It perfectly mixed humor and violence. There are several points in which any Tarantino fan then you will be easily satisfied. Tarantino also satisfies any cravings for a Spaghetti Western as there areDjango Unchained was an excellent movie. It perfectly mixed humor and violence. There are several points in which any Tarantino fan then you will be easily satisfied. Tarantino also satisfies any cravings for a Spaghetti Western as there are all kinds of blood drenched shoot outs. I would highly recommend this film to anyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeMay 19, 2013
I saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on howI saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to Waltz you kind of forget about Fox some times which is kind of a shame because Jamie Fox is no slouch in this and does a fine job. As a western its a pretty damn good one but my biggest problem with it is the music Now normally one of three things happens with music 1. either it blends in to where you don't notice it 2. It pops out wonderfully to make a scene better or 3. It pops out and just does not fit at all. With Django it falls in to number 3. Tarantino uses a lot of 60s and 70s style music which just doesn't feel right at all and just took me out at times going why is he using this kind of music? It just doesn't fit a western at all. Feels like it would belong more in Jackie Brown or Pulp Fiction That out of the way the story is good and the acting from the other actors is very solid The movie is well worth seeing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheDRauchJan 2, 2013
I hate to state the (very) obvious, but 'Django Unchained' is just what you would expect from a film by Quentin Tarantino. Granted, 'Django' isn't his greatest film where emotional depth and resonance is concerned, but it certainly is theI hate to state the (very) obvious, but 'Django Unchained' is just what you would expect from a film by Quentin Tarantino. Granted, 'Django' isn't his greatest film where emotional depth and resonance is concerned, but it certainly is the most entertaining. I had a blast. It is probably the single film this year that I had particularly high hopes for that were met to the exact level of my expectations. It follows the same type of mold of any Tarantino film. There are many drawn out scenes of interesting dialogue that typically conclude with sudden bursts of super-violence which are meant to be jarring (and are). There are multiple cameos from established actors (trust me, there are a lot of them) and there is usually one standout off-the-wall character that parades around like a controlled, unsettling lunatic. Those shoes, last filled by Christoph Waltz in 'Inglourious Basterds', are now worn by Leonardo DiCaprio as the racist and refined francophile brat, Calvin Candie. He is truly a great villain here, delivering one of the best character interpretations of his career. All of the other performances are great too, though. Waltz proves his worth as a full-on Tarantino convert as the morally good Dr. Schultz, demonstrating the control he had in 'Inglourious Basterds', but with the traces of humanity that didn't exist in Hans Landa. Samuel L. Jackson, a standard in Tarantino movies, gives a thoroughly maddening performance as the book-keeping slave (the name escapes me now), whose motives and actions are consistently intriguing. And who could forget Foxx, displaying a cool, hardened, revenge-driven character so filled with spite for the evil around him that it nearly jeopardizes his plans to save his wife at every turn. I am also happy that, when writing the script, the word n****r wasn't taken out, not shying away for the times of today out of reverence for historical accuracy. There are plenty scenes worth noting for their brutal violence and often gut-busting hilarity, but I shouldn't spoil the film. You should go see it. It's really awesome. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebJan 20, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino and boy, I get excited when I hear he is going to make another film. That's because, at the beginning, his work seems tangled but once he finishes and polishes it, it becomes a masterpiece. This happened toI'm a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino and boy, I get excited when I hear he is going to make another film. That's because, at the beginning, his work seems tangled but once he finishes and polishes it, it becomes a masterpiece. This happened to almost all of his films. Django Unchained is a movie worth waiting for and absolutely worth watching. The best things about his film are (in order): the screenplay; the incredible performances by the stellar cast; the direction; and finally the song choice (we all know that Tarantino doesn't believe in making complete background scores for his films, instead he uses different songs and even collaborates with different artists to make original songs). Let's talk about the screenplay. It is a love story, it's drama, it's thought-provoking, it has the elements of violence. All in all, it is a masterpiece, I think even Tarantino doesn't know what a terrific screenplay he has actually written and that's why he gets shocked when he hears that he is announced as the winner of the original screenplay awards. I'm not going to spoil the film for you by discussing what the screenplay is, you're gonna have to watch it to find out how genuine it is, even if it borrows some elements from real events such as the rise of slavery in the United States in the 19th century, it also includes some fiction to spice up the things and make them more interesting and lovable. The performances are truly impressive especially those of Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCpario, Jamie Foxx and Samuel L. Jackson's. Tarantino always writes his characters in the best way possible and makes their execution even better by giving them such crazy dialogues. I find Waltz's performance the best in the film and I would be happy if he wins the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor considering the fact that there are other nominees, all of whom have won the Oscars already. Moving on to the direction of the film, it's incredible, its pace is perfect, the camera work is amazing, I like those sudden shots at the characters' faces. The direction gives the story-telling more power and contributes to make it a masterpiece. Most of the critics have been bashing this movie because of the words that have been used in the film. I don't think they should ignore the best things about this film over such silly topic. Everyone knows it is used to give it a realistic view and make the viewer believe in what he's watching because the viewer knows how things were supposed to be in that era. Anyway, the critics are critics, and I don't care what they say. This film is an absolute masterpiece of Tarantino and it might even end up in my list of top ten films of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Its one of Tarantino's best work, Django provides an exhilirating and brutal plot that pleases Tarantino fans and other fans alot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wishmasterFeb 23, 2013
Real film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly theReal film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly the best cast Waltz! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mds03Jun 9, 2013
This is easily one of the best movies ever made. It has fantastic acting, awesome characters, amazing and hilariously bloody shoot out scenes, an outside the box story, a great script, and a great everything! I was on the edge of my seat theThis is easily one of the best movies ever made. It has fantastic acting, awesome characters, amazing and hilariously bloody shoot out scenes, an outside the box story, a great script, and a great everything! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Quentin Tarantino has done it again. He is one of the best directors ever and he never disappoints!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwAug 16, 2016
The beauty of Tarantino's films is that he can glean the finest qualities from lesser works and synthesize them into something even greater than the sum of their parts.

The frustrating aspect of his work is that one gets the impression
The beauty of Tarantino's films is that he can glean the finest qualities from lesser works and synthesize them into something even greater than the sum of their parts.

The frustrating aspect of his work is that one gets the impression that even in doing so, he has only up to this point been scratching the surface of that which is possible from that intellect.

I hope that his assertion that he's doing only two more films and then is retiring is baseless and thoroughly untrue. In saying that, I must admit that I enjoyed his ode to the spaghetti westerns of days gone by and that using that template as a mirror to the great racial divide that has splintered America to its core since its beginning and has stayed unchanged was nothing short of audaciously brilliant.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
My, how nasty that nice young Mr Di Caprio can act. My, how brutal the treatment of slaves in the deep south 150 years ago. My, how violent the films of Mr Tarantino can be. My, knowing all this at the beginning, what a surprisingly enjoyableMy, how nasty that nice young Mr Di Caprio can act. My, how brutal the treatment of slaves in the deep south 150 years ago. My, how violent the films of Mr Tarantino can be. My, knowing all this at the beginning, what a surprisingly enjoyable time I had sinking deep into this mire of humanity. And afterwards I felt excited, like a kid after a great day out, who could do with a good scrub in a hot bath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleMethodJan 1, 2013
While undoubtedly a good film, and not at all crappy holiday filler, I can't hope on the "this is an incredible film" train. I liked it, but found it to be not much more than a good way to spend a friday evening. Not bad at all, but notWhile undoubtedly a good film, and not at all crappy holiday filler, I can't hope on the "this is an incredible film" train. I liked it, but found it to be not much more than a good way to spend a friday evening. Not bad at all, but not great. Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Dicaprio really shine, but that's really the only stand out incredible part of the film. Overall, just good, not great. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerDec 29, 2012
Quentin Tarantino is a great director, he can make the most meaningless scene in a movie interesting and memorable, which is sort of how the film starts off.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
seancriswellDec 29, 2012
Not everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django isNot everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django is gonna get a lot of comparisons to Basterds because they are both revenge fantasies at their core. While that may not be fair it is natural given the very similar plot arcs. While I still think I would have preferred Bastreds if it had been made second because of two of the best scenes ever put into film, it is hard to say because Django did feel familiar while Basterds felt like something you had never seen before. There is still plenty to love about the movie. As usual this film is very dialogue driven with biting humor and some dark overtones. Nobody in film ever uses dialogue to build tension like Tarantino and there is plenty of that at work here. Performances are great almost across the board, especially Waltz and Dicaprio. Foxx gives a nice, understated performance as Django. My only beef with the performances was surprisingly Jackson. Although I think that is more a product of the character than his performance. If the usual Tarantino stylized violence is your cup of tea, there is enough of it on display here to get your fill. For me this movie goes off the rails just a bit in the final third. I never felt like Tarantino knew how to end this film and it ended uo being the weak link in another very good Tarantino vehicle. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidMay 4, 2014
I don't care if you complain about the violence but Django Unchained is one of Tarantino's best. Great Characters and the usual astonishing and creative dialogue from Tarantino's head. Great performances bu the great Christoph Waltz, JamieI don't care if you complain about the violence but Django Unchained is one of Tarantino's best. Great Characters and the usual astonishing and creative dialogue from Tarantino's head. Great performances bu the great Christoph Waltz, Jamie Foxx and a very different role for DiCaprio, DiCaprio shows that he can be a very smart actor as a villain. Django is obviously is in my list of the best films of 2012 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 21, 2014
Django is a slave whose brutal history with his former owners lands him face-to-face with German-born bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz. Schultz is on the trail of the murderous Brittle brothers, and only Django can lead him to his bounty. TheDjango is a slave whose brutal history with his former owners lands him face-to-face with German-born bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz. Schultz is on the trail of the murderous Brittle brothers, and only Django can lead him to his bounty. The unorthodox Schultz acquires Django with a promise to free him upon the capture of the Brittles – dead or alive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Superb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for someSuperb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for some lame hip-hop songs) were all top level! Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesDec 26, 2012
It's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like PeterIt's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like Peter Jackson's Hobbit I think Tarantino doesn't like editing. It's really entertaining but it just takes a while to get there. Still one of the year's best films though. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJan 21, 2013
This was a great movie. It didn't really have me caring too much at the beginning, but as soon as they ran into Leonardo DiCaprio the movie soared. Lots of exciting action and kick-ass music. Great performances, too. Can't believe DiCaprioThis was a great movie. It didn't really have me caring too much at the beginning, but as soon as they ran into Leonardo DiCaprio the movie soared. Lots of exciting action and kick-ass music. Great performances, too. Can't believe DiCaprio got snubbed for Best Supporting Actor. Waltz was good, but DiCaprio was better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 13, 2013
Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Violent. Sentimental. Enthralling. The actors enliven the script under Tarantino's direction, and create a modern (south) Western spectacle that Tarantino fans will savor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sinadoomDec 29, 2013
I was expecting this to be an overrated film riding on the Tarantino hype. But make no mistake, Django Unchained is a great movie in its own right and one of Tarantino's greatest works. It just about nails everything. The scenes are lengthyI was expecting this to be an overrated film riding on the Tarantino hype. But make no mistake, Django Unchained is a great movie in its own right and one of Tarantino's greatest works. It just about nails everything. The scenes are lengthy but very tense and with amazing direction as you would expect. The trademark "no holds barred" violence and intelligently crafted dialogue are present, along with a great deal of comical moments. The story and direction as well as the characters all deserve praise of the highest order. Even if you're not a Tarantino fan, you should definitely give Django a try. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffJul 5, 2013
I love Quentin Tarantino movies, and this is an excellent one. Amazing acting all around. Characters are memorable and distinct, and as always there is a lot of humor and over-the-top gore and violence. Story is actually pretty good too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 5, 2013
The critics review for this movie are all right. The negatives that they point out are true, it is long, ridiculously bloody, and personally, the editing is awful (specifically the first half). However the acting, writing, and directing wereThe critics review for this movie are all right. The negatives that they point out are true, it is long, ridiculously bloody, and personally, the editing is awful (specifically the first half). However the acting, writing, and directing were great attributes that led this movie to glorious endings and beautiful scenes. It is DiCaprio's best acting since Blood Diamond, and the script makes you feel the hatred and revenge that this movie exhibits. Go see it, I would understand if you don't like it as much as me but you will get your moneys worth in the gunfight scenes alone. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JunelKeanJun 27, 2017
Quentin Tarantino tackles his masterfully-made signature once again with this Western flick and brings an all-star ensemble cast to give his vision for it to life. His violent yet humorous screenplay is combined with brilliant performancesQuentin Tarantino tackles his masterfully-made signature once again with this Western flick and brings an all-star ensemble cast to give his vision for it to life. His violent yet humorous screenplay is combined with brilliant performances from actors Jamie Foxx, Cristoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson.

From the moment it starts, it gives a hyped energy to the audience that they would expect a fun, extreme and bloody ride. It is not just a fulfilling spaghetti Western, but also, is an outrageously extravagant event in modern cinema.

Everyone is a standout and gives justice to their respective characters. But Jackson nails it flawlessly as he stars the story's main antagonist. By the second half of the film, it incorporates violence which sets up to one of the bloodiest and most brutal gunfights ever made. Fans of Tarantino would observe its borrowed elements from his past films, including a classic story about revenge. But what makes this movie so exceptional, is how it controlled the balance of its nature: it’s a very entertaining film but it never loses sight of the horrors of history, in particular, slavery and bounty hunting.

VERDICT: Full with memorable action-packed scenes, pitch-perfect performances and a notable directing style from the ever so excellent Tarantino, comes one of the best films of this decade (2010s).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scrieciuJan 2, 2013
Man, what a movie, WHAT AN AMAZING MOVIE !!! It was like a roller coater ride. I was pumped the entire time. I could feel the adrenaline. Everybody delivered a great performance, especially Jamie Foxx. I hope, for once, the academy willMan, what a movie, WHAT AN AMAZING MOVIE !!! It was like a roller coater ride. I was pumped the entire time. I could feel the adrenaline. Everybody delivered a great performance, especially Jamie Foxx. I hope, for once, the academy will considered a good movie like this. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
JawsLaxerDramaMay 31, 2013
What you have to understand about Tarantino is that he WANTS to see how far he can take it. For those of you who are completely ignorant, (A really horrible word) was used like how we said "dude" back in 2007. I am always impressed and aWhat you have to understand about Tarantino is that he WANTS to see how far he can take it. For those of you who are completely ignorant, (A really horrible word) was used like how we said "dude" back in 2007. I am always impressed and a little mortified when I laugh at some of the quotes in the movie. For example, the before the riot was especially hilarious.
The violence gets old though. That is my only complaint however, and i LOVED Dicaprio, Foxx and especially the charasmatic Waltz. Great movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionMay 29, 2013
Do not know if Tarantino tried to honor the old westerns or satirize, but did well in their way logical, but what draws the most attention is the movement of the plot by the characters in the early history is focused on Dr.Shultz thenDo not know if Tarantino tried to honor the old westerns or satirize, but did well in their way logical, but what draws the most attention is the movement of the plot by the characters in the early history is focused on Dr.Shultz then undergoes Calvin Candie, and ends in Django, the performances are perfect especially Di Caprio (who has been wronged by not being nominated for an Oscar) and mainly Waltz, who deservedly was awarded, the rest is all you can expect from a movie Tarantino, blood pouring the gallon, many profanities and racist insults (here are acceptable considering the era in which the film is set) and several taken of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloJan 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PStakhivMay 21, 2013
Another great work of Quentin Tarantino, great cast, absolutely outstanding acting from Christoph Walts (as a result Emmy and Leo Di Caprio. Interesting plot, but with some flaws in it. Good time overall
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RoscoFeb 15, 2013
Another classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail acrossAnother classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequences are sensational from the very beginning but the key component in making this film so great is the two intriguing characters at the heart of it, Foxx and Waltz. Inglorious Basterds was a marvellous movie and I thought that Waltz was the shining light and once again he steals the show. He really is an actor on top of his game under the stewardship of Tarantino and he excels. Compared to other Tarantino outings the film is much more linear excluding less flashbacks. Some will complain about the elements of racism but it's part of what Tarantino is tackling with Django. Foxx proves to be a hit in the lead role and delivers a solid performance. It was a genius piece of casting having Leo DiCaprio as the villain. He is a supreme talent and possibly the finest actor of this generation and once more he is in flawless form as the villain of the movie. As usual Samuel L. Jackson makes an appearance and he, as always, is ever dependable. There's also cameo's from the Director himself, Tarantino and Jonah Hill. Django Unchained is without a doubt one of the best films you'll likely see all year round. It's a must see film and another masterstroke from Quentin Tarantino! It has everything you'd expect from one of his films. The laughs are their in abundance, the actions sequences are superb but there's also the serious issues of racism and slavery at the heart of the tale. And to top it off, there's a stellar cast as always delivering oustanding performances. It is a bit on the long side coming in at just under 3 hours but it's a journey you just have to take all the way through to it's grand stand finish! Make no mistake Django is another work of magic from the maestro that is Quentin Tarantino. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRDec 28, 2012
Pulpy, funny, extremely violent and well-written. Unfortunately Django fails to deliver the tension obtained in older westerns or even his previous efforts. Still a great watch with some utterly fantastic performances.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
forestvilleMar 23, 2013
That is another way to have a good time, that a western dish made ​​by Tarantino. Quentin Tarantino returns to give us a work belica amazing and disturbing.

A single theme: revenge. And Tarantino thinks exploit until no more to give. This
That is another way to have a good time, that a western dish made ​​by Tarantino. Quentin Tarantino returns to give us a work belica amazing and disturbing.

A single theme: revenge. And Tarantino thinks exploit until no more to give. This time it's the deep south of the United States, in which Django (Jamie Foxx), a freed slave by Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) becomes a hit man to save his wife from the brutal Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), the owner of a cotton plantation where blacks are treated as fighting dogs and women as prostitutes.

As always, Tarantino uses his famous narrative techniques: references to westerns of Sergio Leone or West satires Mel Brooks; metaphorical ultra violent shocks in their dialogue or their images (such as cotton plants spattered with blood and brains), or proud frames Snowscapes that for a moment we suggest that Tarantino may be the one that tells a fable about the period when slavery was legal in the United States. But Quentin is a style, and Quentin is how that translates to bottom: dry humor and a dose of cynicism that always seems waive really explore the subject.

The performances are absolutely spotless, you can expect great scenes with perfect choreography and revenge as melodrama.

The bad thing you may notice is that often extended, many scenes can become boring and take a while to appear the scenes that everyone expects, it is true that violent and low points to the movie, but if you're a big fan of Tarantino, you will have no problem in full view.
That's right: nobody-nobody-chosen music as Tarantino: this time the protagonist returns to make a soundtrack that includes music by Ennio Morricone and songs with vocals 2pac, James Brown and Jamie Foxx.

"A southern spaghetti" is the genre that Tarantino Django Unchained awards and as such is a very tasty and popcorn film.
Not forget to wear a raincoat for bloodshed and enjoy it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
This obviously has excellent fight scenes and great performances as well as direction. But nearly three hours makes it become tedious, with a lot of scenes dragging on far longer than they should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OnAnarchyJan 13, 2013
Tarantino follows his formula and doesn't dissapoint. Django Unchained is a masterfully crafted film and is as entertaining and smart as anything he's ever done. Christoph Waltz deserves another Academy Award for an amazing performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DalekJul 12, 2013
This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway,This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway, Django Unchained really steers away from clichés. It's definitely a film I'd want to watch again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RealMuthaFJan 24, 2013
Tarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesomeTarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesome soundtrack. The dialogues are the main and the best part of the movie, as usual, the characters are well-written well-acted (DiCaprio has just proven that he can be a great antagonist), and the action is gory and awesome. Despite being 165-minute-long, the film keeps you hooked all the way. To summarize - it's Tarantino at his finest. Go watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaestusFeb 26, 2013
A great movie, with great actors and real good scenes in it. The soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever. The only problem is that the film doesn´t maintain the quality after waltz and dicaprio are gone and is therefore notA great movie, with great actors and real good scenes in it. The soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever. The only problem is that the film doesn´t maintain the quality after waltz and dicaprio are gone and is therefore not getting the full score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyFeb 15, 2013
Very good and sometimes funny western. I like everything on this movie, the cast, the director and the characters, especially Christopher Waltz Dr. King Schultz'. I like this movie a lot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CPD98Jul 10, 2014
Sensacional. Tarantino crea un western a su medida. Mirándola bien, creo que no le falta ni le sobra nada. Los actores están grandiosos (sobretodo DiCaprio y Waltz) y la última hora de película es una pasada. Sean fans o no de Tarantino y/oSensacional. Tarantino crea un western a su medida. Mirándola bien, creo que no le falta ni le sobra nada. Los actores están grandiosos (sobretodo DiCaprio y Waltz) y la última hora de película es una pasada. Sean fans o no de Tarantino y/o el western, véanla. De lo mejor del 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jlplattenJan 2, 2013
If you love Quentin Tarantino, you love Django Unchained. Yes, it's bloody at some points. Yes, the language can be offensive. However, everything about this movie is the definition of "cool". This movie was also casted perfectly. I lovedIf you love Quentin Tarantino, you love Django Unchained. Yes, it's bloody at some points. Yes, the language can be offensive. However, everything about this movie is the definition of "cool". This movie was also casted perfectly. I loved everyone in this movie. The single problem I had with the film was when Tarantino went a little over the top with the humor. Imagine watching a classic western, and then out of nowhere comes blasting rap music for your hero... little things like that were a little bit too absurd for me. Overall an amazing film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkFeb 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first film I have seen in 2013 is also the first Tarantino film I have seen and the first '18' rated film I have seen at the cinema, and I only have one word to say: Dude. I absolutely loved the film, it was beautifully shot, incredibly well acted (particularly Leonardo Decaprio as Calvin Candy and Christoph Waltz as Dr. Schultz), extremely violent and very funny at times (one of my favourite film moments of all time is the scene completely ridiculing the Ku Klux Klan). This film has made me want to watch every one of Tarantino's films, as I now know what all the fuss is about. I do have a problem with the film however, it is a tad too long, even 10 minutes shaved off the run-time would have been good, however, this is a small gripe with an otherwise perfect film. The film is very well made to show everything in a ridiculous light, other than slavery, which was approached in a way that made parts of the film very hard to watch, but in a good way, as many films based in the 'Wild west' do not even take into account that atrocities like slavery were going on at the time of the cowboy: so I found it educational as well. Bold, bloody, stylistic and not for anybody easily offended by blood or bad language, Django Unchained is one of the best films I have ever seen, if not a little long. Dude, 93/100.

(Also, Candy and Stephen are horrible).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeApr 22, 2013
Django was awesome! Everybody played their parts extremely well and the acting was fantastic. I enjoyed the story and it was very entertaining. Quentin wasn't afraid to do or say anything in this movie and which made it more genuine to theDjango was awesome! Everybody played their parts extremely well and the acting was fantastic. I enjoyed the story and it was very entertaining. Quentin wasn't afraid to do or say anything in this movie and which made it more genuine to the time frame. The final gun fight is definitely memorable. 2 thumbs up for Django, this is definitely a movie I will add to my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KayakMar 4, 2014
Tarantino hits home again. I've never really been a fan of Westerns but this is a definite exception. It's definitely too long and I can think of several ways of shortening it, but that gripe is overshadowed by the brutal, dark yet charmingTarantino hits home again. I've never really been a fan of Westerns but this is a definite exception. It's definitely too long and I can think of several ways of shortening it, but that gripe is overshadowed by the brutal, dark yet charming storyline. Waltz is also superb as are all of the main characters and overall, definitely a film well deserving of its praise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
This is proof that Tarantino can take the exploitation genre into territory exploring America's most serious social issues. What a film! And David Edelstein of NPR can just get off his preachy sanctimony about this not being one of the year'sThis is proof that Tarantino can take the exploitation genre into territory exploring America's most serious social issues. What a film! And David Edelstein of NPR can just get off his preachy sanctimony about this not being one of the year's 10 best because of the violence. And anyway, what does he know about film that we don't, he's on Fresh Air and so above the rest of us in his ivory tower of film criticism? I'd like to tell David, get a clue, exploitation cinema IS fantasy violence and Americans need to get a clue about all the real violence that was in the slavery era anyway because this subject has been too watered down in the past and with the series "Roots" also, good grief!! And this is not among the 12 best, it is one of THE VERY BEST along with Lincoln and best films ever made in the history of cinema! Samuel Jackson, Jamie Foxx, Leonardo Dicaprio should have major awards forthcoming! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mmweissJan 21, 2013
At one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest filmAt one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest film (The movie is filled with them). In the middle of all these references are lots of fun and heavy violence. This is one of Quentin´s funniest films, the humor is so smart and critical and most importantly so entertaining (The KKK scene is hilarious). The violent scenes are very flamboyant and stylized (as in any other Tarantino film) and so much fun. Samuel L. Jackson and Christoph Waltz deliver fantastic performances, as you would expect, but even the actors who you wouldn't expect to be great, are, like Don Johnson as Big Daddy. The dialogues are amazing, they´re fast, smart and funny. Django Unchained is definitely a must-see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BB_CriticJun 26, 2015
Django is actually the first Tarantino movie I've ever seen, and because of that, it felt completely different from your average movie. It is very stylized and is visually sleek with very memorable performances from Christopher Waltz andDjango is actually the first Tarantino movie I've ever seen, and because of that, it felt completely different from your average movie. It is very stylized and is visually sleek with very memorable performances from Christopher Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio. If you are a fan of Tarantino, you will most certainly enjoy this one. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jack_SunshineSep 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Django Unchained, Quentin Tarantino’s latest audacious picture, dealt boldly with a topic rarely explored in film. I appreciated how heavy subject matter was moulded into an incredibly entertaining piece of cinema, undoubtedly condemning the atrocities of the era, whilst avoiding simplistic moralising. Shocking juxtaposition of cruelty and comedy, frequently within scenes, created a particularly effective mood whiplash. True to form, much style is drawn from the director’s love of homage; this time from the Spaghetti Western, he brings the visual intensity of stunning landscapes, and a memorable soundtrack, whilst indulging in the exquisite interiors and costumes of the period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mau1133Jan 26, 2013
This movie was awsome, i really liked it and i belive he is a true master. The cast was amazing and all of them created a movie that i was waiting to see for 6 months, definite must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheChaser1985Feb 1, 2016
One of the best movies that I have seen in a very long time. Funny, intense and emotional all in one movie. It was definitely a classic taratino film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
Articulate, awesome and Tarantino at his best. The brilliant acting of interesting characters always sets a film on the right course. Thankfully this is in play here as the cast on offer is one that will cause you to nod with appreciation.Articulate, awesome and Tarantino at his best. The brilliant acting of interesting characters always sets a film on the right course. Thankfully this is in play here as the cast on offer is one that will cause you to nod with appreciation. But it's the story that grasped me the most. Django's brutal past causes us to root for him very early on. This helps draw us in as soon as possible and we further our aspirations for the film immediately. Tarantino has also been able to successfully balance story importance with pulse raising action scenes. As a result we feel a sense of realism surrounding Django's journey. His companion Dr King Schultz is portrayed immaculately by Christoph Waltz who brings an air of class to the film as he always does. The setting on offer is also one of beauty and is perfect for an adventure film. You will be compelled and touched by an original story that may even cause you to dig into Tarantino's other works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TributeManJan 18, 2016
That's a **** on that horse, sir!

Czym jest Django? Odpowiedź jest bardzo prosta... Po pierwsze, muzyka. Coś wspaniałego. Tak oryginalnej ścieżki dźwiękowej nie słyszałem od dawna. Pojawiają się na niej utwory, których w życiu nie
That's a **** on that horse, sir!

Czym jest Django? Odpowiedź jest bardzo prosta... Po pierwsze, muzyka. Coś wspaniałego. Tak oryginalnej ścieżki dźwiękowej nie słyszałem od dawna. Pojawiają się na niej utwory, których w życiu nie wyobrażałbym sobie w jakimkolwiek westernie. Idealnie pasują, stwarzają odpowiedni nastrój na początku i końcu scen. Po drugie, zdjęcia. Te także wypadają świetnie. Krajobrazy wyglądają wspaniale, a sceny w pomieszczeniach… No sami to zobaczcie! Po trzecie, aktorzy. Jamie Fox, Christoph Waltz i Leonardo DiCaprio. Tej trójki nikomu nie trzeba przedstawiać. Każdy odegrał swoją rolę po mistrzowsku. Nic dodać, nic ująć.
Moim zdaniem jest to najlepiej ZROBIONY film przez Quentina Tarantino. Jeżeli jakimś cudem jeszcze go nie widzieliście to musicie to nadrobić.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
finnigan37Jan 7, 2013
This is the best film I've seen this year. Incredibly entertaining, hilarious and just satisfying to watch. All of the negative reviews seem to be from people who are offended by bad language and violence. Umm, don't go see a QT movie if youThis is the best film I've seen this year. Incredibly entertaining, hilarious and just satisfying to watch. All of the negative reviews seem to be from people who are offended by bad language and violence. Umm, don't go see a QT movie if you are so thin-skinned. For the rest of the adult audience, do not miss this one in the theaters. An amazing experience you will not soon forget. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews